C-19 - Cities and Towns Act

Full text
109. At any time of the year, if so required in writing by at least 50 ratepayers, the council shall also order a special audit of the accounts of the municipality for one or more of the last five years, provided that no such audit has already been made for the same years under this section or that such an audit does not fall under the audit mandate assigned to the Commission municipale du Québec under the Act respecting the Commission municipale (chapter C-35).
The auditor ad hoc shall be appointed by the council, but before he is appointed the choice which the council intends to make must be accepted in writing by the majority of the ratepayers who demanded the audit; failing agreement between such ratepayers and the council, the auditor ad hoc shall be appointed by a judge of the Court of Québec on application by one of the parties after notice of eight clear days to the other party.
The costs of such audit shall be payable by the responsible officer or employee of the municipality, if he has been guilty of embezzlement or if, having been found short in his accounts, he fails to repay the balance within the time fixed by the last paragraph; otherwise the costs shall be payable by the persons who demanded the audit, unless the audit is of no advantage to the municipality.
The demand for an audit under this section must be accompanied by a deposit of $2,000, which shall be returned to the petitioners if the costs of the audit are not charged to them.
Any auditor ad hoc appointed for such purposes may be an individual or a partnership, and may entrust the work to his or its employees, but then the responsibility of such auditor shall be the same as if such work had been entirely performed by the auditor himself. In the case of a partnership, the taking of the oath of office by one of the partners shall be sufficient.
Within 30 days after the notification to him of a copy of the report of the audit, the defaulting officer or employee of the municipality must pay the amount of the balance which he has been found to owe, as well as the costs of the audit.
R. S. 1964, c. 193, s. 105; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 17, s. 2; 1968, c. 55, s. 5; 1988, c. 21, s. 66; 1996, c. 2, s. 209; 1999, c. 40, s. 51; 2001, c. 25, s. 26; I.N. 2016-01-01 (NCCP); 2018, c. 82018, c. 8, s. 56.
109. At any time of the year, if so required in writing by at least 50 ratepayers, the council shall also order a special audit of the accounts of the municipality for one or more of the last five years, provided that no such audit has already been made for the same years under this section.
The auditor ad hoc shall be appointed by the council, but before he is appointed the choice which the council intends to make must be accepted in writing by the majority of the ratepayers who demanded the audit; failing agreement between such ratepayers and the council, the auditor ad hoc shall be appointed by a judge of the Court of Québec on application by one of the parties after notice of eight clear days to the other party.
The costs of such audit shall be payable by the responsible officer or employee of the municipality, if he has been guilty of embezzlement or if, having been found short in his accounts, he fails to repay the balance within the time fixed by the last paragraph; otherwise the costs shall be payable by the persons who demanded the audit, unless the audit is of no advantage to the municipality.
The demand for an audit under this section must be accompanied by a deposit of $2,000, which shall be returned to the petitioners if the costs of the audit are not charged to them.
Any auditor ad hoc appointed for such purposes may be an individual or a partnership, and may entrust the work to his or its employees, but then the responsibility of such auditor shall be the same as if such work had been entirely performed by the auditor himself. In the case of a partnership, the taking of the oath of office by one of the partners shall be sufficient.
Within 30 days after the notification to him of a copy of the report of the audit, the defaulting officer or employee of the municipality must pay the amount of the balance which he has been found to owe, as well as the costs of the audit.
R. S. 1964, c. 193, s. 105; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 17, s. 2; 1968, c. 55, s. 5; 1988, c. 21, s. 66; 1996, c. 2, s. 209; 1999, c. 40, s. 51; 2001, c. 25, s. 26; I.N. 2016-01-01 (NCCP).
109. At any time of the year, if so required in writing by at least 50 ratepayers, the council shall also order a special audit of the accounts of the municipality for one or more of the last five years, provided that no such audit has already been made for the same years under this section.
