P-30.2 - Act respecting the support program for Inuit beneficiaries of the James Bay and Northern Québec agreement for their hunting, fishing and trapping activities

Full text
chapter P-30.2
Act respecting the support program for Inuit beneficiaries of the James Bay and Northern Québec agreement for their hunting, fishing and trapping activities
SUPPORT PROGRAM FOR INUITDecember 16 1982December 16 1982
DIVISION I
INTERPRETATION
1. In this Act, unless the context indicates a different meaning,
beneficiary means an Inuk who is a beneficiary under the Act respecting Cree, Inuit and Naskapi Native Persons (chapter A-33.1);
hunting, fishing and trapping activities means any activity which involves the exercise of the right to harvest that the Act respecting hunting and fishing rights in the James Bay and New Québec Territories (chapter D-13.1) grants to beneficiaries;
Kativik Regional Government means the legal person established in the public interest under the Act concerning Northern Villages and the Kativik Regional Government (chapter V-6.1);
Inuit community means each of the Inuit communities, existing on 15 November 1974, of Chisasibi, Kuujjuarapik, Inukjuak, Povungnituk, Akulivik, Ivujivik, Salluit, Kangiqsujuaq, Quaqtaq, Kangirsuk, Aupaluk, Tasiujaq, Kuujjuaq, Kangiqsualujjuaq, and any other Inuit community formed thereafter and recognized by the Government in conformity with paragraph e of section 1 of the Act respecting Cree, Inuit and Naskapi Native Persons;
northern village means the municipality erected for each Inuit community under the Act concerning Northern Villages and the Kativik Regional Government or, until such municipality is created, the community council of such Inuit community or, in its absence, that which, on the advice of the Kativik Regional Government, stands in its place.
1982, c. 47, s. 1; 1996, c. 2, s. 778; 1999, c. 40, s. 223.
DIVISION II
SUPPORT PROGRAM FOR INUIT
2. A support program for beneficiaries, for their hunting, fishing and trapping activities, is established. The objectives of the program shall be to favour, encourage and perpetuate the hunting, fishing and trapping activities of the beneficiaries as a way of life and to guarantee to the Inuit communities a supply of the produce from such activities.
1982, c. 47, s. 2.
3. The beneficiaries are collectively entitled to the program established by this Act; any beneficiary may avail himself of the advantages of the program in the manner provided for by this Act and by taking into account the conditions hereof.
Any beneficiary or any northern village party to a dispute concerning the application of the program may in writing request the opinion of the Council of the Kativik Regional Government. The latter shall transmit its written opinion no later than within three days following the meeting of the Council next held after a 60-day period from the receipt of the request for opinion.
1982, c. 47, s. 3; 1996, c. 2, s. 780.
4. The amounts paid under the program shall not be used except for the following purposes:
(1)  hunting, fishing and trapping activities, with the exception of the development or financing of the activities contemplated in Chapter VII of the Act respecting hunting and fishing rights in the James Bay and New Québec Territories (chapter D-13.1);
(2)  the purchase, manufacture, construction, maintenance and repair of any community equipment or material necessary for hunting, fishing and trapping activities;
(3)  access to the regions where the beneficiaries may exercise hunting, fishing and trapping activities;
(4)  the organization of search and rescue operations for beneficiaries exercising hunting, fishing and trapping activities;
(5)  the marketing of products and by-products from hunting, fishing and trapping activities, with the exception of the development and financing of the activities contemplated in Chapter VII of the Act respecting hunting and fishing rights in the James Bay and New Québec Territories;
(6)  the domestic production of handicrafts from the products and by-products of hunting, fishing and trapping activities;
(7)  the participation of beneficiaries in courses respecting the collection, processing and marketing of furs with a view to increasing the profitability of their fur trade;
(8)  the collaboration of the beneficiaries in the preservation, improvement and restoration of wildlife habitats;
(9)  the participation of the beneficiaries in wildlife studies and management programs established with a view to assisting hunting, fishing and trapping activities;
(10)  information and publicity relating to the proper operation of the program;
(11)  the use of the services of Inuit hunters and fishermen who carry on their trade for community use;
(12)  the participation of the beneficiaries in traditional activities carried on outdoors for the benefit of an Inuit community, to the extent of 5% of the amount made available to each northern village pursuant to paragraph 2 of section 8.
