Frequently Asked Questions

What are Consolidated Statutes and Regulations?

They are the texts included in the Compilation of Québec Laws and Regulations (CQLR), i.e. the grouping, by the Minister of Justice, of statutes and regulations of a general and permanent nature. This corpus is regularly updated by the Service de la refonte des lois et des règlements of the ministère de la Justice (MJQ), on the basis of the statutes adopted by the National Assembly and the regulations made by the Government. In LégisQuébec, the texts that are part of the CQLR are referred to as “Consolidated Statutes and Regulations”.

What are Annual Statutes and Regulations?

Annual Statutes

Many of the statutes adopted each year by the National Assembly are selected by the Minister of Justice to be included in the CQLR as new statutes. From that point on, a unique alphanumeric designation is attributed to them by the Service de la refonte des lois et des règlements of the MJQ.

Certain statutes adopted by the National Assembly amend statutes already included in the CQLR. After their adoption, the Service de la refonte des lois et des règlements of the MJQ makes the necessary amendments to the existing statutes, in accordance with the coming into force date.

In LégisQuébec, the corpus of Annual Statutes brings together the statutes adopted by the National Assembly that were included in the CQLR or that amend statutes already included in the CQLR. To consult all the annual statutes adopted by the National Assembly, refer to the Annual Statutes of Québec section of Les Publications du Québec website.

Annual Regulations

As is the case for annual statutes, many of the regulations made by the Government are selected and included in the CQLR as new regulations or as regulations amending other regulations already included in the CQLR.

Hence, LégisQuébec includes the annual regulations made by the Government that were included in the CQLR or that amend regulations already included in the CQLR. To consult all the annual regulations, refer to the Gazette officielle du Québec.

Do Consolidated Statutes and Regulations have official status?

The official nature of the Consolidated Statutes and Regulations is established under section 7 of the Act respecting the Compilation of Québec Laws and Regulations (CQLR, chapter R-2.2.0.0.2):

Publication of the compilation, or of any extract from it, by the Québec Official Publisher, whatever the medium used, confers official status on the texts.

What is updating?

Updating the CQLR is the operation, carried out by the Service de la refonte des lois et des règlements of the MJQ, which consists in incorporating into the texts the repeals, replacements, additions and other amendments adopted by the competent authorities, in accordance with the coming into force date. This date then becomes the new “updated date” of the documents in LégisQuébec.

The operation of updating also involves removing expired provisions and provisions whose purpose has been achieved, while ensuring the CQLR’s overall consistency.

What is an information note?

A document entitled “Information note” precedes each updating of the CQLR and is posted on LégisQuébec, in accordance with the second paragraph of section 4 of the Act respecting the Compilation of Québec Laws and Regulations (CQLR, chapter R-2.2.0.0.2).

The information note is drafted by the Service de la refonte des lois et des règlements of the MJQ. It includes the detailed amendments made under the “consolidator’s general power” in both the statutes and regulations. The scope of that power is described in the second paragraph of section 3 of the Act respecting the Compilation of Québec Laws and Regulations (CQLR, chapter R-2.2.0.0.2).

For proper consultation, the fact that four separate files called “information note” must be taken into account:

  • Statutes – French
  • Statutes – English
  • Regulations – French
  • Regulations – English

It should be noted that the updates made are not necessarily the same in both languages.

Among the historical references under a section or an article, the amendment identified in an information note is designated by the abbreviation “I.N.”, which is followed by the updated date on which the amendment was made, for example “I.N. 2015-09-01”. This type of reference has been used since January 1, 2014.

Information note

What is the alphanumeric designation?

Consolidated Statutes

The alphanumeric designation is a classification method. It uses the first letter of the first distinctive noun in the French title of the consolidated statute followed by a number, which corresponds to the alphabetic order of the French title in its group.

For example:

The Act respecting the Barreau du Québec (Loi sur le Barreau), CQLR, chapter B-1

The Unclaimed Property Act (Loi sur les biens non réclamés), CQLR, chapter B-5.1

Given that this numbering system began at the time of the last complete consolidation of statutes in 1977, decimals had to be introduced to insert new statutes whose titles, in alphabetic order, fall between two statutes with established chapter numbers.

