P-21 - Student Loans and Scholarships Act

Full text
chapter P-21
Student Loans and Scholarships Act
STUDENT LOANS AND SCHOLARSHIPSJune 8 1990June 8 1990
Chapter P-21 is replaced by the Act respecting financial assistance for students (chapter A-13.3). (1990, c. 11, s. 61).
1990, c. 11, s. 61.
1. In this Act and in the regulations, unless the context indicates a different meaning, the following expressions mean:
(a)  approved loan : a loan granted by a credit institution to a student in conformity with this Act, the regulations and the certificate, for an amount not exceeding that mentioned in the certificate;
(b)  scholarship : pecuniary assistance granted gratuitously to a student by the Minister;
(c)  student : a person enrolled in an educational institution at the post-secondary level who is recognized as a student by the regulations;
(d)  certificate : a certificate issued by the Minister under section 2;
(e)  credit institution : a bank within the meaning of the Bank Act (Revised Statutes of Canada, 1985, chapter B-1) or the Québec Savings Banks Act (Revised Statutes of Canada, 1970, chapter B-4), a savings and credit union governed by the Savings and Credit Unions Act (chapter C-4.1) and any other corporation qualified to make loans and recognized by the Minister as a credit institution for the purposes of this Act;
(f)  Minister : the Minister of Higher Education and Science;
(g)  regulations : the regulations made under this Act.
1966-67, c. 70, s. 1; 1976, c. 37, s. 1; 1985, c. 21, s. 96; 1988, c. 41, s. 88; 1988, c. 64, s. 587.
2. The Minister, by means of a certificate, may authorize a student to contract a loan under this Act from a credit institution.
The certificate must indicate whether the interest is payable by the Government or by the borrower while he remains a student.
1966-67, c. 70, s. 2; 1976, c. 37, s. 2; 1977, c. 5, s. 14.
3. A certificate shall be issued only to a student who has not or whose parents have not the necessary means to enable him to undertake or continue his studies and suitably to meet his needs.
Notwithstanding the first paragraph, a certificate may be issued without taking into account the means of the student or of his parents where it is issued for the purchase of supplies and where the interest is payable by the borrower during the course of his studies.
1966-67, c. 70, s. 3; 1985, c. 30, s. 67.
4. A student who is a minor and who receives an approved loan shall be deemed to be of age for the purposes of such loan.
1966-67, c. 70, s. 4.
5. The Government is authorized to pay to any credit institution which has made an approved loan the interest on the balance of such loan at the rate fixed by the regulations, as long as the borrower is a student unless the certificate indicates that the interest is payable by the student during the course of his studies.
For the purposes of the preceding paragraph, a borrower who terminates his studies before 1 July in any year shall be deemed to remain a student until 31 December of the same year; a student who terminates his studies after 1 July in one year shall be deemed to remain a student until 30 June of the following year.
For the purposes of this section, the word student includes any person who has formerly received a loan under this Act and who is enrolled on a full-time basis in a secondary school within the meaning of the Education Act (chapter I-13.3) an of the Education Act for Cree, Inuit and Naskapi Native Persons (chapter I-14) or in an institution governed by the Act respecting private education (chapter E-9) providing general or vocational education at the secondary level.
1966-67, c. 70, s. 5; 1976, c. 37, s. 3; 1977, c. 5, s. 14; 1985, c. 30, s. 68; 1988, c. 84, s. 698.
6. The Government shall guarantee to any credit institution the reimbursement of the losses in principal and interest resulting from approved loans and the expenses allowed by regulation and incurred to obtain payment of the principal and interest of such loans.
The Government is subrogated in the rights of any credit institution to which it makes a repayment under this section, to the extent of the amount so reimbursed.
The rights of a credit institution against a student to whom it has made an approved loan are extinguished upon his death. In such a case, the Government shall pay to the credit institution the amount in principal and interest owed by the student on the date of his death or on the date fixed by the Minister in cases where the credit institution was not notified within thirty days following death.
1966-67, c. 70, s. 6; 1976, c. 37, s. 4; 1977, c. 5, s. 14.
7. Except in the cases provided for in the regulations, the Minister shall grant a scholarship to a student only if the latter has obtained a loan certificate for the amount provided for by the regulations and the amount of such loan is insufficient to enable him to undertake or continue his studies and to suitably meet his needs.
1966-67, c. 70, s. 7; 1976, c. 37, s. 5; 1983, c. 23, s. 112.
