C-48 - Chartered Accountants Act

Full text
chapter C-48
Chartered Accountants Act
CHARTERED ACCOUNTANTSDecember 31 1977
The Minister of Justice is entrusted with the application of this Act. Order in Council 667-2010 dated 11 August 2010, (2010) 142 G.O. 2 (French), 3668.
DIVISION I
DEFINITIONS
1. In this Act and the regulations made thereunder, unless the context indicates a different meaning, the following terms mean:
(a)  Order : the Ordre des comptables agréés du Québec constituted by this Act;
(b)  board of directors : the board of directors of the Order;
(c)  chartered accountant or member of the Order : any person entered on the roll;
(d)  (paragraph repealed);
(e)  (paragraph repealed);
(f)  roll : the list of members in good standing of the Order prepared in accordance with the Professional Code (chapter C-26) and this Act.
1973, c. 64, s. 1; 1974, c. 65, s. 104; 1977, c. 5, s. 229; 1994, c. 40, s. 288; 2008, c. 11, s. 212.
DIVISION II
THE ORDRE DES COMPTABLES AGRÉÉS DU QUÉBEC
2. All the chartered accountants in Québec constitute a professional order called the “Ordre professionnel des comptables agréés du Québec” or the “Ordre des comptables agréés du Québec”.
1973, c. 64, s. 2; 1977, c. 5, s. 229; 1994, c. 40, s. 289.
3. Subject to this Act, the Order and its members shall be governed by the Professional Code (chapter C‐26).
1973, c. 64, s. 3.
4. The head office of the Order shall be at Montréal or at any other place in Québec determined by regulation of the board of directors adopted pursuant to paragraph f of section 93 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26).
1973, c. 64, s. 4; 1994, c. 40, s. 290; 2008, c. 11, s. 212.
DIVISION III
THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS
2008, c. 11, s. 212.
5. The Order shall be governed by a board of directors consisting of a president and 24 directors elected in accordance with the Professional Code (chapter C-26) and four other directors appointed by the Office des professions du Québec in the manner provided in that Code.
1973, c. 64, s. 5; 1974, c. 65, s. 109; 1989, c. 25, s. 1; 2008, c. 11, s. 212.
6. At the first meeting of the board of directors following the election and appointment of the president and directors, the members of the board of directors shall designate a vice-president from among their number by secret ballot.
1973, c. 64, s. 6; 2008, c. 11, s. 212.
7. If the president is absent or unable to act, he shall be replaced by the vice-president.
1973, c. 64, s. 7; 1999, c. 40, s. 76.
8. (Repealed).
1973, c. 64, s. 8; 1994, c. 40, s. 291.
9. (Repealed).
1973, c. 64, s. 9; 1994, c. 40, s. 291.
10. (Repealed).
1973, c. 64, s. 10; 1983, c. 54, s. 29; 1989, c. 25, s. 2; 1994, c. 40, s. 291.
11. (Repealed).
1973, c. 64, s. 11; 1994, c. 40, s. 291.
DIVISION IV
SECRETARY GENERAL OF THE ORDER
1989, c. 25, s. 3.
12. (Repealed).
1973, c. 64, s. 12; 1989, c. 25, s. 4.
13. (Repealed).
1973, c. 64, s. 13; 1989, c. 25, s. 4.
14. The secretary general of the Order is appointed by the board of directors; he shall perform the duties assigned to the secretary of the Order by the Professional Code (chapter C-26), this Act and the regulations of the board of directors, and the duties entrusted to him by the board of directors.
He may receive a declaration under oath and administer the oaths prescribed by this Act.
1973, c. 64, s. 14; 1989, c. 25, s. 5; 1994, c. 40, s. 292; 2008, c. 11, s. 212.
15. (Repealed).
1973, c. 64, s. 15; 1989, c. 25, s. 6.
DIVISION V
Repealed, 1994, c. 40, s. 293.
1994, c. 40, s. 293.
16. (Repealed).
1973, c. 64, s. 16; 1989, c. 25, s. 7; 1994, c. 40, s. 293.
17. (Repealed).
1973, c. 64, s. 17; 1994, c. 40, s. 293.
18. (Repealed).
1973, c. 64, s. 18; 1994, c. 40, s. 293.