B
Barreau B-1
Bâtiment B-1.1
Bibliothèque et Archives B-1.2
Bibliothèque nationale B-2

Hence, a change in title can lead to a change in the alphanumeric designation so as to reconcile it with the alphabetic order. For example, the Act to establish the Grande bibliothèque du Québec (Loi sur la Grande bibliothèque du Québec) was given the alphanumeric designation G-3 after its coming into force in 1998. In 2002, its title was changed to the Act respecting the Bibliothèque nationale du Québec (Loi sur la Bibliothèque nationale du Québec) and its alphanumeric designation became B-2.2. Lastly, its title was changed again in 2006 to the Act respecting Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec (Loi sur Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec) and its alphanumeric designation became B-1.2.

Consolidated Regulations

The principles for classifying consolidated statutes also apply to regulations. However, regulations are first grouped according to the statute under which they were made.

For example, the alphanumeric designation of all the regulations made under the Food Products Act (Loi sur les produits alimentaires) starts with P-29, followed by the letter “r.”, to indicate a regulation. Next comes a number corresponding to the regulation’s alphabetic order in the group according to the first important word in the French title of the regulation:

Title Alphanumeric designation
Regulation respecting food
(Aliments, Règlement sur les…)
CQLR, chapter P-29, r. 1
Regulation respecting bottled water
(Eaux embouteillées, Règlement sur les…)
CQLR, chapter P-29, r. 2
Regulation respecting fresh fruits and vegetables
(Fruits et légumes frais, Règlement sur les…)
CQLR, chapter P-29, r. 3
Regulation respecting the reimbursement of the costs of permanent inspection
(Remboursement des coûts d’inspection permanente, Règlement sur le…)
CQLR, chapter P-29, r. 4

What are the terms and conditions of the coming into force of Annual Statutes and Regulations?

The terms and conditions of the coming into force of Annual Statutes and Regulations are indicated in the last section or article, called “operative part”.

Annual Statutes

The terms and conditions of their coming into force are always indicated.

Annual Regulations

The terms and conditions of their coming into force are generally indicated. When that is not the case, refer to the part introducing the document when it is published in the Gazette officielle du Québec or to the Regulations Act (CQLR, chapter R-18.1), which stipulates that regulations come into force 15 days after the date of their publication in the Gazette officielle du Québec or on the date of their publication if the prescribed conditions are abided by.

Various terms and conditions of provisions brought into force

Texts may come into force in whole or in part, hence, on various dates.

There are several terms and conditions of provisions brought into force:

  • the date is indicated in the operative part;
  • the date will be known when an order in council is published to that effect;
  • the date is indicated as the maximum term for the coming into force, but an order in council can move the date forward;
  • the date is related to a particular event, such as the coming into force of a section or an article of another statute, the date of a general meeting, the anniversary date of another provision brought into force or the date of the coming into force of the first regulation made under a particular provision.

Fortunately, there is an exhaustive tool in which each provision brought into force is listed for every Québec statute assented to since January 1, 1978. The document is updated by the Service de la refonte des lois et des règlements of the MJQ and is made available free of charge on the LégisQuébec website:

Table of provisions brought into force

Why is the text of certain documents displayed in red?

When a statute or a regulation has been repealed or replaced, or has ceased to have effect, that information is indicated, for example, in the upper right-hand corner of the full text. The text is also displayed in red in order to draw the user’s attention to this feature, as it has a significant impact on the relevance of the content.

What is the difference between the updated version and the historical version of the Consolidated Statutes and Regulations?

The updated version of a consolidated statute or regulation is the most recent, full version available of that document. All the amendments in force on that date have therefore been incorporated by the Service de la refonte des lois et des règlements of the MJQ and are included in the document displayed.

The historical version of a consolidated statute or regulation is the full text of the document, as it read on a date prior to that of the updated version.

What period is covered by the historical versions of the Consolidated Statutes and Regulations?

A historical version is created for each date of coming into force of an amendment to a document.

Consolidated Statutes

It is possible to consult the full text of a statute in force on a specific date, as of April 1, 1999.

However, when consulting versions of a particular section or article, the history may go back to December 31, 1977, the date of the last complete consolidation of statutes.

Consolidated Regulations

Regarding the historical versions of regulations, it is possible to go back to September 1, 2012, either for the full document or individual sections or articles.

