T-0.1 - Act respecting the Québec sales tax

Full text
54.1. Where, at the time a supplier makes a supply of corporeal movable property to a recipient, the supplier accepts, in full or partial consideration for the supply, other property (in this section and in section 54.2 referred to as the trade-in ) that is used corporeal movable property or a leasehold interest therein and is acquired for consumption, use or supply in the course of a commercial activity of the supplier, and the recipient is not required to collect the tax in respect of the supply of the trade-in otherwise than by reason of the application of subparagraph 3 of the second paragraph of section 422 , the value of the consideration for the supply made by the supplier is deemed to be equal to the amount by which the value of the consideration for that supply, as otherwise determined, exceeds
(1)  except where paragraph 2 applies, the amount credited to the recipient in respect of the trade-in; and
(2)  where the supplier and the recipient are not dealing with each other at arm’s length at the time the supply is made and the amount credited to the recipient in respect of the trade-in exceeds the fair market value of the trade-in at the time ownership thereof is transferred to the supplier, that fair market value.
1997, c. 85, s. 454; 2002, c. 9, s. 155; 2019, c. 142019, c. 14, s. 536.
54.1. Where, at the time a supplier makes a supply of corporeal movable property to a recipient, the supplier accepts, in full or partial consideration for the supply, other property (in this section and in section 54.2 referred to as the trade-in ) that is used corporeal movable property or a leasehold interest therein and is acquired for consumption, use or supply in the course of a commercial activity of the supplier, and the recipient is not required to collect the tax in respect of the supply of the trade-in otherwise than by reason of the application of subparagraph 3 of the second paragraph of section 422 or the trade-in is a road vehicle in respect of which the recipient is not entitled to claim an input tax refund as a consequence of being a large business, the value of the consideration for the supply made by the supplier is deemed to be equal to the amount by which the value of the consideration for that supply, as otherwise determined, exceeds
(1)  except where paragraph 2 applies, the amount credited to the recipient in respect of the trade-in; and
(2)  where the supplier and the recipient are not dealing with each other at arm’s length at the time the supply is made and the amount credited to the recipient in respect of the trade-in exceeds the fair market value of the trade-in at the time ownership thereof is transferred to the supplier, that fair market value.
For the purposes of this section and section 54.2, “large business” has the meaning assigned by sections 551 to 551.4 of the Act to amend the Taxation Act, the Act respecting the Québec sales tax and other legislative provisions (1995, chapter 63).
1997, c. 85, s. 454; 2002, c. 9, s. 155.
54.1. Where, at the time a supplier makes a supply of corporeal movable property to a recipient, the supplier accepts, in full or partial consideration for the supply, other property (in this section and in section 54.2 referred to as the trade-in ) that is used corporeal movable property or a leasehold interest therein and is acquired for consumption, use or supply in the course of a commercial activity of the supplier and the recipient is not required to collect tax in respect of the supply of the trade-in, the value of the consideration for the supply made by the supplier is deemed to be equal to the amount by which the value of the consideration for that supply, as otherwise determined, exceeds
(1)  except where paragraph 2 applies, the amount credited to the recipient in respect of the trade-in; and
(2)  where the supplier and the recipient are not dealing with each other at arm’s length at the time the supply is made and the amount credited to the recipient in respect of the trade-in exceeds the fair market value of the trade-in at the time ownership thereof is transferred to the supplier, that fair market value.
1997, c. 85, s. 454.