DIVISION VI
PRACTICE OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTANCY
19. The practice of public accountancy consists in
(1)  expressing an opinion to provide a level of assurance about a financial statement or any part of a financial statement, or about any other information related to the financial statement; this corresponds to an assurance engagement, which comprises the performance of both an audit engagement and a review engagement, as well as the issue of special reports; and
(2)  issuing any form of certification, declaration or opinion in respect of information related to a financial statement or to any part of a financial statement, or in respect of the application of specified auditing procedures with respect to financial information, other than financial statements, neither being intended exclusively for internal management purposes.
1973, c. 64, s. 19; 2007, c. 42, s. 4.
20. (Repealed).
1973, c. 64, s. 20; 1994, c. 40, s. 294.
21. The board of directors may issue a permit to a member of a corporation of chartered accountants of another province or of a territory of Canada upon written application for that purpose accompanied by the following documents:
(a)  a written recommendation of three members of the Ordre des comptables agréés du Québec;
(b)  a certificate of the competent officer attesting that the applicant is a member in good standing of a corporation of chartered accountants of another province or of a territory of Canada.
Only the members of a corporation of chartered accountants of a province or territory of Canada in which the same privileges are granted to the members of the Ordre des comptables agréés du Québec may avail themselves of this section.
1973, c. 64, s. 21; 1977, c. 5, s. 229; 1989, c. 25, s. 8; 1994, c. 40, s. 294; 2008, c. 11, s. 212.
22. The board of directors may issue a permit to a member of a corporation of chartered accountants of another country, upon written application for that purpose accompanied by the following documents:
(a)  a written recommendation of three members of the Ordre des comptables agréés du Québec;
(b)  a certificate of the competent officer attesting that the applicant is a member in good standing of a corporation of chartered accountants of another country.
The applicant must:
(a)  show that the level of the examinations and the conditions of admission of such foreign corporation are conformable with the level of the examinations and conditions of admission of the Ordre des comptables agréés du Québec;
(b)  (subparagraph repealed);
(c)  for the year immediately preceding his application, have done in Canada accountancy work which in the opinion of the board of directors has provided him with the necessary accountancy experience;
(d)  undergo an examination in commercial law, company law and federal and provincial taxation;
(e)  meet the other conditions and formalities imposed in accordance with this Act and the regulations of the board of directors.
1973, c. 64, s. 22; 1977, c. 5, s. 229; 1994, c. 40, s. 294; 2008, c. 11, s. 212.
22.1. The board of directors may enter into an agreement with the following bodies exercising complementary functions with respect to the protection of the public: the Autorité des marchés financiers and the Canadian Public Accountability Board incorporated under the Canada Business Corporations Act (Revised Statutes of Canada (1970), chapter C-32). The term of the agreement may not exceed five years.
The agreement may, to the extent required for its implementation, derogate from the Acts and regulations governing the Order that pertain to the confidentiality of the information it holds. The agreement must define the nature and scope of the information the Order and the body may exchange concerning inspection, discipline or any inquiry conducted by the body or the Order regarding a professional or a professional partnership or company within which members of the Order practise, specify the purpose of the exchange of information and the conditions of confidentiality to be observed, including those pertaining to professional secrecy, and determine how information so obtained may be used.
The information that may be communicated under the agreement must be necessary for the exercise of the functions of the party receiving it.
The information communicated by the Order under the agreement must be treated by the body receiving it with as much confidentiality as if it had been obtained or was held by the Order in the exercise of the powers granted by the Professional Code (chapter C-26). That obligation does not, however, restrict the powers granted by an Act of Québec to the Autorité des marchés financiers as regards the communication of information.
The agreement is published in the Gazette officielle du Québec. On the expiry of at least 45 days after the publication, it is submitted to the Government for approval, with or without amendments. The agreement comes into force after approval, on the date it is published again in the Gazette officielle du Québec or on any later date stated in the agreement.
The Order shall report on the implementation of the agreements entered into in the report it must produce under section 104 of the Professional Code.
2006, c. 19, s. 1; 2008, c. 11, s. 212.
22.2. As long as an agreement under section 22.1 is in force, members of the Order are authorized, despite being bound by professional secrecy, to provide, to the extent specified in the agreement, information relating to their professional activities or clients to a representative of the body acting within the scope of its activities in Québec.
