T-3 - Meals and Hotels Tax Act

Table of contents
Full text
chapter T-3
Meals and Hotels Tax Act
MEALS AND HOTELS TAXDecember 14 1990January 1 1991
Repealed, 1990, c. 60, s. 54.
1990, c. 60, s. 54.
1. In this Act and the regulations,
(1)  establishment means
(a)  any establishment provided with special accommodation so that, for payment, lodging or food are habitually available there, excluding an establishment where, for payment by the week or by the month, lodging or food and lodging is or are habitually available, and excluding an educational, charitable, hospitalizing or sheltering institution or other similar institution;
(b)  premises where alcoholic beverages are sold for consumption there;
(c)  an autobus, a railway train or a ship, in Québec, on which meals or alcoholic beverages are served;
(d)  an enterprise which sells, delivers or serves meals for consumption elsewhere; or
(e)  a tavern within the meaning of section 27 of the Act respecting liquor permits (chapter P-9.1);
(2)  fiscal law means any fiscal law within the meaning of paragraph a of section 1 of the Act respecting the Ministère du Revenu (chapter M-31); and
(3)  Minister means the Minister of Revenue.
R. S. 1964, c. 73, s. 1; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 30, s. 1; 1969, c. 33, s. 1; 1971, c. 19, s. 200; 1978, c. 33, s. 1; 1979, c. 71, s. 160; 1982, c. 38, s. 31.
1.1. Notwithstanding any other general law or special act, this act is binding on the Government, Government departments and agencies and mandataries of the Crown.
1979, c. 20, s. 5.
2. (1)  A tax of 10 % is imposed on the price, owing or paid, of each meal costing more than $3.25, given or taken in an establishment or sold, delivered or served by a person who keeps an establishment.
(2)  Every fraction of $0.01 of such tax shall be counted as a whole.
(3)  The price of a meal also includes that of the beverages sold, delivered or served with the meal, but does not include service charges indicated separately on the bill to the extent that they are paid to the employees and declared in the statement of income filed by the employer in conformity with the Taxation Act (chapter I-3).
(4)  The tax provided in subsection 1 is also imposed on the price of any alcoholic beverage sold in an establishment for consumption there and on the price of any liquid sold or served with such beverage, when such sale is made with a meal costing $3.25 or less or without a meal.
(5)  Such tax is also imposed on the price of any aerated water to which essence or syrup has been added, which is sold, delivered or served by a person who keeps an establishment, with a meal costing $3.25 or less or without a meal.
(6)  That tax is not imposed on the value of a meal included in the price of lodging in an establishment.
(6.1)  That tax is not imposed on the price of maple syrup, maple sugar or maple taffy sold in an establishment for consumption elsewhere.
(7)  (Subsection repealed).
(8)  That tax shall not be payable by persons employed in an establishment on the price of meals supplied to them by the person who keeps the establishment; however, that tax applies to alcoholic beverages or to aerated water to which essence or syrup has been added that are sold, delivered or served with those meals.
(9)  Tax shall not be imposed on the price of beer and of weak cider served in a tavern.
(9.1)  Tax shall not be imposed on the price of a meal bought by an establishment or institution excluded in subparagraph a of paragraph 1 of section 1 if the meal is prepared and served in this establishment or institution for its customers or beneficiaries.
(10)  The tax imposed by this section, whether the price is stipulated payable in cash, on terms, by instalments or otherwise, shall be collected at the time of the sale on the whole contract price by the person who keeps the establishment.
R. S. 1964, c. 73, s. 2; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 30, s. 1; 1966-67, c. 36, s. 1; 1969, c. 33, s. 2; 1970, c. 23, s. 1; 1970, c. 15, s. 28; 1971, c. 28, s. 1; 1973, c. 17, s. 171; 1975, c. 27, s. 1; 1977, c. 28, s. 1; 1978, c. 33, s. 2; 1982, c. 38, s. 32; 1989, c. 5, s. 264.
3. (1)  The person who keeps an establishment must prepare and keep a bill or account of the price of the meals and beverages supplied on which the amount of the tax must be inscribed separately. That duty shall be paid, by the person who owes or is paying such bill or account, to the person keeping the establishment, who acts, in such case, as an agent of the Minister of Revenue and must collect and remit such duty monthly to the Minister of Revenue.
(2)  The Minister of Revenue may allocate to the person keeping the establishment, for the collection of the duty and its remittance to the Minister, any indemnity determined by regulation of the Government.