The auditor ad hoc shall be appointed by the council, but before he is appointed the choice which the council intends to make must be accepted in writing by the majority of the ratepayers who demanded the audit; failing agreement between such ratepayers and the council, the auditor ad hoc shall be appointed by a judge of the Court of Québec upon the petition of one of the parties after notice of eight clear days to the other party.
The costs of such audit shall be payable by the responsible officer or employee of the municipality, if he has been guilty of embezzlement or if, having been found short in his accounts, he fails to repay the balance within the time fixed by the last paragraph; otherwise the costs shall be payable by the persons who demanded the audit, unless the audit is of no advantage to the municipality.
The demand for an audit under this section must be accompanied by a deposit of $2,000, which shall be returned to the petitioners if the costs of the audit are not charged to them.
Any auditor ad hoc appointed for such purposes may be an individual or a partnership, and may entrust the work to his or its employees, but then the responsibility of such auditor shall be the same as if such work had been entirely performed by the auditor himself. In the case of a partnership, the taking of the oath of office by one of the partners shall be sufficient.
Within 30 days after the service upon him of a copy of the report of the audit, the defaulting officer or employee of the municipality must pay the amount of the balance which he has been found to owe, as well as the costs of the audit.
R. S. 1964, c. 193, s. 105; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 17, s. 2; 1968, c. 55, s. 5; 1988, c. 21, s. 66; 1996, c. 2, s. 209; 1999, c. 40, s. 51; 2001, c. 25, s. 26.
109. At any time of the year, if so required in writing by at least 50 ratepayers, the council shall also order a special audit of the accounts of the municipality for one or more of the last five years, provided that no such audit has already been made for the same years under this section.
The auditor shall be appointed by the council, but before he is appointed the choice which the council intends to make must be accepted in writing by the majority of the ratepayers who demanded the audit; failing agreement between such ratepayers and the council, the auditor shall be appointed by a judge of the Court of Québec upon the petition of one of the parties after notice of eight clear days to the other party.
The costs of such audit shall be payable by the responsible officer or employee of the municipality, if he has been guilty of embezzlement or if, having been found short in his accounts, he fails to repay the balance within the time fixed by the last paragraph; otherwise the costs shall be payable by the persons who demanded the audit, unless the audit is of no advantage to the municipality.
The demand for an audit under this section must be accompanied by a deposit of $2 000, which shall be returned to the petitioners if the costs of the audit are not charged to them.
Any auditor appointed for such purposes may be an individual or a partnership, and may entrust the work to his or its employees, but then the responsibility of such auditor shall be the same as if such work had been entirely performed by the auditor himself. In the case of a partnership, the taking of the oath of office by one of the partners shall be sufficient.
Within 30 days after the service upon him of a copy of the report of the audit, the defaulting officer or employee of the municipality must pay the amount of the balance which he has been found to owe, as well as the costs of the audit.
R. S. 1964, c. 193, s. 105; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 17, s. 2; 1968, c. 55, s. 5; 1988, c. 21, s. 66; 1996, c. 2, s. 209; 1999, c. 40, s. 51.
109. At any time of the year, if so required in writing by at least 50 ratepayers, the council shall also order a special audit of the accounts of the municipality for one or more of the last five years, provided that no such audit has already been made for the same years under this section.
The auditor shall be appointed by the council, but before he is appointed the choice which the council intends to make must be accepted in writing by the majority of the ratepayers who demanded the audit; failing agreement between such ratepayers and the council, the auditor shall be appointed by a judge of the Court of Québec upon the petition of one of the parties after notice of eight clear days to the other party.
The costs of such audit shall be payable by the responsible officer or employee of the municipality, if he has been guilty of embezzlement or if, having been found short in his accounts, he fails to repay the balance within the delay fixed by the last paragraph; otherwise the costs shall be payable by the persons who demanded the audit, unless the audit is of no advantage to the municipality.
The demand for an audit under this section must be accompanied by a deposit of $2 000, which shall be returned to the petitioners if the costs of the audit are not charged to them.
