P-34.1 - Youth Protection Act

Full text
38. For the purposes of this Act, the security or development of a child is considered to be in danger if the child is abandoned, neglected, subjected to psychological ill-treatment or sexual or physical abuse, or if the child has serious behavioural disturbances.
In this Act,
(a)  abandonment refers to a situation in which a child’s parents are deceased or fail to provide for the child’s care, maintenance or education and those responsibilities are not assumed by another person in accordance with the child’s needs;
(b)  neglect refers to
(1)  a situation in which the child’s parents or the person having custody of the child do not meet the child’s basic needs,
i.  failing to meet the child’s basic physical needs with respect to food, clothing, hygiene or lodging, taking into account their resources;
ii.  failing to give the child the care required for the child’s physical or mental health, or not allowing the child to receive such care; or
iii.  failing to provide the child with the appropriate supervision or support, or failing to take the necessary steps to ensure that the child receives a proper education and, if applicable, that he attends school as required under the Education Act (chapter I-13.3) or any other applicable legislation; or
(2)  a situation in which there is a serious risk that a child’s parents or the person having custody of the child are not providing for the child’s basic needs in the manner referred to in subparagraph 1;
(c)  psychological ill-treatment refers to a situation in which a child is seriously or repeatedly subjected to behaviour on the part of the child’s parents or another person that could cause harm to the child, and the child’s parents fail to take the necessary steps to put an end to the situation. Such behaviour includes in particular indifference, denigration, emotional rejection, excessive control, isolation, threats, exploitation, particularly if the child is forced to do work disproportionate to the child’s capacity, and exposure to conjugal or domestic violence;
(d)  sexual abuse refers to
(1)  a situation in which the child is subjected to gestures of a sexual nature by the child’s parents or another person, with or without physical contact, including any form of sexual exploitation, and the child’s parents fail to take the necessary steps to put an end to the situation; or
(2)  a situation in which the child runs a serious risk of being subjected to gestures of a sexual nature by the child’s parents or another person, with or without physical contact, including a serious risk of sexual exploitation, and the child’s parents fail to take the necessary steps to put an end to the situation;
(e)  physical abuse refers to
(1)  a situation in which the child is the victim of bodily injury or is subjected to unreasonable methods of upbringing by his parents or another person, and the child’s parents fail to take the necessary steps to put an end to the situation; or
(2)  a situation in which the child runs a serious risk of becoming the victim of bodily injury or being subjected to unreasonable methods of upbringing by his parents or another person, and the child’s parents fail to take the necessary steps to put an end to the situation;
(f)  serious behavioural disturbance refers to a situation in which a child behaves in such a way as to repeatedly or seriously undermine the child’s or others’ physical or psychological integrity, and the child’s parents fail to take the necessary steps to put an end to the situation or, if the child is 14 or over, the child objects to such steps.
1977, c. 20, s. 38; 1981, c. 2, s. 8; 1984, c. 4, s. 18; 1994, c. 35, s. 23; 2006, c. 34, s. 14; 2016, c. 122016, c. 12, s. 36; 2017, c. 182017, c. 18, s. 18.
38. For the purposes of this Act, the security or development of a child is considered to be in danger if the child is abandoned, neglected, subjected to psychological ill-treatment or sexual or physical abuse, or if the child has serious behavioural disturbances.
