P-23 - Fire Prevention Act

Full text
chapter P-23
Fire Prevention Act
FIRE PREVENTIONJune 16 2000September 1 2000
Chapter P-23 is replaced by the Fire Safety Act (chapter S‐3.4). (2000, c. 20, s. 158).
2000, c. 20, s. 158.
1. (Repealed).
1968, c. 52, s. 1; 1977, c. 5, s. 14; 1984, c. 40, s. 23.
2. (Repealed).
1968, c. 52, s. 2; 1978, c. 15, s. 140; 1983, c. 55, s. 161; 1984, c. 40, s. 23.
3. The Minister of Public Security is responsible for fire prevention in Québec.
For such purpose he shall, either personally or through any functionary whom he designates:
(a)  collect from the government departments and bodies, and from municipalities, the available information respecting their policies, programs, projects and achievements in matters of fire protection;
(b)  provide for the establishment of a central information and statistics service respecting fire protection and fire-fighting and for the keeping of such service at the disposal of the municipalities and of any others interested;
(c)  organize a research service to improve methods of fire protection and fire-fighting;
(d)  visit municipalities and advise them in matters of fire protection and fire-fighting;
(e)  give his opinion to the various government departments and bodies on the problems of fire protection and fire-fighting;
(f)  provide for the diffusion of information and advice to the public generally on the means of preventing fires;
(g)  further the formation of associations whose object is to promote fire prevention.
He may also offer training and improvement courses in matters of fire protection and fire-fighting to members of any fire-brigade and to persons who are preparing to become members thereof.
1968, c. 52, s. 3; 1984, c. 40, s. 24; 1988, c. 46, s. 10.
4. The Government, by regulation, may,
(a)  determine the training and improvement programs in matters of fire prevention to be given in the schools established by municipalities for the members of their fire-brigades and the persons who wish to become members thereof;
(a.1)  determine the training requirements and the other qualifications required of members of fire departments, according to determined classes;
(b)  subject to the provisions of the Public Buildings Safety Act (chapter S-3), prescribe the minimum measures of fire protection which must be taken by the owners and occupants of buildings in the categories which it designates, including appliances for fire-alarms, fire protection and fire-fighting which must be installed therein and their characteristics, determine the steps to be taken for keeping such appliances in good condition at all times and the tests they must undergo;
(c)  prescribe the minimum standards of efficiency for appliances for fire-alarms, fire protection and fire-fighting which may be manufactured, sold or otherwise distributed in Québec, their characteristics and the notices which must accompany the same, and prohibit the manufacture, sale and distribution of appliances that are not in conformity with such standards;
(d)  subject to the provisions of the Fuel Tax Act (chapter T-1), and of the Public Buildings Safety Act (chapter S-3), determine the minimum standards of safety under which inflammable substances must be transported, kept and stored;
(e)  determine the form and tenor of the notices and of the returns which it may require under this Act or the regulations made thereunder, and the time within which such notices and returns must be furnished to it.
They shall have effect notwithstanding any inconsistent provision of the charter or by-laws of a municipality.
1968, c. 52, s. 4; 1984, c. 40, s. 25; 1997, c. 48, s. 1; 1999, c. 40, s. 217.
5. The director or chief of the fire-brigade of any local municipality in whose territory a fire or explosion has destroyed or damaged a building, or the person in charge of the fire protection service in such territory or, if there is no such chief or person, the secretary-treasurer or clerk of the municipality, shall give notice of such fire or explosion to the Minister as soon as possible.
1968, c. 52, s. 5; 1984, c. 40, s. 26; 1996, c. 2, s. 776.
6. The Minister, subject to the powers conferred upon any competent fire investigation commissioner by the Fire Investigations Act (chapter E-8), may enter, at any reasonable hour of the day, any immovable, private or public, to ensure the carrying out of this Act and the regulations made thereunder, and make an investigation into any fire or explosion which has destroyed or damaged a building, in order to examine the measures taken to prevent and fight such fire or explosion. He may also delegate such power, in writing, to any person whom he designates for the territory indicated by him.
For the purposes of any investigation, the Minister or any person to whom he has delegated his powers, shall be exofficio a peace officer.
1968, c. 52, s. 6; 1984, c. 40, s. 27.
7. The Minister may, following a fire or explosion which has destroyed or damaged a building, compel any fire insurance company doing business in Québec, any claims adjuster, chief of a fire-brigade, secretary-treasurer or clerk of a municipality, and any person who incurs a loss in consequence of such a fire or explosion, to communicate to him the findings that such persons or their representatives or employees have made on the occasion of such fire or explosion, and the information which they have respecting such fire or explosion, the causes thereof and the nature and extent of the damages.