(3)  Any person who keeps an establishment, or to whom a registration certificate has been issued under section 5, shall furnish the Minister of Revenue, within the first fifteen days of each month, with a report in the form prescribed by him of the amount of tax collected by such person during the preceding month, even if nothing has been collected. He must also, within such delay of fifteen days, remit the tax collected during such month.
R. S. 1964, c. 73, s. 3; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 30, s. 2; 1971, c. 28, s. 2; 1975, c. 27, s. 2; 1978, c. 33, s. 3; 1981, c. 24, s. 22.
4. When there is a single meal-check for several persons or meals, it shall not be divided by the number of persons or meals and, notwithstanding section 2, the tax is computed on the total price of the meals appearing on the meal-check.
R. S. 1964, c. 73, s. 4; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 30, s. 3; 1988, c. 4, s. 192.
5. (1)  No person shall keep an establishment unless, upon his application, a registration certificate has been issued to him under this act and is in force.
(2)  The application for a registration certificate shall be made in the manner determined by the Minister and contain the information required by him.
(3)  Such registration certificate shall be issued by the Minister of Revenue or any other person designated by him. It shall be kept at the principal place of business of the person keeping the establishment, and shall not be transferable.
(4)  The Minister of Revenue shall refuse a registration certificate to a person who has not complied with the Act respecting liquor permits (chapter P-9.1) or the Hotels Act (chapter H-3).
(5)  The Minister may refuse a registration certificate to any person convicted of an infringement of this act.
(6)  The Minister may also suspend or cancel the certificate of a person convicted of an infringement of this Act or of an offence described in section 60 or 61 of the Act respecting the Ministère du Revenu (chapter M-31).
(7)  The Minister may require of any person, as a condition of issue or continuance in force of a certificate in his name, security in such amount as he may fix, if such person:
(a)  has been convicted of an offence against this act;
(b)  is insolvent; or
(c)  owes duties, within the meaning of the Act respecting the Ministère du Revenu.
The amount of the security shall not exceed $10 000 for the issue of a certificate.
In the case of the continuance in force of a certificate, the amount of the security is established by taking into account the amount of the tax payable by such person in respect of the six months preceding the date on which the security is required.
(8)  The following information must be given when a certificate is applied for:
(a)  by one or more persons doing business under a firm name,—the name and address of such person or persons;
(b)  by a partnership,—the name and address of each partner;
(c)  by a corporation, club, association or syndicate,—the name and address of the president, if he resides in Québec; if not, the name and address of its manager or representative in Québec and the address of its place of business in Québec.
R. S. 1964, c. 73, s. 5; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 30, s. 4; 1971, c. 19, s. 200; 1971, c. 28, s. 3; 1977, c. 28, s. 2; 1979, c. 71, s. 160; 1982, c. 38, s. 33; 1983, c. 43, s. 15; 1990, c. 4, s. 850.
6. (1)  Every person who:
(a)  does not furnish a report or any other document or information in the manner and at the time prescribed under this act or the regulations made by the Government under this act; or
(b)  being an agent of the Minister, refuses or neglects to collect, account for, report or remit the tax, the whole in accordance with this act and the regulations made by the Government under this act,
commits an offence and is liable to a fine of not less than $25 for each day that the offence continues.
(2)  Every person who:
(a)  keeps an establishment without a registration certificate still in force, or otherwise contravenes section 5 or the regulations made by the Government under this act;
(b)  contravenes subsection 1 of section 3,
commits an offence and is liable to a fine of not less than $200 nor more than $5 000.
R. S. 1964, c. 73, s. 7; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 30, s. 5; 1971, c. 28, s. 4 (part); 1972, c. 25, s. 20, s. 24.
7. (Repealed).
1971, c. 28, s. 4; 1983, c. 49, s. 52.
8. (Repealed).
1971, c. 28, s. 4; 1983, c. 49, s. 52.
9. (Repealed).
R. S. 1964, c. 73, s. 8; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 30, s. 5; 1982, c. 38, s. 34.
10. (Repealed).
1974, c. 22, s. 1; 1978, c. 32, s. 1; 1979, c. 72, s. 392; 1979, c. 72, s. 394.
11. (Repealed).
1974, c. 22, s. 1; 1978, c. 32, s. 2; 1979, c. 72, s. 393; 1979, c. 72, s. 394.
12. The Government may make, amend, replace and repeal any regulations and forms which it may deem necessary for the carrying out of the foregoing sections.
It may also, by regulation, define the expressions “meal” and “meal for consumption elsewhere”.
It may also, by regulation, order that a beverage designated by it that is in an establishment of a kind determined by it be in a container identified in the manner determined by it or of a size determined by it and that it be sold and delivered in that container. It may also, by regulation, order that such containers be for the exclusive use of that kind of establishment.
