S-41 - Act respecting municipal and private electric power systems

Table of contents
Full text
chapter S-41
Act respecting municipal and private electric power systems
MUNICIPAL AND PRIVATE ELECTRIC POWER SYSTEMSJune 17 1988June 17 1988
This Act was formerly entitled “Electricity Municipalization Act”. The title was replaced by section 93 of chapter 23 of the statutes of 1988.
The Minister of Energy and Natural Resources is responsible for the application of this Act except for those responsibilities assigned to the Minister of Municipal Affairs, Regions and Land Occupancy under this Act. Order in Council 1290-2018 dated 18 October 2018, (2018) 150 G.O. 2 (French), 7384.
1988, c. 23, s. 93.
DIVISION I
APPLICATION OF ACT
1. This Act shall apply to every local municipality and all the provisions of any general law or special Act inconsistent with those of this Act are repealed or amended accordingly.
R. S. 1964, c. 186, s. 1; 1996, c. 2, s. 945.
DIVISION II
INTERPRETATIVE PROVISIONS
2. In this Act, unless the context otherwise requires:
(1)  The word Board means the Régie de l’énergie;
(2)  The words municipal council mean the council representing and administering any municipality which has adopted a resolution under section 3 of this Act;
(3)  The words public service mean any municipality, partnership, person or association of persons, their lessees, trustees, liquidators or receivers, other than Hydro-Québec, who or which own, operate, administer or control a system for producing, transmitting, distributing or selling electricity for light, heat, energy or power purposes;
(4)  The words electricity system mean a system of lighting, heating or energy or power production by means of electricity.
R. S. 1964, c. 186, s. 2; 1977, c. 5, s. 14; 1988, c. 23, s. 94; 1996, c. 2, s. 946; 1996, c. 61, s. 132; 1999, c. 40, s. 313; 2005, c. 6, s. 229.
DIVISION III
MUNICIPALIZATION OF ELECTRICITY
3. A local municipality may establish an electricity system for public and private needs.
It may adopt by-laws on the administration of the system.
R. S. 1964, c. 186, s. 3; 1996, c. 2, s. 951; 1999, c. 40, s. 313; 2005, c. 6, s. 230.
4. (Repealed).
R. S. 1964, c. 186, s. 5; 1987, c. 57, s. 804; 1996, c. 77, s. 58.
5. The municipal council is vested with all necessary powers to establish and administer the electricity system.
It may, in order to meet the interest on the sums expended for the establishment thereof and to create a sinking fund, impose, by by-law, on all owners or occupants of houses, shops or other buildings, a special annual tax on the assessed value of such houses, buildings and establishments, including the ground.
The sinking fund created in virtue of the preceding paragraph shall be invested and administered in the same manner as that mentioned in section 548 of the Cities and Towns Act (chapter C‐19).
R. S. 1964, c. 186, s. 6; 2005, c. 6, s. 231.
6. The municipal council may, if it deem it necessary so to do in order to establish the electricity system:
(1)  Compel the owners or occupants of lands situated within or without the territory of the municipality to permit and allow all the necessary work to be done;
(2)  Appropriate lakes, non-navigable rivers, ponds, springs and water-courses having their source or flowing on private property, without, however, prejudicing the rights of the riparian owners to make use thereof, as well under the common law as under the laws respecting water-courses, subject to expropriation proceedings, failing agreement between the interested parties;
(3)  Take possession of the whole or of a portion of the watershed of any lake, non-navigable river, pond, spring and water-course situated within or without the territory of the municipality and shown on a plan drawn by a land surveyor, subject to expropriation proceedings, failing agreement between the interested parties.
R. S. 1964, c. 186, s. 7; 1988, c. 23, s. 95; 1996, c. 2, s. 947.
7. The municipal council may adopt, amend or repeal by-laws:
(1)  (Paragraph repealed);
(2)  To prevent fraud in connection with the quantity of electricity supplied;
(3)  To protect the wires, pipes, lamps, apparatus and other articles serving for the distribution of electricity;
(4)  To prescribe, in accordance with section 369 of the Cities and Towns Act (chapter C‐19), penalties for infringement of any by-law adopted under this Act.