What are the file formats available?

LégisQuébec makes it possible to consult legislative texts in the following formats:

HTML for on-screen viewing

PDF for on-screen viewing or for printing with structured page layout

ePUB for viewing on a mobile device

What is ePUB?

An ePUB is a computer file designed to be downloaded and viewed on a mobile device. One of the characteristics of ePUB is that its content adjusts to the type of device used. To do so, the device must be equipped with software making it possible to read those files and, depending on the software used, it is possible to increase the font size, do a keyword search, add bookmarks or personal notes, and so on.

It is also possible to read an ePUB file with a desktop computer. To do so, we recommend using the free Adobe Digital Editions application.

May I reproduce, free of charge, the statutes and regulations found on LégisQuébec?

No. LégisQuébec is the property of Les Publications du Québec, which holds exclusive intellectual property rights to it, including copyright. To obtain a reproduction licence, contact the Service de la gestion des droits d’auteur.

Foire aux questions

Que sont les Lois et règlements codifiés?

Il s’agit des textes inclus dans le Recueil des lois et des règlements du Québec (RLRQ), c’est-à-dire le regroupement, par le ministre de la Justice, des lois et règlements à caractère général et permanent. Ce corpus est mis à jour en continu par le Service de refonte des lois et règlements du ministère de la Justice (MJQ), à partir des lois adoptées par l’Assemblée nationale et des règlements édictés par le gouvernement. Dans LégisQuébec, les textes faisant partie du RLRQ sont désignés « Lois et règlements codifiés ».

Que sont les Lois et règlements annuels?

Lois annuelles

Parmi les lois adoptées chaque année par l’Assemblée nationale, plusieurs sont sélectionnées par le ministre de la Justice pour être intégrées au RLRQ en tant que nouvelles lois. À partir de ce moment, une désignation alphanumérique unique leur est attribuée par le Service de refonte des lois et règlements du MJQ.

Certaines lois adoptées par l’Assemblée nationale modifient des lois déjà intégrées au RLRQ. Après leur adoption, le Service de refonte des lois et règlements du MJQ apporte les modifications nécessaires aux lois existantes, selon les dispositions d’entrée en vigueur.

Dans LégisQuébec, le corpus des Lois annuelles rassemble donc les lois adoptées par l’Assemblée nationale qui ont été intégrées au RLRQ ou qui modifient des lois déjà intégrées au RLRQ. Pour consulter l’ensemble des lois annuelles adoptées par l’Assemblée nationale, il faut se référer au site des Publications du Québec, section Lois du Québec.

Règlements annuels

Comme pour les lois annuelles, parmi les règlements édictés par le gouvernement, plusieurs sont sélectionnés et intégrés au RLRQ en tant que nouveaux règlements ou en tant que règlements modifiant d’autres règlements déjà intégrés au RLRQ.

On retrouve donc dans LégisQuébec les règlements annuels édictés par le gouvernement qui ont été intégrés au RLRQ ou qui modifient des règlements déjà intégrées au RLRQ. Pour consulter l’ensemble des règlements annuels, il faut se référer à la Gazette officielle du Québec.

Est-ce que les Lois et règlements codifiés ont valeur officielle?

Le caractère officiel des Lois et règlements codifiés est établi par l’article 7 de la Loi sur le Recueil des lois et des règlements du Québec (RLRQ, chapitre R-2.2.0.0.2) :

La publication par l'Éditeur officiel du Québec du recueil et de tout extrait de celui-ci donne valeur officielle à ces textes, quel que soit le support utilisé.

Qu’est-ce qu’une mise à jour?

La mise à jour du RLRQ est l’opération, exécutée par le Service de refonte des lois et règlements du MJQ, consistant à intégrer aux textes les abrogations, les remplacements, les ajouts et les autres modifications adoptés par les autorités compétentes, selon les dispositions d’entrée en vigueur. Cette date devient alors la nouvelle « date à jour » des documents qui sont diffusés dans LégisQuébec.

L’opération de mise à jour consiste également à épurer les textes des dispositions désuètes ou dont l'objet est accompli, tout en assurant la cohérence de l'ensemble du RLRQ.

Qu’est-ce que la note d’information?

