P-6 - Lightning Rods Act

Full text
chapter P-6
Lightning Rods Act
LIGHTNING RODSDecember 21 1979December 21 1979
Repealed, 1979, c. 75, s. 53.
1979, c. 75, s. 53.
DIVISION I
DECLARATORY AND INTERPRETATIVE PROVISIONS
1. In the interpretation of this act, unless the context conveys a different meaning:
(1)  The words lightning rod mean any material or apparatus intended to protect a building or other construction from damage by lightning;
(2)  The word Minister means the Minister of Labour and Manpower;
(3)  The words Bureau des examinateurs électriciens mean the board constituted under the Electricians and Electrical Installations Act (chapter E-4);
(4)  The word person includes firm and corporation;
(5)  The word maker means every person who, on his own account, makes, sells, offers for sale, installs or offers to install lightning rods;
(6)  The word agent means the agent of the maker.
R. S. 1964, c. 158, s. 1; 1968, c. 43, s. 17; 1977, c. 5, s. 14.
DIVISION II
LICENSES AND DUTIES
2. Every maker or agent who sells or offers for sale, installs or offers to install lightning rods, in Québec, must previously obtain a maker’s or agent’s license under the provisions of this act.
R. S. 1964, c. 158, s. 2.
3. Such licenses are issued by the Bureau des examinateurs électriciens in the manner and according to the formalities hereinafter established and upon payment of the duties hereinafter mentioned.
R. S. 1964, c. 158, s. 3; 1977, c. 5, s. 14.
4. The license issued under this act is valid only for the person therein designated and remains in force from the first day of July until the thirtieth day of June of the following year and may be renewed for another year if the security furnished under section 16 is still in force for another year.
R. S. 1964, c. 158, s. 4.
5. The Bureau des examinateurs électriciens may, at any time, with the authorization of the Minister, suspend or cancel any license, for infringement of this act.
It may also refuse to issue a license for reasons which it deems sufficient.
R. S. 1964, c. 158, s. 5; 1977, c. 5, s. 14.
6. The maker’s license shall not be issued to any person until the Bureau des examinateurs électriciens has approved of the material and apparatus intended for the protection of buildings and their contents from damage by lightning, and of the manner and system of installing, employed by such person.
R. S. 1964, c. 158, s. 6; 1977, c. 5, s. 14.
7. The agent’s license shall be issued only in favour of a person in the employ of a maker holding a license.
R. S. 1964, c. 158, s. 7.
8. Every maker applying for a license shall previously pay to the Minister a duty of fifty dollars per license.
R. S. 1964, c. 158, s. 8.
9. The person to whom a maker’s license has so been issued shall furnish, at the expiration of the license year, a detailed statement under oath of the sums charged for the sale or installation of lightning rods.
R. S. 1964, c. 158, s. 9.
10. If a firm or corporation be concerned, such declaration shall be made by one of its officers, duly authorized.
R. S. 1964, c. 158, s. 10.
11. Every maker and every agent who installs or causes to be installed a lightning rod in Québec must, within fifteen days of such installation, transmit to the Minister, by registered or certified letter, a notification setting forth the date and place of installation, the number of aerial points contained therein and the name in full of the person for whom such installation was made.
R. S. 1964, c. 158, s. 11; 1975, c. 83, s. 84.
12. The licensee may use employees who are not holders of a license to install lightning rods, but, in such case, without prejudice to his responsibility for any damage to the persons with whom he contracted to install such lightning rods.
R. S. 1964, c. 158, s. 12.
13. If the holder of a maker’s license employs one or more agents in Québec, a supplementary license shall be obtained for each agent upon payment of a duty of three dollars for each license to the Minister, provided that such agent be domiciled in Québec.
R. S. 1964, c. 158, s. 13.
14. Any agent holding a license as such may sell or offer for sale, install or offer to install, only the kind of lightning rod which the person employing him is himself authorized to sell or install.
R. S. 1964, c. 158, s. 14.
15. The holder of any license under this act shall, upon demand, exhibit it to any officer authorized by the Minister, to the inspectors of industrial establishments and public buildings, to the electrician-inspectors and examining electricians, to any mayor or secretary-treasurer of a municipality, to the fire investigation commissioner; to any coroner, police officer or constable and to any person to whom lightning rods are sold or offered for sale.
R. S. 1964, c. 158, s. 15; 1968, c. 16, s. 38.
DIVISION III
GUARANTEES
16. Every person applying for a license other than that of agent shall previously furnish security for an amount of five thousand dollars as guarantee for the payment of the hereinafter mentioned damages and of every sum that such person may owe under this act, save that which may be imposed as penalty for infringements thereof. Such security shall be deposited in the office of the Minister of Finance.