The information communicated under the agreement by a member of the Order must be treated by the body receiving it with as much confidentiality as if it had been obtained or was held by the Order in the exercise of the powers granted by the Professional Code (chapter C-26). That obligation does not, however, restrict the powers granted by an Act of Québec to the Autorité des marchés financiers as regards the communication of information.
2006, c. 19, s. 1.
22.3. No proceedings may be instituted against a body having entered into an agreement under section 22.1, or any of its directors or representatives, by reason of any act performed in good faith in the exercise of their functions in Québec on the basis of information obtained in accordance with the agreement, unless an Act of Québec concerning the body provides otherwise.
2006, c. 19, s. 1.
23. (Repealed).
1973, c. 64, s. 23; 1994, c. 40, s. 294.
DIVISION VII
ILLEGAL PRACTICE OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTANCY
24. Subject to the rights and privileges expressly granted by law to other professionals, no person may practise public accountancy unless he is a chartered accountant.
This section shall not apply to acts performed:
(a)  by a person in accordance with the provisions of a regulation adopted pursuant to paragraph h of section 94 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26);
(b)  by accountants and auditors employed by the Government in the performance of their duties.
1973, c. 64, s. 24; 1977, c. 5, s. 14; 1994, c. 40, s. 295.
25. The designation “Chartered Accountant” in English and “comptable agréé” in French and the initials “C.A.” may be used only by the members of the Order or by a partnership of which each partner who practises in Québec is a member of the Order and of which every other partner is a member of the Order or a member of an order of chartered accountants of another province or of a territory of Canada.
1973, c. 64, s. 25; 1974, c. 65, s. 105; 1989, c. 25, s. 9; 1994, c. 40, s. 296; 1999, c. 40, s. 76.
26. Every person who contravenes section 24 or 25 is liable, for each offence, to the penalties provided in section 188 of the Professional Code.
1973, c. 64, s. 26.
27. Nothing in this Act shall affect the right of any partnership of public accountants which has practised public accountancy in Québec for at least one year immediately prior to 17 April 1946 and of which at least one partner is resident in Canada and all the partners resident in Canada are members of the Order or members of a corporation of public accountants incorporated prior to 17 April 1946 under the authority of the legislature of any other province, to continue the practice of public accountancy in Québec.
1973, c. 64, s. 27; 1999, c. 40, s. 76.
28. (Repealed).
1973, c. 64, s. 28; 1977, c. 5, s. 229; 1984, c. 39, s. 555; 1987, c. 17, s. 5; 1988, c. 84, s. 567; 1994, c. 40, s. 297; 2007, c. 42, s. 5.
29. (Repealed).
1973, c. 64, s. 29; 1982, c. 26, s. 294; 1984, c. 38, s. 132; 1988, c. 64, s. 556, s. 587; 1999, c. 43, s. 13; 2000, c. 29, s. 722; 2003, c. 19, s. 250; 2005, c. 28, s. 196; 2007, c. 42, s. 5.
DIVISION VIII
FINAL PROVISIONS
30. The permits issued by the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Québec under subsection 2 of section 11 of chapter 47 of the statutes of 1946, in force at 1 February 1974, shall remain in force.
1973, c. 64, s. 37.
31. Any person who, on 17 April 1946, was a member in good standing of the General Accountants Association, incorporated by the Act to incorporate the General Accountants Association (Statutes of Canada, 1913, chapter 116), and resided in Québec and has not become a member of the Order, may, at any time, obtain from the board of directors a permit to practise public accountancy, upon a written application representing that on 17 April 1946 he was a member in good standing of the General Accountants Association and then resided in Québec and intends to reside and practise public accountancy there as his principal means of livelihood.
For the purposes of this section, service outside Québec in Her Majesty’s forces or the exercise of a public function relating to the war which began in 1939, is equivalent to the necessary residence in Québec.
1973, c. 64, s. 38; 2008, c. 11, s. 212.
32. Any holder of a permit contemplated in section 30 or 31 may use the title Registered Public Accountant , in English, and Comptable public enregistré , in French, without abbreviation and without the use of initials after his name, but such title shall not be used by any partnership unless each partner holds a permit contemplated in section 30 or 31, or is a member of the Order.
1973, c. 64, s. 39; 1999, c. 40, s. 76.
33. Each holder of a permit contemplated in section 30 or 31 shall send to the Order, before 1 June each year, the address of his office and the other information which the board of directors may require.
