R-14 - Act respecting the Syndical Plan of the Sûreté du Québec

Full text
chapter R-14
Act respecting the Syndical Plan of the Sûreté du Québec
SYNDICAL PLAN OF THE SÛRETÉ DU QUÉBECDecember 31 1977
1. In this Act, unless the context indicates a different meaning, the following expressions and words mean:
(a)  Police Force : the Sûreté du Québec;
(b)  members of the Police Force : the persons holding the appointments mentioned in subparagraphs 2 and 3 of the second paragraph of section 55 of the Police Act (chapter P-13.1) and in subparagraph 2 of the third paragraph of that section;
(c)  recognized association : an association recognized by the Government under section 2;
(d)  committee : the joint parity committee instituted by section 7;
(e)  labour contract : a collective agreement within the meaning of the Labour Code (chapter C-27);
(f)  strike : a strike within the meaning of the Labour Code.
1968, c. 19, s. 1; 1968, c. 20, s. 1; 1977, c. 5, s. 14; 2000, c. 12, s. 329; 2008, c. 10, s. 24.
DIVISION I
GENERAL PROVISIONS
2. The Government may recognize as the representative of all members of the Police Force an association comprising an absolute majority of such members.
1968, c. 19, s. 2.
3. For the purposes of such recognition, the association shall furnish the Government with a certified copy of its constitution and by-laws, a statement of the conditions for admission, entrance fees and assessments required of its members, and a list of its members.
1968, c. 19, s. 3.
4. The Government shall satisfy itself of the representative nature of the association and, if of the opinion that it represents an absolute majority of the members of the Police Force, it shall grant it the recognition contemplated in section 2.
1968, c. 19, s. 4.
5. The members of the Police Force shall not be members of an association which is not composed exclusively of members of the Police Force or which is affiliated with another organization.
1968, c. 19, s. 5.
6. The members of the Police Force are forbidden to strike.
1968, c. 19, s. 6.
DIVISION II
JOINT PARITY COMMITTEE
7. A joint parity committee is instituted.
It shall consist of a chairman, who shall not have the right to vote, appointed by the Government, and eight other members of whom four shall be appointed by the Minister of Public Security and four by the recognized association.
1968, c. 19, s. 7; 1968, c. 20, s. 2; 1986, c. 86, s. 41; 1988, c. 46, s. 24.
8. The committee shall:
(a)  carry on negotiations in which its members shall take part as representatives of the Minister of Public Security or of the recognized association, according as they have been appointed by the one or the other, with a view to making or renewing any labour contract respecting the remuneration, working hours, leave of absence, vacations, pension plan and any other condition of employment entailing pecuniary advantages to the members of the Police Force;
(b)  carry on such negotiations with a view to revising such a labour contract while it is in force;
(c)  study the representations of the recognized association regarding the application of such a labour contract;
(d)  settle grievances arising out of the application of such a labour contract;
(e)  hear and discuss the recommendations of the recognized association regarding improvements which may be made to the code of discipline and to the system of transfers and promotions, and concern itself with problems respecting a good team spirit within the Police Force.
1968, c. 19, s. 8; 1968, c. 20, s. 3; 1986, c. 86, s. 41; 1988, c. 46, s. 24.
9. The committee shall meet at least once a month. It shall also meet at the request of the chairman who shall convene it whenever requested by the Minister of Public Security or the recognized association.
1968, c. 19, s. 9; 1968, c. 20, s. 4; 1986, c. 86, s. 41; 1988, c. 46, s. 24.
10. When it deems it expedient, the committee shall submit to the Government its recommendation on any matter referred to in paragraphs a, b and c of section 8.
1968, c. 19, s. 10.
11. Any member or former member of the Police Force who considers himself to be wronged as a result of what he considers a violation or misinterpretation of a labour contract applicable to him may require the recognized association to submit his grievance to the committee in writing.
Upon proof that the recognized association refuses to submit the grievance, the committee may hear it upon the written application of the member or former member.
Every grievance must be presented within ninety days of the date when it arose.
1968, c. 19, s. 11; 1968, c. 20, s. 5.
12. As soon as it is seized of a grievance by the recognized association or by a member or former member, as the case may be, the committee shall dispose thereof with all possible dispatch.
Every decision of the committee on any question contemplated in paragraph d of section 8 shall bind the parties.
