C-25.01 - Code of Civil Procedure

Full text
622. Unless otherwise provided by law, the issues on which the parties have an arbitration agreement cannot be brought before a court even though it would have jurisdiction to decide the subject matter of the dispute.
A court seized of a dispute on such an issue is required, on a party’s application, to refer the parties back to arbitration, unless the court finds the arbitration agreement to be null. The application for referral to arbitration must be made within 45 days after the originating application or within 90 days when the dispute involves a foreign element. Arbitration proceedings may be commenced or continued and an award made for so long as the court has not made its ruling.
The parties cannot, through their agreement, depart from the provisions of this Title that determine the jurisdiction of the court or from those relating to the application of the adversarial principle or the principle of proportionality, to the right to receive notification of a document or to the homologation or the annulment of an arbitration award.
2014, c. 1, a. 622.

C-25.01 - Code de procédure civile

Texte complet
622. Les questions au sujet desquelles les parties ont conclu une convention d’arbitrage ne peuvent être portées devant un tribunal de l’ordre judiciaire, alors même qu’il serait compétent pour décider de l’objet du différend, à moins que la loi ne le prévoie.
Le tribunal saisi d’un litige portant sur une telle question est tenu, à la demande de l’une des parties, de les renvoyer à l’arbitrage, à moins qu’il ne constate la nullité de la convention. La demande de renvoi doit être soulevée dans les 45 jours de la demande introductive d’instance ou dans les 90 jours lorsque le litige comporte un élément d’extranéité. Néanmoins, la procédure d’arbitrage peut être engagée ou poursuivie et une sentence rendue tant que le tribunal n’a pas statué.
Les parties ne peuvent par leur convention déroger aux dispositions du présent titre qui déterminent la compétence du tribunal, ni à celles concernant l’application des principes de contradiction et de proportionnalité, le droit de recevoir notification d’un acte ou l’homologation ou l’annulation de la sentence arbitrale.
2014, c. 1, a. 622.