R. S. 1964, c. 158, s. 16.
17. The provisions of sections 20, 21, 22, 23, 24 and 28 of the Public Officers Act (chapter E-6) shall apply, mutatismutandis, to this act.
R. S. 1964, c. 158, s. 17.
18. The person who has deposited a guarantee policy as security shall, in the month preceding the expiration of the said policy, transmit to the Minister of Finance a renewal receipt or a new guarantee policy.
R. S. 1964, c. 158, s. 18.
DIVISION IV
DEFECTIVE INSTALLATIONS AND DAMAGES
19. If an inspector or any person duly authorized under a regulation discovers that a lightning rod installation is defective, he may send notice in writing addressed, by mail, to the person who made the installation, to remove or alter or make over same within the delay fixed in the notice.
If such person fails to comply with such notice within the delay fixed, the Bureau des examinateurs électriciens may cause the installation to be removed, altered or made over at the expense of the person in default and at his risk, without any liability to any person whatsoever.
R. S. 1964, c. 158, s. 19; 1977, c. 5, s. 14.
20. When a final judgment upon a claim for damages has been rendered in favour of the owner of a building or other construction, it shall ipsofacto carry forfeiture of the security in favour of the plaintiff in the suit, and the latter may, within the ordinary delays for executing judgments, execute the said judgment against the surety for capital, interest and costs.
R. S. 1964, c. 158, s. 20.
DIVISION V
OFFENCES AND PENALTIES
21. Any person infringing any provision of this act or any of the regulations made under its authority by the Gouvernement shall be guilty of an offence against this act, and, if found guilty, shall be sentenced, in addition to the payment of the costs and of the duties which he should have paid, to a fine of at least fifty dollars but not exceeding two hundred dollars, for each offence, and, in default of payment of the fine and costs, to an imprisonment for six months in the house of detention.
R. S. 1964, c. 158, s. 21; 1969, c. 21, s. 35.
22. When an offence has been committed against the provisions of this act by a firm or corporation holding a license or not under this act, and judgment has been rendered under this act against such firm or corporation, such judgment may, in default of payment of the fine and costs by such firm or corporation, be executed: in the case of a firm, against each member thereof; in the case of a corporation, against its president, if he is within Québec, and if not, against its manager or representative in Québec, and the sentence of imprisonment may be enforced against such member or officer, as the case may be.
R. S. 1964, c. 158, s. 22.
DIVISION VI
PROSECUTIONS
23. (1)  Prosecutions under this act, save those resulting from section 20, shall be taken in the name of the Minister, before a Justice of the Peace, Judge of the Sessions or Judge of the Provincial Court, and shall be governed by Part I of the Summary Convictions Act (chapter P-15).
(2)  It is not necessary for the Minister to sign or swear to the complaint, nor to appear, or to prove his appointment and exercise of his office, and he shall be represented for all purposes by the advocate whom he has authorized to take such prosecutions.
R. S. 1964, c. 158, s. 23; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 17, s. 2.
DIVISION VII
SPECIAL PROVISIONS
24. The Gouvernement may make regulations:
(a)  To establish standards and prescribe the kind of materials or apparatus to be used for the protection of buildings or other constructions and their contents from damages by lightning;
(b)  To prescribe the mode and system of installing lightning rods;
(c)  For the carrying out of this act.
R. S. 1964, c. 158, s. 24.
25. All regulations made by the Gouvernement under the authority of this act shall, after their publication in the Gazette officielle du Québec, have the same force as if incorporated herein.
R. S. 1964, c. 158, s. 25.

P-6 - Loi sur les paratonnerres

Texte complet
chapitre P-6
Loi sur les paratonnerres
PARATONNERRES21 décembre 197921 décembre 1979
Abrogée, 1979, c. 75, a. 53.
1979, c. 75, a. 53.
SECTION I
DISPOSITIONS DÉCLARATOIRES ET INTERPRÉTATIVES
1. Pour l’interprétation de la présente loi, à moins que le contexte ne comporte un sens différent:
1°  Le mot «paratonnerre» désigne tout matériel ou appareil destiné à préserver un édifice ou toute construction quelconque des effets de la foudre;
2°  Le mot «ministre» désigne le ministre du travail et de la main-d’oeuvre;
3°  Les mots «bureau des examinateurs électriciens» , désignent le bureau constitué sous l’autorité de la Loi sur les électriciens et les installations électriques (chapitre E‐4);
4°  Le mot «personne» inclut société et corporation;
5°  Le mot «fabricant» désigne toute personne qui fabrique, vend, offre en vente, installe ou offre d’installer des paratonnerres pour son propre compte;
6°  Le mot «agent« désigne l’agent du fabricant.