Un document intitulé « Note d'information » précède chaque mise à jour du RLRQ et est publié sur LégisQuébec, conformément au deuxième alinéa de l’article 4 de la Loi sur le Recueil des lois et des règlements du Québec (RLRQ, chapitre R-2.2.0.0.2)

La note d’information est préparée par le Service de refonte des lois et règlements du MJQ. On y retrouve le détail des modifications effectuées en vertu du « pouvoir général de refondeur », tant dans les textes des lois que dans ceux des règlements. L’étendue de ce pouvoir est décrite au deuxième alinéa de l’article 3 de la Loi sur le Recueil des lois et des règlements du Québec (RLRQ, chapitre R-2.2.0.0.2).

Pour bien orienter la consultation, il faut tenir compte du fait qu’il y a quatre fichiers distincts appelés « Note d'information » :

  • Lois – Français
  • Lois – Anglais
  • Règlements – Français
  • Règlements – Anglais

Il est important de noter que les interventions ne sont pas nécessairement identiques dans les deux langues.

Parmi les références historiques sous un article, la modification identifiée dans une note d’information est désignée par l’abréviation « N.I. », laquelle est suivie de la date de la mise à jour à laquelle la modification a été effectuée; soit par exemple « N.I. 2015 09 01 ». Ce type de référence est utilisé depuis le 1er janvier 2014.

Note d’information

Qu’est-ce que la désignation alphanumérique?

Lois codifiées

La désignation alphanumérique est une méthode de classement. Elle utilise la première lettre du premier mot caractérisant le titre français des lois codifiées en association avec un chiffre, lequel permet de positionner ce titre selon l’ordre alphabétique du groupe.

Exemple :

La Loi sur le Barreau, RLRQ, chapitre B-1;

La Loi sur les biens non réclamés, RLRQ, chapitre B-5.1

Cette numérotation ayant commencé lors de la dernière refonte complète des lois en 1977, il a fallu utiliser un système décimal pour insérer les nouvelles lois entre deux désignations alphanumériques existantes.

B
Barreau B-1
Bâtiment B-1.1
Bibliothèque et Archives B-1.2
Bibliothèque nationale B-2

Une modification du titre peut donc engendrer une modification de la désignation alphanumérique afin de respecter la concordance avec le classement alphabétique. Par exemple, la Loi sur la Grande bibliothèque du Québec s’est vue attribuer la désignation alphanumérique G-3 après son entrée en vigueur en 1998. En 2002, son titre a été modifié pour « Loi sur la Bibliothèque nationale du Québec » et sa désignation alphanumérique est devenue B-2.2. Finalement, son titre a été modifié de nouveau en 2006 pour « Loi sur Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec » et sa désignation alphanumérique est devenue B-1.2.

Règlements codifiés

Les principes de classement des lois codifiées s’appliquent également aux règlements, mais ils sont d’abord regroupés selon la loi en vertu de laquelle ils ont été édictés.

Par exemple, la désignation alphanumérique de tous les règlements édictés en vertu de la Loi sur les produits alimentaires commence par P-29, suivi de « r. », pour indiquer qu’il s’agit d’un règlement, et d’un chiffre permettant de positionner ce titre en fonction de son premier mot significatif et selon l’ordre alphabétique du groupe :

Titre Désignation alphanumérique
Aliments, Règlement sur les… RLRQ, chapitre P-29, r. 1
Eaux embouteillées, Règlement sur les… RLRQ, chapitre P-29, r. 2
Fruits et légumes frais, Règlement sur les… RLRQ, chapitre P-29, r. 3
Remboursement des coûts d’inspection permanente, Règlement sur le… RLRQ, chapitre P-29, r. 4

Quelles sont les modalités d’entrée en vigueur des lois et règlements annuels?

Les modalités d’entrée en vigueur des Lois et règlements annuels sont indiquées dans le dernier article, que l’on nomme « dispositif ».

Lois annuelles

Les modalités d’entrée en vigueur y sont toujours indiquées.

Règlements annuels

Les modalités d’entrée en vigueur y sont généralement indiquées. À défaut, il faut se référer à la portion introductive du document lors de sa publication à la Gazette officielle du Québec ou encore à la Loi sur les règlements (RLRQ, chapitre R-18.1) qui stipule que les règlements entrent en vigueur le 15e jour qui suit leur publication à la Gazette officielle ou dès leur publication si les conditions prescrites sont respectées.