In this Act,
(a)  abandonment refers to a situation in which a child’s parents are deceased or fail to provide for the child’s care, maintenance or education and those responsibilities are not assumed by another person in accordance with the child’s needs;
(b)  neglect refers to
(1)  a situation in which the child’s parents or the person having custody of the child do not meet the child’s basic needs,
i.  failing to meet the child’s basic physical needs with respect to food, clothing, hygiene or lodging, taking into account their resources;
ii.  failing to give the child the care required for the child’s physical or mental health, or not allowing the child to receive such care; or
iii.  failing to provide the child with the appropriate supervision or support, or failing to take the necessary steps to provide the child with schooling; or
(2)  a situation in which there is a serious risk that a child’s parents or the person having custody of the child are not providing for the child’s basic needs in the manner referred to in subparagraph 1;
(c)  psychological ill-treatment refers to a situation in which a child is seriously or repeatedly subjected to behaviour on the part of the child’s parents or another person that could cause harm to the child, and the child’s parents fail to take the necessary steps to put an end to the situation. Such behaviour includes in particular indifference, denigration, emotional rejection, excessive control, isolation, threats, exploitation, particularly if the child is forced to do work disproportionate to the child’s capacity, and exposure to conjugal or domestic violence;
(d)  sexual abuse refers to
(1)  a situation in which the child is subjected to gestures of a sexual nature by the child’s parents or another person, with or without physical contact, and the child’s parents fail to take the necessary steps to put an end to the situation; or
(2)  a situation in which the child runs a serious risk of being subjected to gestures of a sexual nature by the child’s parents or another person, with or without physical contact, and the child’s parents fail to take the necessary steps to put an end to the situation;
(e)  physical abuse refers to
(1)  a situation in which the child is the victim of bodily injury or is subjected to unreasonable methods of upbringing by his parents or another person, and the child’s parents fail to take the necessary steps to put an end to the situation; or
(2)  a situation in which the child runs a serious risk of becoming the victim of bodily injury or being subjected to unreasonable methods of upbringing by his parents or another person, and the child’s parents fail to take the necessary steps to put an end to the situation;
(f)  serious behavioural disturbance refers to a situation in which a child behaves in such a way as to repeatedly or seriously undermine the child’s or others’ physical or psychological integrity, and the child’s parents fail to take the necessary steps to put an end to the situation or, if the child is 14 or over, the child objects to such steps.
1977, c. 20, s. 38; 1981, c. 2, s. 8; 1984, c. 4, s. 18; 1994, c. 35, s. 23; 2006, c. 34, s. 14; 2016, c. 122016, c. 12, s. 36.
38. For the purposes of this Act, the security or development of a child is considered to be in danger if the child is abandoned, neglected, subjected to psychological ill-treatment or sexual or physical abuse, or if the child has serious behavioural disturbances.
In this Act,
(a)  abandonment refers to a situation in which a child’s parents are deceased or fail to provide for the child’s care, maintenance or education and those responsibilities are not assumed by another person in accordance with the child’s needs;
(b)  neglect refers to
(1)  a situation in which the child’s parents or the person having custody of the child do not meet the child’s basic needs,
i.  failing to meet the child’s basic physical needs with respect to food, clothing, hygiene or lodging, taking into account their resources;
ii.  failing to give the child the care required for the child’s physical or mental health, or not allowing the child to receive such care; or
iii.  failing to provide the child with the appropriate supervision or support, or failing to take the necessary steps to provide the child with schooling; or
(2)  a situation in which there is a serious risk that a child’s parents or the person having custody of the child are not providing for the child’s basic needs in the manner referred to in subparagraph 1;
(c)  psychological ill-treatment refers to a situation in which a child is seriously or repeatedly subjected to behaviour on the part of the child’s parents or another person that could cause harm to the child, and the child’s parents fail to take the necessary steps to put an end to the situation. Such behaviour includes in particular indifference, denigration, emotional rejection, isolation, threats, exploitation, particularly if the child is forced to do work disproportionate to the child’s capacity, and exposure to conjugal or domestic violence;
(d)  sexual abuse refers to
(1)  a situation in which the child is subjected to gestures of a sexual nature by the child’s parents or another person, with or without physical contact, and the child’s parents fail to take the necessary steps to put an end to the situation; or
(2)  a situation in which the child runs a serious risk of being subjected to gestures of a sexual nature by the child’s parents or another person, with or without physical contact, and the child’s parents fail to take the necessary steps to put an end to the situation;
(e)  physical abuse refers to
(1)  a situation in which the child is the victim of bodily injury or is subjected to unreasonable methods of upbringing by his parents or another person, and the child’s parents fail to take the necessary steps to put an end to the situation; or
(2)  a situation in which the child runs a serious risk of becoming the victim of bodily injury or being subjected to unreasonable methods of upbringing by his parents or another person, and the child’s parents fail to take the necessary steps to put an end to the situation;
(f)  serious behavioural disturbance refers to a situation in which a child behaves in such a way as to repeatedly or seriously undermine the child’s or others’ physical or psychological integrity, and the child’s parents fail to take the necessary steps to put an end to the situation or, if the child is 14 or over, the child objects to such steps.
1977, c. 20, s. 38; 1981, c. 2, s. 8; 1984, c. 4, s. 18; 1994, c. 35, s. 23; 2006, c. 34, s. 14.