R. S. 1964, c. 186, s. 8; 1990, c. 4, s. 606; 1999, c. 40, s. 313; 2005, c. 6, s. 232.
8. The special tax imposed under section 5 and the prices fixed under the Act respecting municipal taxation (chapter F‐2.1) shall be collected according to the regulations and in the manner prescribed for general taxes.
They must in no case involve, for any class of consumers of the electricity system of a municipality, a higher cost than would result to an equivalent class of consumers of electricity under the tariff set out in Schedule I to the Hydro-Québec Act (chapter H-5) for electricity supplied by Hydro-Québec.
R. S. 1964, c. 186, s. 9; 1980, c. 9, s. 1; 1996, c. 2, s. 951; 1996, c. 61, s. 133; 2005, c. 28, s. 134; 2019, c. 272019, c. 27, s. 18.
9. Any citizen or any legal person may use or refuse to use, in any building, house or establishment under his or its control, the electricity supplied by the municipality.
R. S. 1964, c. 186, s. 10; 1996, c. 2, s. 951; 1999, c. 40, s. 313.
10. The persons appointed for the operating of the electricity system may enter, at any reasonable time, any building, house or establishment and upon any property, to assure themselves whether the regulations adopted under this Act are being faithfully carried out.
It shall be the duty of the owners or occupants of any such building, house, establishment or property to permit such persons to enter and to make their visit or examination, under penalty of a fine of $20 or more.
Every person exercising the powers provided for in the first paragraph shall, on request, identify himself and produce a certificate of his capacity signed by a person designated by the municipality.
R. S. 1964, c. 186, s. 11; 1986, c. 95, s. 201; 1990, c. 4, s. 607; 1996, c. 2, s. 951; 1999, c. 40, s. 313.
11. Every owner or occupant of a house, construction or land situated in the territory of the municipality by which an electricity system is established under this Division, shall be bound to allow the necessary poles and wires to be placed, and all other work to be carried out on his house, construction or land, subject to payment of damages for any injury actually suffered.
R. S. 1964, c. 186, s. 12; 1996, c. 2, s. 948; 1999, c. 40, s. 313.
DIVISION IV
PERFORMANCE OF WORK IN COMMON
12. (1)  The municipalities which adopt a resolution under section 3, or any of them, may agree together to carry out together the work mentioned in the said section 3 and exercise together the rights conferred under section 6.
(2)  The municipalities which avail themselves of the provisions of subsection 1 must each adopt a uniform resolution for such purpose and submit it to the qualified voters for approval.
(3)  The apportionment of the expenses necessitated for the carrying out in common of the work and the exercising in common of the above mentioned rights shall be effected under an agreement entered into between the municipalities concerned, and, failing such agreement, according as the Board may determine.
R. S. 1964, c. 186, s. 13; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 57, s. 2; 1996, c. 2, s. 951; 1996, c. 77, s. 59; 2005, c. 6, s. 233.
DIVISION V
PARTITION AND MANAGEMENT, IN CERTAIN CASES, OF AN ELECTRICITY SYSTEM
13. (1)  Municipalities which have established an electricity system in common, under subsection 1 of section 12, may, by agreement, order the partition thereof between themselves.
The resolution by which each municipality concerned exercises the power provided for in the first paragraph must be submitted to the qualified voters for approval.
(2)  If the municipalities agree as to the expediency of dividing the system between them, but do not agree on the terms of such division, they may refer the matter to the Board, which shall decide in last resort any question relating thereto.
R. S. 1964, c. 186, s. 14; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 57, s. 3; 1996, c. 2, s. 951; 1996, c. 77, s. 60; 2005, c. 6, s. 234.
14. (1)  The Commission municipale du Québec is authorized to manage any electricity system established in common by municipalities under subsection 1 of section 12, in the cases provided for by subsection 2 of this section, to the exclusion of the municipal councils concerned.
For the purposes of this subsection, the Commission municipale du Québec shall possess the powers of the municipal council which it replaces and the provisions of sections 48 to 60 of the Act respecting the Commission municipale (chapter C‐35) shall apply, with the necessary modifications, to such management, but only as regards the electricity system.