Any auditor appointed for such purposes may be an individual or a partnership, and may entrust the work to his or its employees, but then the responsibility of such auditor shall be the same as if such work had been entirely performed by the auditor himself. In the case of a partnership, the taking of the oath of office by one of the partners shall be sufficient.
Within 30 days after the service upon him of a copy of the report of the audit, the defaulting officer or employee of the municipality must pay the amount of the balance which he has been found to owe, as well as the costs of the audit.
R. S. 1964, c. 193, s. 105; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 17, s. 2; 1968, c. 55, s. 5; 1988, c. 21, s. 66; 1996, c. 2, s. 209.
109. At any time of the year, if so required in writing by at least fifty ratepayers, the council shall also order a special audit of the accounts of the corporation for one or more of the last five years, provided that no such audit has already been made for the same years under this section.
The auditor shall be appointed by the council, but before he is appointed the choice which the council intends to make must be accepted in writing by the majority of the ratepayers who demanded the audit; failing agreement between such ratepayers and the council, the auditor shall be appointed by a judge of the Court of Québec upon the petition of one of the parties after notice of eight clear days to the other party.
The costs of such audit shall be payable by the responsible officer or employee of the corporation, if he has been guilty of embezzlement or if, having been found short in his accounts, he fails to repay the balance within the delay fixed by the last paragraph; otherwise the costs shall be payable by the persons who demanded the audit, unless the audit is of no advantage to the corporation.
The demand for an audit under this section must be accompanied by a deposit of $2 000, which shall be returned to the petitioners if the costs of the audit are not charged to them.
Any auditor appointed for such purposes may be an individual or a partnership, and may entrust the work to his or its employees, but then the responsibility of such auditor shall be the same as if such work had been entirely performed by the auditor himself. In the case of a partnership, the taking of the oath of office by one of the partners shall be sufficient.
Within thirty days after the service upon him of a copy of the report of the audit, the defaulting officer or employee of the corporation must pay the amount of the balance which he has been found to owe, as well as the costs of the audit.
R. S. 1964, c. 193, s. 105; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 17, s. 2; 1968, c. 55, s. 5; 1988, c. 21, s. 66.
109. At any time of the year, if so required in writing by at least fifty ratepayers, the council shall also order a special audit of the accounts of the corporation for one or more of the last five years, provided that no such audit has already been made for the same years under this section.
The auditor shall be appointed by the council, but before he is appointed the choice which the council intends to make must be accepted in writing by the majority of the ratepayers who demanded the audit; failing agreement between such ratepayers and the council, the auditor shall be appointed by a judge of the Provincial Court upon the petition of one of the parties after notice of eight clear days to the other party.
The costs of such audit shall be payable by the responsible officer or employee of the corporation, if he has been guilty of embezzlement or if, having been found short in his accounts, he fails to repay the balance within the delay fixed by the last paragraph; otherwise the costs shall be payable by the persons who demanded the audit, unless the audit is of no advantage to the corporation.
The demand for an audit under this section must be accompanied by a deposit of $2 000, which shall be returned to the petitioners if the costs of the audit are not charged to them.
Any auditor appointed for such purposes may be an individual or a partnership, and may entrust the work to his or its employees, but then the responsibility of such auditor shall be the same as if such work had been entirely performed by the auditor himself. In the case of a partnership, the taking of the oath of office by one of the partners shall be sufficient.
Within thirty days after the service upon him of a copy of the report of the audit, the defaulting officer or employee of the corporation must pay the amount of the balance which he has been found to owe, as well as the costs of the audit.
R. S. 1964, c. 193, s. 105; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 17, s. 2; 1968, c. 55, s. 5.

C-19 - Loi sur les cités et villes

Texte complet
109. En tout temps de l’année, à la demande écrite d’au moins 50 contribuables, le conseil doit aussi ordonner une vérification spéciale des comptes de la municipalité pour une ou plusieurs des cinq années antérieures, pourvu qu’aucune telle vérification n’ait déjà été faite pour les mêmes années sous l’empire du présent article ou qu’une telle vérification ne fasse partie du mandat de vérification accordé à la Commission municipale du Québec en vertu de la Loi sur la Commission municipale (chapitre C-35).