1982, c. 47, s. 4; 1996, c. 2, s. 780.
DIVISION III
FUNDING OF THE PROGRAM
5. The Government alone shall assume the funding of the program and, for this purpose, shall pay to the Kativik Regional Government, for each financial period of the latter, an indexed grant which, for the year 1982, is equal to the sum of the following amounts:
(1)  $17,410 per Inuit community;
(2)  $17,410 per group of 100 beneficiaries or fraction thereof;
(3)  $19.33 per beneficiary;
(4)  15% of the total of the amounts provided for in subparagraphs 1, 2 and 3 to cover the local and regional costs of administration of the program.
This grant shall be payable in two instalments: the first, after receipt of the application contemplated in section 7, on 15 January, and the second, which shall include the annual indexation contemplated in section 6, after receipt of the information and reports contemplated in sections 11 and 14, on 15 July.
1982, c. 47, s. 5.
6. The amounts contemplated in subparagraphs 1, 2 and 3 of section 5 shall be indexed annually according to the increase in the cost of living in Québec, using the increase in the pension index provided in the Act respecting the Québec Pension Plan (chapter R-9).
Notwithstanding the first paragraph, if a separate index is established for the territory contemplated in section 2 of the Act respecting Cree, Inuit and Naskapi Native Persons (chapter A-33.1) on a basis similar to that used in Québec on 11 November 1975, the Kativik Regional Government and the Government may, by agreement, choose such index for future years.
1982, c. 47, s. 6.
DIVISION IV
ADMINISTRATION OF THE PROGRAM
7. Before 1 December each year, the Kativik Regional Government shall transmit an application for the grant to the Minister of Natural Resources and Wildlife, containing the following information:
(1)  the total number of beneficiaries;
(2)  the number of beneficiaries affiliated to each Inuit community;
(3)  the method of calculation of the grant;
(4)  a general breakdown of the grant in terms of its proposed use
(a)  according to the purposes contemplated in section 4;
(b)  for the administration of the program contemplated in section 5.
1982, c. 47, s. 7; 1994, c. 17, s. 76; 1999, c. 36, s. 159; 2004, c. 11, s. 73; 2006, c. 3, s. 35.
8. The Kativik Regional Government must
(1)  reserve 15% of the amounts received pursuant to subparagraphs 1, 2 and 3 of section 5 and allocate them for purposes of a regional or local nature or in respect of which sums have not been made available to the northern villages;
(2)  make 85% of the amounts received pursuant to subparagraphs 1, 2 and 3 of section 5 available to the northern villages according to the following formula:
(a)  for each northern village, a basic allocation equal to twice the amount of the community grant remitted to the Kativik Regional Government pursuant to subparagraph 1 of section 5;
(b)  the remainder is divided among the northern villages in proportion to the beneficiaries affiliated to the interested Inuit community.
1982, c. 47, s. 8; 1996, c. 2, s. 780.
9. The Kativik Regional Government shall prepare and, in conformity with the Act concerning Northern Villages and the Kativik Regional Government (chapter V-6.1), issue the ordinances and the by-laws necessary for the administration of the program.
1982, c. 47, s. 9.
10. The Kativik Regional Government shall administer the grant in conformity with Title VI of Part II of the Act concerning Northern Villages and the Kativik Regional Government (chapter V-6.1).
1982, c. 47, s. 10.
11. The Kativik Regional Government shall bring up to date the general breakdown contemplated in paragraph 4 of section 7 following the division and distribution contemplated in the second paragraph of section 12 and shall inform the Minister of it before 1 June each year.
1982, c. 47, s. 11.
12. A northern village must, within 90 days of the beginning of the financial period of the Kativik Regional Government, conclude an agreement under this Act with the latter respecting the payment and use of the amounts made available to it and concerning the purposes contemplated in section 4.
Any amount which is not the object of an agreement within the time prescribed in the first paragraph shall accrue to a common fund which may be divided and distributed by the Kativik Regional Government among the other northern villages, in accordance with subparagraph b of paragraph 2 of section 8, to be used for the purposes contemplated in section 4 that the villages suggest.
1982, c. 47, s. 12; 1996, c. 2, s. 779.