Différentes modalités d'entrée en vigueur

Les textes peuvent entrer en vigueur en entier ou partiellement, donc à différentes dates.

Il existe plusieurs modalités d’entrée en vigueur :

  • la date est inscrite dans le dispositif;
  • la date sera connue lors de la publication d’un décret à cet effet;
  • la date est indiquée comme échéance maximale d’entrée en vigueur, mais l’adoption d’un décret peut permettre d’avancer cette date;
  • la date est liée à un événement particulier, comme l’entrée en vigueur d’un article d’une autre loi, la date d’une assemblée générale, l’anniversaire d’une autre entrée en vigueur ou la date d’entrée en vigueur du premier règlement édicté en vertu d’une disposition particulière.

Heureusement, il existe un outil exhaustif dans lequel chacune des entrées en vigueur est répertoriée pour toutes les lois du Québec sanctionnées depuis le 1er janvier 1978. Ce document est maintenu à jour par le Service de refonte des lois et règlements du MJQ et est diffusé gratuitement sur le site LégisQuébec :

Tableau des entrées en vigueur

Pourquoi le texte de certains documents s’affiche en rouge?

Lorsqu’une loi ou un règlement est abrogé, remplacé ou a cessé d’avoir effet, cette précision est inscrite, entre autres, dans le coin supérieur droit du texte complet. Le texte est aussi affiché en rouge afin d’attirer l’attention de l’utilisateur sur cette particularité puisqu’elle a une incidence importante sur la pertinence du contenu.

Quelle est la différence entre la version à jour et la version historique des Lois et règlements codifiés?

La version à jour d’une loi codifiée ou d’un règlement codifié est la plus récente version complète disponible de ce document. Toutes les modifications en vigueur à cette date ont donc été intégrées par le Service de refonte des lois et règlements du MJQ et sont incluses dans le document diffusé.

La version historique d’une loi codifiée ou d’un règlement codifié est le texte complet du document tel qu’il se lisait à une date antérieure à celle de la version à jour.

Quelle est la période couverte par les versions historiques des Lois et règlements codifiés?

Une version historique est créée pour chacune des dates d’entrée en vigueur d’une modification à un document.

Lois codifiées

Il est possible de consulter le texte complet d’une loi tel qu’en vigueur à une date précise et ce, à compter du 1er avril 1999.

Toutefois, lors de la consultation des versions d’un article en particulier, l’historique peut remonter jusqu’au 31 décembre 1977; soit la date de la dernière refonte complète des lois.

Règlements codifiés

Pour les versions historiques des règlements, il est possible de remonter jusqu’au 1er septembre 2012, tant pour un document complet que pour les versions individuelles des articles.

Quels sont les formats de fichiers offerts?

LégisQuébec offre la possibilité de consulter les textes législatifs dans les formats suivants :

HTML pour consultation à l’écran

PDF pour consultation à l’écran ou pour impression avec mise en page structurée

ePUB pour consultation sur un appareil mobile

Qu’est-ce qu’un ePUB?

Un ePUB est un fichier informatique conçu pour le téléchargement et la consultation sur un appareil mobile. Une des particularités du ePUB est que le contenu s’ajuste en fonction du type d’appareil utilisé. Pour ce faire, il faut que l’appareil soit muni d’un logiciel permettant la lecture de ces fichiers et, selon le logiciel utilisé, il est possible d’agrandir la taille des caractères, d’effectuer une recherche par mots-clés, d’ajouter des signets et des notes personnelles, etc.

Il est aussi possible de lire un ePUB à partir d’un ordinateur de bureau. Pour ce faire, nous conseillons d’utiliser l'application gratuite Adobe Digital Editions.

Puis-je reproduire gratuitement les lois et les règlements diffusés sur LégisQuébec?

Non. LégisQuébec est la propriété des Publications du Québec qui en détiennent les droits exclusifs de propriété intellectuelle, notamment les droits d'auteur. Pour obtenir une licence de reproduction, il faut vous adresser au Service de la gestion des droits d’auteur.