Québec Official Publisher

Origins

Charles-François Langlois — Premier Imprimeur de la Reine — 18 décembre 1868 au 9 décembre 1896
Charles-François Langlois
First Queen’s Printer
From December 18, 1868 to December 9, 1896

Shortly after the founding of the Canadian confederation, it became necessary for the gouvernement du Québec to develop a vehicle to inform the public of its decisions and directions. Thus, in 1868, the Québec legislature adopted the act respecting the office of Queen’s Printer for this Province, and the publishing of the “Quebec Official Gazette” (31 Victoria - 1868, Cap. XIII).

The Act, which came into force on January 12, 1869, clearly stated in its section 2 the role of the new institution:

"It shall be the duty of the queen's printer to print and publish, or cause to be printed and published, for the government, the statutes of the province, an official gazette, which shall be known as the "Quebec Official Gazette," and such documents and announcements as the lieutenant-governor may from time to time require to have printed, whether in the said official gazette or otherwise."

Section 9 dealt with the authentic nature of the Queen’s Printer’s publications:

“All publications in the "Quebec Official Gazette," and all copies of the statutes of this province printed or caused to be printed [...] by the said queen's printer, shall be authentic and make proof of their contents without any other evidence[...]."

Making official information available to the public. This founding mission has always been the focus of the Queen’s Printer’s activities over the decades, although new responsibilities have gradually been grafted to it. In 1964, nearly a century after its founding, the Queen’s Printer developed solid expertise in publishing, from which the departments benefited with their publication needs. At that time, the Queen’s Printer was also in charge of distributing a number of government publications, including, for example:

  • Statistical study on the expenditures of the Quebec government;
  • Guide of school corporations;
  • Report of the Royal Commission of Inquiry on Education in the Province of Quebec (Parent report);
  • Report of the Royal Commission of Inquiry on Constitutional Problems (Tremblay report);
  • Municipal guide, etc.

The Queen’s Printer then became much more a “publisher” than a “printer”, so the designation “Queen’s Printer” was dropped on January 1, 1969 and replaced by “Éditeur officiel du Québec” (Québec Official Publisher).

Tradition and modernity

The raison d'être of the Québec Official Publisher has always been to make official information readily accessible. And since that information is authentic in nature, it is crucial for its integrity to be ensured. The two features of official information—accessibility and integrity—are essential components to the population’s democratic life and the functioning of the rule of law.

Since its very beginning, the Québec Official Publisher has taken the necessary steps for the concepts of accessibility and integrity to be achieved in all its actions. Whether it concerns page layout, printing, distribution, subscription management or customer service, everything is aimed at serving the public and the public’s fundamental right to accessible and authentic government information.

To achieve this, advances in technology must be fully utilized. As in numerous fields, advances in computer and information technology made it possible for the Québec Official Publisher to revolutionize its tools and work process, as well as the way it disseminates official information. Now, anyone can easily consult the Civil Code of Québec from LégisQuébec on the screen of a mobile device, in HTML, PDF or EPUB format. Here are a few other milestones:

  • 1977: Automated page layout of revised statutes, i.e. 20 000 pages in French and English;
  • 1994: Computerisation of the layout work for the Gazette officielle;
  • 1996: Dissemination on the Internet of the Gazette officielle;
  • 1997: Dissemination on the Internet of statutes and regulations;
  • 1998: Free access to the Internet version of statutes and regulations;
  • 2003: History of statutes available online;
  • 2010: Internet version of statutes made official;
  • 2012: Internet version of regulations made official;
  • 2012: Internet version of the Gazette officielle accessed for free and made official;
  • 2016: LégisQuébec available online:
    • Free access
    • History of consolidated statutes and regulations
    • PDF and ePUB formats

Current mandates

The Québec Official Publisher now carries out its activities under the Act respecting the Centre de services partagés du Québec (CQLR, chapter C-8.1.1), and more particularly under the name “Les Publications du Québec”, as the gouvernement du Québec’s publishing house.

Under section 41 of the Act, the Official Publisher “publishes or commissions the publishing of

(1) the statutes of Québec;

(2) an official journal, known as the Gazette officielle du Québec; and

(3) the documents, notices and announcements that the Government, the Office of the National Assembly or an Act require the Official Publisher to publish.”

Another mandate that is central to the mission of the Québec Official Publisher is described in the Act respecting the Compilation of Québec Laws and Regulations (CQLR, chapter R-2.2.0.0.2) and consists in the publication and dissemination of the Compilation. Concretely, it is the grouping of Québec statutes and regulations selected and updated by the Minister of Justice on the basis of their general and permanent nature. The texts that are part of the Compilation are “consolidated” statutes and regulations and are referred to as such in LégisQuébec.