S. R. 1964, c. 158, a. 1; 1968, c. 43, a. 17.
SECTION II
DES LICENCES ET DES DROITS
2. Tout fabricant ou agent qui vend ou offre de vendre, installe ou offre d’installer des paratonnerres au Québec, doit au préalable obtenir une licence de fabricant ou d’agent, conformément aux dispositions de la présente loi.
S. R. 1964, c. 158, a. 2.
3. Ces licences sont émises par le bureau des examinateurs électriciens, de la manière et avec les formalités ci-après établies, et sur paiement des droits ci-après mentionnés.
S. R. 1964, c. 158, a. 3.
4. Toute licence émise en vertu de la présente loi n’est valide que pour la personne y désignée et reste en vigueur à compter du premier jour de juillet jusqu’au trentième jour de juin de l’année suivante, et elle peut être renouvelée pour une autre année si la garantie fournie en vertu de l’article 16 est encore en vigueur pour une autre année.
S. R. 1964, c. 158, a. 4.
5. Le bureau des examinateurs électriciens peut, en tout temps, suspendre ou annuler, avec l’autorisation du ministre, toute licence pour contravention à la présente loi.
Il peut aussi refuser l’émission d’une licence pour des raisons qu’il considère suffisantes.
S. R. 1964, c. 158, a. 5.
6. La licence de fabricant n’est émise en faveur d’une personne que si le matériel et l’appareil destinés à préserver les édifices et leur contenu contre les effets de la foudre, et la méthode et les procédés d’installation, employés par cette personne, sont approuvés par le bureau des examinateurs électriciens.
S. R. 1964, c. 158, a. 6.
7. La licence d’agent n’est émise qu’en faveur d’une personne à l’emploi d’un fabricant porteur d’une licence.
S. R. 1964, c. 158, a. 7.
8. Tout fabricant qui demande l’émission d’une licence doit payer au ministre, au préalable, un droit de cinquante dollars par licence.
S. R. 1964, c. 158, a. 8.
9. La personne à qui une licence de fabricant aura ainsi été émise doit fournir, à l’expiration de l’année de licence, un état détaillé attesté sous serment des sommes exigées pour la vente ou l’installation des paratonnerres.
S. R. 1964, c. 158, a. 9.
10. S’il s’agit d’une société ou d’une corporation, cette déclaration doit être faite par un de ses officiers dûment autorisé.
S. R. 1964, c. 158, a. 10.
11. Tout fabricant et tout agent qui installe ou fait installer un paratonnerre au Québec doit, dans les quinze jours de cette installation, transmettre au ministre par lettre recommandée ou certifiée, un avis énonçant la date et le lieu de l’installation, le nombre de bornes aériennes qu’elle comprend et les nom et prénoms de celui pour lequel cette installation a été faite.
S. R. 1964, c. 158, a. 11; 1975, c. 83, a. 84.
12. Le porteur d’une licence peut, sans préjudice de sa responsabilité en dommages-intérêts à l’égard des personnes avec lesquelles il contracte pour l’installation desdits paratonnerres, faire faire les travaux d’installation par des employés non munis d’une licence.
S. R. 1964, c. 158, a. 12.
13. Si le porteur d’une licence de fabricant emploie un ou des agents au Québec, une licence supplémentaire doit être obtenue pour chaque agent sur paiement d’un droit de trois dollars pour chaque licence payable au ministre, à condition que tel agent soit domicilié au Québec.
S. R. 1964, c. 158, a. 13.
14. Tout agent, détenteur d’une licence d’agent, ne peut vendre ou offrir en vente, installer ou offrir d’installer, que des paratonnerres du genre de ceux que la personne qui les emploie est elle-même autorisée à vendre ou à installer.
S. R. 1964, c. 158, a. 14.
15. Tout porteur d’une licence quelconque en vertu de la présente loi doit, sur demande à cet effet, exhiber cette licence à tout officier autorisé par le ministre; aux inspecteurs des établissements industriels et des édifices publics; aux inspecteurs et examinateurs électriciens; à tout maire ou secrétaire-trésorier d’une municipalité; au commissaire-enquêteur sur les incendies; à un coroner; à tout officier de police ou constable, et à toute personne à qui des paratonnerres sont vendus ou offerts en vente.
S. R. 1964, c. 158, a. 15; 1968, c. 16, a. 38.
SECTION III
DES GARANTIES
16. Toute personne qui demande l’émission d’une licence, à l’exception de celle d’agent, doit au préalable fournir un cautionnement au montant de cinq mille dollars en garantie du paiement des dommages mentionnés ci-après et de toute somme qu’une personne peut devoir en vertu de la présente loi, à l’exception de celle imposée comme pénalité pour infractions à icelle. Ce cautionnement doit être déposé au bureau du ministre des finances.