13. A northern village may adopt, in conformity with the Act concerning Northern Villages and the Kativik Regional Government (chapter V-6.1), the by-laws necessary for the management of an agreement concluded under section 12.
1982, c. 47, s. 13; 1996, c. 2, s. 780.
DIVISION V
ACCOUNTS AND REPORTS
14. The Kativik Regional Government must, within 60 days of the end of its financial period, transmit to the Minister a report of the implementation of the program for that financial period.
The report must contain, apart from other information that the Minister may prescribe, the following:
(1)  the amount paid by the Government to the Kativik Regional Government and the division of that amount pursuant to section 8;
(2)  the use of the grant by the Kativik Regional Government and the northern villages in terms of the purposes contemplated in section 4 and the general breakdowns contemplated in paragraph 4 of section 7;
(3)  the relevant explanations relating to the differences between budgeted and expended sums for each of the purposes contemplated in section 4;
(4)  the division of the use of the amounts accruing to the common fund contemplated in the second paragraph of section 12.
1982, c. 47, s. 14; 1996, c. 2, s. 780.
15. The Minister shall table the report of the Kativik Regional Government before the National Assembly within 30 days of its receipt. If it is received while the Assembly is not sitting, he shall table it within 30 days of the opening of the next session or, as the case may be, within 15 days of resumption.
1982, c. 47, s. 15; 1982, c. 62, s. 143.
16. The books and accounts of the Kativik Regional Government or of a northern village in respect of the administration of the program shall be audited by the Minister any time that the Government so orders.
The Government may withhold out of any subsequent grant, or reclaim, any amounts spent for purposes other than those provided for by this Act.
1982, c. 47, s. 16; 1996, c. 2, s. 780.
DIVISION VI
FINAL PROVISIONS
17. (Amendment integrated into c. S-3.2, s. 1).
1982, c. 47, s. 17.
18. The amounts required for the application of this Act shall be paid out of the sums granted annually for that purpose by Parliament.
1982, c. 47, s. 18.
19. The minister designated by the Government as the Minister of Natural Resources and Wildlife is responsible for the administration of this Act.
1982, c. 47, s. 19; 1994, c. 17, s. 76; 1999, c. 36, s. 159; 2004, c. 11, s. 73; 2006, c. 3, s. 35.
The functions of the Minister of Natural Resources and Wildlife provided for in this Act are assigned to the Minister of Forests, Wildlife and Parks. Order in Council 1291-2018 dated 18 October 2018, (2018) 150 G.O. 2 (French), 7384.
20. The program established under this Act has effect from 1983 and replaces the temporary program carried out during the preceding years.
1982, c. 47, s. 20.
21. (This section ceased to have effect on 16 December 1987).
1982, c. 47, s. 21; U. K., 1982, c. 11, Sch. B, Part I, s. 33.
22. (Omitted).
1982, c. 47, s. 22.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes and regulations (chapter R-3), chapter 47 of the statutes of 1982, in force on 1 January 1983, is repealed, except section 22, effective from the coming into force of chapter P-30.2 of the Revised Statutes.

P-30.2 - Loi sur le programme d’aide aux Inuit bénéficiaires de la Convention de la Baie James et du Nord québécois pour leurs activités de chasse, de pêche et de piégeage

Texte complet
chapitre P-30.2
Loi sur le programme d’aide aux Inuit bénéficiaires de la Convention de la Baie James et du Nord québécois pour leurs activités de chasse, de pêche et de piégeage
PROGRAMME D’AIDE AUX INUIT16 décembre 198216 décembre 1982
SECTION I
INTERPRÉTATION
1. Dans la présente loi, à moins que le contexte n’indique un sens différent, on entend par:
«activités de chasse, de pêche et de piégeage» : les activités que comporte l’exercice du droit d’exploitation que la Loi sur les droits de chasse et de pêche dans les territoires de la Baie James et du Nouveau-Québec (chapitre D‐13.1) accorde aux bénéficiaires;
«Administration régionale Kativik» : la personne morale de droit public constituée par la Loi sur les villages nordiques et l’Administration régionale Kativik (chapitre V‐6.1);
«bénéficiaire» : un inuk, bénéficiaire aux termes de la Loi sur les autochtones cris, inuit et naskapis (chapitre A‐33.1);
«communauté inuit» : chacune des communautés inuit, existant le 15 novembre 1974, de Chisasibi, Kuujjuarapik, Inukjuak, Povungnituk, Akulivik, Ivujivik, Salluit, Kangiqsujuaq, Quaqtaq, Kangirsuk, Aupaluk, Tasiujaq, Kuujjuaq, Kangiqsualujjuaq, ainsi que toute autre communauté inuit formée par la suite et reconnue par le gouvernement conformément au paragraphe e de l’article 1 de la Loi sur les autochtones cris, inuit et naskapis;
«village nordique» : la municipalité constituée pour chaque communauté inuit en vertu de la Loi sur les villages nordiques et l’Administration régionale Kativik ou, jusqu’à ce qu’une telle municipalité soit créée, le conseil communautaire de cette communauté inuit ou, en son absence, ce qui en tient lieu de l’avis de l’Administration régionale Kativik.