38. For the purposes of this Act, the security or development of a child is considered to be in danger where
(a)  his parents are deceased or do not, in fact, assume responsibility for his care, maintenance or education;
(b)  his mental or affective development is threatened by the lack of appropriate care or by the isolation in which he is maintained or by serious and continuous emotional rejection by his parents;
(c)  his physical health is threatened by the lack of appropriate care;
(d)  he is deprived of the material conditions of life appropriate to his needs and to the resources of his parents or of the persons having custody of him;
(e)  he is in the custody of a person whose behaviour or way of life creates a risk of moral or physical danger for the child;
(f)  he is forced or induced to beg, to do work disproportionate to his capacity or to perform for the public in a manner that is unacceptable for his age;
(g)  he is the victim of sexual abuse or he is subject to physical ill-treatment through violence or neglect;
(h)  he has serious behavioural disturbances and his parents fail to take the measures necessary to put an end to the situation in which the development or security of their child is in danger or the remedial measures taken by them fail.
However, the security or development of a child whose parents are deceased is not considered to be in danger if a person standing in loco parentis has, in fact, assumed responsibility for the child’s care, maintenance and education, taking the child’s needs into account.
1977, c. 20, s. 38; 1981, c. 2, s. 8; 1984, c. 4, s. 18; 1994, c. 35, s. 23.
38. For the purposes of this Act, the security or development of a child is considered to be in danger where
(a)  his parents are dead, no longer take care of him or seek to be rid of him;
(b)  his mental or affective development is threatened by the lack of appropriate care or by the isolation in which he is maintained or by serious and continuous emotional rejection by his parents;
(c)  his physical health is threatened by the lack of appropriate care;
(d)  he is deprived of the material conditions of life appropriate to his needs and to the resources of his parents or of the persons having custody of him;
(e)  he is in the custody of a person whose behaviour or way of life creates a risk of moral or physical danger for the child;
(f)  he is forced or induced to beg, to do work disproportionate to his capacity or to perform for the public in a manner that is unacceptable for his age;
(g)  he is the victim of sexual abuse or he is subject to physical ill-treatment through violence or neglect;
(h)  he has serious behavioural disturbances and his parents fail to take the measures necessary to remedy the situation or the remedial measures taken by them fail.
Subparagraph g of the first paragraph does not apply if the child is the victim of sexual abuse or is subject to physical ill-treatment from any person other than his parents and the latter take the measures necessary to remedy the situation.
1977, c. 20, s. 38; 1981, c. 2, s. 8; 1984, c. 4, s. 18.
38. For the purposes of this act, the security or development of a child is considered to be in danger where, in particular,
(a)  his parents are dead, no longer take care of him or seek to be rid of him and no other person is taking care of him;
(b)  his mental or emotional development or his health is threatened by the isolation in which he is maintained or the lack of appropriate care;
(c)  he is deprived of the material conditions of life appropriate to his needs and to the resources of his family;
(d)  he is in the custody of a person whose behaviour or way of life creates a risk of moral or physical danger for the child;
(e)  repealed;
(f)  he is the victim of sexual assault or he is subject to physical ill-treatment through violence or neglect;
(g)  he has serious behaviour disturbances;
(h)  he is forced or induced to beg, to do work disproportionate to his strength or to perform for the public in a manner that is unacceptable for his age;
(i)  he leaves a hospital centre, a reception centre or a foster family without authorization.
A child’s security or development may be considered to be in danger if:
(a)  he is of school age and does not attend school, or is frequently absent without reason;
(b)  he leaves his own home without authorization.
1977, c. 20, s. 38; 1981, c. 2, s. 8.
38. For the purposes of this act, the security or development of a child is considered to be in danger where, in particular,
(a)  his parents are dead, no longer take care of him or seek to be rid of him and no other person is taking care of him;
(b)  his mental or emotional development or his health is threatened by the isolation in which he is maintained or the lack of appropriate care;
(c)  he is deprived of the material conditions of life appropriate to his needs and to the resources of his family;
(d)  he is in the custody of a person whose behaviour or way of life creates a risk of moral or physical danger for the child;
(e)  he is of school age and does not attend school or is frequently absent without reason;
(f)  he is the victim of sexual assault or he is subject to physical ill-treatment through violence or neglect;
(g)  he has serious behaviour disturbances;
(h)  he is forced or induced to beg, to do work disproportionate to his strength or to perform for the public in a manner that is unacceptable for his age;
(i)  he leaves a reception centre, a foster family or his own home without authorization.