1973, c. 64, s. 40; 2008, c. 11, s. 212.
34. The provisions of this Act and of the Professional Code (chapter C‐26) respecting the professional conduct and discipline of the members of the Order shall apply to the holders of permits contemplated in sections 30 and 31.
1973, c. 64, s. 41.
35. The board of directors may suspend or cancel a permit contemplated in section 30 or 31 if its holder does not furnish the information required under section 33 within the prescribed time.
1973, c. 64, s. 42; 1999, c. 40, s. 76; 2008, c. 11, s. 212.
36. The secretary general of the Order shall keep up to date a list of the holders of permits contemplated in sections 30 and 31.
1973, c. 64, s. 43; 1989, c. 25, s. 10.
37. A holder of a permit contemplated in section 30 who establishes to the satisfaction of the board of directors that he has practised public accountancy for at least five years and whose application is supported by three members of the Order may be admitted as a member of the Order, and entered on the roll, if he passes the professional examinations required by the regulations of the board of directors.
1973, c. 64, s. 44; 2008, c. 11, s. 212.
38. A holder of a permit contemplated in section 31 shall be admitted as a member of the Order and entered on the roll on a mere written application and on payment of the contribution exigible, if he establishes that he resides in Québec and that his principal means of subsistence for one year has been the practice of public accountancy.
1973, c. 64, s. 45.
39. Nothing in this Act shall prevent any member of The International Society of Commerce Limited who has resided in Québec since 1 January 1942 and practised as an accountant from continuing to do so, and such member may use the title of Accredited Public Accountant or the initials A.P.A. for the purposes of public accountancy, and shall retain the right to use the same title and the same initials in the exercise of his functions.
This section shall not apply to members admitted by the International Society of Commerce Limited after 17 April 1946.
Only the persons whose names appear on the lists contemplated in section 23a of chapter 47 of the statutes of 1946 may avail themselves of this section.
1973, c. 64, s. 46.
40. Nothing in this Act shall prevent a member of The International Accountants’ and Executives’ Corporation of Canada who practised public accountancy as such on 17 April 1946 and had, on that date, resided at least three years in Québec, from continuing to practise public accountancy and affixing the following distinctive letters to his name: “F.A.E.”.
1973, c. 64, s. 47.
41. (This section ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987).
1982, c. 21, s. 1; U. K., 1982, c. 11, Sch. B, Part I, s. 33.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 64 of the statutes of 1973, in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed, except sections 30 to 36, 48 and 56, effective from the coming into force of chapter C-48 of the Revised Statutes.

C-48 - Loi sur les comptables agréés

Texte complet
chapitre C-48
Loi sur les comptables agréés
COMPTABLES AGRÉÉS31 décembre 1977
Le ministre de la Justice est chargé de l’application de la présente loi. Décret 667-2010 du 11 août 2010, (2010) 142 G.O. 2, 3668.
SECTION I
DÉFINITIONS
1. Dans la présente loi et dans les règlements adoptés sous son autorité, à moins que le contexte n’indique un sens différent, les termes suivants signifient:
a)  «Ordre» : l’Ordre des comptables agréés du Québec constitué par la présente loi;
b)  «Conseil d’administration» : le Conseil d’administration de l’Ordre;
c)  «comptable agréé» ou «membre de l’Ordre» : quiconque est inscrit au tableau;
d)  (paragraphe abrogé);
e)  (paragraphe abrogé);
f)  «tableau» : la liste des membres en règle de l’Ordre dressée conformément au Code des professions (chapitre C‐26) et à la présente loi.
1973, c. 64, a. 1; 1974, c. 65, a. 104; 1994, c. 40, a. 288; 2008, c. 11, a. 212.
SECTION II
ORDRE DES COMPTABLES AGRÉÉS DU QUÉBEC
2. L’ensemble des comptables agréés au Québec constitue un ordre professionnel désigné sous le nom de «Ordre professionnel des comptables agréés du Québec» ou «Ordre des comptables agréés du Québec».
1973, c. 64, a. 2; 1977, c. 5, a. 229; 1994, c. 40, a. 289.
3. Sous réserve des dispositions de la présente loi, l’Ordre et ses membres sont régis par le Code des professions.
1973, c. 64, a. 3.
