P-38.002 - Act to promote the protection of persons by establishing a framework with regard to dogs

Full text
chapter P-38.002
Act to promote the protection of persons by establishing a framework with regard to dogs
PROTECTION OF PERSONS — FRAMEWORK WITH REGARD TO DOGSJune 13 2018June 13 2018
THE PARLIAMENT OF QUÉBEC ENACTS AS FOLLOWS:
1. The purpose of this Act is to promote the protection of persons by establishing a framework with regard to dogs.
To that end, the Government may, by regulation,
(1)  establish dog supervision and ownership standards;
(2)  establish the powers a local municipality may exercise with regard to a dog or its owner or custodian, as well as the terms of exercise of such powers, including
i.  requiring that a dog undergo an examination by a veterinary surgeon for evaluation of its condition and dangerousness;
ii.  imposing measures, including euthanasia, with regard to a dog that constitutes a risk for public health and safety;
iii.  prohibiting the owner or custodian from owning any dog;
iv.  conferring powers of inspection, seizure and investigation on the local municipality; and
v.  imposing fees on the owner or custodian;
(3)  exempt, in the cases and on the conditions it determines, any dog from all or part of the application of the provisions of a regulation made under this section;
(4)  make veterinary surgeons, physicians or any other person subject to the obligation to report dog-inflicted injuries, and determine the information that must be included in, and specify any other terms relating to, such a report; and
(5)  determine the provisions, from among those established under subparagraphs 1 and 2, with regard to which non-compliance constitutes an offence, as well as the amounts of the related fines.
The reporting obligation prescribed under subparagraph 4 of the second paragraph applies even with regard to information protected by professional secrecy and despite any other provision relating to the concerned person’s duty to maintain confidentiality. No judicial proceedings may be instituted against a person who, in good faith, fulfills his or her reporting obligation.
2018, c. 222018, c. 22, s. 1.
2. The provisions of the Animal Welfare and Safety Act (chapter B-3.1) may not be interpreted as preventing the application of a regulation made under this Act.
2018, c. 222018, c. 22, s. 2.
3. Subject to section 4, this Act does not apply in any of the following territories:
(1)  the territory of an Indian settlement or reserve;
(2)  the territory of a northern village, constituted as a municipality under the Act respecting Northern villages and the Kativik Regional Government (chapter V-6.1), and the lands where the Kativik Regional Government acts as a municipality under section 244 of that Act;
(3)  the territory of a Cree village or that of a Naskapi village, constituted as municipalities under the Cree Villages and the Naskapi Village Act (chapter V-5.1), and the territory where a Cree or Naskapi band exercises a regulatory power under the Cree-Naskapi (of Quebec) Act (S.C. 1984, c. 18); and
(4)  lands where the Cree Nation Government has affirmed its jurisdiction under sections 6.1 and 6.2 of the Act respecting the Cree Nation Government (chapter G-1.031) with respect to a field of jurisdiction in which municipalities act with regard to dogs.
2018, c. 222018, c. 22, s. 3.
4. A Native community may apply to have all or some of the provisions of a regulation made under this Act made applicable in a territory referred to in section 3 in which the community is situated by sending the Minister of Public Security a resolution to that effect passed by its band council or by the northern, Cree or Naskapi village council, as applicable. The Kativik Regional Government and the Cree Nation Government may also file such an application.
When granting an application, the Minister publishes an order in the Gazette officielle du Québec specifying the provisions being made applicable in the territory, the date from which they are to apply and the territory concerned. In such a case, the powers and responsibilities granted or assigned to local municipalities by a regulation made under this Act are exercised, in the territory concerned, by the band council, the village council, the Kativik Regional Government or the Cree Nation Government, as applicable.
2018, c. 222018, c. 22, s. 4.
5. Every local municipality is responsible for applying, in its territory, any regulation made under this Act. To that end, each may designate one of its officers or employees to act as inspector or investigator in its territory to ensure compliance with such a regulation.
Officers and employees so designated must, on request, provide identification and produce a certificate of authority. No legal proceedings may be instituted against them for acts done in good faith in the performance of their duties.
2018, c. 222018, c. 22, s. 5.
6. Any local municipality may enter into an agreement with any person for the latter to ensure compliance with any regulation made under this Act. The person with whom the municipality enters into an agreement and the person’s employees have the powers of an officer or employee of the municipality designated solely for the purpose of ensuring compliance with such a regulation.
2018, c. 222018, c. 22, s. 6.
7. This Act does not prevent a local municipality from adopting stricter standards than those prescribed by a regulation made under this Act, provided they are not incompatible with those prescribed by such a regulation.
Any municipal by-law containing a less strict standard than one prescribed by a regulation made under this Act is deemed to have been amended and the standard in the municipal by-law replaced by the one prescribed by the regulation made under this Act.
2018, c. 222018, c. 22, s. 7.
8. Each local municipality must make available, in the form and in accordance with the terms the Minister specifies, the information the Minister determines with regard to the application of this Act.
Local municipalities may communicate personal information to each other without the consent of the person concerned if doing so is necessary to exercise the powers assigned to them under a regulation made under this Act.