1977, c. 20, s. 38.

P-34.1 - Loi sur la protection de la jeunesse

Texte complet
38. Pour l’application de la présente loi, la sécurité ou le développement d’un enfant est considéré comme compromis lorsqu’il se retrouve dans une situation d’abandon, de négligence, de mauvais traitements psychologiques, d’abus sexuels ou d’abus physiques ou lorsqu’il présente des troubles de comportement sérieux.
On entend par:
a)  abandon: lorsque les parents d’un enfant sont décédés ou n’en assument pas de fait le soin, l’entretien ou l’éducation et que, dans ces deux situations, ces responsabilités ne sont pas assumées, compte tenu des besoins de l’enfant, par une autre personne;
b)  négligence:
1°  lorsque les parents d’un enfant ou la personne qui en a la garde ne répondent pas à ses besoins fondamentaux:
i.  soit sur le plan physique, en ne lui assurant pas l’essentiel de ses besoins d’ordre alimentaire, vestimentaire, d’hygiène ou de logement compte tenu de leurs ressources;
ii.  soit sur le plan de la santé, en ne lui assurant pas ou en ne lui permettant pas de recevoir les soins que requiert sa santé physique ou mentale;
iii.  soit sur le plan éducatif, en ne lui fournissant pas une surveillance ou un encadrement approprié ou en ne prenant pas les moyens nécessaires pour que l’enfant reçoive une instruction adéquate et, le cas échéant, pour qu’il remplisse son obligation de fréquentation scolaire prévue par la Loi sur l’instruction publique (chapitre I-13.3) ou par toute autre loi applicable;
2°  lorsqu’il y a un risque sérieux que les parents d’un enfant ou la personne qui en a la garde ne répondent pas à ses besoins fondamentaux de la manière prévue au sous-paragraphe 1°;
c)  mauvais traitements psychologiques: lorsque l’enfant subit, de façon grave ou continue, des comportements de nature à lui causer un préjudice de la part de ses parents ou d’une autre personne et que ses parents ne prennent pas les moyens nécessaires pour mettre fin à la situation. Ces comportements se traduisent notamment par de l’indifférence, du dénigrement, du rejet affectif, du contrôle excessif, de l’isolement, des menaces, de l’exploitation, entre autres si l’enfant est forcé à faire un travail disproportionné par rapport à ses capacités, ou par l’exposition à la violence conjugale ou familiale;
d)  abus sexuels:
1°  lorsque l’enfant subit des gestes à caractère sexuel, avec ou sans contact physique, incluant toute forme d’exploitation sexuelle, de la part de ses parents ou d’une autre personne et que ses parents ne prennent pas les moyens nécessaires pour mettre fin à la situation;
2°  lorsque l’enfant encourt un risque sérieux de subir des gestes à caractère sexuel, avec ou sans contact physique, incluant un risque sérieux d’exploitation sexuelle, de la part de ses parents ou d’une autre personne et que ses parents ne prennent pas les moyens nécessaires pour mettre fin à la situation;
e)  abus physiques:
1°  lorsque l’enfant subit des sévices corporels ou est soumis à des méthodes éducatives déraisonnables de la part de ses parents ou de la part d’une autre personne et que ses parents ne prennent pas les moyens nécessaires pour mettre fin à la situation;
2°  lorsque l’enfant encourt un risque sérieux de subir des sévices corporels ou d’être soumis à des méthodes éducatives déraisonnables de la part de ses parents ou d’une autre personne et que ses parents ne prennent pas les moyens nécessaires pour mettre fin à la situation;
f)  troubles de comportement sérieux: lorsque l’enfant, de façon grave ou continue, se comporte de manière à porter atteinte à son intégrité physique ou psychologique ou à celle d’autrui et que ses parents ne prennent pas les moyens nécessaires pour mettre fin à la situation ou que l’enfant de 14 ans et plus s’y oppose.
1977, c. 20, a. 38; 1981, c. 2, a. 8; 1984, c. 4, a. 18; 1994, c. 35, a. 23; 2006, c. 34, a. 14; 2016, c. 122016, c. 12, a. 36; 2017, c. 182017, c. 18, a. 18.