8. The Minister, if he is of the opinion that, since the student applies for a loan or scholarship, there has been a change in his situation that alters the information he formerly furnished, may cancel the certificate or scholarship or reduce the amount of the scholarship.
The student shall, on request, reimburse to the Government the part of the scholarship to which he is not entitled.
1966-67, c. 70, s. 8; 1976, c. 37, s. 6; 1977, c. 5, s. 14; 1985, c. 30, s. 69.
8.1. Every student having produced an application for a loan or scholarship shall inform the Minister without delay of any change in his situation that may render him ineligible for a certificate or scholarship or may reduce the amount of the loan or scholarship.
1985, c. 30, s. 69.
9. Any person who knowingly makes a false declaration for the purpose of obtaining or causing to be obtained a certificate or a scholarship is guilty of an offence and liable, on summary proceeding, to a fine of not more than $1 000.
Part II of the Summary Convictions Act (chapter P-15) shall apply to offences contemplated in this section.
1966-67, c. 70, s. 9.
10. Any student who knowingly makes a false declaration for the purpose of obtaining a certificate or a scholarship shall, should the case arise, reimburse to the Government the amounts paid by it as a result of the issue of such certificate and the amount of the scholarship obtained; such student may not obtain either a certificate or a scholarship during a period of two years following the date of such declaration.
1966-67, c. 70, s. 10; 1977, c. 5, s. 14.
11. The Minister may recognize, on such conditions as he shall determine, the educational institutions in which a student may enroll and the courses of study which he may follow there in order to benefit from the provisions of this Act.
The Minister may establish a list of the supplies in respect of which a loan may be granted and the classes of students who may obtain such a loan.
1966-67, c. 70, s. 11; 1985, c. 30, s. 70.
12. On the recommendation of the Minister, the Government, by regulation, may:
(a)  taking into account the nature and duration of the courses of study followed by a student, fix the maximum amount, the terms of repayment and the other conditions which shall apply to an approved loan;
(b)  determine the basic rate and the method of computation of the interest payable by the Government or by the student on approved loans and, in certain cases, fix the rate of interest;
(c)  determine the conditions of application of section 5 when the borrower has ceased to be a student and again becomes one;
(d)  prescribe the forms the Minister may establish and the information he may require;
(e)  determine conditions of residence and citizenship that a student must meet in order to benefit from the provisions of this Act;
(f)  determine the standards for the granting of scholarships and the maximum amounts thereof;
(f.1)  determine the number of school terms during which a student may obtain a loan certificate or a scholarship;
(f.2)  determine the time limits for the producing of documents and those beyond which an application for financial assistance may be refused or the amount of assistance reduced;
(g)  prescribe such other measures as it considers appropriate for the carrying out of this Act.
The regulations made under this Act shall be published in the Gazette officielle du Québec.
1966-67, c. 70, s. 12; 1976, c. 37, s. 7; 1977, c. 5, s. 14; 1985, c. 30, s. 71.
13. The Government may authorize the Minister to make agreements with any person, society, corporation, institution or government for the purpose of facilitating the carrying out of this Act.
1966-67, c. 70, s. 13.
14. (This section ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987).
1982, c. 21, s. 1; U. K., 1982, c. 11, Sch. B, Part I, s. 33.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 70 of the statutes of 1966/1967, in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed, except sections 14 to 17, effective from the coming into force of chapter P-21 of the Revised Statutes.

P-21 - Loi sur les prêts et bourses aux étudiants

Texte complet
chapitre P-21
Loi sur les prêts et bourses aux étudiants
PRÊTS ET BOURSES AUX ÉTUDIANTS8 juin 19908 juin 1990
Le chapitre P-21 est remplacé par la Loi sur l’aide financière aux étudiants (chapitre A‐13.3). (1990, c. 11, a. 61).
1990, c. 11, a. 61.