1968, c. 19, s. 12; 1968, c. 20, s. 6.
DIVISION III
ARBITRATION
13. If 30 days prior to the expiration of the labour contract binding the Minister of Public Security and the recognized association, the members of the committee representing one party cannot agree with the members representing the other party as to the renewal of such contract or the making of a new contract, the dispute shall, upon the request of one of the parties, be submitted to a judge chosen by the parties to act as arbitration officer or, failing agreement, to a judge of the Court of Québec designated by the chief judge of such court.
The award of the arbitration officer shall be rendered within 60 days after he has been chosen or designated, unless such time is prolonged by the parties.
1968, c. 19, s. 13; 1968, c. 20, s. 7; 1986, c. 86, s. 41; 1988, c. 21, s. 66; 1988, c. 46, s. 24; 1999, c. 40, s. 253.
14. If, after having negotiated unsuccessfully for sixty days, the members of the committee representing one of the parties cannot agree with the members representing the other party on any matter contemplated in paragraph b, c or d of section 8, either party may submit the matter to arbitration by giving written notice to such effect to one of the judges of the Court of Québec designated as arbitration officers in the labour contract and by forwarding a copy of such notice to the other party.
If the judge who has received such notice does not agree, within seven days of receipt thereof, to act as arbitration officer, the notice contemplated in the preceding paragraph shall be given successively, in like manner, to the other judges designated.
Notwithstanding the first paragraph, if the disagreement is in connection with a matter contemplated in paragraph d of section 8, either of the parties may submit the matter to the arbitration of a person chosen from the list established in conformity with section 77 of the Labour Code (chapter C-27).
1968, c. 19, s. 14; 1968, c. 20, s. 8; 1979, c. 67, s. 42; 1983, c. 22, s. 105; 1988, c. 21, s. 134.
15. If no designated judge agrees to act, the matter in dispute shall be submitted to a judge of the Court of Québec chosen by the chief judge of that court unless the question may be submitted to arbitration in accordance with the third paragraph of section 14, in which case the parties must resort to it.
1968, c. 19, s. 15; 1979, c. 67, s. 43; 1988, c. 21, s. 66.
16. The arbitration officer who acts under section 14 or 15 shall render his decision within 30 days after the date on which the evidence is terminated, unless such time is extended by the parties.
1968, c. 19, s. 16; 1999, c. 40, s. 253.
17. Sections 81 to 91 of the Labour Code (chapter C-27) shall apply with the necessary modifications to any arbitration officer who acts under this division.
1968, c. 19, s. 17.
18. Any decision of an arbitration officer rendered in accordance with this division upon any matter contemplated in paragraph d of section 8 shall be binding upon the parties. Any other decision rendered by an arbitration officer in accordance with this division shall constitute a recommendation to the Government.
1968, c. 19, s. 18.
19. As soon as the recommendations of the committee made under section 10 or the decision of an arbitration officer rendered under this division upon the matters contemplated in paragraphs a, b and c of section 8 have been approved by the Government, they shall have the effect of a labour contract signed by the parties.
1968, c. 19, s. 19.
19.1. The Minister of Public Security is responsible for the administration of this Act.
1986, c. 86, s. 33; 1988, c. 46, s. 24.
DIVISION IV
This Division ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987.
20. (This section ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987).
1982, c. 21, s. 1; U. K., 1982, c. 11, Sch. B, Part I, s. 33.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 19 of the statutes of 1968, in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed, except section 21, effective from the coming into force of chapter R-14 of the Revised Statutes.

R-14 - Loi sur le régime syndical applicable à la Sûreté du Québec

Texte complet
chapitre R-14
Loi sur le régime syndical applicable à la Sûreté du Québec
RÉGIME SYNDICAL DE LA SÛRETÉ DU QUÉBEC31 décembre 1977
1. Dans la présente loi, à moins que le contexte n’indique un sens différent, les expressions et mots suivants signifient:
a)  «Sûreté» : la Sûreté du Québec;
b)  «membres de la Sûreté» : les titulaires des fonctions mentionnées aux paragraphes 2° et 3° du deuxième alinéa de l’article 55 de la Loi sur la police (chapitre P-13.1) ainsi qu’au paragraphe 2° du troisième alinéa de cet article;
c)  «association reconnue» : une association reconnue par le gouvernement en vertu de l’article 2;
d)  «comité» : le comité paritaire et conjoint institué par l’article 7;
e)  «contrat de travail» : une convention collective au sens du Code du travail (chapitre C-27);
f)  «grève» : une grève au sens du Code du travail.