38. Pour l’application de la présente loi, la sécurité ou le développement d’un enfant est considéré comme compromis lorsqu’il se retrouve dans une situation d’abandon, de négligence, de mauvais traitements psychologiques, d’abus sexuels ou d’abus physiques ou lorsqu’il présente des troubles de comportement sérieux.
On entend par:
a)  abandon: lorsque les parents d’un enfant sont décédés ou n’en assument pas de fait le soin, l’entretien ou l’éducation et que, dans ces deux situations, ces responsabilités ne sont pas assumées, compte tenu des besoins de l’enfant, par une autre personne;
b)  négligence:
1°  lorsque les parents d’un enfant ou la personne qui en a la garde ne répondent pas à ses besoins fondamentaux:
i.  soit sur le plan physique, en ne lui assurant pas l’essentiel de ses besoins d’ordre alimentaire, vestimentaire, d’hygiène ou de logement compte tenu de leurs ressources;
ii.  soit sur le plan de la santé, en ne lui assurant pas ou en ne lui permettant pas de recevoir les soins que requiert sa santé physique ou mentale;
iii.  soit sur le plan éducatif, en ne lui fournissant pas une surveillance ou un encadrement approprié ou en ne prenant pas les moyens nécessaires pour assurer sa scolarisation;
2°  lorsqu’il y a un risque sérieux que les parents d’un enfant ou la personne qui en a la garde ne répondent pas à ses besoins fondamentaux de la manière prévue au sous-paragraphe 1°;
c)  mauvais traitements psychologiques: lorsque l’enfant subit, de façon grave ou continue, des comportements de nature à lui causer un préjudice de la part de ses parents ou d’une autre personne et que ses parents ne prennent pas les moyens nécessaires pour mettre fin à la situation. Ces comportements se traduisent notamment par de l’indifférence, du dénigrement, du rejet affectif, du contrôle excessif, de l’isolement, des menaces, de l’exploitation, entre autres si l’enfant est forcé à faire un travail disproportionné par rapport à ses capacités, ou par l’exposition à la violence conjugale ou familiale;
d)  abus sexuels:
1°  lorsque l’enfant subit des gestes à caractère sexuel, avec ou sans contact physique, de la part de ses parents ou d’une autre personne et que ses parents ne prennent pas les moyens nécessaires pour mettre fin à la situation;
2°  lorsque l’enfant encourt un risque sérieux de subir des gestes à caractère sexuel, avec ou sans contact physique, de la part de ses parents ou d’une autre personne et que ses parents ne prennent pas les moyens nécessaires pour mettre fin à la situation;
e)  abus physiques:
1°  lorsque l’enfant subit des sévices corporels ou est soumis à des méthodes éducatives déraisonnables de la part de ses parents ou de la part d’une autre personne et que ses parents ne prennent pas les moyens nécessaires pour mettre fin à la situation;
2°  lorsque l’enfant encourt un risque sérieux de subir des sévices corporels ou d’être soumis à des méthodes éducatives déraisonnables de la part de ses parents ou d’une autre personne et que ses parents ne prennent pas les moyens nécessaires pour mettre fin à la situation;
f)  troubles de comportement sérieux: lorsque l’enfant, de façon grave ou continue, se comporte de manière à porter atteinte à son intégrité physique ou psychologique ou à celle d’autrui et que ses parents ne prennent pas les moyens nécessaires pour mettre fin à la situation ou que l’enfant de 14 ans et plus s’y oppose.
1977, c. 20, a. 38; 1981, c. 2, a. 8; 1984, c. 4, a. 18; 1994, c. 35, a. 23; 2006, c. 34, a. 14; 2016, c. 122016, c. 12, a. 36.
38. Pour l’application de la présente loi, la sécurité ou le développement d’un enfant est considéré comme compromis lorsqu’il se retrouve dans une situation d’abandon, de négligence, de mauvais traitements psychologiques, d’abus sexuels ou d’abus physiques ou lorsqu’il présente des troubles de comportement sérieux.