Lastly, under the Act respecting the National Assembly, the Québec Official Publisher is responsible for the publication and distribution of the National Assembly’s legislative documents:

  • draft bills;
  • bills;
  • statutes assented to;
  • annual compilation of the statutes assented to.

Looking ahead

The Québec Official Publisher will celebrate its 150th anniversary in January 2019. The thousands of pages of statutes, regulations, orders in council, ministerial orders, policies, programs and notices of constitution, of dissolution or of changes of names published during those years are all time capsules making it possible to unearth a good part of Québec’s historic fabric.

If he were here, Charles-François Langlois, the first Queen’s Printer, would probably be surprised and amazed by the technological advances made since 1869. He would certainly feel that the current techniques and processes have very little in common with those of the late 19th century.

However, he would very quickly notice that some things have remained unchanged: rigour, passion and the desire to serve the public are values that still drive those working for the institution of which he was in charge for nearly 30 years. These are the values that allowed the Québec Official Publisher to stand the test of time and that will enable it to address the many challenges that lie ahead.

No one can predict exactly the future development of technologies that the public will use to consult official information. However, it may be assumed that the public will require, and rightly so, increasingly accessible information whose integrity is beyond question. With LégisQuébec, the Québec Official Publisher certainly meets that requirement. This development must not be seen as an end in itself, but as a step in a long process aimed at ensuring the broadest possible access to official information, while ensuring its integrity. That is the fundamental objective the Québec Official Publisher intends to continue striving for in the future.

L'Éditeur officiel du Québec

Origines

Charles-François Langlois — Premier Imprimeur de la Reine — 18 décembre 1868 au 9 décembre 1896
Charles-François Langlois
Premier Imprimeur de la Reine
Du 18 décembre 1868 au 9 décembre 1896

Peu de temps après la fondation de la confédération canadienne, il devient nécessaire pour le gouvernement du Québec de se doter d'un médium pour informer les citoyens de ses décisions et de ses orientations. C'est ainsi qu'en 1868, la législature de Québec adopte l'Acte concernant la charge d'Imprimeur de la Reine pour cette province, et la publication de la Gazette Officielle de Québec (31 Victoria - 1868, Chapitre XIII).

Entrée en vigueur le 12 janvier 1869, cette loi énonce clairement à son article 2, le rôle de la nouvelle institution :

« Il sera du devoir de l'imprimeur de la reine d'imprimer et publier, ou de faire imprimer et publier, pour le gouvernement, les statuts de la province, une gazette officielle, qui sera connue sous le nom de "Gazette Officielle de Québec," et tous documents et annonces dont le lieutenant-gouverneur en conseil pourra requérir l'impression, soit dans la dite gazette officielle ou autrement. »

À l'article 9, il est question du caractère authentique des publications de l'Imprimeur de la Reine :

« Toutes publications dans la "Gazette Officielle de Québec," et tous exemplaires des statuts de cette province que le dit imprimeur aura imprimés [...] seront authentiques et feront preuve de leur contenu, sans qu'il soit besoin d'aucune autre preuve [...]. »

Rendre publique l'information officielle aux citoyens. Cette mission fondatrice n'a cessé d'animer les activités de l'Imprimeur de la Reine au fil des décennies, bien que de nouvelles responsabilités se soient greffées progressivement. En 1964, près d'un siècle après sa fondation, l'Imprimeur de la Reine a développé une solide expertise en édition, dont il fait profiter les ministères dans la confection de leurs publications. À cette époque, l'Imprimeur de la Reine est aussi responsable de la distribution de plusieurs publications gouvernementales dont en voici un échantillon :

  • Étude statistique des dépenses du Gouvernement du Québec;
  • Guide des corporations scolaires;
  • Rapport de la Commission royale d'enquête sur l'enseignement (Rapport Parent);
  • Rapport de la Commission royale d'enquête sur les problèmes constitutionnels (Rapport Tremblay);
  • Répertoire des municipalités, etc.

L'Imprimeur de la Reine devient alors beaucoup plus un « éditeur » qu'un « imprimeur », si bien que la désignation « Imprimeur de la Reine » est mise au rencart le 1er janvier 1969 et remplacée par celle d'« Éditeur officiel du Québec ».

Tradition et modernité

La raison d'être de l'Éditeur officiel du Québec a toujours été de rendre l'information officielle accessible. Et puisque cette information revêt un caractère authentique, il est primordial que son intégrité soit garantie. Ces deux caractéristiques de l'information officielle — accessibilité et intégrité — sont des ingrédients essentiels à la vie démocratique des citoyens et au fonctionnement d'un État de droit.

Depuis ses tout débuts, l'Éditeur officiel du Québec prend les moyens nécessaires pour que ces concepts d'accessibilité et d'intégrité se concrétisent dans toutes ses actions. Qu'il s'agisse de la mise en page des textes, de l'impression, de la distribution, de la gestion des abonnements ou du service à la clientèle, tout est mis au service du citoyen et de son droit fondamental à de l'information gouvernementale accessible et authentique.

