V-2 - Railway Ticket Sales Act

Full text
chapter V-2
Railway Ticket Sales Act
RAILWAY TICKETJune 17 1988June 17 1988
Repealed, 1988, c. 27, s. 1.
1988, c. 27, s. 1.
1. Any railway company subject to the jurisdiction of the Legislature of Québec, or to which the Railway Act (chapter C-14) within the meaning of section 1 of the said act applies, may appoint, in any city, town or village of Québec, such persons as it chooses as agents for the sale of tickets to passengers or persons wishing to travel by railway.
R. S. 1964, c. 291, s. 1; 1968, c. 9, s. 90.
2. The company employing any such agent shall give him a certificate of his appointment, signed by the president or an officer authorized by the president, under the seal of the company appointing him.
R. S. 1964, c. 291, s. 2.
3. Such agent shall keep the certificate in a conspicuous part of his office or place of business, where it can be easily seen and read by those resorting to the office.
R. S. 1964, c. 291, s. 3.
4. The provisions of sections 2 and 3 shall apply to every agent of a company other than those mentioned in the foregoing section 1, who desires to issue tickets over any railway line, operated by a company subject to the jurisdiction of the Legislature of Québec or to which the Railway Act applies.
R. S. 1964, c. 291, s. 4; 1968, c. 9, s. 90.
5. Any ticket sold by an agent appointed in accordance with the provisions of this act shall have the name of such agent and the date of the sale legibly written or stamped upon it. If a ticket is sold for use on a railway operated by electricity, it shall bear, in addition to the name of the agent selling it and the date of the sale, the year of its issue.
R. S. 1964, c. 291, s. 5.
6. Any agent regularly authorized as aforesaid may procure from the agent of any other company a ticket for a passenger to whom he has sold a ticket to travel over the line or any part of the line operated by the company for which he is the authorized agent, so as to enable such passenger to travel to the point of junction from which he has previously secured his ticket.
R. S. 1964, c. 291, s. 6.
7. Nothing in this act contained respecting the appointment of agents for the sale of tickets shall prevent the station agents of a company, at their stations, and in their ticket offices at such stations, from selling tickets to passengers about to enter upon and travel by railway from the said stations.
R. S. 1964, c. 291, s. 7.
8. (1)  Every railway company subject to the jurisdiction of the Legislature of Québec, or to which the Railway Act applies, shall repay to every holder of a ticket over a railway the cost of his ticket, if unused in whole or in part, less the ordinary and regular fare for the distance for which such ticket has been used.
(2)  Such repayment shall be made at any station or office of the company between and including the points covered by the ticket.
(3)  The claim for such repayment shall be made within thirty days from the expiration of the time for which the ticket was issued, in accordance with the conditions thereon. Notwithstanding the provisions of this section, any ticket sold for use on a railway operated by electricity shall be valid for three years from the date of its issue.
R. S. 1964, c. 291, s. 8; 1968, c. 9, s. 90.
9. (1)  Every passenger who presents a single journey ticket, issued by a company mentioned in section 1, upon a train within the time for which the conditions printed on such ticket and the date thereon show such ticket to be good, may apply to the conductor of such train to have the privilege of stopping over granted, and the time for which the ticket is valid extended.
(2)  Such privilege and extension of time shall be granted by such conductor on tickets issued to travel from one place to another in Québec.
(3)  No passenger shall be entitled to have such time extended for more than two days for every 80 km of distance to be travelled in Québec.
R. S. 1964, c. 291, s. 9; 1984, c. 47, s. 213.
10. The Minister of Transport shall have charge of the application of this Act.
1972, c. 55, s. 124.
11. (This section ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987).
1982, c. 21, s. 1; U. K., 1982, c. 11, Sch. B, Part I, s. 33.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 291 of the Revised Statutes, 1964, in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed effective from the coming into force of chapter V-2 of the Revised Statutes.

