V-3 - Act respecting the sale of unclaimed goods

Full text
chapter V-3
Act respecting the sale of unclaimed goods
UNCLAIMED GOODSDecember 18 1992January 1 1994
Repealed, 1992, c. 57, s. 710.
1992, c. 57, s. 710.
1. All wharfingers, warehouse-keepers, agents, steamboat proprietors or companies, canal or railway officers and servants, stage proprietors and other persons in whose custody any unclaimed goods or articles remain, shall advertise once in every month, in at least one newspaper printed in the city of Québec and in one printed in the city of Montréal, a list and description, with the marks, numbers and addresses, if any, of such unclaimed goods and articles.
R. S. 1964, c. 316, s. 1.
2. Such list shall contain a notice to all persons who claim any of such goods, to come within six months from the date of such notice, to prove that they are owners of any of such goods, and to receive the same, upon payment of any charge for freight, carriage or otherwise that has accrued thereon, with a proportionate share of the expense of advertising, and a reasonable charge for wharfage or storage.
Such list shall also contain a notice that, at the expiration of the said six months, packages, parcels and other articles then remaining unclaimed will be opened and examined, and if nothing appears therein whereby to ascertain the names of the owners, consignees or persons entitled to receive the same, that then, at the expiration of six months thereafter, the same will be sold by auction, and the proceeds, deducting all expenses, deposited in the hands of the Minister of Finance.
Fruit and other perishable articles shall be immediately advertised, and may be sold within one week after the date of such advertisement.
R. S. 1964, c. 316, s. 2.
3. If, upon opening such packages or parcels, the names of the owners, consignees or other persons entitled to receive the same are ascertained, the person in whose possession such packages or parcels remain shall send, by post or other safe means, a written notice to such owners, consignees or persons entitled to receive the same, with an intimation to come and claim the same within six months, and that in default thereof they will be sold by public auction, as provided in sections 1 and 2.
R. S. 1964, c. 316, s. 3.
4. Immediately after twelve months from the date of such advertisement, the person in whose custody they are shall cause them to be sold by public auction, and shall forthwith cause the proceeds of such sale, after deducting the charges and expenses, to be paid to the Minister of Finance.
Such person, at the same time, shall deposit a separate account of sales for each package, which statement shall remain in the office of the Minister of Finance, subject to all further just claims for any part of the proceeds of such sale.
Any person whose goods have been so sold, and the proceeds of the sale paid over to the Minister of Finance, shall receive the amount of such proceeds from the Minister of Finance, upon a warrant to be issued by the Lieutenant-Governor, after sufficient proof that the person claiming is entitled to the same.
R. S. 1964, c. 316, s. 4.
5. If any dispute arise between the claimant of such articles and the person in whose possession they are, either with respect to the legality of the claim or with respect to the amount charged for storage, wharfage and other expenses thereon, the same shall be determined in a summary way before a justice of the peace, within four days after application made to him for that purpose by either party.
The costs shall in no case exceed $2 in all, and shall be paid by the party against whom such decision is given, and, in default of payment, shall be levied by seizure and sale of his goods and effects under a warrant signed by any justice of the peace.
R. S. 1964, c. 316, s. 5.
6. Every holder of unclaimed articles who neglects to comply with the foregoing provisions shall incur a penalty not exceeding one-fourth of the appraised value of the goods detained.
R. S. 1964, c. 316, s. 6; 1992, c. 61, s. 624.
7. Launderers or dyers in possession of articles deposited in their custody to be washed, ironed, cleaned or dyed, subject to remuneration, may, if the articles are not claimed within the twelve months following their deposit, cause them to be sold by an auctioneer. No such sale may be made except on the date fixed in a notice published in a French newspaper and in an English newspaper of the locality, or, in case there be no French newspaper or no English newspaper published in such locality, in the French newspaper or the English newspaper, as the case may be, published in the nearest place thereto. An interval of two weeks must elapse between the date of the notice and that of the sale.
R. S. 1964, c. 316, s. 7.
8. The depositary has the right to retain, out of the proceeds of the sale, the costs of the notice and sale as well as that of washing and ironing and of cleaning and dyeing and must deposit the balance, if any, in accordance with section 17 of the Deposit Act (chapter D-5).