1968, c. 19, a. 1; 1968, c. 20, a. 1; 2000, c. 12, a. 329; 2008, c. 10, a. 24.
SECTION I
DISPOSITIONS GÉNÉRALES
2. Le gouvernement peut reconnaître comme représentant de tous les membres de la Sûreté une association groupant la majorité absolue de ces membres.
1968, c. 19, a. 2.
3. Pour les fins de cette reconnaissance, l’association doit fournir au gouvernement une copie certifiée de sa constitution et de ses règlements, un état des conditions d’admission, droits d’entrée et cotisations exigés de ses membres, ainsi qu’une liste de ses membres.
1968, c. 19, a. 3.
4. Le gouvernement s’assure du caractère représentatif de l’association et s’il juge qu’elle représente la majorité absolue des membres de la Sûreté, il lui accorde la reconnaissance visée à l’article 2.
1968, c. 19, a. 4.
5. Les membres de la Sûreté ne peuvent être membres d’une association qui n’est pas formée exclusivement de membres de la Sûreté ou qui est affiliée à une autre organisation.
1968, c. 19, a. 5.
6. Toute grève est interdite aux membres de la Sûreté.
1968, c. 19, a. 6.
SECTION II
COMITÉ PARITAIRE ET CONJOINT
7. Un comité paritaire et conjoint est institué.
Il est composé d’un président, qui n’a pas droit de vote et qui est nommé par le gouvernement, et de huit autres membres dont quatre sont nommés par le ministre de la Sécurité publique et quatre par l’association reconnue.
1968, c. 19, a. 7; 1968, c. 20, a. 2; 1986, c. 86, a. 41; 1988, c. 46, a. 24.
8. Le comité est chargé:
a)  de poursuivre des négociations auxquelles ses membres participent à titre de représentants du ministre de la Sécurité publique ou de l’association reconnue, suivant qu’ils ont été nommés par l’un ou par l’autre, en vue de la conclusion ou du renouvellement de tout contrat de travail relatif à la rémunération, aux heures de travail, aux congés, aux vacances, au régime de retraite et à toute autre condition de travail comportant pour les membres de la Sûreté des avantages pécuniaires;
b)  de poursuivre de telles négociations en vue de la révision d’un tel contrat de travail pendant sa durée;
c)  d’étudier les représentations de l’association reconnue relativement à l’application d’un tel contrat de travail;
d)  de décider des griefs qui naissent de l’application d’un tel contrat de travail;
e)  d’entendre et de discuter les recommandations de l’association reconnue relativement aux améliorations qui peuvent être apportées au code de discipline et au système de mutations et de promotions, et de s’intéresser aux problèmes relatifs à un bon esprit de corps au sein de la Sûreté.
1968, c. 19, a. 8; 1968, c. 20, a. 3; 1986, c. 86, a. 41; 1988, c. 46, a. 24.
9. Le comité se réunit au moins une fois par mois. Il se réunit aussi à la demande du président, qui doit le convoquer chaque fois qu’il en est requis par le ministre de la Sécurité publique ou par l’association reconnue.
1968, c. 19, a. 9; 1968, c. 20, a. 4; 1986, c. 86, a. 41; 1988, c. 46, a. 24.
10. Lorsqu’il le juge à propos, le comité soumet au gouvernement ses recommandations sur toute matière mentionnée aux paragraphes a, b et c de l’article 8.
1968, c. 19, a. 10.
11. Tout membre ou ancien membre de la Sûreté qui se croit lésé par suite de ce qu’il prétend être une violation ou une interprétation erronée d’un contrat de travail qui lui est applicable peut requérir l’association reconnue de présenter son grief par écrit au comité.
Le comité, sur preuve que l’association reconnue refuse de présenter le grief, peut l’entendre à la demande écrite du membre ou de l’ancien membre.
Tout grief doit être présenté dans les quatre-vingt-dix jours de la date à laquelle il a pris naissance.
1968, c. 19, a. 11; 1968, c. 20, a. 5.