1. Dans la présente loi et dans les règlements, à moins que le contexte n’indique un sens différent, les expressions suivantes signifient:
a)  «prêt approuvé» : un prêt consenti à un étudiant par une institution de crédit conformément aux dispositions de la présente loi, des règlements et du certificat, et pour un montant n’excédant pas celui qui est indiqué dans le certificat;
b)  «bourse» : une aide pécuniaire accordée par le ministre à un étudiant, à titre gratuit;
c)  «étudiant» : une personne inscrite dans une institution d’enseignement au niveau post-secondaire et qui est reconnue comme étudiant par les règlements;
d)  «certificat» : un certificat délivré par le ministre en vertu de l’article 2;
e)  «institution de crédit» : une banque au sens de la Loi sur les banques (Lois révisées du Canada (1985), chapitre B-1) ou de la Loi sur les banques d’épargne du Québec (Statuts revisés du Canada (1970), chapitre B-4), une caisse d’épargne et de crédit régie par la Loi sur les caisses d’épargne et de crédit (chapitre C‐4.1) ainsi que toute autre corporation habilitée à consentir des prêts et que le ministre reconnaît comme institution de crédit aux fins de la présente loi;
f)  «ministre» : le ministre de l’Enseignement supérieur et de la Science;
g)  «règlements» : les règlements adoptés en vertu de la présente loi.
1966-67, c. 70, a. 1; 1976, c. 37, a. 1; 1985, c. 21, a. 96; 1988, c. 41, a. 88; 1988, c. 64, a. 587.
2. Le ministre peut, au moyen d’un certificat, autoriser un étudiant à contracter sous le régime de la présente loi un emprunt auprès d’une institution de crédit.
Le certificat doit indiquer si l’intérêt à payer est à la charge du gouvernement ou de l’emprunteur pendant que ce dernier est étudiant.
1966-67, c. 70, a. 2; 1976, c. 37, a. 2.
3. Le certificat peut être délivré uniquement à l’étudiant qui n’a pas, ou dont les parents n’ont pas, les ressources nécessaires pour lui permettre d’entreprendre ou poursuivre ses études et subvenir convenablement à ses besoins.
Toutefois le certificat peut être délivré sans tenir compte des ressources de l’étudiant ou de ses parents, lorsqu’il est émis pour l’achat de matériel et que les intérêts sont payables par l’emprunteur pendant qu’il est étudiant.
1966-67, c. 70, a. 3; 1985, c. 30, a. 67.
4. L’étudiant mineur qui obtient un prêt approuvé est réputé majeur pour les fins de ce prêt.
1966-67, c. 70, a. 4.
5. Le gouvernement paiera à toute institution de crédit qui a consenti un prêt approuvé l’intérêt sur le solde de ce prêt au taux fixé par les règlements, pendant que l’emprunteur est étudiant, sauf si le certificat mentionne que l’intérêt est à la charge de l’étudiant pendant ses études.
Aux fins de l’alinéa précédent, l’emprunteur qui termine ses études avant le 1er juillet d’une année est réputé demeurer étudiant jusqu’au 31 décembre de la même année; celui qui termine ses études après le 1er juillet d’une année est réputé demeurer étudiant jusqu’au 30 juin de l’année suivante.
Aux fins du présent article, le mot étudiant comprend la personne qui a déjà obtenu un prêt en vertu de la présente loi et qui est inscrite à temps complet dans une école de niveau secondaire au sens de la Loi sur l’instruction publique (chapitre I‐13.3) et de la Loi sur l’instruction publique pour les autochtones cris, inuit et naskapis (chapitre I‐14) ou dans une institution régie par la Loi sur l’enseignement privé (chapitre E‐9) qui dispense un enseignement général ou professionnel de niveau secondaire.
1966-67, c. 70, a. 5; 1976, c. 37, a. 3; 1985, c. 30, a. 68; 1988, c. 84, a. 698.
6. Le gouvernement garantit à toute institution de crédit le remboursement des pertes de principal et d’intérêt résultant de prêts approuvés, ainsi que des dépenses admises par règlement et encourues pour obtenir le paiement du principal et de l’intérêt de ces prêts.
Le gouvernement est subrogé aux droits d’une institution de crédit à laquelle il fait un remboursement en vertu du présent article jusqu’à concurrence du montant ainsi remboursé.
Les droits d’une institution de crédit a l’encontre d’un étudiant auquel elle a consenti un prêt approuvé s’éteignent par le décès de ce dernier. Dans un tel cas, le gouvernement doit payer à l’institution de crédit le montant du capital et des intérêts dû par l’étudiant à la date de son décès, ou à la date fixée par le ministre dans les cas où l’institution de crédit n’a pas été avisée dans les trente jours suivant le décès.
1966-67, c. 70, a. 6; 1976, c. 37, a. 4.
7. Sauf dans les cas prévus aux règlements, le ministre peut accorder une bourse à un étudiant uniquement si celui-ci a obtenu un certificat de prêt pour le montant prévu par les règlements et si le montant de ce prêt est insuffisant pour lui permettre d’entreprendre ou poursuivre ses études et subvenir convenablement à ses besoins.