2018, c. 222018, c. 22, s. 8.
9. Local municipalities may institute penal proceedings for offences under a regulation made under this Act committed in their territory.
Fines belong to the municipality if it instituted the proceedings.
Proceedings under the first paragraph are instituted before any municipal court having jurisdiction in the territory in which the offence was committed. The costs relating to proceedings instituted before a municipal court belong to the municipality under the jurisdiction of that court, except the part of the costs remitted by the collector to another prosecuting party under article 345.2 of the Code of Penal Procedure (chapter C-25.1) and the costs remitted to the defendant or imposed on the municipality under article 223 of that Code.
2018, c. 222018, c. 22, s. 9.
10. Any member of a police force may enforce the provisions of a regulation made under this Act whose violation constitutes an offence in any territory in which that member provides police services.
2018, c. 222018, c. 22, s. 10.
11. A working group formed by the Minister of Public Security and the Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food is responsible for proposing recommendations concerning the regulation of dog breeders in order to promote the protection of persons and ensure the safety and welfare of dogs.
The working group must submit a report to the ministers within 12 months after the group is formed.
2018, c. 222018, c. 22, s. 11.
12. The Agricultural Abuses Act (chapter A-2) is repealed.
2018, c. 222018, c. 22, s. 12.
13. The Minister of Public Security is responsible for the administration of this Act.
2018, c. 222018, c. 22, s. 13.
14. (Omitted).
2018, c. 222018, c. 22, s. 14.

P-38.002 - Loi visant à favoriser la protection des personnes par la mise en place d’un encadrement concernant les chiens

Texte complet
chapitre P-38.002
Loi visant à favoriser la protection des personnes par la mise en place d’un encadrement concernant les chiens
PROTECTION DES PERSONNES — ENCADREMENT CONCERNANT LES CHIENS13 juin 201813 juin 2018
LE PARLEMENT DU QUÉBEC DÉCRÈTE CE QUI SUIT :
1. La présente loi vise à favoriser la protection des personnes par la mise en place d’un encadrement concernant les chiens.
À cette fin, le gouvernement peut, par règlement:
1°  établir des normes relatives à l’encadrement et à la possession des chiens;
2°  établir les pouvoirs qu’une municipalité locale peut exercer à l’égard d’un chien ou de son propriétaire ou gardien ainsi que les modalités de l’exercice de ces pouvoirs, notamment:
i.  exiger qu’un chien soit soumis à l’examen d’un médecin vétérinaire afin que son état et sa dangerosité soient évalués;
ii.  imposer l’application de mesures à l’égard d’un chien qui constitue un risque pour la santé ou la sécurité publique, y compris son euthanasie;
iii.  interdire au propriétaire ou gardien de posséder tout chien;
iv.  conférer à la municipalité locale des pouvoirs d’inspection, de saisie et d’enquête;
v.  imposer des frais au propriétaire ou gardien;
3°  exempter, en tout ou en partie et dans les cas et aux conditions qu’il détermine, tout chien de l’application des dispositions du règlement pris en vertu du présent article;
4°  assujettir les médecins vétérinaires, les médecins ou toute autre personne à l’obligation de signaler des blessures infligées par un chien, déterminer les renseignements devant être communiqués lors du signalement et préciser toute autre modalité relative au signalement;
5°  déterminer, parmi les dispositions établies en vertu des paragraphes 1° et 2°, celles dont le non-respect constitue une infraction et déterminer les montants des amendes qui s’y rapportent.
L’obligation de signalement prescrite en vertu du paragraphe 4° du deuxième alinéa s’applique même à l’égard des renseignements protégés par le secret professionnel et malgré toute autre disposition relative à l’obligation de confidentialité à laquelle la personne qui y est assujettie est tenue. Aucune poursuite ne peut être intentée contre la personne qui, de bonne foi, s’acquitte de son obligation de signalement.
2018, c. 222018, c. 22, a. 1.
2. Les dispositions de la Loi sur le bien-être et la sécurité de l’animal (chapitre B-3.1) ne peuvent être interprétées comme ayant pour effet d’empêcher l’application des dispositions d’un règlement pris en application de la présente loi.
2018, c. 222018, c. 22, a. 2.
3. Sous réserve de l’article 4, la présente loi ne s’applique pas sur les territoires suivants:
1°  le territoire d’un établissement indien ou d’une réserve;
2°  le territoire d’un village nordique, constitué en municipalité en vertu de la Loi sur les villages nordiques et l’Administration régionale Kativik (chapitre V-6.1), et sur le territoire où l’Administration régionale Kativik agit à titre de municipalité en vertu de l’article 244 de cette loi;
3°  le territoire d’un village cri et celui du village naskapi, constitués en municipalités en vertu de la Loi sur les villages cris et le village naskapi (chapitre V-5.1), ainsi que sur les terres où une bande crie ou naskapie exerce un pouvoir de réglementation en vertu de la Loi sur les Cris et les Naskapis du Québec (L.C. 1984, c. 18);
4°  les terres où le Gouvernement de la nation crie a déclaré qu’il a compétence en vertu des articles 6.1 et 6.2 de la Loi sur le Gouvernement de la nation crie (chapitre G-1.031) à l’égard d’un domaine de compétence en vertu duquel les municipalités agissent relativement aux chiens.