(2)  The management of an electricity system established under subsection 1 of section 12 is entrusted to the Commission municipale du Québec.
(a)  upon application by the council of each of the municipalities interested, by resolution adopted by a majority of at least two-thirds of the councillors or, as the case may be, of the aldermen, of each of them; or
(b)  subject to subsection 3, upon application by the council of a municipality interested, by resolution adopted by a majority of at least two-thirds of its councillors, or, as the case may be, of the aldermen, or upon application, submitted to the Minister of Municipal Affairs, Regions and Land Occupancy, by at least 50 qualified voters entitled to have their names entered on the referendum list of the municipalities having in common established an electricity system.
(3)  The provisions of the Act respecting elections and referendums in municipalities (chapter E‐2.2) which concern the manner in which the rights of a legal person may be exercised, and the manner in which qualified voters entitled to have their names entered on the referendum list and the applications demanding that a referendum poll be held are counted apply, adapted as required, to any application contemplated in paragraph b of subsection 2. For the purposes of determining which qualified voters entitled to have their names entered on the referendum list are qualified to submit such an application, the reference date within the meaning of the said Act is the date of receipt of the application.
The Commission municipale du Québec, before taking charge of the management of the electricity system, shall submit the application to the qualified voters of each municipality interested, for approval. The consultation shall be effected by means of a referendum poll in accordance with the above-mentioned Act. The Commission shall take charge of the management of the electricity system only if the results of the poll show, in each municipality, a number of affirmative votes greater than the number of negative votes.
R. S. 1964, c. 186, s. 15; 1977, c. 5, s. 14; 1987, c. 57, s. 805; 1996, c. 2, s. 951; 1999, c. 43, s. 13; 2003, c. 19, s. 250; 2005, c. 28, s. 196; 2009, c. 26, s. 109.
DIVISION VI
ALIENATION OR ABANDONMENT OF AN ELECTRICITY SYSTEM
15. The resolution by which a municipality alienates or stops operating an electricity system belonging to it must be submitted to the qualified voters for approval.
R. S. 1964, c. 186, s. 16; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 57, s. 4; 1996, c. 2, s. 951; 1996, c. 77, s. 61; 2005, c. 6, s. 235.
DIVISION VII
MUNICIPAL ELECTRIFICATION
1996, c. 2, s. 949.
16. If a municipality cannot come to an agreement with Hydro-Québec to obtain electricity, the municipality may apply to the Board and the Board may order Hydro-Québec to supply electricity to the municipality on the terms and conditions determined by Board.
A municipality may, with the authorization of and subject to the conditions determined by the Government, purchase electricity from any other public service.
R. S. 1964, c. 186, s. 17; 1996, c. 2, s. 951; 1996, c. 61, s. 134.
17. (Repealed).
R. S. 1964, c. 186, s. 18; 1984, c. 47, s. 213; 1996, c. 2, s. 950; 1996, c. 61, s. 135.
DIVISION VII.1
PRIVATE ELECTRIC POWER SYSTEMS
1988, c. 23, s. 96.
17.1. In no case may the prices and rates fixed by any person or partnership operating an undertaking engaged in the production, sale or distribution of electricity involve, for any class of persons to which the undertaking supplies electricity, a cost higher than what would be charged to an equivalent class of consumers of electricity under the tariff set out in Schedule I to the Hydro-Québec Act (chapter H-5) for electricity supplied by Hydro-Québec.
The first paragraph does not apply where Hydro-Québec purchases electricity from an undertaking described in that paragraph.
The first paragraph applies to a person or partnership producing electric power for its own consumption.
1988, c. 23, s. 96; 1996, c. 61, s. 136; 2006, c. 46, s. 60; 2019, c. 272019, c. 27, s. 18.
DIVISION VIII
Repealed, 1979, c. 72, s. 383.
1979, c. 72, s. 383.
18. (Repealed).
R. S. 1964, c. 186, s. 19; 1977, c. 5, s. 14; 1979, c. 72, s. 383.
19. (Repealed).
R. S. 1964, c. 186, s. 20; 1979, c. 72, s. 383.
20. (Repealed).