4. Le siège de l’Ordre est à Montréal ou à tout autre endroit au Québec déterminé par règlement du Conseil d’administration pris en application du paragraphe f de l’article 93 du Code des professions (chapitre C‐26).
1973, c. 64, a. 4; 1994, c. 40, a. 290; 2008, c. 11, a. 212.
SECTION III
CONSEIL D’ADMINISTRATION
2008, c. 11, a. 212.
5. L’Ordre est administré par un Conseil d’administration formé d’un président et de 24 administrateurs élus conformément au Code des professions (chapitre C‐26) et de quatre autres administrateurs nommés par l’Office des professions du Québec, de la manière prévue à ce code.
1973, c. 64, a. 5; 1989, c. 25, a. 1; 2008, c. 11, a. 212.
6. À la première séance du Conseil d’administration suivant l’élection et la nomination du président et des administrateurs, les membres du Conseil d’administration désignent parmi eux un vice-président par un vote au scrutin secret.
1973, c. 64, a. 6; 2008, c. 11, a. 178, a. 212.
7. En cas d’absence ou d’empêchement du président, il est remplacé par le vice-président.
1973, c. 64, a. 7; 1999, c. 40, a. 76.
8. (Abrogé).
1973, c. 64, a. 8; 1994, c. 40, a. 291.
9. (Abrogé).
1973, c. 64, a. 9; 1994, c. 40, a. 291.
10. (Abrogé).
1973, c. 64, a. 10; 1983, c. 54, a. 29; 1989, c. 25, a. 2; 1994, c. 40, a. 291.
11. (Abrogé).
1973, c. 64, a. 11; 1994, c. 40, a. 291.
SECTION IV
SECRÉTAIRE GÉNÉRAL DE L’ORDRE
1989, c. 25, a. 3.
12. (Abrogé).
1973, c. 64, a. 12; 1989, c. 25, a. 4.
13. (Abrogé).
1973, c. 64, a. 13; 1989, c. 25, a. 4.
14. Le secrétaire général de l’Ordre est nommé par le Conseil d’administration; il accomplit les devoirs du secrétaire de l’Ordre prévus par le Code des professions (chapitre C‐26), la présente loi et les règlements du Conseil d’administration, ainsi que ceux que lui impose le Conseil d’administration.
Il peut recevoir toute déclaration sous serment et administrer les serments prescrits par la présente loi.
1973, c. 64, a. 14; 1989, c. 25, a. 5; 1994, c. 40, a. 292; 2008, c. 11, a. 212.
15. (Abrogé).
1973, c. 64, a. 15; 1989, c. 25, a. 6.
SECTION V
Abrogée, 1994, c. 40, a. 293.
1994, c. 40, a. 293.
16. (Abrogé).
1973, c. 64, a. 16; 1989, c. 25, a. 7; 1994, c. 40, a. 293.
17. (Abrogé).
1973, c. 64, a. 17; 1994, c. 40, a. 293.
18. (Abrogé).
1973, c. 64, a. 18; 1994, c. 40, a. 293.
SECTION VI
EXERCICE DE LA COMPTABILITÉ PUBLIQUE
19. L’exercice de la comptabilité publique consiste à:
1°  exprimer une opinion visant à donner un niveau d’assurance à un état financier ou à toute partie de celui-ci, ou à toute autre information liée à cet état financier; il s’agit de la mission de certification, soit la mission de vérification et la mission d’examen ainsi que l’émission de rapports spéciaux;
2°  émettre toute forme d’attestation, de déclaration ou d’opinion sur des informations liées à un état financier ou à toute partie de celui-ci, ou sur l’application de procédés de vérification spécifiés à l’égard des informations financières, autres que des états financiers, qui ne sont pas destinés exclusivement à des fins d’administration interne.
1973, c. 64, a. 19; 2007, c. 42, a. 4.
20. (Abrogé).
1973, c. 64, a. 20; 1994, c. 40, a. 294.
21. Le Conseil d’administration peut délivrer un permis à un membre d’une corporation de comptables agréés d’une autre province ou d’un territoire du Canada, sur demande écrite à cet effet accompagnée des documents suivants:
a)  une recommandation écrite de trois membres de l’Ordre des comptables agréés du Québec;
b)  un certificat de l’officier compétent attestant que le requérant est membre en règle d’une corporation de comptables agréés d’une autre province ou d’un territoire du Canada.