Pour ce faire, il faut savoir tirer profit des avancées technologiques. Comme dans bien des domaines, les progrès en informatique et en technologies de l'information ont permis à l'Éditeur officiel du Québec de révolutionner ses outils et ses processus de travail, de même que ses moyens de diffusion de l'information officielle. Si bien que désormais, un citoyen peut facilement consulter le Code civil du Québec à partir de LégisQuébec sur l'écran de son appareil mobile, en formats HTML, PDF ou ePUB. Voici quelques autres étapes marquantes :

  • 1977 : Mise en page automatisée des lois refondues, soit 20 000 pages en français et en anglais;
  • 1994 : Informatisation des travaux de mise en page de la Gazette officielle;
  • 1996 : Diffusion sur internet de la Gazette officielle;
  • 1997 : Diffusion sur internet des lois et des règlements;
  • 1998 : Gratuité de la version internet des lois et des règlements;
  • 2003 : Mise en ligne de l'historique des lois;
  • 2010 : Officialisation des lois en version internet;
  • 2012 : Officialisation des règlements en version internet;
  • 2012 : Gratuité et officialisation de la Gazette officielle en version internet;
  • 2016 : Mise en ligne de LégisQuébec :
    • Gratuit
    • Historique des lois et des règlements codifiés
    • Formats PDF et ePUB
    • Lois et règlements annuels.

Mandats actuels

L'Éditeur officiel du Québec exerce désormais ses activités principalement en vertu de la Loi sur le Centre de services partagés du Québec (RLRQ, chapitre C-8.1.1), et plus particulièrement sous la raison sociale « Les Publications du Québec », la maison d'édition du gouvernement du Québec.

En vertu de l'article 41 de cette loi, l'Éditeur officiel « publie ou fait publier :

1o les lois du Québec;

2o un journal officiel connu sous le nom de Gazette officielle du Québec;

3o les documents, avis et annonces dont le gouvernement, le Bureau de l’Assemblée nationale ou une loi requiert la publication par lui. »

Un autre mandat central dans la mission de l'Éditeur officiel du Québec est décrit dans la Loi sur le Recueil des lois et des règlements du Québec (RLRQ, chapitre R-2.2.0.0.2) et consiste en la publication et la diffusion de ce même Recueil. Concrètement, il s'agit du regroupement des lois et des règlements du Québec sélectionnés et mis à jour par le ministre de la Justice sur la base de leur caractère général et permanent. Les textes faisant partie du Recueil sont donc des lois et règlements « codifiés » et sont désignés ainsi dans LégisQuébec.

Finalement, en vertu de la Loi sur l'Assemblée nationale, l'Éditeur officiel du Québec est responsable de la publication et de la distribution des documents législatifs de l'Assemblée nationale :

  • Avant-projets de loi;
  • Projets de loi;
  • Lois sanctionnées;
  • Recueil annuel des lois sanctionnées.

Regard vers l'avenir

L'Éditeur officiel du Québec fêtera son 150e anniversaire en janvier 2019. Les milliers de pages de lois, de règlements, de décrets, d'arrêtés ministériels, de politiques, de programmes, d'avis de constitution, de dissolution ou de changements de noms publiées au cours de ces années sont autant de capsules temporelles permettant de mettre au jour une bonne partie de la trame historique québécoise.

S'il pouvait être avec nous, Charles-François Langlois, le premier Imprimeur de la Reine, serait probablement étonné et émerveillé des progrès technologiques accomplis depuis 1869. Il aurait certainement le sentiment que les techniques et les processus actuels ont bien peu en commun avec ceux de la fin du 19e siècle.

Par contre, il remarquerait très rapidement que certaines choses sont restées immuables : la rigueur, la passion et le goût de servir le citoyen sont des valeurs qui animent encore aujourd'hui le travail de ceux et celles qui œuvrent au sein de l'institution dont il a été responsable pendant près de 30 ans. Ce sont ces valeurs qui ont permis à l'Éditeur officiel du Québec de traverser les époques et ce sont ces valeurs qui lui permettront d'aborder les nombreux défis à venir.

Bien malin celui qui pourrait prédire avec exactitude l'évolution future des technologies par lesquelles le citoyen consulte l'information officielle. Par contre, il est permis de croire qu'il exigera, à bon droit, une information toujours plus accessible et dont l'intégrité ne fait aucun doute. Avec LégisQuébec, l'Éditeur officiel du Québec répond assurément à cette volonté, mais il faut voir ce développement non comme une fin, mais comme une étape dans une longue évolution visant à assurer la plus grande accessibilité possible de l'information officielle, tout en garantissant son intégrité. C'est vers cet objectif fondamental que l'Éditeur officiel du Québec entend continuer d'orienter son action dans l'avenir.