12. Le comité doit, dès qu’il est saisi d’un grief par l’association reconnue ou par un membre ou ancien membre, suivant le cas, en disposer le plus rapidement possible.
Toute décision du comité sur une question visée au paragraphe d de l’article 8 lie les parties.
1968, c. 19, a. 12; 1968, c. 20, a. 6.
SECTION III
ARBITRAGE
13. Si trente jours avant l’expiration du contrat de travail qui lie le ministre de la Sécurité publique et l’association reconnue, les membres du comité représentant l’une des parties ne se sont pas entendus avec les membres représentant l’autre partie sur le renouvellement de ce contrat ou la conclusion d’un nouveau contrat, le différend doit, à la demande de l’une des parties, être soumis à un juge choisi par les parties pour agir comme arbitre ou, à défaut d’accord, à un juge de la Cour du Québec désigné par le juge en chef de cette Cour.
La sentence de l’arbitre doit être rendue dans les soixante jours de la date à laquelle il est choisi ou désigné, à moins que ce délai ne soit prolongé par les parties.
1968, c. 19, a. 13; 1968, c. 20, a. 7; 1986, c. 86, a. 41; 1988, c. 21, a. 66; 1988, c. 46, a. 24.
14. Si les membres du comité représentant l’une des parties ne peuvent, après avoir négocié sans succès pendant soixante jours, s’entendre avec les membres représentant l’autre partie sur une question visée aux paragraphes b, c ou d de l’article 8, l’une ou l’autre des parties peut soumettre la question à l’arbitrage en donnant un avis écrit à cet effet à l’un des juges de la Cour du Québec désignés comme arbitres dans le contrat de travail et en transmettant copie de cet avis à l’autre partie.
Si le juge qui a reçu cet avis n’accepte pas, dans les sept jours de sa réception, d’agir comme arbitre, l’avis prévu à l’alinéa qui précède est successivement donné, de la même façon, aux autres juges désignés.
Malgré le premier alinéa, lorsque la mésentente porte sur une question visée au paragraphe d de l’article 8, l’une ou l’autre des parties peut soumettre la question à l’arbitrage d’une personne choisie d’après la liste constituée conformément à l’article 77 du Code du travail (chapitre C‐27).
1968, c. 19, a. 14; 1968, c. 20, a. 8; 1979, c. 67, a. 42; 1983, c. 22, a. 105; 1988, c. 21, a. 134.
15. Si aucun juge désigné n’accepte d’agir, la question en litige est soumise à un juge de la Cour du Québec choisi par le juge en chef de cette Cour à moins qu’il s’agisse d’une question qui peut faire l’objet d’un arbitrage suivant le troisième alinéa de l’article 14 auquel cas, les parties doivent y recourir.
1968, c. 19, a. 15; 1979, c. 67, a. 43; 1988, c. 21, a. 66.
16. L’arbitre qui agit en vertu des articles 14 ou 15 doit rendre sa décision dans les trente jours qui suivent la date à laquelle la preuve est terminée, à moins que ce délai ne soit prolongé par les parties.
1968, c. 19, a. 16.
17. Les articles 81 à 91 du Code du travail (chapitre C‐27) s’appliquent compte tenu des adaptations nécessaires à tout arbitre qui agit en vertu de la présente section.
1968, c. 19, a. 17.
18. Toute décision d’un arbitre rendue conformément à la présente section sur une question visée au paragraphe d de l’article 8 lie les parties. Toute autre décision rendue par un arbitre conformément à la présente section constitue une recommandation au gouvernement.
1968, c. 19, a. 18.
19. Dès que les recommandations du comité faites en vertu de l’article 10 ou que la décision d’un arbitre rendue en vertu de la présente section sur les questions visées aux paragraphes a, b et c de l’article 8 ont été approuvées par le gouvernement, elles ont l’effet d’un contrat de travail signé par les parties.
1968, c. 19, a. 19.
19.1. Le ministre de la Sécurité publique est chargé de l’application de la présente loi.
1986, c. 86, a. 33; 1988, c. 46, a. 24.
SECTION IV
Cette section a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987.
20. (Cet article a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987).
1982, c. 21, a. 1; R.-U., 1982, c. 11, ann. B, ptie I, a. 33.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 19 des lois de 1968, tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, à l’exception de l’article 21, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre R-14 des Lois refondues.