He may also require of any fire insurance company doing business in Québec a report on the insurance policies in force respecting any building that has been burnt, or destroyed or damaged by an explosion. Such report must contain all the information provided for by the regulations made under this act.
1968, c. 52, s. 7; 1984, c. 40, s. 28.
8. When a building is in such a condition that the risks of fire or explosion that it presents or the consequences of a fire that it has sustained or of an explosion which has destroyed or damaged it endanger persons or property, a judge of the Superior Court sitting in the district where such building is situated may, upon motion by the Attorney General presented even during a suit, order the owner of the building or any other person in charge thereof to perform the works necessary to ensure the safety of such persons or property or, if there is no other effective remedy, and if the owner has been impleaded, to demolish the building within such time as he fixes, and order that on failure to do so within such time, the Minister may perform such works or effect such demolition at the expense of the owner of the building.
In case of exceptional urgency, the judge may authorize the Minister to perform such works or effect such demolition forthwith, and the latter may claim the cost thereof from the owner.
When the owner of the building or the person in charge thereof is unknown or of doubtful identity or cannot be found, the judge may authorize the Minister to perform the works or effect the demolition forthwith, and the latter may claim the cost thereof from the owner of the building if he identifies or finds him.
The judge may also in all cases order the persons who inhabit the building to vacate the same within such time as he fixes.
The motion shall be served in the manner prescribed by the judge unless he dispenses with service; it shall be heard and decided by preference; when it is presented, the judge may authorize the parties to file a written contestation within such time as he determines and fix a date for proof and hearing; he may also require any evidence that he deems necessary.
1968, c. 52, s. 8; 1984, c. 40, s. 29; 1999, c. 40, s. 217.
9. Any person who hinders or attempts to hinder a person doing anything that he is obliged or authorized by this Act to do, knowingly gives him incorrect information, misleads him by a false declaration, refuses to give him information which he is entitled to obtain under this Act or the regulations, refuses or neglects to obey an order which he is authorized to give by this Act or the regulations, or contravenes this Act or the regulations made thereunder, is guilty of an offence and liable to a fine of not less than $50 nor more than $200 for the first offence, and in the case of a second or subsequent conviction to a fine of not less than $100 nor more than $1 000.
1968, c. 52, s. 9; 1984, c. 40, s. 30; 1990, c. 4, s. 655.
10. The Minister may grant subsidies to any municipality to assist it in preventing and fighting fires.
1968, c. 52, s. 10 (part); 1984, c. 40, s. 31.
11. The Minister of Public Security shall have charge of the carrying out of this Act.
1968, c. 52, s. 11; 1988, c. 46, s. 11.
12. (This section ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987).
1982, c. 21, s. 1; U. K., 1982, c. 11, Sch. B, Part I, s. 33.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 52 of the statutes of 1968, in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed, except sections 10 (part) and 13, effective from the coming into force of chapter P-23 of the Revised Statutes.
Section 4 of this Act will be amended upon the coming into force of section 267 of chapter 34 of the statutes of 1985 on the date fixed by order of the Government.

P-23 - Loi sur la prévention des incendies

Texte complet
chapitre P-23
Loi sur la prévention des incendies
PRÉVENTION DES INCENDIES16 juin 20001er septembre 2000
Le chapitre P-23 est remplacé par la Loi sur la sécurité incendie (chapitre S‐3.4). (2000, c. 20, a. 158).
2000, c. 20, a. 158.
1. (Abrogé).
1968, c. 52, a. 1; 1984, c. 40, a. 23.
2. (Abrogé).
1968, c. 52, a. 2; 1978, c. 15, a. 140; 1983, c. 55, a. 161; 1984, c. 40, a. 23.
3. Le ministre de la Sécurité publique est chargé de la prévention des incendies au Québec.
Il doit à cette fin, soit lui-même, soit par l’entremise de tout fonctionnaire qu’il désigne:
a)  recueillir auprès des ministères et organismes du gouvernement ainsi que des municipalités, les renseignements disponibles concernant leurs politiques, leurs programmes, leurs projets et leurs réalisations en matière de protection contre les incendies;
b)  pourvoir à l’établissement d’un service central de renseignements et de statistiques concernant la protection et la lutte contre les incendies et au maintien de ce service à la disposition des municipalités et de tout autre intéressé;
c)  organiser un service de recherches pour améliorer les méthodes de protection et de lutte contre les incendies;
d)  visiter les municipalités, et les conseiller en matière de protection et de lutte contre les incendies;
e)  donner son avis aux divers ministères et organismes du gouvernement sur les problèmes de protection et de lutte contre les incendies;
f)  pourvoir à la diffusion de renseignements et de conseils à l’adresse du public en général sur les moyens de prévenir les incendies;
g)  favoriser la formation d’associations dont l’objet est de promouvoir la prévention des incendies.