R. S. 1964, c. 186, s. 21; 1979, c. 72, s. 383.
21. (Repealed).
R. S. 1964, c. 186, s. 22; 1979, c. 72, s. 383.
DIVISION IX
This Division ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987.
22. (This section ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987).
1982, c. 21, s. 1; U. K., 1982, c. 11, Sch. B, Part I, s. 33.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 9 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes and regulations (chapter R-3), chapter M-38 of the Revised Statutes, in force on 1 March 1989, is repealed effective from the coming into force of chapter S-41 of the Revised Statutes.

S-41 - Loi sur les systèmes municipaux et les systèmes privés d’électricité

Texte complet
chapitre S-41
Loi sur les systèmes municipaux et les systèmes privés d’électricité
SYSTÈMES MUNICIPAUX ET SYSTÈMES PRIVÉS D’ÉLECTRICITÉ17 juin 198817 juin 1988
La présente loi portait auparavant le titre suivant: «Loi sur la municipalisation de l’électricité». Ce titre a été remplacé par l’article 93 du chapitre 23 des lois de 1988.
Le ministre de l’Énergie et des Ressources naturelles est responsable de l’application de la présente loi sauf à l’égard des responsabilités confiées par la présente loi au ministre des Affaires municipales, des Régions et de l’Occupation du territoire. Décret 288-2016 du 13 avril 2016, (2016) 148 G.O. 2, 2327.
1988, c. 23, a. 93.
SECTION I
APPLICATION DE LA LOI
1. La présente loi s’applique à toute municipalité locale et toutes les dispositions d’une loi générale ou spéciale incompatibles avec celles de la présente loi, sont abrogées ou modifiées en conséquence.
S. R. 1964, c. 186, a. 1; 1996, c. 2, a. 945.
SECTION II
DISPOSITIONS INTERPRÉTATIVES
2. Dans la présente loi, à moins que le contexte n’indique le contraire:
1°  Le mot «Régie» désigne la Régie de l’énergie;
2°  Les mots «conseil municipal» désignent le conseil qui représente et administre une municipalité qui a adopté une résolution en vertu de l’article 3 ci-dessous;
3°  Les mots «service public» désignent toute municipalité, toute société, personne ou association de personnes, leurs locataires, fiduciaires, liquidateurs ou receveurs autres qu’Hydro-Québec, qui possèdent, exploitent, administrent ou contrôlent un système de production, de transmission, de distribution ou de vente de l’électricité pour les fins d’éclairage, de chauffage, d’énergie ou de force motrice;
4°  Les mots «système d’électricité» désignent un système d’éclairage, de chauffage ou de production d’énergie ou de force motrice au moyen de l’électricité.
S. R. 1964, c. 186, a. 2; 1988, c. 23, a. 94; 1996, c. 2, a. 946; 1996, c. 61, a. 132; 1999, c. 40, a. 313; 2005, c. 6, a. 229.
SECTION III
MUNICIPALISATION DE L’ÉLECTRICITÉ
3. Toute municipalité locale peut établir un système d’électricité pour les besoins publics et privés.
Elle peut adopter tout règlement relatif à l’administration de ce système.
S. R. 1964, c. 186, a. 3; 1980, c. 9, a. 2; 1996, c. 2, a. 951; 1999, c. 40, a. 313; 2005, c. 6, a. 230.
4. (Abrogé).
S. R. 1964, c. 186, a. 5; 1987, c. 57, a. 804; 1996, c. 77, a. 58.
5. Le conseil municipal est revêtu de tous les pouvoirs nécessaires pour établir et administrer le système d’électricité .
Il peut, dans le but de rencontrer les intérêts des sommes dépensées pour son établissement et de créer un fonds d’amortissement, imposer, par règlement, sur tous les propriétaires ou occupants de maisons, magasins ou autres bâtiments, une taxe spéciale annuelle sur la valeur cotisée de ces maisons, bâtiments et établissements, y compris le terrain.
Le fonds d’amortissement créé en vertu de l’alinéa précédent est placé et administré comme celui mentionné à l’article 548 de la Loi sur les cités et villes (chapitre C‐19).