Le vérificateur ad hoc est nommé par le conseil, mais avant sa nomination le choix que le conseil se propose de faire doit être accepté par écrit de la majorité des contribuables qui ont demandé la vérification; à défaut d’entente entre ces contribuables et le conseil, le vérificateur ad hoc est nommé par un juge de la Cour du Québec, sur demande de l’une des parties après avis de huit jours francs à l’autre partie.
Les frais de cette vérification sont supportés par le fonctionnaire ou employé responsable de la municipalité s’il s’est rendu coupable de détournement de fonds ou si, ayant été trouvé reliquataire, il fait défaut de rembourser le reliquat dans le délai fixé par le dernier alinéa; sinon, ils sont à la charge des personnes qui l’ont demandée, à moins que la vérification ne profite à la municipalité.
La demande de vérification en vertu du présent article doit être accompagnée d’un dépôt de 2 000 $, lequel doit être remis aux requérants si les frais de la vérification ne sont pas mis à leur charge.
Tout vérificateur ad hoc nommé à ces fins peut être un particulier ou une société; il peut faire exécuter son travail par ses employés, mais alors sa responsabilité est la même que si ce travail avait été entièrement fait par lui-même. Dans le cas d’une société, la prestation du serment d’office de l’un des associés est suffisante.
Dans les 30 jours qui suivent la notification qui lui est faite d’une copie du rapport de vérification, le fonctionnaire ou employé en défaut de la municipalité doit acquitter le montant dont il a été trouvé reliquataire, ainsi que les frais de la vérification.
S. R. 1964, c. 193, a. 105; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 17, a. 2; 1968, c. 55, a. 5; 1988, c. 21, a. 66; 1996, c. 2, a. 209; 2001, c. 25, a. 26; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC); 2018, c. 82018, c. 8, a. 56.
109. En tout temps de l’année, à la demande écrite d’au moins 50 contribuables, le conseil doit aussi ordonner une vérification spéciale des comptes de la municipalité pour une ou plusieurs des cinq années antérieures, pourvu qu’aucune telle vérification n’ait déjà été faite pour les mêmes années sous l’empire du présent article.
Le vérificateur ad hoc est nommé par le conseil, mais avant sa nomination le choix que le conseil se propose de faire doit être accepté par écrit de la majorité des contribuables qui ont demandé la vérification; à défaut d’entente entre ces contribuables et le conseil, le vérificateur ad hoc est nommé par un juge de la Cour du Québec, sur demande de l’une des parties après avis de huit jours francs à l’autre partie.
Les frais de cette vérification sont supportés par le fonctionnaire ou employé responsable de la municipalité s’il s’est rendu coupable de détournement de fonds ou si, ayant été trouvé reliquataire, il fait défaut de rembourser le reliquat dans le délai fixé par le dernier alinéa; sinon, ils sont à la charge des personnes qui l’ont demandée, à moins que la vérification ne profite à la municipalité.
La demande de vérification en vertu du présent article doit être accompagnée d’un dépôt de 2 000 $, lequel doit être remis aux requérants si les frais de la vérification ne sont pas mis à leur charge.
Tout vérificateur ad hoc nommé à ces fins peut être un particulier ou une société; il peut faire exécuter son travail par ses employés, mais alors sa responsabilité est la même que si ce travail avait été entièrement fait par lui-même. Dans le cas d’une société, la prestation du serment d’office de l’un des associés est suffisante.
Dans les 30 jours qui suivent la notification qui lui est faite d’une copie du rapport de vérification, le fonctionnaire ou employé en défaut de la municipalité doit acquitter le montant dont il a été trouvé reliquataire, ainsi que les frais de la vérification.