1982, c. 47, a. 1; 1996, c. 2, a. 778; 1999, c. 40, a. 223.
SECTION II
PROGRAMME D’AIDE AUX INUIT
2. Est établi un programme d’aide aux bénéficiaires pour leurs activités de chasse, de pêche et de piégeage. Il a pour objectifs de favoriser, d’encourager, de perpétuer, comme mode de vie, les activités de chasse, de pêche et de piégeage des bénéficiaires et d’assurer, aux communautés inuit, un approvisionnement en produits provenant de ces activités.
1982, c. 47, a. 2.
3. Les bénéficiaires ont droit collectivement au programme établi par la présente loi; tout bénéficiaire peut se prévaloir des avantages du programme de la façon prévue par la présente loi et en tenant compte des conditions de celle-ci.
Tout bénéficiaire ou tout village nordique partie à un litige concernant l’application du programme peut demander par écrit l’avis du Conseil de l’Administration régionale Kativik. Celui-ci transmet son avis écrit au plus tard dans les trois jours qui suivent la prochaine assemblée du Conseil à survenir après une période de 60 jours de la réception de la demande d’avis.
1982, c. 47, a. 3; 1996, c. 2, a. 780.
4. Les montants versés en vertu du programme ne peuvent être utilisés qu’aux fins suivantes:
1°  les activités de chasse, de pêche et de piégeage, à l’exception de la mise sur pied ou du financement des activités visées dans le chapitre VII de la Loi sur les droits de chasse et de pêche dans les territoires de la Baie James et du Nouveau-Québec (chapitre D‐13.1);
2°  l’achat, la fabrication, la construction, l’entretien et la réparation de tout équipement et matériel communautaires nécessaires pour les activités de chasse, de pêche et de piégeage;
3°  l’accès aux régions où les bénéficiaires peuvent exercer les activités de chasse, de pêche et de piégeage;
4°  l’organisation d’opérations de recherche et de sauvetage pour les bénéficiaires exerçant les activités de chasse, de pêche et de piégeage;
5°  la commercialisation des produits et sous-produits provenant des activités de chasse, de pêche et de piégeage, à l’exception de la mise sur pied ou du financement des activités visées dans le chapitre VII de la Loi sur les droits de chasse et de pêche dans les territoires de la Baie James et du Nouveau-Québec;
6°  la fabrication domestique d’objets artisanaux à partir de produits et de sous-produits provenant des activités de chasse, de pêche et de piégeage;
7°  la participation des bénéficiaires à des cours de collectage, de classement et de commercialisation des fourrures afin d’accroître la rentabilité de leur commerce des fourrures;
8°  la collaboration des bénéficiaires à la préservation, à l’amélioration et au rétablissement de l’habitat des espèces;
9°  la participation des bénéficiaires à des études sur la faune et à des programmes de gestion de la faune en vue d’aider aux activités de chasse, de pêche et de piégeage;
10°  l’information et la promotion relatives à la bonne marche du programme;
11°  l’utilisation des services de chasseurs et de pêcheurs inuit qui exercent leur métier à des fins d’usage communautaire;
12°  la participation des bénéficiaires à des activités traditionnelles s’exerçant en pleine nature au bénéfice de la communauté inuit, jusqu’à concurrence de 5% du montant mis à la disposition de chaque village nordique en vertu du paragraphe 2° de l’article 8.