S. R. 1964, c. 186, a. 6; 1980, c. 9, a. 2; 2005, c. 6, a. 231.
6. Le conseil municipal peut, s’il croit nécessaire d’en agir ainsi pour établir le système d’électricité:
1°  Obliger les propriétaires ou occupants de terrains, situés sur le territoire de la municipalité ou en dehors de celui-ci, à laisser faire et à souffrir tous les travaux nécessaires;
2°  S’approprier des lacs, rivières non navigables, étangs, sources vives, cours d’eau ayant leur origine ou coulant sur la propriété privée, sans toutefois préjudicier aux droits qu’ont les propriétaires riverains de s’en servir, tant en vertu du droit commun que des lois concernant les cours d’eau, en suivant la procédure d’expropriation à défaut d’entente entre les intéressés;
3°  Prendre possession de tout ou de partie du bassin de drainage de tout lac, rivière non navigable, étang, source et cours d’eau situé sur le territoire de la municipalité ou en dehors de celui-ci et figurant sur un plan préparé par un arpenteur-géomètre, en suivant la procédure d’expropriation à défaut d’entente entre les parties intéressées.
S. R. 1964, c. 186, a. 7; 1980, c. 9, a. 2; 1988, c. 23, a. 95; 1996, c. 2, a. 947.
7. Le conseil municipal peut adopter, modifier ou abroger des règlements:
1°  (paragraphe abrogé);
2°  Pour empêcher que l’on ne fraude sur la quantité d’électricité fournie;
3°  Pour protéger les fils, tuyaux, lampes, appareils et autres objets servant à la distribution de l’électricité;
4°  Pour prescrire, conformément à l’article 369 de la Loi sur les cités et villes (chapitre C‐19), des peines pour les infractions aux règlements adoptés en vertu de la présente loi.
S. R. 1964, c. 186, a. 8; 1990, c. 4, a. 606; 1999, c. 40, a. 313; 2005, c. 6, a. 232.
8. La taxe spéciale imposée en vertu de l’article 5 et les prix fixés en vertu de la Loi sur la fiscalité municipale (chapitre F‐2.1) sont perçus d’après les règles et de la manière prescrites pour les taxes générales.
Ils ne doivent en aucun cas entraîner, pour chaque catégorie d’usagers du système d’électricité d’une municipalité, un coût supérieur à celui qui résulte du tarif fixé par la Régie pour l’électricité fournie par Hydro-Québec pour une catégorie équivalente de ses usagers d’électricité.
S. R. 1964, c. 186, a. 9; 1980, c. 9, a. 1; 1996, c. 2, a. 951; 1996, c. 61, a. 133; 2005, c. 28, a. 134.
9. Il est loisible à tout citoyen ou à toute personne morale de se servir ou de refuser de se servir, dans tout bâtiment, maison ou établissement dont il a le contrôle, de l’électricité fournie par la municipalité.
S. R. 1964, c. 186, a. 10; 1996, c. 2, a. 951; 1999, c. 40, a. 313.
10. Les personnes nommées pour l’administration du système d’électricité peuvent entrer, à toute heure raisonnable, dans tout bâtiment, maison ou établissement et sur toute propriété, pour s’assurer si les règlements adoptés en vertu de la présente loi sont fidèlement exécutés.
Il est du devoir des propriétaires ou occupants de tout tel bâtiment, maison, établissement ou propriété, de permettre à ces personnes d’entrer et de faire leur visite ou examen, sous peine d’une amende de 20 $ ou plus.
Sur demande, les personnes exerçant les pouvoirs prévus au premier alinéa doivent s’identifier et exhiber un certificat, signé par une personne désignée par la municipalité, attestant leur qualité.
S. R. 1964, c. 186, a. 11; 1980, c. 9, a. 2; 1986, c. 95, a. 201; 1990, c. 4, a. 607; 1996, c. 2, a. 951; 1999, c. 40, a. 313.
11. Les propriétaires ou occupants de maisons, constructions ou terrains situés sur le territoire de la municipalité par laquelle un système d’électricité est établi en vertu de la présente section, sont tenus de laisser placer les poteaux et les fils nécessaires, et laisser exécuter tous autres ouvrages sur leurs maisons, constructions ou terrains, sauf le paiement des dommages-intérêts en réparation du préjudice réellement subi.