It may also, by regulation, require that the person who keeps the establishment:
(a)  Shall make use of the system of vouchers determined in the regulation in order to enable the Crown to verify the collection and remittance of the duty;
(b)  Shall receive the auditor in the establishment and deliver to him the books and documents which such officer may require.
Regulations made under this Act come into force on the date of their publication in the Gazette officielle du Québec or on any later date fixed therein; they may also, once published and if they so provide, apply to a date prior to their publication but not prior to the current year.
R. S. 1964, c. 73, s. 10; 1969, c. 33, s. 3; 1978, c. 33, s. 4; 1979, c. 78, s. 9.
13. The Minister of Revenue shall have charge of the application of this act.
1971, c. 28, s. 12.
14. (This section ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987).
1982, c. 21, s. 1; U. K., 1982, c. 11, Sch. B, Part I, s. 33.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 73 of the Revised Statutes, 1964, in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed effective from the coming into force of chapter T-3 of the Revised Statutes.

T-3 - Loi concernant la taxe sur les repas et l’hôtellerie

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre T-3
Loi concernant la taxe sur les repas et l’hôtellerie
TAXE SUR LES REPAS ET L’HÔTELLERIE14 décembre 19901er janvier 1991
Abrogée, 1990, c. 60, a. 54.
1990, c. 60, a. 54.
1. Dans la présente loi et les règlements, on entend par:
1.  «établissement» :
a)  tout établissement spécialement aménagé pour que, moyennant paiement, on y trouve habituellement à loger ou à manger, à l’exclusion d’un établissement où, moyennant paiement à la semaine ou au mois, on trouve habituellement à loger ou à loger et à manger et d’une institution d’éducation, de charité, d’hospitalisation ou de refuge ou une autre institution similaire;
b)  un local où des boissons alcooliques sont vendues pour consommation sur place;
c)  un autocar, un convoi de chemin de fer ou un navire, au Québec, dans lequel des repas ou des boissons alcooliques sont servis;
d)  une entreprise qui vend, livre ou sert des repas pour consommation à l’extérieur; ou
e)  une taverne au sens de l’article 27 de la Loi sur les permis d’alcool (chapitre P‐9.1);
2.  «loi fiscale» : toute loi fiscale au sens du paragraphe a de l’article 1 de la Loi sur le ministère du Revenu (chapitre M‐31); et
3.  «ministre» : le ministre du Revenu.
S. R. 1964, c. 73, a. 1; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 30, a. 1; 1969, c. 33, a. 1; 1971, c. 19, a. 200; 1978, c. 33, a. 1; 1979, c. 71, a. 160; 1982, c. 38, a. 31.
1.1. Malgré les dispositions d’une autre loi générale ou spéciale, la présente loi lie le gouvernement, ses ministères et organismes ainsi que les mandataires de la Couronne.
1979, c. 20, a. 5.
2. 1.  Une taxe de 10 % est imposée sur le prix dû ou payé de chaque repas de plus de 3,25 $, donné ou pris dans un établissement ou vendu, livré ou servi par une personne qui tient un établissement.
2.  Toute fraction de 0,01 $ de cette taxe doit être comptée comme un entier.
3.  Le prix du repas comprend également celui des boissons qui sont vendues, livrées ou servies avec le repas, mais ne comprend pas les frais de service indiqués séparément sur l’addition dans la mesure où ils sont versés aux employés et déclarés à l’état de revenu produit par l’employeur en conformité avec la Loi sur les impôts (chapitre I-3).
4.  La taxe prévue au paragraphe 1 est également imposée sur le prix de toute boisson alcoolique vendue dans un établissement pour consommation sur place ainsi que sur le prix de tout liquide vendu ou servi avec cette boisson lorsque cette vente a eu lieu à l’occasion d’un repas de 3,25 $ ou moins ou sans repas.
5.  Cette taxe est également imposée sur le prix de toute eau gazéifiée, additionnée d’une essence ou d’un sirop, qui est vendue, livrée ou servie par une personne qui tient un établissement, à l’occasion d’un repas de 3,25 $ ou moins ou sans repas.
6.  Cette taxe n’est pas imposée sur la valeur d’un repas comprise dans le prix du logement dans un établissement.
6.1.  Cette taxe n’est pas imposée sur le prix du sirop, du sucre ou de la tire d’érable vendus dans un établissement pour consommation à l’extérieur.
7.  (Paragraphe abrogé).
8.  Cette taxe n’est pas exigible des personnes employées dans un établissement sur le prix des repas que leur fournit celui qui tient l’établissement; toutefois cette taxe s’applique aux boissons alcooliques et aux eaux gazéifiées additionnées d’une essence ou d’un sirop qui sont vendues, livrées ou servies avec ces repas.
