C-67 - Act approving the Agreement concerning James Bay and Northern Québec

Full text
chapter C-67
Act approving the Agreement concerning James Bay and Northern Québec
AGREEMENT CONCERNING JAMES BAYDecember 31 1977
The Minister of Energy and Natural Resources is responsible for the application of this Act. Order in Council 288-2016 dated 13 April 2016, (2016) 148 G.O. 2 (French), 2327.
DIVISION I
INTERPRETATION
1. In this Act, unless the context indicates a different meaning, the expression Agreement means the Agreement reached between the Grand Council of the Crees (of Québec), the Northern Québec Inuit Association, the Government of Canada, the Société d’énergie de la Baie James (the James Bay Energy Corporation), the Société de développement de la Baie James (the Société de développement de la Baie James), the Commission hydroélectrique du Québec (the Commission hydroélectrique du Québec) and the Gouvernement du Québec, dated 11 November 1975, and the Amending Agreement dated 12 December 1975, tabled in the National Assembly, 9 June 1976, as Sessional Documents, Nos 101 and 102.
1976, c. 46, s. 1; 1977, c. 5, s. 14.
DIVISION II
THE AGREEMENT
2. (1)  The Agreement is hereby approved, given effect to and declared valid.
(2)  The beneficiaries of the Agreement are hereby acknowledged to have the rights, privileges and benefits granted to them by the said Agreement; the legislative and administrative measures provided for in the Agreement shall be adopted in accordance with its terms.
(3)  Pursuant to the Agreement, the Category I lands provided for in the said Agreement shall be set aside and shall be granted in accordance with the legislation to be adopted to that effect.
(4)  The capital of and interest on the bonds which Québec must issue under the Agreement, including interest on accrued interest, shall be paid out of the Consolidated Revenue Fund.
(5)  The basic compensation as well as all the amounts referred to in article 25.3 of the Agreements are exempt from taxation, on the terms and conditions provided in the said article.
(6)  The Government may make such regulations as are required for the application of the Agreement or any provision thereof. It may in particular, by regulation:
(a)  create the agencies provided for in the Agreement necessary for the implementation thereof;
(b)  determine their composition, functions, duties and powers, their methods of business management, their rules of internal management, their financing, and the procedure of appeal from their decisions;
(c)  determine the mode of appointment, qualifications, functions, duties and powers, term of office, remuneration and mode of dismissal of their members.
The regulations made under this subsection shall come into force on the day of their publication in the Gazette officielle du Québec or on any later date provided for in the said regulations.
(7)  Every Minister responsible for the implementation of any provision of the Agreement may, in accordance with the Act respecting the Ministère du Conseil exécutif (chapter M-30), conclude agreements with the Government of Canada or any other body to further the implementation of the said Agreement.
1976, c. 46, s. 2 (part); 1977, c. 15, s. 1; 1985, c. 30, s. 35.
DIVISION III
COMPLEMENTARY AGREEMENTS
3. The Government, by order, may approve, give effect to and declare valid any complementary Agreement to which Québec is a party, designed to amend, rescind or replace the Agreement.
1976, c. 46, s. 3.
4. (1)  The order made in virtue of section 3 must be tabled in the National Assembly, if it is in session, within fifteen days of its adoption by the Government. If the order is adopted while the National Assembly is not in session, or, if it is in session, between the time of its adjournment and the time appointed for resumption of its sittings, if that is more than twenty days after the date of adjournment, the order must be tabled in the Assembly within fifteen days after the opening of the next session, or the resumption of its sittings, as the case may be.
(2)  The order shall come into force fifteen sitting days after being tabled as in subsection 1 unless a motion to annul it is presented in the National Assembly before the tenth day of sitting.
1976, c. 46, s. 4.