S. R. 1964, c. 186, a. 12; 1980, c. 9, a. 2; 1996, c. 2, a. 948; 1999, c. 40, a. 313.
SECTION IV
EXÉCUTION DE TRAVAUX EN COMMUN
12. 1°  Les municipalités qui adoptent une résolution en vertu de l’article 3, ou quelques-unes d’entre elles, peuvent s’entendre pour exécuter ensemble les travaux mentionnés audit article 3 et exercer ensemble les droits que confère l’article 6.
2°  Les municipalités qui se prévalent des dispositions du paragraphe 1 doivent, chacune d’elles, adopter, à ces fins, une résolution uniforme et la soumettre à l’approbation des personnes habiles à voter.
3°  La répartition des dépenses nécessitées pour l’exécution en commun des travaux et l’exercice en commun des droits ci-dessus mentionnés, a lieu suivant entente intervenue entre les municipalités intéressées, et, à défaut de telle entente, selon que le détermine la Régie.
S. R. 1964, c. 186, a. 13; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 57, a. 2; 1996, c. 2, a. 951; 1996, c. 77, a. 59; 2005, c. 6, a. 233.
SECTION V
PARTAGE ET ADMINISTRATION, EN CERTAINS CAS, D’UN SYSTÈME D’ÉLECTRICITÉ
13. 1°  Les municipalités qui, sous l’empire du paragraphe 1 de l’article 12, ont établi en commun un système d’électricité peuvent, d’un commun accord, en décréter le partage entre elles.
La résolution par laquelle chaque municipalité concernée exerce le pouvoir prévu au premier alinéa doit être soumise à l’approbation des personnes habiles à voter.
2°  Si les municipalités s’entendent sur l’opportunité de partager le système entre elles, mais ne s’entendent pas sur les conditions de ce partage, elles peuvent soumettre l’affaire à la Régie, qui décide en dernier ressort toute question s’y rapportant.
S. R. 1964, c. 186, a. 14; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 57, a. 3; 1996, c. 2, a. 951; 1996, c. 77, a. 60; 2005, c. 6, a. 234.
14. 1.  La Commission municipale du Québec est autorisée à administrer tout système d’électricité établi en commun par des municipalités en vertu du paragraphe 1 de l’article 12, dans les cas prévus par le paragraphe 2 du présent article, à l’exclusion des conseils municipaux intéressés.
Pour les fins du présent paragraphe, la Commission municipale du Québec possède les pouvoirs des conseils municipaux qu’elle remplace et les dispositions des articles 48 à 60 de la Loi sur la Commission municipale (chapitre C‐35) s’appliquent, compte tenu des adaptations nécessaires, à cette administration, mais en ce qui concerne seulement le système d’électricité.
2.  L’administration d’un système d’électricité établi en vertu du paragraphe 1 de l’article 12 est confiée à la Commission municipale du Québec
a)  à la demande du conseil de chacune des municipalités intéressées, par résolution adoptée à la majorité d’au moins les deux tiers des conseillers ou, selon le cas, des échevins, de chacune d’elles; ou
b)  sous réserve du paragraphe 3, à la demande du conseil d’une municipalité intéressée, par résolution adoptée à la majorité d’au moins les deux tiers de ses conseillers, ou, selon le cas, des échevins, ou à la demande, présentée au ministre des Affaires municipales, des Régions et de l’Occupation du territoire, d’au moins 50 personnes habiles à voter ayant le droit d’être inscrites sur la liste référendaire des municipalités ayant établi en commun un système d’électricité.
3.  Les dispositions de la Loi sur les élections et les référendums dans les municipalités (chapitre E‐2.2) qui concernent la façon pour une personne morale d’exercer ses droits et la façon de compter les personnes habiles à voter ayant le droit d’être inscrites sur la liste référendaire et les demandes de tenue d’un scrutin référendaire s’appliquent, compte tenu des adaptations nécessaires, à une demande prévue au sous-paragraphe b du paragraphe 2. Aux fins de déterminer quelles sont les personnes habiles à voter ayant le droit d’être inscrites sur la liste référendaire et aptes à présenter cette demande, la date de référence au sens de cette loi est celle de la réception de la demande.