9.  La taxe n’est pas imposée sur le prix de la bière et du cidre léger servis dans une taverne.
9.1.  La taxe n’est pas imposée sur le prix d’un repas acheté par un établissement ou une institution exclu au sous-paragraphe a du paragraphe 1 de l’article 1, si ce repas est préparé et servi dans cet établissement ou cette institution pour sa clientèle ou ses bénéficiaires.
10.  Que le prix soit stipulé payable comptant, à terme, par versements ou de toute autre manière, la taxe imposée par le présent article doit être perçue lors de la vente sur tout le prix du contrat par la personne qui tient l’établissement.
S. R. 1964, c. 73, a. 2; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 30, a. 1; 1966-67, c. 36, a. 1; 1969, c. 33, a. 2; 1970, c. 23, a. 1; 1970, c. 15, a. 28; 1971, c. 28, a. 1; 1973, c. 17, a. 171; 1975, c. 27, a. 1; 1977, c. 28, a. 1; 1978, c. 33, a. 2; 1982, c. 38, a. 32; 1989, c. 5, a. 264.
3. 1.  La personne qui tient un établissement doit préparer et garder une addition ou note du prix des repas et boissons fournis sur laquelle le montant de la taxe doit être inscrit séparément. Cette taxe doit être payée par la personne qui doit ou paie cette addition ou note, à la personne qui tient l’établissement, laquelle agit en ce cas comme mandataire du ministre du Revenu et doit percevoir et remettre cette taxe mensuellement au ministre du Revenu.
2.  Le ministre du Revenu peut allouer à la personne qui tient l’établissement, pour la perception de la taxe et sa remise au ministre, toute indemnité déterminée par règlement du gouvernement.
3.  Toute personne qui tient un établissement, ou à qui un certificat d’enregistrement a été délivré en vertu de l’article 5, doit remettre au ministre du Revenu, dans les quinze premiers jours de chaque mois, un rapport en la forme prescrite par lui du montant de la taxe perçue par elle pendant le mois précédent même si elle n’a rien perçu. Elle doit aussi faire remise dans ce délai de quinze jours de la taxe perçue pendant ce mois.
S. R. 1964, c. 73, a. 3; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 30, a. 2; 1971, c. 28, a. 2; 1975, c. 27, a. 2; 1978, c. 33, a. 3; 1981, c. 24, a. 22.
4. Lorsqu’il n’y a qu’une seule addition pour plusieurs personnes ou pour plusieurs repas, cette addition ne doit pas être divisée suivant le nombre de personnes ou de repas et, malgré l’article 2, la taxe se calcule sur le total des prix des repas apparaissant sur cette addition.
S. R. 1964, c. 73, a. 4; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 30, a. 3; 1988, c. 4, a. 192.
5. 1.  Personne ne doit tenir un établissement, à moins que sur sa demande, un certificat d’enregistrement ne lui ait été délivré en vertu de la présente loi et ne soit en vigueur.
2.  La demande pour l’obtention d’un certificat d’enregistrement doit être faite en la manière que le ministre détermine et contenir les renseignements qu’il exige.
3.  Ce certificat d’enregistrement doit être émis par le ministre du Revenu ou par toute autre personne qu’il peut désigner. Il doit être gardé à la principale place d’affaires de la personne qui tient l’établissement, et ne peut être transféré.
4.  Le ministre du Revenu doit refuser un certificat d’enregistrement à une personne qui ne s’est pas conformée à la Loi sur les permis d’alcool (chapitre P-9.1) ou à la Loi sur l’hôtellerie (chapitre H-3).
5.  Le ministre peut refuser un certificat d’enregistrement à toute personne déclarée coupable d’une infraction à la présente loi.
6.  Le ministre peut également suspendre ou annuler le certificat d’une personne déclarée coupable d’une infraction à la présente loi ou d’un infraction prévue par les articles 60 ou 61 de la Loi sur le ministère du Revenu (chapitre M-31).
7.  Le ministre peut exiger de toute personne, comme condition de l’émission ou du maintien en vigueur d’un certificat en son nom, un cautionnement dont il fixe le montant si cette personne:
a)  a été déclarée coupable d’une infraction à la présente loi;
b)  est insolvable; ou
c)  est redevable de droits, au sens de la Loi sur le ministère du Revenu.
Lors de la délivrance d’un certificat, le montant du cautionnement ne peut excéder 10 000 $.