S. R. 1964, c. 158, a. 16.
17. Les dispositions des articles 20, 21, 22, 23, 24 et 28 de la Loi sur les employés publics (chapitre E‐6) s’appliquent, mutatismutandis, à la présente loi.
S. R. 1964, c. 158, a. 17.
18. La personne qui a déposé un cautionnement par police de garantie doit, dans le mois avant l’expiration de ladite police de garantie, transmettre au ministre des finances un reçu de renouvellement, ou une nouvelle police de garantie.
S. R. 1964, c. 158, a. 18.
SECTION IV
DES INSTALLATIONS DÉFECTUEUSES ET DES DOMMAGES
19. Lorsqu’un inspecteur ou toute personne dûment autorisée en vertu d’un règlement constate que l’installation des paratonnerres est défectueuse, il peut envoyer un avis écrit adressé par la poste à la personne qui en a fait l’installation d’avoir à l’enlever, ou la modifier, ou la refaire dans le délai fixé dans l’avis.
À défaut par cette personne de se conformer audit avis dans le délai fixé, le bureau des examinateurs électriciens peut faire enlever, modifier ou refaire l’installation aux frais de la personne en défaut, ainsi qu’à ses risques et périls, sans aucune responsabilité à l’égard de qui que ce soit.
S. R. 1964, c. 158, a. 19.
20. Lorsqu’un jugement final sur une réclamation en dommages-intérêts est obtenu en faveur du propriétaire d’un édifice ou d’une construction quelconque, ce jugement comporte ipsofacto la forfaiture du cautionnement en faveur du demandeur dans l’instance, et celui-ci peut, dans les délais ordinaires d’exécution des jugements, exécuter ledit jugement contre le cautionnement en capital, intérêts et frais.
S. R. 1964, c. 158, a. 20.
SECTION V
DES INFRACTIONS ET DES PÉNALITÉS
21. Toute personne qui contrevient à l’une des dispositions de la présente loi ou à l’un des règlements faits sous son autorité par le gouvernement, commet une infraction à la présente loi, et, si elle est trouvée coupable, elle doit être condamnée, en sus du paiement des frais et en sus du paiement des droits qu’elle aurait dû payer, à une amende d’au moins cinquante dollars mais n’excédant pas deux cents dollars, pour chaque infraction, et, à défaut du paiement de l’amende et des frais, d’un emprisonnement de six mois dans l’établissement de détention.
S. R. 1964, c. 158, a. 21; 1969, c. 21, a. 35.
22. Quand une infraction est commise d’après les dispositions de la présente loi par une société ou une corporation porteur ou non d’une licence en vertu de la présente loi, et quand un jugement est rendu en vertu de la présente loi contre telle société ou corporation, ce jugement peut, à défaut du paiement de l’amende et des frais par cette société ou cette corporation, être exécuté: dans le cas d’une société, contre chaque membre de la société; dans le cas d’une corporation, contre son président si celui-ci est au Québec, sinon, contre son gérant ou représentant au Québec, et la sentence d’emprisonnement peut être portée contre tel membre ou officier, selon le cas.
S. R. 1964, c. 158, a. 22.
SECTION VI
DES POURSUITES
23. 1.  Les poursuites sous l’autorité de la présente loi, sauf celles résultant de l’article 20, sont prises au nom du ministre, devant un juge de paix, un juge des sessions ou un juge de la Cour provinciale, et sont régies par la partie I de la Loi sur les poursuites sommaires (chapitre P‐15);
2.  Il n’est pas nécessaire que le ministre signe la plainte ni qu’il l’atteste sous serment, ni qu’il comparaisse, ni qu’il fasse la preuve de sa nomination et de l’exercice de sa charge, et il est représenté à toutes fins par l’avocat qu’il aura autorisé à prendre telles poursuites.
S. R. 1964, c. 158, a. 23; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 17, a. 2.
SECTION VII
DISPOSITIONS PARTICULIÈRES
24. Le gouvernement peut adopter des règlements:
a)  Pour déterminer les modèles et prescrire le genre de matériel ou d’appareil qui doit être employé pour la protection des édifices ou constructions quelconques et de leur contenu, contre les effets de la foudre;
b)  Pour prescrire la méthode et le système d’installation des paratonnerres;
c)  Pour mettre à exécution les dispositions de la présente loi.
S. R. 1964, c. 158, a. 24.
25. Tous les règlements faits par le gouvernement sous l’autorité de la présente loi ont, après leur publication dans la Gazette officielle du Québec, la même force que s’ils y étaient incorporés.
S. R. 1964, c. 158, a. 25; 1968, c. 23, a. 8.