S. R. 1964, c. 193, a. 105; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 17, a. 2; 1968, c. 55, a. 5; 1988, c. 21, a. 66; 1996, c. 2, a. 209; 2001, c. 25, a. 26; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
109. En tout temps de l’année, à la demande écrite d’au moins 50 contribuables, le conseil doit aussi ordonner une vérification spéciale des comptes de la municipalité pour une ou plusieurs des cinq années antérieures, pourvu qu’aucune telle vérification n’ait déjà été faite pour les mêmes années sous l’empire du présent article.
Le vérificateur ad hoc est nommé par le conseil, mais avant sa nomination le choix que le conseil se propose de faire doit être accepté par écrit de la majorité des contribuables qui ont demandé la vérification; à défaut d’entente entre ces contribuables et le conseil, le vérificateur ad hoc est nommé par un juge de la Cour du Québec, sur requête de l’une des parties après avis de huit jours francs à l’autre partie.
Les frais de cette vérification sont supportés par le fonctionnaire ou employé responsable de la municipalité s’il s’est rendu coupable de détournement de fonds ou si, ayant été trouvé reliquataire, il fait défaut de rembourser le reliquat dans le délai fixé par le dernier alinéa; sinon, ils sont à la charge des personnes qui l’ont demandée, à moins que la vérification ne profite à la municipalité.
La demande de vérification en vertu du présent article doit être accompagnée d’un dépôt de 2 000 $, lequel doit être remis aux requérants si les frais de la vérification ne sont pas mis à leur charge.
Tout vérificateur ad hoc nommé à ces fins peut être un particulier ou une société; il peut faire exécuter son travail par ses employés, mais alors sa responsabilité est la même que si ce travail avait été entièrement fait par lui-même. Dans le cas d’une société, la prestation du serment d’office de l’un des associés est suffisante.
Dans les 30 jours qui suivent la signification qui lui est faite d’une copie du rapport de vérification, le fonctionnaire ou employé en défaut de la municipalité doit acquitter le montant dont il a été trouvé reliquataire, ainsi que les frais de la vérification.
S. R. 1964, c. 193, a. 105; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 17, a. 2; 1968, c. 55, a. 5; 1988, c. 21, a. 66; 1996, c. 2, a. 209; 2001, c. 25, a. 26.
109. En tout temps de l’année, à la demande écrite d’au moins 50 contribuables, le conseil doit aussi ordonner une vérification spéciale des comptes de la municipalité pour une ou plusieurs des cinq années antérieures, pourvu qu’aucune telle vérification n’ait déjà été faite pour les mêmes années sous l’empire du présent article.
Le vérificateur est nommé par le conseil, mais avant sa nomination le choix que le conseil se propose de faire doit être accepté par écrit de la majorité des contribuables qui ont demandé la vérification; à défaut d’entente entre ces contribuables et le conseil, le vérificateur est nommé par un juge de la Cour du Québec, sur requête de l’une des parties après avis de huit jours francs à l’autre partie.
Les frais de cette vérification sont supportés par le fonctionnaire ou employé responsable de la municipalité s’il s’est rendu coupable de détournement de fonds ou si, ayant été trouvé reliquataire, il fait défaut de rembourser le reliquat dans le délai fixé par le dernier alinéa; sinon, ils sont à la charge des personnes qui l’ont demandée, à moins que la vérification ne profite à la municipalité.
La demande de vérification en vertu du présent article doit être accompagnée d’un dépôt de 2 000 $, lequel doit être remis aux requérants si les frais de la vérification ne sont pas mis à leur charge.
Tout vérificateur nommé à ces fins peut être un particulier ou une société; il peut faire exécuter son travail par ses employés, mais alors sa responsabilité est la même que si ce travail avait été entièrement fait par lui-même. Dans le cas d’une société, la prestation du serment d’office de l’un des associés est suffisante.
Dans les 30 jours qui suivent la signification qui lui est faite d’une copie du rapport de vérification, le fonctionnaire ou employé en défaut de la municipalité doit acquitter le montant dont il a été trouvé reliquataire, ainsi que les frais de la vérification.
