P-34.1 - Youth Protection Act

Full text
74.0.1. For the purpose of hearing and ruling on an application made to it, the tribunal may, taking into account the technological environment in place to support the business of the tribunals, use any appropriate technological means available to both the parties and the tribunal.
However, in all proceedings, witnesses are examined at the hearing. The tribunal may, nevertheless, after consulting the parties, allow a witness to be examined at a distance if the tribunal is of the opinion, after taking into account such factors as the issues raised in the application, the nature and length of the testimony, the witness’s personal situation and ability to travel, and the costs that his presence would entail, that it is expedient to do so.
The technological means used to examine a witness at a distance must allow the witness to be identified, heard and seen live. If this is not possible, the tribunal may, after consulting the parties, allow a witness to be examined at a distance if the tribunal is of the opinion that it is necessary to do so due to the urgency of the situation or for exceptional reasons. In such a case, the technological means used must allow the witness to be identified and heard live.
This section also applies to clerks and justices of the peace in the exercise of their jurisdiction.
2006, c. 34, s. 42; 2017, c. 182017, c. 18, s. 50.
74.0.1. The tribunal may use any technological means at its disposal to hear and decide applications filed under sections 11.1.1, 11.2.1, 36, 47, 72.5, 76.1 and 79.
For the purpose of granting the authorizations provided for in sections 25, 35.2 and 35.3, the justice of the peace may also use any technological means available. The declaration under oath required under those provisions may be made orally, by telephone or using another mode of telecommunication, and it is deemed to be made under oath.
2006, c. 34, s. 42.

P-34.1 - Loi sur la protection de la jeunesse

Texte complet
74.0.1. Aux fins d’entendre et de décider d’une demande qui lui est soumise, le tribunal peut, en tenant compte de l’environnement technologique qui soutient l’activité des tribunaux, utiliser tout moyen technologique approprié qui est disponible tant pour les parties que pour lui.
Toutefois, dans toute instance, les témoins sont interrogés à l’audience. Le tribunal peut cependant, après avoir pris l’avis des parties, permettre l’interrogatoire à distance d’un témoin lorsqu’il est d’avis qu’il y a lieu de le faire après avoir tenu compte notamment de l’enjeu de la demande, de la nature du témoignage, de sa durée, de la situation personnelle du témoin, de sa capacité à se déplacer et des coûts que sa présence entraînerait.
Le moyen technologique utilisé pour interroger un témoin à distance doit permettre, en direct, de l’identifier, de l’entendre et de le voir. Si cela est impossible, le tribunal peut, après avoir pris l’avis des parties, permettre l’interrogatoire à distance du témoin s’il est d’avis qu’il est nécessaire de le faire étant donné l’urgence de la situation ou la présence de motifs exceptionnels. Le moyen technologique utilisé doit alors permettre, en direct, d’identifier le témoin et de l’entendre.
Le présent article s’applique également au greffier et au juge de paix dans l’exercice de leur compétence.
2006, c. 34, a. 42; 2017, c. 182017, c. 18, a. 50.
74.0.1. Le tribunal peut utiliser tout moyen technologique qui lui est disponible aux fins d’entendre et de décider des demandes soumises en application des articles 11.1.1, 11.2.1, 36, 47, 72.5, 76.1 et 79.
Aux fins d’accorder les autorisations prévues aux articles 25, 35.2 et 35.3, le juge de paix peut également utiliser tout moyen technologique qui lui est disponible. La déclaration sous serment requise par ces dispositions peut être faite oralement, par téléphone ou à l’aide d’un autre mode de télécommunication, et elle est réputée faite sous serment.
2006, c. 34, a. 42.