Il peut aussi offrir des cours de formation et de perfectionnement, en matière de protection et de lutte contre les incendies, aux membres de toute brigade de pompiers ainsi qu’aux personnes qui se préparent à en devenir membres.
1968, c. 52, a. 3; 1984, c. 40, a. 24; 1988, c. 46, a. 10.
4. Le gouvernement peut, par règlement:
a)  déterminer les programmes de formation et de perfectionnement en matière de prévention des incendies qui doivent être suivis dans les écoles établies par les municipalités pour les membres de leurs brigades de pompiers et les personnes qui désirent en devenir membres;
a.1)  déterminer les exigences de formation ainsi que les autres qualités requises des membres des services d’incendie, en fonction de catégories déterminées;
b)  sous réserve des dispositions de la Loi sur la sécurité dans les édifices publics (chapitre S‐3), prescrire les mesures minimales de protection contre les incendies qui doivent être prises par les propriétaires et occupants de bâtiments dans les catégories qu’il désigne, y compris les dispositifs d’avertissement, de protection et de lutte contre l’incendie qui doivent y être installés et leurs caractéristiques, déterminer les mesures qui doivent être prises pour maintenir ces dispositifs en bon état en tout temps et les essais qu’ils doivent subir;
c)  prescrire les normes minimales d’efficacité des dispositifs d’avertissement, de protection et de lutte contre les incendies qui peuvent être fabriqués, vendus ou autrement mis en circulation au Québec, les caractéristiques qu’ils doivent avoir et les notices qui doivent les accompagner, et prohiber la fabrication, la vente et la mise en circulation des dispositifs qui ne sont pas conformes à ces normes;
d)  sous réserve des dispositions de la Loi concernant la taxe sur les carburants (chapitre T‐1), et de la Loi sur la sécurité dans les édifices publics (chapitre S‐3) déterminer les normes minimales de sécurité suivant lesquelles doivent être transportées, gardées et entreposées les matières inflammables;
e)  déterminer la forme et la teneur des avis et des rapports que la présente loi ou les règlements adoptés sous son autorité l’autorisent à exiger, et le délai dans lequel ces avis et rapports doivent lui être fournis.
Ils ont effet nonobstant toute disposition inconciliable de la charte ou des règlements d’une municipalité.
1968, c. 52, a. 4; 1968, c. 23, a. 8; 1984, c. 40, a. 25; 1997, c. 48, a. 1.
5. Le directeur ou chef de la brigade de pompiers de toute municipalité locale sur le territoire de laquelle un incendie ou une explosion a détruit ou endommagé un bâtiment, ou la personne qui dirige, sur ce territoire, le service de protection contre les incendies ou, s’il n’existe pas un tel chef ou une telle personne, le secrétaire-trésorier ou le greffier de la municipalité, doit, le plus tôt possible donner au ministre avis de cet incendie ou de cette explosion.
1968, c. 52, a. 5; 1984, c. 40, a. 26; 1996, c. 2, a. 776.
6. Le ministre peut, sous réserve des pouvoirs conférés par la Loi concernant les enquêtes sur les incendies (chapitre E‐8), à tout commissaire-enquêteur sur les incendies ayant compétence, entrer, à toute heure raisonnable du jour, dans tout immeuble, privé ou public, pour assurer l’exécution de la présente loi et des règlements qui sont adoptés sous son autorité et faire une investigation sur tout incendie et toute explosion qui a détruit ou endommagé un bâtiment, en vue d’examiner les moyens pris pour prévenir et combattre cet incendie ou cette explosion. Il peut aussi déléguer ce pouvoir, par écrit, à toute personne qu’il désigne pour le territoire qu’il indique.
Aux fins de toute investigation, le ministre ou toute personne à qui il a délégué ses pouvoirs, sont d’office agents de la paix.
1968, c. 52, a. 6; 1984, c. 40, a. 27.