S. R. 1964, c. 193, a. 105; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 17, a. 2; 1968, c. 55, a. 5; 1988, c. 21, a. 66; 1996, c. 2, a. 209.
109. En tout temps de l’année, à la demande écrite d’au moins cinquante contribuables, le conseil doit aussi ordonner une vérification spéciale des comptes de la corporation pour une ou plusieurs des cinq années antérieures, pourvu qu’aucune telle vérification n’ait déjà été faite pour les mêmes années sous l’empire du présent article.
Le vérificateur est nommé par le conseil, mais avant sa nomination le choix que le conseil se propose de faire doit être accepté par écrit de la majorité des contribuables qui ont demandé la vérification; à défaut d’entente entre ces contribuables et le conseil, le vérificateur est nommé par un juge de la Cour du Québec, sur requête de l’une des parties après avis de huit jours francs à l’autre partie.
Les frais de cette vérification sont supportés par le fonctionnaire ou employé responsable de la corporation s’il s’est rendu coupable de détournement de fonds ou si, ayant été trouvé reliquataire, il fait défaut de rembourser le reliquat dans le délai fixé par le dernier alinéa; sinon, ils sont à la charge des personnes qui l’ont demandée, à moins que la vérification ne profite à la corporation.
La demande de vérification en vertu du présent article doit être accompagnée d’un dépôt de 2 000 $, lequel doit être remis aux requérants si les frais de la vérification ne sont pas mis à leur charge.
Tout vérificateur nommé à ces fins peut être un particulier ou une société; il peut faire exécuter son travail par ses employés, mais alors sa responsabilité est la même que si ce travail avait été entièrement fait par lui-même. Dans le cas d’une société, la prestation du serment d’office de l’un des associés est suffisante.
Dans les trente jours qui suivent la signification qui lui est faite d’une copie du rapport de vérification, le fonctionnaire ou employé en défaut de la corporation doit acquitter le montant dont il a été trouvé reliquataire, ainsi que les frais de la vérification.
S. R. 1964, c. 193, a. 105; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 17, a. 2; 1968, c. 55, a. 5; 1988, c. 21, a. 66.
109. En tout temps de l’année, à la demande écrite d’au moins cinquante contribuables, le conseil doit aussi ordonner une vérification spéciale des comptes de la corporation pour une ou plusieurs des cinq années antérieures, pourvu qu’aucune telle vérification n’ait déjà été faite pour les mêmes années sous l’empire du présent article.
Le vérificateur est nommé par le conseil, mais avant sa nomination le choix que le conseil se propose de faire doit être accepté par écrit de la majorité des contribuables qui ont demandé la vérification; à défaut d’entente entre ces contribuables et le conseil, le vérificateur est nommé par un juge de la Cour provinciale, sur requête de l’une des parties après avis de huit jours francs à l’autre partie.
Les frais de cette vérification sont supportés par le fonctionnaire ou employé responsable de la corporation s’il s’est rendu coupable de détournement de fonds ou si, ayant été trouvé reliquataire, il fait défaut de rembourser le reliquat dans le délai fixé par le dernier alinéa; sinon, ils sont à la charge des personnes qui l’ont demandée, à moins que la vérification ne profite à la corporation.
La demande de vérification en vertu du présent article doit être accompagnée d’un dépôt de 2 000 $, lequel doit être remis aux requérants si les frais de la vérification ne sont pas mis à leur charge.
Tout vérificateur nommé à ces fins peut être un particulier ou une société; il peut faire exécuter son travail par ses employés, mais alors sa responsabilité est la même que si ce travail avait été entièrement fait par lui-même. Dans le cas d’une société, la prestation du serment d’office de l’un des associés est suffisante.
Dans les trente jours qui suivent la signification qui lui est faite d’une copie du rapport de vérification, le fonctionnaire ou employé en défaut de la corporation doit acquitter le montant dont il a été trouvé reliquataire, ainsi que les frais de la vérification.
S. R. 1964, c. 193, a. 105; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 17, a. 2; 1968, c. 55, a. 5.