P-27 - Special Procedure Act

Full text
chapter P-27
Special Procedure Act
SPECIAL PROCEDUREFebruary 21 2014January 1 2016
Repealed, 2014, c. 1, s. 824.
DIVISION I
Repealed, 1979, c. 32, s. 1.
1979, c. 32, s. 1.
1. (Repealed).
R. S. 1964, c. 22, s. 1; 1979, c. 32, s. 1.
2. (Repealed).
R. S. 1964, c. 22, s. 2; 1979, c. 32, s. 1.
3. (Repealed).
R. S. 1964, c. 22, s. 3; 1979, c. 32, s. 1.
4. (Repealed).
R. S. 1964, c. 22, s. 4; 1979, c. 32, s. 1.
DIVISION II
ALTERATION OF THE TIME OR PLACE OF HOLDING ANY COURT
5. Whenever, under any act or proclamation, the time or place for holding any term of any court is altered, and any person has been ordered to appear or to do any other thing in such court which must be done in term, on a day which by reason of such alteration is no longer a day in term, or at a place where the court is no longer held, then such thing shall be done by such person on the first juridical day in the term, ordinary or extraordinary, next after that on which, but for such alteration, it ought to have been done, unless the court appoints another day, and at the place where the court is then held, and to which the records and documents of the court are removed, and at which all matters commenced at the former place of holding the court shall be continued and completed.
R. S. 1964, c. 22, s. 5.
DIVISION III
Repealed, 1979, c. 32, s. 1.
1979, c. 32, s. 1.
6. (Repealed).
R. S. 1964, c. 22, s. 6; 1979, c. 32, s. 1.
DIVISION IV
Repealed, 1979, c. 32, s. 1.
1979, c. 32, s. 1.
7. (Repealed).
R. S. 1964, c. 22, s. 7; 1979, c. 32, s. 1.
DIVISION V
Repealed, 1979, c. 32, s. 1.
1979, c. 32, s. 1.
8. (Repealed).
R. S. 1964, c. 22, s. 8; 1979, c. 32, s. 1.
DIVISION VI
EVIDENCE TAKEN IN QUÉBEC AT THE REQUEST OF A COURT OF ANOTHER BRITISH POSSESSION OR OF A FOREIGN COUNTRY
9. When, upon petition to that effect, it is shown to the Superior Court or to one of the judges thereof, charged with the administration of justice in the district, that a court of any other Province of Canada, or of any other British possession, or of a foreign country, before which any civil or commercial case is pending, desires to have the evidence of any party or witness in the district, such court or judge may order that such party or witness may be examined under oath, either by means of question in writing or otherwise, before any person mentioned in the said order, and may summon, by the same or by a subsequent order, such party or witness to appear for examination, and may order him to produce any writing or document mentioned in the order, or any other writing or document relating to the matter, and which may be in his possession.
The same rule applies, with the necessary modifications, when an inquiry commission instituted by the Governor General in Council or by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council of another province of Canada desires to have the evidence of a witness.
R. S. 1964, c. 22, s. 16; 1974, c. 11, s. 34.
10. The commission for the examination of witnesses issued by the court or tribunal before which the case is pending or by the commission before which the hearing being held shall be sufficient proof in support of the petition.
R. S. 1964, c. 22, s. 17; 1974, c. 11, s. 34.
11. The petition may not, however, be granted unless the petitioner furnishes a surety possessing all the qualities and the solvency required by articles 2337 and 2338 of the Civil Code, to secure the payment of the indemnity which may be due to the persons summoned to give evidence.
R. S. 1964, c. 22, s. 18; 1999, c. 40, s. 219.
12. Such order shall be served on the party or the witness in the ordinary way, by delivering to him a copy certified by the clerk. The time for service shall be that fixed by article 280 of the Code of Civil Procedure (chapter C-25).
R. S. 1964, c. 22, s. 19; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 80, a. 1.
13. After the service of the order as well as of a notice fixing the day and place of the hearing, and signed by the person or one of the persons entrusted with the hearing of the evidence, and after the payment or the tender of a sum sufficient to defray his travelling expenses at the rate usually allowed by the court of the district, the person so summoned shall be bound to appear at the place, day and hour mentioned, and to reply to the questions put to him; and the provisions of articles 284 and 313 of the Code of Civil Procedure (chapter C-25) shall be applicable to him if he either fails to appear or, without valid reason, refuses to answer.
R. S. 1964, c. 22, s. 20; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 80, a. 1.
14. The examination must be held either at the court house or at some other place in the local municipal territory in which the sittings of the court are held.
Nevertheless, if the party or the witness resides at a distance of more than 160 km from the place where the sittings of the court are held, the court or the judge may allow that he be examined in the locality where he resides.
R. S. 1964, c. 22, s. 21; 1984, c. 47, s. 213; 1996, c. 2, s. 777.
15. The oath shall be administered by the person or one of the persons authorized to receive such evidence.
R. S. 1964, c. 22, s. 22.
16. The provisions of the Code of Civil Procedure (chapter C-25) respecting the competence of witnesses and the examination thereof, must be followed whenever it is possible to apply them to examinations held under this Division.