R. S. 1964, c. 316, s. 8; 1970, c. 17, s. 101.
9. Fur merchants, the owners of fur making and repairing workshops and, generally, all those who trade in and repair furs, in possession of articles deposited in their custody to be stored, repaired or altered, subject to remuneration, may, if the articles are not claimed within the eighteen months following their deposit, cause them to be sold by an auctioneer. No such sale may be made except on the date fixed in a notice given by registered or certified letter to the last known address of the owner of the article and in a notice published in a French newspaper and in an English newspaper of the locality. If there be only one newspaper in the locality or if all of them be published in the same language, the notice shall be inserted in both languages in the same newspaper. If there be no newspaper in the locality the notice shall be inserted in a French newspaper and in an English newspaper published in the nearest place thereto and if there be but one newspaper published in such place then in both languages in the same newspaper. An interval of two weeks must elapse between the date of the notice and that of the sale.
R. S. 1964, c. 316, s. 9; 1975, c. 83, s. 84.
10. The depositary of such articles has the right to retain, out of the proceeds of the sale, the cost of the notice and sale as well as that of repairing, altering or storing and must deposit the balance, if any, in accordance with section 17 of the Deposit Act (chapter D-5).
R. S. 1964, c. 316, s. 10; 1970, c. 17, s. 101.
11. (This section ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987).
1982, c. 21, s. 1; U. K., 1982, c. 11, Sch. B, Part I, s. 33.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 316 of the Revised Statutes, 1964, in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed effective from the coming into force of chapter V-3 of the Revised Statutes.

V-3 - Loi sur la vente des effets non réclamés

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre V-3
Loi sur la vente des effets non réclamés
EFFETS NON RÉCLAMÉS18 décembre 19921er janvier 1994
Abrogée, 1992, c. 57, a. 710.
1992, c. 57, a. 710.
1. Tout possesseur de quais, garde-magasin, agent ou propriétaire de bateaux à vapeur, toute compagnie de bateaux à vapeur, tout préposé aux canaux ou aux chemins de fer, tout propriétaire de diligence et toutes autres personnes en possession d’objets ou articles non réclamés, doivent publier, au moins une fois chaque mois dans au moins un journal publié en la ville de Québec, et dans un autre publié en la ville de Montréal, une liste contenant la description de ces objets et articles, avec leurs marques, numéros et adresses.
S. R. 1964, c. 316, a. 1; 1966-67, c. 85, a. 2.
2. La liste doit contenir un avis à ceux qui veulent les réclamer, de se présenter sous six mois de la date de l’avis, pour prouver qu’ils sont propriétaires de ces effets et les recevoir, en payant les frais de transport et les autres frais occasionnés par les effets réclamés, y compris une proportion des frais d’annonce, le quaiage et l’emmagasinage.
Cet avis doit aussi contenir une intimation qu’à l’expiration des six mois, les ballots, paquets et autres articles non réclamés seront ouverts et examinés, et que, s’ils ne contiennent pas d’indices des noms des propriétaires, consignataires ou d’autres personnes qui ont droit de les recevoir, ils seront, à l’expiration d’une autre période de six mois, vendus à l’encan public, et le produit de la vente, déduction faite des frais, mis en dépôt entre les mains du ministre des Finances.
Les fruits et autres articles périssables sont immédiatement annoncés et peuvent être vendus sous une semaine de la date de l’annonce.
S. R. 1964, c. 316, a. 2.
3. Si, à l’ouverture des ballots ou paquets, les noms des propriétaires, consignataires ou autres personnes, qui ont droit de les recevoir, viennent à être connus, le possesseur doit leur transmettre, par la poste ou autre voie sûre, un avis par écrit, contenant une intimation de se présenter pour les réclamer sous six mois, à défaut de quoi, les objets seront vendus publiquement à l’encan, en la manière prescrite par les articles 1 et 2.
S. R. 1964, c. 316, a. 3.
4. Immédiatement après l’expiration de douze mois à compter de la date de cet avis, la personne qui a la garde de ces effets, les fait vendre à l’encan public, et fait remettre immédiatement le produit de la vente, après en avoir déduit les frais et dépens, au ministre des Finances.
Elle dépose en même temps un compte séparé des ventes de chaque ballot, pour rester dans le bureau du ministre des Finances, sujet par la suite à toute réclamation bien fondée à l’égard d’une partie quelconque du produit de ces ventes.