La Commission municipale du Québec doit, avant de prendre charge de l’administration du système d’électricité, soumettre la demande à l’approbation des personnes habiles à voter de chacune des municipalités intéressées. Cette consultation est effectuée au moyen d’un scrutin référendaire, conformément à la loi susmentionnée. La Commission ne peut prendre charge de l’administration du système d’électricité que si les résultats du scrutin révèlent dans chaque municipalité un plus grand nombre de votes affirmatifs que de votes négatifs.
S. R. 1964, c. 186, a. 15; 1970, c. 45, a. 2; 1987, c. 57, a. 805; 1996, c. 2, a. 951; 1999, c. 43, a. 13; 2003, c. 19, a. 250; 2005, c. 28, a. 196; 2009, c. 26, a. 109.
SECTION VI
ALIÉNATION OU ABANDON D’UN SYSTÈME D’ÉLECTRICITÉ
1980, c. 9, a. 2.
15. La résolution par laquelle une municipalité aliène un système d’électricité lui appartenant ou en abandonne l’exploitation doit être soumise à l’approbation des personnes habiles à voter.
S. R. 1964, c. 186, a. 16; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 57, a. 4; 1980, c. 9, a. 2; 1996, c. 2, a. 951; 1996, c. 77, a. 61; 2005, c. 6, a. 235.
SECTION VII
ÉLECTRIFICATION MUNICIPALE
1996, c. 2, a. 949.
16. Lorsqu’une municipalité ne peut s’entendre avec Hydro-Québec pour obtenir de l’électricité, cette municipalité peut s’adresser à la Régie et celle-ci peut ordonner à Hydro-Québec de fournir l’électricité à cette municipalité, aux termes et conditions que la Régie détermine.
Une municipalité peut, avec l’autorisation du gouvernement aux conditions qu’il détermine, acheter de l’électricité de tout autre service public.
S. R. 1964, c. 186, a. 17; 1996, c. 2, a. 951; 1996, c. 61, a. 134.
17. (Abrogé).
S. R. 1964, c. 186, a. 18; 1980, c. 9, a. 2; 1984, c. 47, a. 213; 1996, c. 2, a. 950; 1996, c. 61, a. 135.
SECTION VII.1
SYSTÈMES PRIVÉS D’ÉLECTRICITÉ
1988, c. 23, a. 96.
17.1. Les prix et taux établis par toute personne ou société qui exploite une entreprise de production, de vente ou de distribution d’énergie électrique ne peuvent en aucun cas entraîner, pour chaque catégorie de personnes à laquelle elle fournit de l’électricité, un coût supérieur à celui qui résulte du tarif fixé par la Régie pour l’électricité fournie par Hydro-Québec pour une catégorie équivalente de ses usagers d’électricité.
Les dispositions du premier alinéa ne s’appliquent pas lorsque Hydro-Québec achète de l’électricité d’une entreprise visée par cet alinéa.
Les dispositions du premier alinéa s’appliquent à une personne ou société qui produit de l’électricité pour sa propre consommation.
1988, c. 23, a. 96; 1996, c. 61, a. 136; 2006, c. 46, a. 60.
SECTION VIII
Abrogée, 1979, c. 72, a. 383.
1979, c. 72, a. 383.
18. (Abrogé).
S. R. 1964, c. 186, a. 19; 1979, c. 72, a. 383.
19. (Abrogé).
S. R. 1964, c. 186, a. 20; 1979, c. 72, a. 383.
20. (Abrogé).
S. R. 1964, c. 186, a. 21; 1979, c. 72, a. 383.
21. (Abrogé).
S. R. 1964, c. 186, a. 22; 1979, c. 72, a. 383.
SECTION IX
Cette section a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987.
22. (Cet article a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987).
1982, c. 21, a. 1; R.-U., 1982, c. 11, ann. B, ptie I, a. 33.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 9 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois et des règlements (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre M-38 des Lois refondues, tel qu’en vigueur le 1er mars 1989, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre S-41 des Lois refondues.