V-2 - Loi sur la vente des billets de chemins de fer

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre V-2
Loi sur la vente des billets de chemins de fer
BILLETS DE CHEMINS DE FER17 juin 198817 juin 1988
Abrogée, 1988, c. 27, a. 1.
1988, c. 27, a. 1.
1. Toute compagnie de chemin de fer qui relève de la Législature du Québec ou à laquelle s’applique la Loi sur les chemins de fer (chapitre C‐14) au sens de l’article 1 de ladite loi, peut nommer, dans toute cité, ville ou village du Québec, des personnes qu’elle choisit comme agents pour la vente de billets aux voyageurs ou aux personnes qui désirent voyager par chemin de fer.
S. R. 1964, c. 291, a. 1; 1968, c. 9, a. 90.
2. La compagnie qui emploie un tel agent, lui donne un certificat de sa nomination, signé par le président ou un officier autorisé par le président, sous le sceau de la compagnie qui l’a nommé.
S. R. 1964, c. 291, a. 2.
3. L’agent doit placer ce certificat dans un endroit de son bureau ou lieu d’affaires où il peut être facilement vu et lu de ceux qui fréquentent le bureau.
S. R. 1964, c. 291, a. 3.
4. Les dispositions des articles 2 et 3 s’appliquent à tout agent d’une compagnie autre que celles mentionnées à l’article 1 ci-dessus, qui désire émettre des billets sur une ligne de chemin de fer exploitée par une compagnie qui relève de la Législature du Québec ou à laquelle s’applique la Loi sur les chemins de fer.
S. R. 1964, c. 291, a. 4; 1968, c. 9, a. 90.
5. Tout billet vendu par un agent nommé conformément aux dispositions de la présente loi, doit porter le nom de cet agent et la date de la vente lisiblement écrits ou timbrés; et si un billet est vendu pour être utilisé sur une voie ferrée exploitée par l’électricité, ce billet doit porter, en plus du nom de l’agent qui le vend et de la date de cette vente, l’année de son émission.
S. R. 1964, c. 291, a. 5.
6. Il est permis à tout agent régulièrement autorisé comme dit ci-dessus de se procurer de l’agent d’une autre compagnie, un billet pour un voyageur à qui il a vendu un billet pour voyager sur la ligne ou sur une partie de la ligne exploitée par la compagnie dont il est l’agent autorisé, de manière à permettre à ce voyageur de se rendre au point de raccordement à partir duquel il s’est préalablement procuré un billet.
S. R. 1964, c. 291, a. 6.
7. Rien de contenu dans la présente loi au sujet de la nomination d’agents pour la vente de billets, n’empêche les chefs de gares d’une compagnie, à leurs gares et dans leurs bureaux à ces gares, de vendre des billets aux voyageurs sur le point de monter en voiture et de voyager par chemin de fer à partir de ces gares.
S. R. 1964, c. 291, a. 7.
8. 1.  Toute compagnie de chemin de fer qui relève de la juridiction de la Législature du Québec, ou à laquelle s’applique la Loi sur les chemins de fer, doit rembourser à tout porteur de billets de transport sur un chemin de fer, le coût de son billet, s’il n’en a pas fait usage, en totalité ou en partie, moins le prix du transport ordinaire et régulier pour la distance sur laquelle ce billet a été utilisé.
2.  Ce remboursement se fait à toute station ou à tout bureau de la compagnie entre les points couverts par ce billet, et y compris ces points.
3.  La demande de remboursement doit se faire dans les trente jours qui suivent l’expiration du temps pour lequel le billet a été émis, en conformité des conditions qui y sont inscrites. Nonobstant les dispositions du présent article, tout billet vendu pour être utilisé sur une voie ferrée exploitée par l’électricité, est valide durant trois années à compter de la date de son émission.
S. R. 1964, c. 291, a. 8; 1968, c. 9, a. 90.
9. 1.  Tout voyageur qui présente sur un train un billet de simple trajet émis par une compagnie mentionnée à l’article 1, dans la période pendant laquelle ce billet est valable, suivant les conditions imprimées sur ledit billet et d’après la date qu’il porte, peut demander au chef de ce train et obtenir de lui le privilège d’arrêter en route et faire prolonger le temps pendant lequel son billet est valable.
2.  Le chef de train accorde ce privilège et ce prolongement de temps sur tout billet émis pour voyager d’un endroit à un autre au Québec.
3.  Nul voyageur n’a le droit de faire prolonger ce temps de plus de deux jours pour chaque distance de 80 km, qui doit être parcourue au Québec.
S. R. 1964, c. 291, a. 9; 1984, c. 47, a. 213.
10. Le ministre des Transports est chargé de l’application de la présente loi.
1972, c. 55, a. 124.
11. (Cet article a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987).
1982, c. 21, a. 1; R.-U., 1982, c. 11, ann. B, ptie I, a. 33.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 291 des Statuts refondus, 1964, tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre V-2 des Lois refondues.