1982, c. 47, a. 4; 1996, c. 2, a. 780.
SECTION III
FINANCEMENT DU PROGRAMME
5. Le gouvernement assume seul le financement du programme et, à cette fin, il verse à l’Administration régionale Kativik, pour chacun des exercices financiers de cette dernière, une subvention indexée qui, pour 1982, est égale à la somme des montants suivants:
1°  17 410 $, par communauté inuit;
2°  17 410 $, par groupe de cent bénéficiaires ou partie de cent bénéficiaires;
3°  19,33 $, par bénéficiaire;
4°  15% du total des montants visés dans les paragraphes 1°, 2° et 3° pour couvrir les frais locaux et régionaux d’administration du programme.
Cette subvention est payable en deux versements: le premier, après réception de la demande prévue par l’article 7, le 15 janvier, et l’autre, qui inclut l’indexation annuelle prévue par l’article 6, après réception des informations et rapports prévus par les articles 11 et 14, le 15 juillet.
1982, c. 47, a. 5.
6. Les montants visés dans les paragraphes 1°, 2° et 3° de l’article 5 sont indexés annuellement, en fonction de la hausse du coût de la vie au Québec, en utilisant l’accroissement de l’indice des rentes prévu par la Loi sur le régime de rentes du Québec (chapitre R‐9).
Malgré l’alinéa précédent, si un indice distinct est établi pour le territoire visé dans l’article 2 de la Loi sur les autochtones cris, inuit et naskapis (chapitre A‐33.1) sur une base analogue à celle qui était utilisée au Québec le 11 novembre 1975, l’Administration régionale Kativik et le gouvernement peuvent, d’un commun accord, choisir cet indice pour les années à venir.
1982, c. 47, a. 6.
SECTION IV
ADMINISTRATION DU PROGRAMME
7. L’Administration régionale Kativik doit, avant le 1er décembre de chaque année, transmettre au ministre des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune, la demande de subvention comprenant les renseignements suivants:
1°  le nombre total de bénéficiaires;
2°  le nombre de bénéficiaires affiliés à chaque communauté inuit;
3°  le mode de calcul de la subvention;
4°  la ventilation générale des sommes à recevoir en fonction de leur utilisation envisagée:
a)  selon les fins prévues par l’article 4;
b)  pour l’administration du programme visé à l’article 5.
1982, c. 47, a. 7; 1994, c. 17, a. 76; 1999, c. 36, a. 159; 2004, c. 11, a. 73; 2006, c. 3, a. 35.
8. L’Administration régionale Kativik doit:
1°  réserver 15% des montants perçus en vertu des paragraphes 1°, 2° et 3° de l’article 5 et les affecter à des fins de nature locale ou régionale ou pour lesquelles des fonds n’ont pas été mis à la disposition des villages nordiques;
2°  mettre 85% des montants perçus en vertu des paragraphes 1°, 2° et 3° de l’article 5 à la disposition des villages nordiques selon la formule suivante:
a)  pour chaque village nordique, une allocation de base égale au double de la subvention communautaire remise à l’Administration régionale Kativik en vertu du paragraphe 1° de l’article 5;
b)  le reste est réparti entre les villages nordiques au prorata des bénéficiaires affiliés à la communauté inuit intéressée.
1982, c. 47, a. 8; 1996, c. 2, a. 780.
9. L’Administration régionale Kativik prépare et, conformément aux dispositions de la Loi sur les villages nordiques et l’Administration régionale Kativik (chapitre V‐6.1), rend les ordonnances et les règlements nécessaires à l’administration du programme.
1982, c. 47, a. 9.
10. L’Administration régionale Kativik administre la subvention conformément au titre sixième de la deuxième partie de la Loi sur les villages nordiques et l’Administration régionale Kativik (chapitre V‐6.1).
1982, c. 47, a. 10.
11. L’Administration régionale Kativik doit mettre à jour la ventilation générale visée au paragraphe 4° de l’article 7, à la suite de la répartition et de la redistribution visées dans le deuxième alinéa de l’article 12 et en informer le ministre avant le 1er juin de chaque année.