1966-67, c. 70, a. 7; 1976, c. 37, a. 5; 1983, c. 23, a. 112.
8. Le ministre peut, s’il est d’avis qu’il s’est produit depuis que l’étudiant a fait sa demande de prêt ou de bourse un changement dans sa situation qui modifie les renseignements qu’il a déjà fournis, annuler le certificat ou la bourse ou réduire le montant de celle-ci.
L’étudiant doit, sur demande, rembourser au gouvernement le montant de la bourse auquel il n’a pas droit.
1966-67, c. 70, a. 8; 1976, c. 37, a. 6; 1985, c. 30, a. 69.
8.1. L’étudiant qui a produit une demande de prêt ou de bourse doit aviser sans délai le ministre de tout changement dans sa situation qui peut avoir pour effet de le rendre inadmissible à un certificat ou à une bourse ou de réduire le montant du prêt ou de la bourse.
1985, c. 30, a. 69.
9. Quiconque fait sciemment une fausse déclaration en vue d’obtenir ou de faire obtenir un certificat ou une bourse est coupable d’une infraction et passible, sur poursuite sommaire, d’une amende d’au plus 1 000 $.
La partie II de la Loi sur les poursuites sommaires (chapitre P‐15) s’applique aux infractions visées par le présent article.
1966-67, c. 70, a. 9.
10. L’étudiant qui, en vue d’obtenir un certificat ou une bourse, fait sciemment une fausse déclaration doit, le cas échéant, rembourser au gouvernement les montants que celui-ci a déboursés en conséquence de la délivrance de ce certificat et le montant de la bourse obtenue; cet étudiant ne peut obtenir un certificat ni une bourse pendant une période de deux ans après la date de cette déclaration.
1966-67, c. 70, a. 10.
11. Il est loisible au ministre de reconnaître, aux conditions qu’il détermine, les institutions d’enseignement où un étudiant peut s’inscrire et les cours d’études qu’il peut y suivre pour bénéficier des dispositions de la présente loi.
Le ministre peut établir une liste du matériel qui peut faire l’objet d’un prêt et les catégories d’étudiants qui peuvent en bénéficier.
1966-67, c. 70, a. 11; 1985, c. 30, a. 70.
12. Sur la recommandation du ministre, le gouvernement peut par règlement:
a)  fixer, en tenant compte de la nature et de la durée des cours d’études suivis par l’étudiant, le montant maximum, les modalités de remboursement et les autres conditions qui s’appliquent au prêt approuvé;
b)  déterminer le taux de base et la méthode de calcul de l’intérêt payable par le gouvernement ou l’étudiant sur les prêts approuvés et dans certains cas fixer le taux de cet intérêt;
c)  déterminer les modalités d’application de l’article 5 dans le cas où l’emprunteur a cessé d’être étudiant et le devient à nouveau;
d)  prévoir les formules que le ministre peut établir et les renseignements qu’il peut exiger;
e)  déterminer des conditions concernant la résidence et la citoyenneté qu’un étudiant doit remplir pour bénéficier des dispositions de la présente loi;
f)  déterminer les normes d’attribution des bourses et leurs montants maximum;
f.1)  déterminer le nombre de sessions d’études pendant lesquelles un étudiant peut obtenir un certificat de prêt ou une bourse;
f.2)  déterminer les délais pour la production de documents et ceux au-delà desquels une demande d’aide financière peut être refusée ou le montant d’aide diminué;
g)  prescrire toute autre mesure qu’il juge appropriée pour la mise à exécution de la présente loi.
Les règlements adoptés en vertu de la présente loi sont publiés dans la Gazette officielle du Québec.
1966-67, c. 70, a. 12; 1968, c. 23, a. 8; 1976, c. 37, a. 7; 1985, c. 30, a. 71.
13. Le gouvernement peut autoriser le ministre à conclure avec toute personne, société, corporation, institution ou gouvernement des conventions ayant pour objet de faciliter la mise à exécution de la présente loi.
1966-67, c. 70, a. 13.
14. (Cet article a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987).
1982, c. 21, a. 1; R.-U., 1982, c. 11, ann. B, ptie I, a. 33.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 70 des lois de 1966/1967, tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, à l’exception des articles 14 à 17, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre P-21 des Lois refondues.