R. S. 1964, c. 22, s. 23.
17. Any person so summoned to give evidence shall be entitled, for his expenses and loss of time, to his travelling expenses and the indemnity allowed to witnesses summoned to give evidence at a trial.
R. S. 1964, c. 22, s. 24.
18. The costs of the witnesses shall be taxed by the clerk, and the taxation shall be executory against the surety 15 days after the date of the examination.
R. S. 1964, c. 22, s. 25.
19. The surety may obtain a discharge by depositing in the hands of the clerk the amount of the costs and indemnity due to the party or the witness, with, in addition, the duty payable upon judicial deposits. The amount so deposited shall be paid by the clerk to the person entitled thereto, upon production of the copy of the order which was served upon him.
R. S. 1964, c. 22, s. 26.
20. The tariff of the Superior Court shall apply to every proceeding taken under this Division.
R. S. 1964, c. 22, s. 27.
DIVISION VII
BURNT COURT HOUSES
21. By order published in the Gazette officielle du Québec, the Government may, at any time, extend to any judicial district of Québec, the court house of which has been destroyed by fire, the provisions of chapter 15 of the statutes of 1873/1874, to remedy the losses caused by the burning of the Québec court house; and, thereupon, on and after the day fixed in such order, such provisions shall apply, with the necessary modifications, to every such judicial district.
1969, c. 21, s. 28.
DIVISION VIII
This Division ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987.
22. (This section ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987).
1982, c. 21, s. 1; U. K., 1982, c. 11, Sch. B, Part I, s. 33.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 22 of the Revised Statutes, 1964, in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed, except sections 9 to 15, effective from the coming into force of chapter P-27 of the Revised Statutes.

P-27 - Loi sur certaines procédures

Texte complet
chapitre P-27
Loi sur certaines procédures
PROCÉDURES SPÉCIALES21 février 20141er janvier 2016
Abrogée, 2014, c. 1, a. 824.
SECTION I
Abrogée, 1979, c. 32, a. 1.
1979, c. 32, a. 1.
1. (Abrogé).
S. R. 1964, c. 22, a. 1; 1979, c. 32, a. 1.
2. (Abrogé).
S. R. 1964, c. 22, a. 2; 1979, c. 32, a. 1.
3. (Abrogé).
S. R. 1964, c. 22, a. 3; 1979, c. 32, a. 1.
4. (Abrogé).
S. R. 1964, c. 22, a. 4; 1979, c. 32, a. 1.
SECTION II
DU CHANGEMENT DE L’ÉPOQUE OU DU LIEU DE LA TENUE DE LA COUR
5. Chaque fois que, en vertu de quelque acte ou proclamation, le temps ou le lieu fixé pour la tenue d’un terme d’une cour est changé, et qu’une personne a un ordre de comparaître ou de faire toute autre chose dans cette cour pendant le terme, à un jour qui, par suite de tel changement, n’est plus un jour du terme, ou à un endroit où la cour n’est plus tenue, cette chose est alors faite par telle personne le premier jour non férié dans le terme ordinaire ou extraordinaire qui suit immédiatement celui durant lequel, sans ce changement, la chose aurait dû être faite, à moins que le tribunal ne fixe un autre jour, et à l’endroit où la cour est alors tenue et auquel les archives et documents de la cour sont transportés et où toutes les matières commencées dans l’endroit où elle était tenue avant doivent se continuer et se terminer.
S. R. 1964, c. 22, a. 5.
SECTION III
Abrogée, 1979, c. 32, a. 1.
1979, c. 32, a. 1.
6. (Abrogé).
S. R. 1964, c. 22, a. 6; 1979, c. 32, a. 1.
SECTION IV
Abrogée, 1979, c. 32, a. 1.
1979, c. 32, a. 1.
7. (Abrogé).
S. R. 1964, c. 22, a. 7; 1979, c. 32, a. 1.
SECTION V
Abrogée, 1979, c. 32, a. 1.
1979, c. 32, a. 1.
8. (Abrogé).
S. R. 1964, c. 22, a. 8; 1979, c. 32, a. 1.
SECTION VI
DES ENQUÊTES TENUES AU QUÉBEC SUR DEMANDE DE TRIBUNAUX DE TOUTE AUTRE POSSESSION BRITANNIQUE OU D’UN PAYS ÉTRANGER
9. Lorsque, sur requête à cette fin, il est prouvé à la Cour supérieure ou à l’un des juges de cette cour, chargé d’administrer la justice dans le district, qu’un tribunal de toute autre province du Canada, ou de toute autre possession britannique, ou d’un pays étranger, devant lequel est pendante une cause civile ou commerciale, désire avoir le témoignage de quelque partie ou témoin qui se trouve dans le district, le tribunal ou ce juge peut ordonner que la partie ou le témoin soit interrogé sous serment, par questions écrites ou autrement, devant toute personne dénommée au dit ordre, et peut assigner, par le même ordre ou par un ordre subséquent, cette partie ou ce témoin à comparaître pour rendre témoignage et lui enjoindre de produire tous écrits ou documents mentionnés dans l’ordre, ou tous autres écrits ou documents relatifs à l’affaire et qui sont en sa possession.