Dans le cas du maintien en vigueur d’un certificat, le montant du cautionnement est fixé en tenant compte du montant de la taxe que cette personne devait remettre à l’égard des six mois précédant la date à laquelle le cautionnement est exigé.
8.  Les renseignements suivants sont requis quand un certificat est demandé:
a)  par une ou plusieurs personnes faisant affaires sous un nom collectif ou une raison sociale,—leurs noms et adresses;
b)  par une société,—le nom et l’adresse de chaque associé;
c)  par une corporation, un club, une association ou un syndicat,—le nom et l’adresse du président, s’il réside au Québec; sinon, le nom et l’adresse de son gérant ou représentant au Québec, de même que l’adresse de sa place d’affaires au Québec.
S. R. 1964, c. 73, a. 5; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 30, a. 4; 1971, c. 19, a. 200; 1971, c. 28, a. 3; 1977, c. 28, a. 2; 1979, c. 71, a. 160; 1982, c. 38, a. 33; 1983, c. 43, a. 15; 1990, c. 4, a. 850.
6. 1.  Toute personne qui:
a)  ne fournit pas un rapport ou tout autre document ou renseignement, en la manière et à l’époque prescrites en vertu de la présente loi ou des règlements adoptés par le gouvernement en vertu de la présente loi; ou
b)  étant mandataire du ministre, refuse ou néglige de percevoir la taxe, d’en tenir compte, d’en faire rapport ou d’en faire remise, le tout conformément aux dispositions de la présente loi ou des règlements adoptés par le gouvernement en vertu de la présente loi,
commet une infraction et est passible d’une amende d’au moins 25 $ pour chaque jour que dure l’infraction.
2.  Toute personne qui:
a)  tient un établissement sans être munie d’un certificat d’enregistrement encore valide, ou contrevient autrement à l’article 5 ou aux règlements adoptés par le gouvernement en vertu de la présente loi;
b)  contrevient au paragraphe 1 de l’article 3,
commet une infraction et encourt une amende d’au moins 200 $ et d’au plus 5 000 $.
S. R. 1964, c. 73, a. 7; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 30, a. 5; 1971, c. 28, a. 4 (partie); 1972, c. 25, a. 20, a. 24.
7. (Abrogé).
1971, c. 28, a. 4; 1983, c. 49, a. 52.
8. (Abrogé).
1971, c. 28, a. 4; 1983, c. 49, a. 52.
9. (Abrogé).
S. R. 1964, c. 73, a. 8; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 30, a. 5; 1982, c. 38, a. 34.
10. (Abrogé).
1974, c. 22, a. 1; 1978, c. 32, a. 1; 1979, c. 72, a. 392; 1979, c. 72, a. 394.
11. (Abrogé).
1974, c. 22, a. 1; 1978, c. 32, a. 2; 1979, c. 72, a. 393; 1979, c. 72, a. 394.
12. Le gouvernement peut faire, modifier, remplacer et abroger tous règlements et toutes formules qu’il croit nécessaires à la mise à exécution des dispositions précédentes.
Il peut aussi, par règlement, définir les expressions «repas» et «repas pour consommation à l’extérieur».
Il peut aussi, par règlement, ordonner qu’une boisson qu’il désigne et qui se trouve dans un établissement d’un genre qu’il détermine soit dans un contenant identifié d’une façon qu’il détermine ou d’un format qu’il détermine, et soit vendue et livrée dans ce contenant. Il peut aussi, par règlement, ordonner que de tels contenants soient à l’usage exclusif de ce genre d’établissement.
Il peut aussi par règlement exiger que la personne qui tient l’établissement:
a)  Se serve du système de pièces justificatives déterminé dans le règlement afin de permettre à la couronne de contrôler la perception et la remise de la taxe;
b)  Reçoive le vérificateur dans l’établissement et lui remette les livres et documents que cet officier requiert.
Les règlements adoptés en vertu de la présente loi entrent en vigueur à la date de leur publication à la Gazette officielle du Québec ou à une date ultérieure qui y est fixée; ils peuvent aussi, une fois publiés et s’ils en disposent ainsi, s’appliquer à une date antérieure à leur publication mais non antérieure à l’année en cours.
S. R. 1964, c. 73, a. 10; 1969, c. 33, a. 3; 1978, c. 33, a. 4; 1979, c. 78, a. 9.
13. Le ministre du Revenu est chargé de l’application de la présente loi.
1971, c. 28, a. 12.
14. (Cet article a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987).
1982, c. 21, a. 1; R.-U., 1982, c. 11, ann. B, ptie I, a. 33.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 73 des Statuts refondus, 1964, tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre T-3 des Lois refondues.