DIVISION IV
CORRELATIVE AMENDMENT
5. The Legislature of Québec consents to the repeal of section 2 of the Act to extend the Boundaries of the Province of Québec (Statutes of Canada, 1912, 2 George V, chapter 45), and its replacement by the following:
“ 2. The limits of the province of Québec are hereby increased so that the boundaries thereof shall include, in addition to the present territory of the said province, the territory bounded and described as follows: Commencing at the point at the mouth of East Main river where it empties into James bay, the said point being the western termination of the northern boundary of the province of Québec as established by chapter 3 of the statutes of 1898 intituled An Act respecting the north-western, northern and north-eastern boundaries of the province of Québec; thence northerly and easterly along the shores of Hudson bay and Hudson strait; thence southerly, easterly and northerly along the shore of Ungava bay and the shore of the said strait; thence easterly along the shore of the said strait to the boundary of the territory over which the island of Newfoundland has lawful jurisdiction; thence southeasterly along the westerly boundary of the said last mentioned territory to the middle of Bay du Rigolet or Hamilton Inlet; thence westerly along the northern boundary of the province of Québec as established by the said Act to the place of commencement; and all the land embraced by the said description shall, from and after the commencement of this Act, be added to the province of Québec, and shall, from and after the said commencement, form and be part of the said province of Québec. ”
1976, c. 46, s. 5.
DIVISION V
FINAL PROVISIONS
6. In case of conflict or inconsistency, this Act shall prevail over any other Act applicable to the territory described in the Agreement to the extent necessary to resolve the conflict or inconsistency.
1976, c. 46, s. 7.
7. (This section ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987).
1982, c. 21, s. 1; U. K., 1982, c. 11, Sch. B, Part I, s. 33.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 46 of the statutes of 1976, in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed, except sections 2 (part), 6 and 8, effective from the coming into force of chapter C-67 of the Revised Statutes.

C-67 - Loi approuvant la Convention de la Baie James et du Nord québécois

Texte complet
chapitre C-67
Loi approuvant la Convention de la Baie James et du Nord québécois
CONVENTION DE LA BAIE JAMES31 décembre 1977
Le ministre de l’Énergie et des Ressources naturelles est responsable de l’application de la présente loi. Décret 288-2016 du 13 avril 2016, (2016) 148 G.O. 2, 2327.
SECTION I
INTERPRÉTATION
1. Dans la présente loi, à moins que le contexte n’indique un sens différent, on entend par l’expression «Convention» la Convention intervenue entre le Grand Council of the Crees (of Québec), la Northern Québec Inuit Association, le gouvernement du Canada, la Société d’énergie de la Baie James, la Société de développement de la Baie James, la Commission hydroélectrique du Québec et le gouvernement du Québec, en date du 11 novembre 1975, ainsi que la Convention modificative en date du 12 décembre 1975, déposées sur le bureau du secrétaire de l’Assemblée nationale, le 9 juin 1976, à titre de documents de la session portant les numéros 101 et 102.
1976, c. 46, a. 1.
SECTION II
CONVENTION
2. 1.  La Convention est approuvée, mise en vigueur et déclarée valide par la présente loi.
2.  Les droits, privilèges et avantages accordés par la Convention à ses bénéficiaires leur sont reconnus; les mesures législatives et administratives prévues à la Convention seront adoptées conformément à ses termes.
3.  Pour donner suite à la Convention, les terres de catégorie I prévues à ladite Convention sont mises de côté et seront octroyées conformément à la législation qui sera adoptée à cet effet.
4.  Le capital et les intérêts des obligations que le Québec doit émettre en vertu de la Convention, y compris les intérêts sur les intérêts courus, sont payés à même le fonds consolidé du revenu.
5.  L’indemnité globale ainsi que toutes les sommes visées à l’article 25.3 de la Convention sont exemptes d’impôt suivant les modalités prévues audit article.
6.  Le gouvernement peut adopter les règlements nécessaires à l’application de la Convention ou de l’une de ses dispositions. Il peut notamment, par règlement:
a)  créer les organismes prévus à la Convention et requis pour sa mise en application;
b)  déterminer leur composition, leurs fonctions, devoirs et pouvoirs, les modalités d’administration de leurs affaires, les règles de leur régie interne, leur financement et les modalités d’appel de leurs décisions;
c)  déterminer le mode de nomination, les qualifications, les fonctions, devoirs et pouvoirs, la durée du mandat, les émoluments et le mode de destitution de leurs membres.