On entend par:
a)  abandon: lorsque les parents d’un enfant sont décédés ou n’en assument pas de fait le soin, l’entretien ou l’éducation et que, dans ces deux situations, ces responsabilités ne sont pas assumées, compte tenu des besoins de l’enfant, par une autre personne;
b)  négligence:
1°  lorsque les parents d’un enfant ou la personne qui en a la garde ne répondent pas à ses besoins fondamentaux:
i.  soit sur le plan physique, en ne lui assurant pas l’essentiel de ses besoins d’ordre alimentaire, vestimentaire, d’hygiène ou de logement compte tenu de leurs ressources;
ii.  soit sur le plan de la santé, en ne lui assurant pas ou en ne lui permettant pas de recevoir les soins que requiert sa santé physique ou mentale;
iii.  soit sur le plan éducatif, en ne lui fournissant pas une surveillance ou un encadrement approprié ou en ne prenant pas les moyens nécessaires pour assurer sa scolarisation;
2°  lorsqu’il y a un risque sérieux que les parents d’un enfant ou la personne qui en a la garde ne répondent pas à ses besoins fondamentaux de la manière prévue au sous-paragraphe 1°;
c)  mauvais traitements psychologiques: lorsque l’enfant subit, de façon grave ou continue, des comportements de nature à lui causer un préjudice de la part de ses parents ou d’une autre personne et que ses parents ne prennent pas les moyens nécessaires pour mettre fin à la situation. Ces comportements se traduisent notamment par de l’indifférence, du dénigrement, du rejet affectif, de l’isolement, des menaces, de l’exploitation, entre autres si l’enfant est forcé à faire un travail disproportionné par rapport à ses capacités, ou par l’exposition à la violence conjugale ou familiale;
d)  abus sexuels:
1°  lorsque l’enfant subit des gestes à caractère sexuel, avec ou sans contact physique, de la part de ses parents ou d’une autre personne et que ses parents ne prennent pas les moyens nécessaires pour mettre fin à la situation;
2°  lorsque l’enfant encourt un risque sérieux de subir des gestes à caractère sexuel, avec ou sans contact physique, de la part de ses parents ou d’une autre personne et que ses parents ne prennent pas les moyens nécessaires pour mettre fin à la situation;
e)  abus physiques:
1°  lorsque l’enfant subit des sévices corporels ou est soumis à des méthodes éducatives déraisonnables de la part de ses parents ou de la part d’une autre personne et que ses parents ne prennent pas les moyens nécessaires pour mettre fin à la situation;
2°  lorsque l’enfant encourt un risque sérieux de subir des sévices corporels ou d’être soumis à des méthodes éducatives déraisonnables de la part de ses parents ou d’une autre personne et que ses parents ne prennent pas les moyens nécessaires pour mettre fin à la situation;
f)  troubles de comportement sérieux: lorsque l’enfant, de façon grave ou continue, se comporte de manière à porter atteinte à son intégrité physique ou psychologique ou à celle d’autrui et que ses parents ne prennent pas les moyens nécessaires pour mettre fin à la situation ou que l’enfant de 14 ans et plus s’y oppose.
1977, c. 20, a. 38; 1981, c. 2, a. 8; 1984, c. 4, a. 18; 1994, c. 35, a. 23; 2006, c. 34, a. 14.
38. Aux fins de la présente loi, la sécurité ou le développement d’un enfant est considéré comme compromis:
a)  si ses parents ne vivent plus ou n’en assument pas de fait le soin, l’entretien ou l’éducation;
b)  si son développement mental ou affectif est menacé par l’absence de soins appropriés ou par l’isolement dans lequel il est maintenu ou par un rejet affectif grave et continu de la part de ses parents;
c)  si sa santé physique est menacée par l’absence de soins appropriés;
d)  s’il est privé de conditions matérielles d’existence appropriées à ses besoins et aux ressources de ses parents ou de ceux qui en ont la garde;
e)  s’il est gardé par une personne dont le comportement ou le mode de vie risque de créer pour lui un danger moral ou physique;
f)  s’il est forcé ou incité à mendier, à faire un travail disproportionné à ses capacités ou à se produire en spectacle de façon inacceptable eu égard à son âge;
g)  s’il est victime d’abus sexuels ou est soumis à des mauvais traitements physiques par suite d’excès ou de négligence;
h)  s’il manifeste des troubles de comportement sérieux et que ses parents ne prennent pas les moyens nécessaires pour mettre fin à la situation qui compromet la sécurité ou le développement de leur enfant ou n’y parviennent pas.
Toutefois, la sécurité ou le développement d’un enfant n’est pas considéré comme compromis bien que ses parents ne vivent plus, si une personne qui en tient lieu assume de fait le soin, l’entretien et l’éducation de cet enfant, compte tenu de ses besoins.