La même règle s’applique, compte tenu des adaptations nécessaires, lorsqu’une commission d’enquête instituée par le gouverneur général en conseil ou le lieutenant-gouverneur en conseil d’une autre province canadienne désire avoir le témoignage d’un témoin.
S. R. 1964, c. 22, a. 16; 1974, c. 11, a. 34.
10. Les lettres rogatoires de la cour de justice ou tribunal devant lequel la cause est pendante ou celles de la commission devant laquelle se tient l’enquête sont une preuve suffisante à l’appui de la requête.
S. R. 1964, c. 22, a. 17; 1974, c. 11, a. 34.
11. La requête ne peut cependant être accordée à moins que le requérant ne fournisse une caution ayant toutes les qualités et la solvabilité requises par les articles 2337 et 2338 du Code civil, pour garantir le paiement de l’indemnité qui pourra être due aux personnes assignées à rendre témoignage.
S. R. 1964, c. 22, a. 18; 1999, c. 40, a. 219.
12. La signification de cet ordre à la partie ou au témoin se fait de la manière ordinaire, en lui délivrant une copie certifiée par le greffier. Le délai d’assignation est celui fixé par l’article 280 du Code de procédure civile (chapitre C‐25).
S. R. 1964, c. 22, a. 19; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 80, a. 1.
13. Après la signification de l’ordre ainsi que d’un avis fixant le jour et le lieu de l’audition et signé par la personne ou l’une des personnes chargées d’entendre le témoignage, et après le paiement ou l’offre d’une somme suffisante pour défrayer les frais de voyage au taux ordinaire alloué par le tribunal du district, la personne ainsi assignée est obligée de comparaître aux lieu, jour et heure indiqués, et de répondre aux questions qui lui sont posées; et les dispositions des articles 284 et 313 du Code de procédure civile (chapitre C-25) lui sont applicables, selon qu’elle fait défaut de comparaître, ou que, sans raison valable, elle refuse de répondre.
S. R. 1964, c. 22, a. 20; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 80, a. 1.
14. L’enquête doit être tenue, soit au palais de justice, soit en tout autre endroit du territoire municipal local où siège le tribunal.
Cependant, si la partie ou le témoin réside à plus de 160 km du lieu des séances du tribunal, le tribunal ou le juge peut permettre qu’il soit interrogé dans la localité où il réside.
S. R. 1964, c. 22, a. 21; 1984, c. 47, a. 213; 1996, c. 2, a. 777.
15. Le serment est reçu par la personne ou l’une des personnes autorisées à recueillir la preuve.
S. R. 1964, c. 22, a. 22.
16. Les dispositions du Code de procédure civile (chapitre C-25) relatives à la compétence des témoins et à leur examen, doivent être suivies, lorsqu’elles peuvent s’appliquer aux enquêtes tenues en vertu de la présente section.
S. R. 1964, c. 22, a. 23.
17. Quiconque est ainsi cité en témoignage a droit, pour ses dépenses et perte de temps aux frais de route et à l’indemnité qui sont accordés aux témoins assignés à rendre témoignage dans un procès.
S. R. 1964, c. 22, a. 24.
18. Les frais des témoins sont taxés par le greffier, et la taxe est exécutoire contre la caution, 15 jours après la date de l’examen.
S. R. 1964, c. 22, a. 25.
19. La caution peut se libérer en déposant entre les mains du greffier le montant des frais et de l’indemnité dus à la partie ou au témoin, avec, en outre, la commission exigible sur les dépôts judiciaires. Le montant ainsi déposé est payé par le greffier à la personne qui y a droit, sur production de la copie de l’ordre qui lui a été signifié.
S. R. 1964, c. 22, a. 26.
20. Le tarif de la Cour supérieure s’applique aux procédures prises en vertu de la présente section.
S. R. 1964, c. 22, a. 27.
SECTION VII
DES PALAIS DE JUSTICE INCENDIÉS
21. Par décret publié à la Gazette officielle du Québec, le gouvernement peut, en tout temps étendre à tout district judiciaire du Québec, où un palais de justice a été détruit par l’incendie, les dispositions du chapitre 15 des lois de 1873/1874, pour remédier aux pertes causées par l’incendie du palais de justice de Québec, lesquelles dispositions, le ou après le jour fixé dans le décret, s’appliquent, compte tenu des adaptations nécessaires, à tout tel district.
1969, c. 21, a. 28.
SECTION VIII
Cette section a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987.
22. (Cet article a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987).
1982, c. 21, a. 1; R.-U., 1982, c. 11, ann. B, ptie I, a. 33.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R-3), le chapitre 22 des Statuts refondus, 1964, tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, à l’exception des articles 9 à 15, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre P-27 des Lois refondues.