Seuls les membres d’une corporation de comptables agréés d’une province ou d’un territoire du Canada où les mêmes privilèges sont reconnus aux membres de l’Ordre des comptables agréés du Québec peuvent se prévaloir du présent article.
1973, c. 64, a. 21; 1989, c. 25, a. 8; 1994, c. 40, a. 294; 2008, c. 11, a. 212.
22. Le Conseil d’administration peut délivrer un permis à un membre d’une corporation de comptables agréés d’un autre pays, sur demande écrite à cet effet accompagnée des documents suivants:
a)  une recommandation écrite de trois membres de l’Ordre des comptables agréés du Québec;
b)  un certificat de l’officier compétent attestant que le requérant est membre en règle d’une corporation de comptables agréés d’un autre pays.
Le requérant doit:
a)  démontrer que le niveau des examens et les conditions d’admission de cette corporation étrangère sont conformes au niveau des examens et aux conditions d’admission de l’Ordre des comptables agréés du Québec;
b)  (paragraphe abrogé);
c)  durant l’année qui a immédiatement précédé sa demande, s’être consacré, au Canada, à un travail de comptabilité qui, dans l’opinion du Conseil d’administration, lui a fourni l’expérience comptable nécessaire;
d)  se soumettre à un examen portant sur le droit commercial, sur le droit des compagnies et sur la fiscalité canadienne fédérale et provinciale;
e)  satisfaire aux autres conditions et formalités imposées conformément à la présente loi et aux règlements du Conseil d’administration.
1973, c. 64, a. 22; 1994, c. 40, a. 294; 2008, c. 11, a. 212.
22.1. Le Conseil d’administration peut conclure une entente avec les organismes suivants qui exercent des fonctions complémentaires de protection du public: l’Autorité des marchés financiers et le Conseil canadien sur la reddition de comptes constitué en vertu de la Loi sur les corporations canadiennes (Statuts révisés du Canada (1970), chapitre C-32). La durée d’une telle entente ne peut excéder cinq ans.
L’entente peut, dans la mesure requise pour sa mise en oeuvre, déroger aux lois et règlements qui régissent l’Ordre à l’égard de la confidentialité des renseignements qu’il détient. Elle doit prévoir la nature et l’étendue des renseignements que l’Ordre et l’organisme pourront échanger sur l’inspection, la discipline ou toute enquête entreprise par l’organisme ou par l’Ordre qui concerne un professionnel ou une société de professionnels regroupant des membres de l’Ordre, préciser les fins de cet échange, les conditions de confidentialité, notamment celles portant sur le secret professionnel, qui doivent être respectées et établir l’usage qui peut être fait des renseignements ainsi obtenus.
Les renseignements qui peuvent être communiqués dans le cadre de l’entente doivent être nécessaires à l’exercice des fonctions de la partie qui les reçoit.
Les renseignements transmis par l’Ordre en application de l’entente doivent recevoir, auprès de l’organisme qui les reçoit, la même confidentialité que s’ils avaient été obtenus ou étaient détenus par l’Ordre dans l’exercice des pouvoirs qui lui sont accordés par le Code des professions (chapitre C-26). Toutefois, cette obligation n’a pas pour objet de restreindre les pouvoirs conférés en matière de communication de renseignements par une loi du Québec à l’Autorité des marchés financiers.
L’entente est publiée à la Gazette officielle du Québec. À l’expiration d’un délai d’au moins 45 jours de cette publication, elle est soumise, avec ou sans modification, à l’approbation du gouvernement. L’entente entre en vigueur après cette approbation, à la date où elle est publiée de nouveau à la Gazette officielle du Québec ou à une date ultérieure qu’elle indique.
L’Ordre fait état, dans le rapport qu’il doit produire en application de l’article 104 du Code des professions, de la mise en application des ententes qu’il a conclues.
2006, c. 19, a. 1; 2008, c. 11, a. 212.
22.2. Tant que l’entente visée à l’article 22.1 est en vigueur, un membre de l’Ordre est autorisé, malgré l’existence du secret professionnel auquel il est tenu, à fournir, dans la mesure prévue à l’entente, à un représentant de cet organisme qui agit dans le cadre de ses activités au Québec les renseignements relatifs à ses activités professionnelles ou à ses clients.