1982, c. 47, a. 11.
12. Un village nordique doit, dans un délai de 90 jours à compter du début de l’exercice financier de l’Administration régionale Kativik, conclure avec cette dernière une entente en vertu de la présente loi relativement aux versements et à l’utilisation des montants mis à sa disposition, et concernant les fins visées dans l’article 4.
Tout montant ne faisant pas l’objet d’une telle entente dans le délai mentionné à l’alinéa précédent accroît à un fonds commun qui peut être réparti et redistribué par l’Administration régionale Kativik entre les autres villages nordiques, conformément au sous-paragraphe b du paragraphe 2° de l’article 8, pour servir aux fins visées dans l’article 4 et suggérées par les villages.
1982, c. 47, a. 12; 1996, c. 2, a. 779.
13. Un village nordique peut adopter, conformément à la Loi sur les villages nordiques et l’Administration régionale Kativik (chapitre V‐6.1), les règlements nécessaires à la gestion d’une entente intervenue en vertu de l’article 12.
1982, c. 47, a. 13; 1996, c. 2, a. 780.
SECTION V
COMPTES ET RAPPORTS
14. L’Administration régionale Kativik doit, dans les 60 jours de la fin de son exercice financier, transmettre au ministre un rapport relatif à la réalisation du programme pour cet exercice.
Ce rapport doit contenir, outre les renseignements que le ministre peut prescrire, les suivants:
1°  le montant versé par le gouvernement à l’Administration régionale Kativik et sa répartition conformément à l’article 8;
2°  l’utilisation de la subvention par l’Administration régionale Kativik et les villages nordiques en fonction des fins visées dans l’article 4 et des décomptes généraux visés dans le paragraphe 4° de l’article 7;
3°  les explications relatives aux différences entre les sommes budgétées et dépensées pour chacune des fins visées dans l’article 4;
4°  la répartition de l’utilisation des montants accrus au fonds commun visé au deuxième alinéa de l’article 12.
1982, c. 47, a. 14; 1996, c. 2, a. 780.
15. Le ministre dépose le rapport de l’Administration régionale Kativik devant l’Assemblée nationale dans les trente jours suivant sa réception. S’il le reçoit alors que l’Assemblée ne siège pas, il le dépose dans les trente jours de l’ouverture de la session suivante ou, selon le cas, dans les quinze jours de la reprise de ses travaux.
1982, c. 47, a. 15; 1982, c. 62, a. 143.
16. Les livres et comptes de l’Administration régionale Kativik ou d’un village nordique, en ce qui a trait à l’administration du programme, sont vérifiés par le ministre chaque fois que le décrète le gouvernement.
Le gouvernement peut retenir sur une subvention subséquente ou réclamer les montants dépensés à des fins autres que celles que prévoit la présente loi.
1982, c. 47, a. 16; 1996, c. 2, a. 780.
SECTION VI
DISPOSITIONS FINALES
17. (Modification intégrée au c. S-3.2, a. 1).
1982, c. 47, a. 17.
18. Les sommes requises pour l’application de la présente loi sont payées sur les sommes accordées annuellement à cette fin par le Parlement.
1982, c. 47, a. 18.
19. Le ministre des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune est chargé de l’application de la présente loi.
1982, c. 47, a. 19; 1994, c. 17, a. 76; 1999, c. 36, a. 159; 2004, c. 11, a. 73; 2006, c. 3, a. 35.
Les fonctions du ministre des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune prévues à la présente loi sont confiées au ministre des Forêts, de la Faune et des Parcs. Décret 420-2014 du 7 mai 2014, (2014) 146 G.O. 2, 1906.
20. Le programme établi en vertu de la présente loi a effet à compter de 1983 et remplace le programme appliqué de façon provisoire au cours des années précédentes.
1982, c. 47, a. 20.
21. (Cet article a cessé d’avoir effet le 16 décembre 1987).
1982, c. 47, a. 21; R.-U., 1982, c. 11, ann. B, ptie I, a. 33.
22. (Omis).
1982, c. 47, a. 22.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois et des règlements (chapitre R-3), le chapitre 47 des lois de 1982, tel qu’en vigueur le 1er janvier 1983, à l’exception de l’article 22, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre P-30.2 des Lois refondues.