Toute personne, dont les effets ont été vendus, et le produit de la vente payé au ministre des Finances, reçoit le montant de tel produit des mains de ce dernier, par mandat accordé par le lieutenant-gouverneur, sur preuve suffisante de son droit.
S. R. 1964, c. 316, a. 4.
5. S’il s’élève quelque différend entre la personne qui réclame les articles et la personne qui en a la garde, soit à l’égard de la légalité de la réclamation, soit à l’égard du montant des frais demandés pour emmagasinage, quaiage et autres frais, le différend est décidé d’une manière sommaire, devant un juge de paix, dans les quatre jours qui suivent la réquisition qui lui en est faite par l’une ou l’autre des parties.
Les frais de la procédure ne doivent en aucun cas excéder en totalité la somme de 2 $, et sont payés par la partie contre laquelle la décision est rendue, et, à défaut de paiement, ils sont prélevés par saisie et vente des meubles et effets de la partie, en vertu d’un mandat revêtu de la signature d’un juge de paix.
S. R. 1964, c. 316, a. 5.
6. Tout gardien d’articles non réclamés, qui néglige de se conformer aux dispositions qui précèdent, encourt une amende n’excédant pas un quart de la valeur estimée des effets détenus.
S. R. 1964, c. 316, a. 6; 1992, c. 61, a. 624.
7. Les buandiers ou les teinturiers en possession d’objets déposés entre leurs mains pour être blanchis ou repassés ou pour être nettoyés ou teints, moyennant rémunération, peuvent, si les objets ne sont pas réclamés dans les douze mois de leur dépôt, les faire vendre par le ministère d’un encanteur. Cette vente ne peut avoir lieu qu’à la date fixée dans un avis publié dans un journal français et dans un journal anglais de la localité ou, s’il n’y a pas de journal français ou de journal anglais publié à cet endroit, dans le journal français ou le journal anglais, selon le cas, publié dans l’endroit le plus rapproché. Un délai de deux semaines doit s’écouler entre la date de l’avis et celle de la vente.
S. R. 1964, c. 316, a. 7.
8. Le dépositaire a droit de retenir, sur le produit de la vente, les frais d’avis et de vente ainsi que le coût du blanchissage et du repassage et des travaux de nettoyage et de teinture et il doit déposer la balance, s’il en reste une, conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur les dépôts et consignations (chapitre D‐5).
S. R. 1964, c. 316, a. 8; 1970, c. 17, a. 101.
9. Les marchands de fourrures, les propriétaires d’atelier de confection et de réparation de fourrures, et en général tous ceux qui font le commerce et la réparation des fourrures, en possession d’objets déposés entre leurs mains pour être entreposés, réparés, ou modifiés moyennant rémunération, peuvent, si les objets ne sont pas réclamés dans les dix-huit mois de leur dépôt, les faire vendre par le ministère d’un encanteur. Cette vente ne peut avoir lieu qu’à la date fixée dans un avis par lettre recommandée ou certifiée à la dernière adresse connue du propriétaire de l’objet et dans un avis publié dans un journal français et dans un journal anglais de la localité. S’il n’y a qu’un seul journal dans la localité ou si tous les journaux sont publiés dans la même langue, l’avis doit être inséré dans les deux langues dans le même journal. S’il n’y a pas de journaux dans la localité, l’avis doit être inséré dans un journal français et dans un journal anglais publiés dans l’endroit le plus rapproché, et s’il n’y a qu’un seul journal publié dans cet endroit, alors dans les deux langues dans le même journal. Un délai de deux semaines doit s’écouler entre la date de l’avis et celle de la vente.
S. R. 1964, c. 316, a. 9; 1975, c. 83, a. 84.
10. La personne ainsi dépositaire de ces objets a droit de retenir sur le produit de la vente, les frais d’avis et de vente ainsi que le coût de la réparation, de la modification ou de l’emmagasinage et il doit déposer la balance, s’il en reste une, conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur les dépôts et consignations (chapitre D‐5).
S. R. 1964, c. 316, a. 10; 1970, c. 17, a. 101.
11. (Cet article a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987).
1982, c. 21, a. 1; R.-U., 1982, c. 11, ann. B, ptie I, a. 33.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 316 des Statuts refondus, 1964, tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre V-3 des Lois refondues.