Les renseignements transmis par un membre de l’Ordre en application de l’entente doivent recevoir, auprès de l’organisme qui les reçoit, la même confidentialité que s’ils avaient été obtenus ou étaient détenus par l’Ordre dans l’exercice des pouvoirs qui lui sont accordés par le Code des professions (chapitre C-26). Toutefois, cette obligation n’a pas pour objet de restreindre les pouvoirs conférés en matière de communication de renseignements par une loi du Québec à l’Autorité des marchés financiers.
2006, c. 19, a. 1.
22.3. L’organisme qui a conclu une entente visée à l’article 22.1 de même que l’un de ses administrateurs ou représentants, ne peuvent être poursuivis en justice en raison d’actes accomplis de bonne foi dans l’exercice de leurs fonctions au Québec et sur la foi de renseignements obtenus conformément à l’entente, à moins qu’une loi du Québec concernant l’organisme n’en dispose autrement.
2006, c. 19, a. 1.
23. (Abrogé).
1973, c. 64, a. 23; 1994, c. 40, a. 294.
SECTION VII
EXERCICE ILLÉGAL DE LA COMPTABILITÉ PUBLIQUE
24. Sous réserve des droits et privilèges expressément accordés par la loi à d’autres professionnels, nul ne peut exercer la comptabilité publique, s’il n’est pas comptable agréé.
Le présent article ne s’applique pas aux actes posés:
a)  par une personne en conformité avec les dispositions d’un règlement pris en application du paragraphe h de l’article 94 du Code des professions (chapitre C‐26);
b)  par les comptables et les vérificateurs à l’emploi du gouvernement, dans l’exercice de leurs fonctions.
1973, c. 64, a. 24; 1994, c. 40, a. 295.
25. Les titres «comptable agréé», en français, et «Chartered Accountant», en anglais, de même que les initiales «C.A.» ne peuvent être utilisés que par les membres de l’Ordre ou par une société dont tous les associés exerçant au Québec sont membres de l’Ordre et dont tous les autres associés sont membres de l’Ordre ou d’un ordre de comptables agréés d’une autre province ou d’un territoire du Canada.
1973, c. 64, a. 25; 1989, c. 25, a. 9; 1994, c. 40, a. 296.
26. Quiconque contrevient aux articles 24 ou 25 est passible, pour chaque infraction, des peines prévues à l’article 188 du Code des professions.
1973, c. 64, a. 26.
27. Rien dans la présente loi n’affecte le droit de toute société de comptables publics ayant exercé la comptabilité publique au Québec pendant au moins un an immédiatement avant le 17 avril 1946 et dont au moins un associé réside au Canada et dont tous les associés résidant au Canada sont membres de l’Ordre ou membres d’une corporation de comptables publics constituée avant le 17 avril 1946 sous l’autorité de la législature d’une autre province, de continuer à pratiquer la comptabilité publique au Québec.
1973, c. 64, a. 27.
28. (Abrogé).
1973, c. 64, a. 28; 1984, c. 39, a. 555; 1987, c. 17, a. 5; 1988, c. 84, a. 567; 1994, c. 40, a. 297; 2007, c. 42, a. 5.
29. (Abrogé).
1973, c. 64, a. 29; 1982, c. 26, a. 294; 1984, c. 38, a. 132; 1988, c. 64, a. 556, a. 587; 1999, c. 43, a. 13; 2000, c. 29, a. 722; 2003, c. 19, a. 250; 2005, c. 28, a. 196; 2007, c. 42, a. 5.
SECTION VIII
DISPOSITIONS FINALES
30. Les permis délivrés par l’Institut des comptables agréés de Québec en vertu du paragraphe 2 de l’article 11 du chapitre 47 des lois de 1946, qui sont en vigueur le 1er février 1974, demeurent en vigueur.
1973, c. 64, a. 37; 1997, c. 43, a. 875.
31. Toute personne qui, le 17 avril 1946, était un membre en règle de l’Association générale des comptables, constituée par la Loi constituant en corporation la General Accountants Association (Statuts du Canada (1913), chapitre 116), résidait au Québec et n’est pas devenue membre de l’Ordre peut, en tout temps, obtenir du Conseil d’administration un permis d’exercer la comptabilité publique sur demande écrite exposant que le 17 avril 1946, cette personne était un membre en règle de l’Association générale des comptables, résidait alors au Québec et qu’elle a l’intention d’y résider et d’y exercer la comptabilité publique comme moyen principal de gagner sa vie.