T-0.1 - Loi sur la taxe de vente du Québec

Texte complet
54.1. Dans le cas où un fournisseur accepte, au moment où il effectue la fourniture d’un bien meuble corporel à un acquéreur, en contrepartie totale ou partielle de la fourniture, un autre bien – appelé «bien échangé» dans le présent article et dans l’article 54.2 – qui est un bien meuble corporel d’occasion ou une tenure à bail y afférente et qui est acquis pour consommation, utilisation ou fourniture dans le cadre d’une activité commerciale du fournisseur et que l’acquéreur n’est pas tenu de percevoir la taxe à l’égard de la fourniture du bien échangé autrement qu’en raison de l’application du paragraphe 3° du deuxième alinéa de l’article 422, la valeur de la contrepartie de la fourniture effectuée par le fournisseur est réputée égale à l’excédent de la valeur de la contrepartie de cette fourniture, telle que déterminée par ailleurs, sur le montant suivant:
1°  le montant porté au crédit de l’acquéreur à l’égard du bien échangé, sauf dans le cas où le paragraphe 2° s’applique;
2°  dans le cas où le fournisseur et l’acquéreur ont un lien de dépendance au moment où la fourniture est effectuée et que le montant porté au crédit de l’acquéreur à l’égard du bien échangé excède la juste valeur marchande du bien échangé au moment où sa propriété est transférée au fournisseur, cette juste valeur marchande.
1997, c. 85, a. 454; 2002, c. 9, a. 155; 2019, c. 142019, c. 14, a. 536.
54.1. Dans le cas où un fournisseur accepte, au moment où il effectue la fourniture d’un bien meuble corporel à un acquéreur, en contrepartie totale ou partielle de la fourniture, un autre bien – appelé «bien échangé» dans le présent article et dans l’article 54.2 – qui est un bien meuble corporel d’occasion ou une tenure à bail y afférente et qui est acquis pour consommation, utilisation ou fourniture dans le cadre d’une activité commerciale du fournisseur et que l’acquéreur n’est pas tenu de percevoir la taxe à l’égard de la fourniture du bien échangé autrement qu’en raison de l’application du paragraphe 3° du deuxième alinéa de l’article 422 ou que le bien échangé constitue un véhicule routier à l’égard duquel l’acquéreur n’a pas droit de demander un remboursement de la taxe sur les intrants du fait qu’il est une grande entreprise, la valeur de la contrepartie de la fourniture effectuée par le fournisseur est réputée égale à l’excédent de la valeur de la contrepartie de cette fourniture, telle que déterminée par ailleurs, sur le montant suivant:
1°  le montant porté au crédit de l’acquéreur à l’égard du bien échangé, sauf dans le cas où le paragraphe 2° s’applique;
2°  dans le cas où le fournisseur et l’acquéreur ont un lien de dépendance au moment où la fourniture est effectuée et que le montant porté au crédit de l’acquéreur à l’égard du bien échangé excède la juste valeur marchande du bien échangé au moment où sa propriété est transférée au fournisseur, cette juste valeur marchande.
Pour l’application du présent article et de l’article 54.2, l’expression «grande entreprise» a le sens que lui donnent les articles 551 à 551.4 de la Loi modifiant la Loi sur les impôts, la Loi sur la taxe de vente du Québec et d’autres dispositions législatives (1995, chapitre 63).
1997, c. 85, a. 454; 2002, c. 9, a. 155.
54.1. Dans le cas où un fournisseur accepte, au moment où il effectue la fourniture d’un bien meuble corporel à un acquéreur, en contrepartie totale ou partielle de la fourniture, un autre bien — appelé «bien échangé» dans le présent article et dans l’article 54.2 — qui est un bien meuble corporel d’occasion ou une tenure à bail y afférente et qui est acquis pour consommation, utilisation ou fourniture dans le cadre d’une activité commerciale du fournisseur et que l’acquéreur n’est pas tenu de percevoir la taxe à l’égard de la fourniture du bien échangé, la valeur de la contrepartie de la fourniture effectuée par le fournisseur est réputée égale à l’excédent de la valeur de la contrepartie de cette fourniture, telle que déterminée par ailleurs, sur le montant suivant:
1°  le montant porté au crédit de l’acquéreur à l’égard du bien échangé, sauf dans le cas où le paragraphe 2° s’applique;
2°  dans le cas où le fournisseur et l’acquéreur ont un lien de dépendance au moment où la fourniture est effectuée et que le montant porté au crédit de l’acquéreur à l’égard du bien échangé excède la juste valeur marchande du bien échangé au moment où sa propriété est transférée au fournisseur, cette juste valeur marchande.
1997, c. 85, a. 454.