2018, c. 222018, c. 22, a. 3.
4. Une communauté autochtone peut demander que tout ou partie des dispositions d’un règlement pris en application de la présente loi s’appliquent sur un territoire visé à l’article 3 sur lequel elle est située en transmettant au ministre de la Sécurité publique une résolution à cet effet de son conseil de bande ou du conseil du village nordique, cri ou naskapi, selon le cas. L’Administration régionale Kativik et le Gouvernement de la nation crie peuvent de même faire une telle demande.
Lorsqu’il donne suite à une demande, le ministre publie à la Gazette officielle du Québec un arrêté indiquant les dispositions qui sont ainsi rendues applicables, la date à compter de laquelle elles s’appliquent ainsi que le territoire visé. Dans ce cas, les pouvoirs et responsabilités attribués aux municipalités locales par un règlement pris en application de la présente loi sont exercés sur le territoire visé par le conseil de bande, le village, l’Administration régionale Kativik ou le Gouvernement de la nation crie, selon le cas.
2018, c. 222018, c. 22, a. 4.
5. Toute municipalité locale est chargée de l’application sur son territoire d’un règlement pris en application de la présente loi. À cette fin, la municipalité peut désigner un fonctionnaire ou un employé de la municipalité pour agir comme inspecteur ou enquêteur sur le territoire de cette municipalité aux fins de veiller à son application.
Un fonctionnaire ou un employé ainsi désigné doit, sur demande, s’identifier et exhiber le certificat attestant sa qualité. Il ne peut être poursuivi en justice pour les actes qu’il accomplit de bonne foi dans l’exercice de ses fonctions.
2018, c. 222018, c. 22, a. 5.
6. Toute municipalité locale peut conclure une entente avec toute personne afin que celle-ci assure le respect d’un règlement pris en application de la présente loi. La personne avec laquelle la municipalité conclut une entente ainsi que ses employés ont les pouvoirs des fonctionnaires ou employés de la municipalité désignés aux seules fins de l’application de ce règlement.
2018, c. 222018, c. 22, a. 6.
7. La présente loi n’empêche pas une municipalité locale d’adopter des normes plus sévères que celles prévues par un règlement pris en application de la présente loi pourvu qu’elles ne soient pas incompatibles avec celles établies par ce règlement.
Tout règlement municipal comportant une norme moins sévère que celle prévue par un règlement pris en vertu de la présente loi est réputé modifié et la norme du règlement municipal remplacée par celle établie par le règlement pris en vertu de la présente loi.
2018, c. 222018, c. 22, a. 7.
8. Toute municipalité locale doit rendre disponibles les informations relatives à l’application de la présente loi que détermine le ministre suivant les modalités et la forme qu’il prescrit.
Les municipalités locales peuvent se communiquer un renseignement personnel, sans le consentement de la personne concernée, lorsque cette communication est nécessaire aux fins d’exercer les pouvoirs qui leur sont attribués en vertu d’un règlement pris en application de la présente loi.
2018, c. 222018, c. 22, a. 8.
9. Les municipalités locales peuvent intenter toute poursuite pénale pour une infraction à une disposition d’un règlement pris en application de la présente loi commise sur leur territoire.
L’amende appartient à la municipalité lorsqu’elle a intenté la poursuite.
Une poursuite visée au premier alinéa est intentée devant toute cour municipale ayant compétence sur le territoire où l’infraction a été commise. Les frais relatifs à une poursuite intentée devant une cour municipale appartiennent à la municipalité dont dépend cette cour, sauf la partie des frais remis par le percepteur à un autre poursuivant en vertu de l’article 345.2 du Code de procédure pénale (chapitre C-25.1) et sauf les frais remis au défendeur ou imposés à cette municipalité en vertu de l’article 223 de ce code.
2018, c. 222018, c. 22, a. 9.
10. Tout membre d’un corps de police peut surveiller l’application des dispositions d’un règlement pris en application de la présente loi dont la violation constitue une infraction sur tout territoire sur lequel il assure des services policiers.
2018, c. 222018, c. 22, a. 10.
11. Un groupe de travail, formé par le ministre de la Sécurité publique et le ministre de l’Agriculture, des Pêcheries et de l’Alimentation, est chargé de proposer des recommandations concernant l’encadrement des éleveurs de chiens afin de favoriser la protection des personnes et d’assurer la sécurité et le bien-être des chiens.
Le groupe de travail transmet aux ministres son rapport dans les 12 mois suivant sa formation.
2018, c. 222018, c. 22, a. 11.
12. La Loi sur les abus préjudiciables à l’agriculture (chapitre A-2) est abrogée.
2018, c. 222018, c. 22, a. 12.
13. Le ministre de la Sécurité publique est chargé de l’application de la présente loi.
2018, c. 222018, c. 22, a. 13.
14. (Omis).
2018, c. 222018, c. 22, a. 14.