Aux fins du présent article, le service, en dehors du Québec, dans les armées de Sa Majesté ou l’exercice d’une fonction publique relative à la guerre qui a débuté en 1939, équivaut à la résidence requise au Québec.
1973, c. 64, a. 38; 2008, c. 11, a. 212.
32. Tout titulaire de permis visé aux articles 30 ou 31 peut se servir du titre «comptable public enregistré» , en français, et «Registered Public Accountant» , en anglais, sans abréviation et sans emploi d’initiales après son nom; mais ce titre ne peut être employé par aucune société, à moins que chaque associé ne soit titulaire d’un permis visé aux articles 30 ou 31 ou membre de l’Ordre.
1973, c. 64, a. 39; 1997, c. 43, a. 875.
33. Chaque titulaire de permis visé aux articles 30 ou 31 fait parvenir à l’Ordre, avant le 1er juin de chaque année, l’adresse de son bureau et les autres renseignements que le Conseil d’administration peut requérir.
1973, c. 64, a. 40; 1997, c. 43, a. 875; 2008, c. 11, a. 212.
34. Les dispositions de la présente loi et du Code des professions relatives à la conduite professionnelle et à la discipline des membres de l’Ordre s’appliquent aux titulaires de permis visés aux articles 30 et 31.
1973, c. 64, a. 41; 1997, c. 43, a. 875.
35. Le Conseil d’administration peut suspendre ou annuler un permis visé aux articles 30 ou 31, si son titulaire ne fournit pas dans le délai imparti les renseignements exigés en vertu de l’article 33.
1973, c. 64, a. 42; 1997, c. 43, a. 875; 2008, c. 11, a. 212.
36. Le secrétaire général de l’Ordre tient à jour une liste des titulaires de permis visés aux articles 30 ou 31.
1973, c. 64, a. 43; 1989, c. 25, a. 10; 1997, c. 43, a. 875.
37. Un titulaire de permis visé à l’article 30, qui établit à la satisfaction du Conseil d’administration qu’il a exercé la comptabilité publique pendant au moins cinq ans et dont la demande est appuyée par trois membres de l’Ordre peut être admis comme membre de l’Ordre et inscrit au tableau, s’il subit avec succès les examens professionnels requis par les règlements du Conseil d’administration.
1973, c. 64, a. 44; 1997, c. 43, a. 875; 2008, c. 11, a. 212.
38. Un titulaire de permis visé à l’article 31 est admis comme membre de l’Ordre et inscrit au tableau sur simple demande écrite et paiement de la cotisation exigible, s’il établit qu’il réside au Québec et que depuis un an, son principal moyen de subsistance est l’exercice de la comptabilité publique.
1973, c. 64, a. 45; 1997, c. 43, a. 875.
39. Rien dans la présente loi n’empêche un membre de The International Society of Commerce Limited, qui a résidé depuis le 1er janvier 1942 au Québec et qui a pratiqué comme comptable, de continuer à le faire et ce membre peut employer le titre de «Auditeur Public Accrédité» ou les initiales «A.P.A.» , aux fins de la comptabilité publique, et il conserve le droit de se servir du même titre et des mêmes initiales dans l’exercice de ses fonctions.
Le présent article ne s’applique pas aux membres admis par The International Society of Commerce Limited après le 17 avril 1946.
Seules peuvent se prévaloir du présent article les personnes dont les noms apparaissent aux listes visées à l’article 23a du chapitre 47 des lois de 1946.
1973, c. 64, a. 46.
40. Rien dans la présente loi n’empêche un membre de The International Accountants’ and Executives’ Corporation of Canada qui exerçait comme tel la comptabilité publique le 17 avril 1946 et qui, à cette date, résidait depuis au moins trois ans au Québec de continuer à exercer la comptabilité publique et de se désigner par les lettres distinctives suivantes après son nom: «F.A.E.» .
1973, c. 64, a. 47.
41. (Cet article a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987).
1982, c. 21, a. 1; R.-U., 1982, c. 11, ann. B, ptie I, a. 33.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 64 des lois de 1973, tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, à l’exception des articles 30 à 36, 48 et 56, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre C-48 des Lois refondues.