Les règlements adoptés en vertu du présent paragraphe entreront en vigueur le jour de leur publication à la Gazette officielle du Québec ou à toute date ultérieure prévue auxdits règlements.
7.  Tout ministre responsable de l’application d’une disposition de la Convention peut, conformément à la Loi sur le ministère du Conseil exécutif (chapitre M‐30), conclure des ententes avec le gouvernement du Canada ou tout autre organisme en vue de faciliter la mise en application de ladite Convention.
1976, c. 46, a. 2 (partie); 1977, c. 15, a. 1; 1985, c. 30, a. 35.
SECTION III
CONVENTIONS COMPLÉMENTAIRES
3. Le gouvernement peut, par décret, approuver, mettre en vigueur et déclarer valide toute Convention complémentaire, à laquelle le Québec est partie, destinée à modifier, annuler ou remplacer la Convention.
1976, c. 46, a. 3.
4. 1.  Le décret fait en vertu de l’article 3 doit être déposé devant l’Assemblée nationale, si elle est en session, dans les quinze jours de son adoption par le gouvernement. Si le décret est adopté alors que l’Assemblée nationale n’est pas en session ou, si elle est en session, entre le moment où elle s’ajourne et la date fixée pour la reprise de ses travaux lorsque cette date est postérieure au vingtième jour suivant la date de l’ajournement, le décret doit être déposé devant elle, dans les quinze jours de l’ouverture de la session suivante ou, suivant le cas, dans les quinze jours de la reprise de ses travaux.
2.  Le décret entre en vigueur le quinzième jour de séance suivant son dépôt suivant le paragraphe 1, à moins qu’avant le dixième jour de séance une motion tendant à l’annuler n’ait été présentée à l’Assemblée nationale.
1976, c. 46, a. 4.
SECTION IV
MODIFICATIONS CORRÉLATIVES
5. La Législature du Québec consent à ce que l’article 2 de la Loi de l’extension des frontières de Québec, (Lois du Canada, 1912, 2 George V, chapitre 45) soit abrogé et remplacé par ce qui suit:
« 2. Les limites de la province de Québec sont, par la présente loi, agrandies de telle sorte que ses frontières comprennent, en outre du présent territoire de ladite province, le territoire borné et décrit ainsi qu’il suit: commençant au point, à l’embouchure de la rivière East Main, où cette rivière se jette dans la baie James, ledit point étant l’extrémité occidentale de la frontière nord de la province de Québec suivant qu’elle est établie par le chapitre 3 des statuts de 1898, intitulé: Acte concernant la délimitation des frontières nord-ouest, nord et nord-est de la province de Québec; de là, vers le nord et l’est, le long des rives de la baie d’Hudson et du détroit d’Hudson; de là, vers le sud, l’est et le nord, en suivant la rive de la baie Ungava et la rive dudit détroit; de là, vers l’est, en suivant la rive dudit détroit jusqu’à la frontière du territoire relevant de la juridiction légale de l’île de Terre-Neuve; de là, vers le sud-est, en suivant la frontière ouest dudit territoire mentionné en dernier lieu jusqu’au milieu de la baie du Rigolet ou Hamilton Inlet; de là, vers l’ouest, en suivant la frontière nord de la province de Québec, telle qu’elle est établie par ladite loi, jusqu’au point de départ; et toutes les terres comprises dans ladite description seront, à partir et à la suite de la promulgation de la présente loi, ajoutées à la province de Québec et, à partir et à la suite de ladite promulgation, seront et formeront partie de ladite province de Québec. »
1976, c. 46, a. 5.
SECTION V
DISPOSITIONS FINALES
6. En cas de conflit ou d’incompatibilité, la présente loi l’emporte sur toute autre loi qui s’applique au territoire décrit dans la Convention, dans la mesure nécessaire pour résoudre le conflit ou l’incompatibilité.
1976, c. 46, a. 7.
7. (Cet article a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987).
1982, c. 21, a. 1; R.-U., 1982, c. 11, ann. B, ptie I, a. 33.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 46 des lois de 1976, tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, à l’exception des articles 2 (partie), 6 et 8, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre C-67 des Lois refondues.