P-37 - Tree Protection Act

Full text
chapter P-37
Tree Protection Act
PROTECTION OF TREESDecember 31 1977
As regards parks, the functions of the Minister of Sustainable Development, Environment and Parks provided for in this Act are assigned to the Minister of Forests, Wildlife and Parks. Order in Council 1291-2018 dated 18 October 2018, (2018) 150 G.O. 2 (French), 7384.
1. Notwithstanding any general or special law authorizing same, any person or any legal person constituted in Québec or elsewhere by any authority whatsoever, destroying or damaging, wholly or partly, a tree, sapling or shrub, or any underwood, anywhere other than in a forest under the management of the Minister of Natural Resources and Wildlife, without having obtained, upon petition therefor notified to the interested parties, the authorization of the Minister of Sustainable Development, Environment and Parks, unless a consent has been previously given by the owner of such tree, sapling, shrub or underwood, shall be bound to pay to the owner of such tree, sapling, shrub or underwood, in addition to actual damages, punitive damages in an amount not exceeding $200 for each such tree, sapling, shrub or underwood so wholly or partly destroyed or damaged.
Nevertheless, this section shall not apply in cases where such trees or shrubs accidentally come in contact with wires or apparatus of a public utility in a manner to endanger life or property or to interrupt service, nor in the cases falling under article 985 of the Civil Code.
R. S. 1964, c. 95, s. 1; 1973, c. 38, s. 101; 1977, c. 5, s. 14; 1979, c. 49, s. 19; 1984, c. 27, s. 83; 1988, c. 23, s. 97; 1990, c. 64, s. 37; 1994, c. 13, s. 16; 1994, c. 17, s. 75; 1999, c. 40, s. 229; 1999, c. 36, s. 158; 2003, c. 8, s. 6; 2006, c. 3, s. 35; I.N. 2016-01-01 (NCCP).
2. The sums claimed for actual or punitive damages, or both, under the authority of section 1, shall be recoverable before the Court of Québec or the Superior Court, according to the amount claimed.
R. S. 1964, c. 95, s. 2; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 17, s. 2; 1988, c. 21, s. 66; 1999, c. 40, s. 229.
3. (This section ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987).
1982, c. 21, s. 1; U. K., 1982, c. 11, Sch. B, Part I, s. 33.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 95 of the Revised Statutes, 1964, in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed effective from the coming into force of chapter P-37 of the Revised Statutes.

P-37 - Loi sur la protection des arbres

Texte complet
chapitre P-37
Loi sur la protection des arbres
PROTECTION DES ARBRES31 décembre 1977
À l’égard des parcs, les fonctions du ministre du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et des Parcs prévues à la présente loi sont confiées au ministre des Forêts, de la Faune et des Parcs. Décret 1291-2018 du 18 octobre 2018, (2018) 150 G.O. 2, 7384.
1. Nonobstant une loi générale ou spéciale l’y autorisant, toute personne ou toute personne morale constituée au Québec ou ailleurs par une autorité quelconque, qui détruit ou endommage, totalement ou partiellement, un arbre, arbuste ou arbrisseau, ou un taillis, en quelque endroit autre qu’une forêt sous la gestion du ministre des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune, sans en avoir obtenu, sur requête à cet effet notifiée aux intéressés, l’autorisation du ministre du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et des Parcs, à moins qu’un consentement n’ait été préalablement donné par le propriétaire de tel arbre, arbuste, arbrisseau ou taillis, est tenue de payer au propriétaire de tel arbre, arbuste, arbrisseau ou taillis, en sus des dommages réels, des dommages-intérêts punitifs d’un montant n’excédant pas 200 $ pour chaque arbre, arbuste, arbrisseau ou taillis ainsi détruit ou endommagé, totalement ou partiellement.
Néanmoins, cet article ne s’appliquera pas aux cas où tels arbres ou arbustes viennent accidentellement en contact avec les fils ou appareils d’une utilité publique de manière à mettre la vie ou la propriété en danger ou à interrompre le service, ni dans les cas tombant sous le coup de l’article 985 du Code civil.
S. R. 1964, c. 95, a. 1; 1973, c. 38, a. 101; 1979, c. 49, a. 19; 1984, c. 27, a. 83; 1988, c. 23, a. 97; 1990, c. 64, a. 37; 1994, c. 13, a. 16; 1994, c. 17, a. 75; 1999, c. 40, a. 229; 1999, c. 36, a. 158; 2003, c. 8, a. 6; 2006, c. 3, a. 35; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
2. Les sommes représentant les dommages-intérêts réels ou punitifs, ou les deux, réclamés sous l’autorité de l’article 1, sont recouvrables devant la Cour du Québec ou la Cour supérieure, selon le montant réclamé.
S. R. 1964, c. 95, a. 2; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 17, a. 2; 1988, c. 21, a. 66; 1999, c. 40, a. 229.
3. (Cet article a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987).
1982, c. 21, a. 1; R.-U., 1982, c. 11, ann. B, ptie I, a. 33.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 95 des Statuts refondus, 1964, tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre P-37 des Lois refondues.