R-0.2 - Act respecting the determination of the causes and circumstances of death

Full text
116. Where the coroner has reasonable and probable grounds to believe that a person he wishes to summon as a witness at the inquest is avoiding service of a summons or will not be present following a summons, the coroner may apply to a judge of the Court of Québec for the issue of a warrant ordering a peace officer to arrest that person and cause him to appear.
Where a person other than the coroner has, to the satisfaction of the coroner, reasonable and probable grounds to believe that a witness at the inquest will avoid service of a summons or will not be present following a summons, the coroner may authorize him to apply to a judge of the Court of Québec for the issue of a warrant ordering a peace officer to arrest the witness and cause him to appear.
The person arrested shall appear before a judge of the Court of Québec without delay. The person arrested and the person who required the warrant must then have an opportunity to be heard before any judgment is rendered on the detention or release of the person.
1983, c. 41, s. 116; 1985, c. 29, s. 43; 1988, c. 21, s. 125.
116. Where the coroner has reasonable and probable grounds to believe that a person he wishes to summon as a witness at the inquest is avoiding service of a summons or will not be present following a summons, the coroner may apply to a judge of the Court of the Sessions of the Peace for the issue of a warrant ordering a peace officer to arrest that person and cause him to appear.
Where a person other than the coroner has, to the satisfaction of the coroner, reasonable and probable grounds to believe that a witness at the inquest will avoid service of a summons or will not be present following a summons, the coroner may authorize him to apply to a judge of the Court of the Sessions of the Peace for the issue of a warrant ordering a peace officer to arrest the witness and cause him to appear.
The person arrested shall appear before a judge of the Court of the Sessions of the Peace without delay. The person arrested and the person who required the warrant must then have an opportunity to be heard before any judgment is rendered on the detention or release of the person.
1983, c. 41, s. 116; 1985, c. 29, s. 43.

R-0.2 - Loi sur la recherche des causes et des circonstances des décès

Texte complet
116. Lorsqu’il a des motifs raisonnables et probables de croire qu’une personne qu’il veut assigner comme témoin à l’enquête se soustraira à la signification d’une assignation ou ne se présentera pas en réponse à une assignation, le coroner peut s’adresser à un juge de la Cour du Québec afin que celui-ci décerne un mandat enjoignant à un agent de la paix d’arrêter et de faire comparaître cette personne.
Lorsqu’une personne autre que le coroner a, à la satisfaction du coroner, des motifs raisonnables et probables de croire qu’un témoin à l’enquête se soustraira à la signification d’une assignation ou ne se présentera pas en réponse à une assignation, le coroner peut l’autoriser à s’adresser à un juge de la Cour du Québec afin que celui-ci décerne un mandat enjoignant à un agent de la paix d’arrêter et de faire comparaître ce témoin.
La personne arrêtée doit comparaître devant un juge de la Cour du Québec sans délai. La personne arrêtée et celui qui a requis le mandat doivent alors avoir la possibilité de se faire entendre avant qu’il ne soit adjugé sur la détention ou la remise en liberté.
1983, c. 41, a. 116; 1985, c. 29, a. 43; 1988, c. 21, a. 125.
116. Lorsqu’il a des motifs raisonnables et probables de croire qu’une personne qu’il veut assigner comme témoin à l’enquête se soustraira à la signification d’une assignation ou ne se présentera pas en réponse à une assignation, le coroner peut s’adresser à un juge de la Cour des sessions de la paix afin que celui-ci décerne un mandat enjoignant à un agent de la paix d’arrêter et de faire comparaître cette personne.
Lorsqu’une personne autre que le coroner a, à la satisfaction du coroner, des motifs raisonnables et probables de croire qu’un témoin à l’enquête se soustraira à la signification d’une assignation ou ne se présentera pas en réponse à une assignation, le coroner peut l’autoriser à s’adresser à un juge de la Cour des sessions de la paix afin que celui-ci décerne un mandat enjoignant à un agent de la paix d’arrêter et de faire comparaître ce témoin.
La personne arrêtée doit comparaître devant un juge de la Cour des sessions de la paix sans délai. La personne arrêtée et celui qui a requis le mandat doivent alors avoir la possibilité de se faire entendre avant qu’il ne soit adjugé sur la détention ou la remise en liberté.
1983, c. 41, a. 116; 1985, c. 29, a. 43.