1977, c. 20, a. 38; 1981, c. 2, a. 8; 1984, c. 4, a. 18; 1994, c. 35, a. 23.
38. Aux fins de la présente loi, la sécurité ou le développement d’un enfant est considéré comme compromis:
a)  si ses parents ne vivent plus, ne s’en occupent plus ou cherchent à s’en défaire;
b)  si son développement mental ou affectif est menacé par l’absence de soins appropriés ou par l’isolement dans lequel il est maintenu ou par un rejet affectif grave et continu de la part de ses parents;
c)  si sa santé physique est menacée par l’absence de soins appropriés;
d)  s’il est privé de conditions matérielles d’existence appropriées à ses besoins et aux ressources de ses parents ou de ceux qui en ont la garde;
e)  s’il est gardé par une personne dont le comportement ou le mode de vie risque de créer pour lui un danger moral ou physique;
f)  s’il est forcé ou incité à mendier, à faire un travail disproportionné à ses capacités ou à se produire en spectacle de façon inacceptable eu égard à son âge;
g)  s’il est victime d’abus sexuels ou est soumis à des mauvais traitements physiques par suite d’excès ou de négligence;
h)  s’il manifeste des troubles de comportement sérieux et que ses parents ne prennent pas les moyens nécessaires pour corriger la situation ou n’y parviennent pas.
Le paragraphe g ne s’applique pas si l’enfant est victime d’abus sexuels ou est soumis à des mauvais traitements de la part d’une personne autre que ses parents et que ceux-ci prennent les moyens nécessaires pour corriger la situation.
1977, c. 20, a. 38; 1981, c. 2, a. 8; 1984, c. 4, a. 18.
38. Aux fins de la présente loi, la sécurité ou le développement d’un enfant est considéré comme compromis si:
a)  ses parents ne vivent plus, ne s’en occupent plus ou cherchent à s’en défaire, et qu’aucune autre personne ne s’en occupe;
b)  son développement mental ou émotif ou sa santé est menacé par l’isolement dans lequel on le maintient ou l’absence de soins appropriés;
c)  il est privé de conditions matérielles d’existence appropriées à ses besoins et aux ressources de sa famille;
d)  il est gardé par une personne dont le comportement ou le mode de vie risque de créer pour lui un danger moral ou physique;
e)  abrogé;
f)  il est victime d’abus sexuels ou est soumis à des mauvais traitements physiques par suite d’excès ou de négligence;
g)  il manifeste des troubles de comportement sérieux;
h)  il est forcé ou induit à mendier, à faire un travail disproportionné à ses forces ou à se produire en spectacle de façon inacceptable eu égard à son âge;
i)  il quitte sans autorisation un centre hospitalier, un centre d’accueil ou une famille d’accueil.
La sécurité ou le développement d’un enfant peut être considéré comme compromis si:
a)  il est d’âge scolaire et ne fréquente pas l’école ou s’en absente fréquemment sans raison;
b)  il quitte sans autorisation son propre foyer.
1977, c. 20, a. 38; 1981, c. 2, a. 8.
38. Aux fins de la présente loi, la sécurité ou le développement d’un enfant est considéré comme compromis si:
a)  ses parents ne vivent plus, ne s’en occupent plus ou cherchent à s’en défaire, et qu’aucune autre personne ne s’en occupe;
b)  son développement mental ou émotif ou sa santé est menacé par l’isolement dans lequel on le maintient ou l’absence de soins appropriés;
c)  il est privé de conditions matérielles d’existence appropriées à ses besoins et aux ressources de sa famille;
d)  il est gardé par une personne dont le comportement ou le mode de vie risque de créer pour lui un danger moral ou physique;
e)  il est d’âge scolaire et ne fréquente pas l’école ou s’en absente fréquemment sans raison;
f)  il est victime d’abus sexuels ou est soumis à des mauvais traitements physiques par suite d’excès ou de négligence;
g)  il manifeste des troubles de comportement sérieux;
h)  il est forcé ou induit à mendier, à faire un travail disproportionné à ses forces ou à se produire en spectacle de façon inacceptable eu égard à son âge;
i)  il quitte sans autorisation un centre d’accueil, une famille d’accueil ou son propre foyer.
1977, c. 20, a. 38.