7. Le ministre peut, à la suite d’un incendie ou à la suite d’une explosion qui a détruit ou endommagé un bâtiment, obliger toute compagnie d’assurance contre le feu faisant affaires dans le Québec, tout expert en sinistres, tout chef d’une brigade de pompiers, tout secrétaire-trésorier ou greffier d’une municipalité, ainsi que toute personne qui encourt une perte par suite d’un tel incendie ou d’une telle explosion, à lui communiquer les constatations que ces personnes ou leurs représentants ou employés ont faites à l’occasion d’un tel incendie ou d’une telle explosion, et les renseignements qu’elles possèdent relativement à cet incendie ou cette explosion, à leurs causes, à la nature et à l’étendue des dommages.
Il peut également requérir de toute compagnie d’assurance contre le feu faisant affaires dans le Québec, un rapport sur les polices d’assurance en vigueur sur tout bâtiment incendié ou détruit ou endommagé par une explosion. Un tel rapport doit contenir tous les renseignements qui sont prévus par les règlements adoptés en vertu de la présente loi.
1968, c. 52, a. 7; 1974, c. 70, a. 474; 1984, c. 40, a. 28.
8. Lorsqu’un bâtiment est dans un état tel que les risques d’incendie ou d’explosion qu’il présente ou les suites d’un incendie qu’il a subi ou d’une explosion qui l’a détruit ou endommagé mettent en danger des personnes ou des biens, un juge de la Cour supérieure siégeant dans le district où est situé ce bâtiment peut, sur requête du Procureur général présentée même en cours d’instance, enjoindre au propriétaire du bâtiment ou à toute autre personne qui en a la garde d’exécuter les travaux requis pour assurer la sécurité de telles personnes ou de tels biens ou, s’il n’existe pas d’autre remède utile, et si le propriétaire a été mis en cause, de procéder à la démolition du bâtiment dans le délai qu’il fixe, et ordonner qu’à défaut de ce faire dans ce délai, le ministre pourra exécuter ces travaux ou procéder à cette démolition aux frais du propriétaire du bâtiment.
En cas d’urgence exceptionnelle, le juge peut autoriser le ministre à exécuter ces travaux ou à procéder à cette démolition sur-le-champ et ce dernier peut en réclamer le coût du propriétaire.
Lorsque le propriétaire du bâtiment ou la personne qui a la garde du bâtiment est inconnu, introuvable ou incertain, le juge peut autoriser le ministre à exécuter les travaux ou à procéder à la démolition sur-le-champ et ce dernier peut en réclamer le coût du propriétaire du bâtiment s’il vient à le connaître ou à le trouver.
Le juge peut aussi dans tous les cas, enjoindre aux personnes qui habitent le bâtiment de l’évacuer dans le délai qu’il fixe.
La requête doit être signifiée de la manière prescrite par le juge à moins qu’il ne dispense de toute signification; elle est instruite et jugée d’urgence; le juge peut, lors de la présentation de la requête, permettre aux parties de produire une contestation écrite dans le délai qu’il détermine et fixer une date pour l’enquête et l’audition; il peut aussi requérir toute preuve qu’il estime nécessaire.
1968, c. 52, a. 8; 1984, c. 40, a. 29.
9. Quiconque entrave ou tente d’entraver une personne qui fait un acte que la présente loi l’oblige ou l’autorise à faire, lui fournit sciemment des renseignements inexacts, la trompe par une fausse déclaration, refuse de lui donner un renseignement qu’elle a droit d’obtenir en vertu de la présente loi ou des règlements, refuse ou néglige d’obéir à un ordre que la présente loi ou les règlements l’autorisent à donner, ou contrevient à la présente loi ou aux règlements adoptés en vertu de la présente loi, commet une infraction et est passible d’une amende d’au moins 50 $ et d’au plus 200 $ pour une première infraction, et au cas de récidive, d’une amende d’au moins 100 $ et d’au plus 1 000 $.
1968, c. 52, a. 9; 1984, c. 40, a. 30; 1990, c. 4, a. 655.
10. Le ministre peut accorder à toute municipalité des subventions pour l’aider à prévenir et combattre les incendies.
1968, c. 52, a. 10 (partie); 1984, c. 40, a. 31.
11. Le ministre de la Sécurité publique est chargé de l’application de la présente loi.
1968, c. 52, a. 11; 1988, c. 46, a. 11.
12. (Cet article a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987).
1982, c. 21, a. 1; R.-U., 1982, c. 11, ann. B, ptie I, a. 33.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 52 des lois de 1968, tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, à l’exception des articles 10 (partie) et 13, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre P-23 des Lois refondues.
L’article 4 de la présente loi sera modifié lors de l’entrée en vigueur de l’article 267 du chapitre 34 des lois de 1985 à la date fixée par décret du gouvernement.