P-2 - Act respecting the payment of certain fines

Full text
chapter P-2
Act respecting the payment of certain fines
PAYMENT OF CERTAIN FINESApril 11 1990October 1 1990
1990, c. 4, s. 615.
1. The Minister of Justice shall have charge of the carrying out of this Act.
R. S. 1964, c. 36, s. 1; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 16, s. 21.
1.1. The proceeds of any fine or forfeiture attributed to Québec under the Criminal Code (Revised Statutes of Canada, 1985, chapter C-46) or under federal penal legislation may be recovered in accordance with the provisions of Chapter XIII of the Code of Penal Procedure (chapter C-25.1).
1997, c. 4, s. 1.
2. Every person condemned to pay a fine or a fine and costs may free himself:
(a)  by paying, before the issuing of a notice of execution or of a warrant of commitment, the sum fixed, to the clerk of the court which or of the judge who imposed it;
(b)  by paying, after the issue of a notice of execution or of a warrant of commitment, to any peace officer or other person charged with its execution, the total amount of the fine and costs;
(c)  by paying, after commitment, to the gaoler or keeper of the correctional facility in which he is imprisoned, the total amount of the fine and of the costs stated in the order for commitment.
The peace officer or person charged with the execution of the notice of execution or warrant of commitment, who receives the amount mentioned in such notice or warrant, shall forthwith pay the same to the clerk of the court which or of the judge who issued such notice or warrant.
The gaoler or keeper of the correctional facility shall forthwith pay the sum received to the clerk of the court which or of the judge who gave the order for commitment for non-payment.
R. S. 1964, c. 36, s. 2; 1969, c. 21, s. 35; 1990, c. 4, s. 616; 1997, c. 4, s. 2; 2002, c. 24, s. 209; I.N. 2016-01-01 (NCCP).
3. With the exception of the officers of justice enumerated in section 4, every person acting as clerk of a justice of the peace who receives from an offender, gaoler, peace officer or other person a fine imposed under the Criminal Code (Revised Statutes of Canada, 1985, chapter C-46) or a federal penal law shall transmit the same without delay to the Minister of Justice, by cheque or money-order payable to the order of the Minister of Finance who is authorized to pay it to those indicated by law as being entitled thereto.
R. S. 1964, c. 36, s. 3; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 16, s. 21; 1990, c. 4, s. 617; 1992, c. 61, s. 424; 1997, c. 4, s. 3.
4. The clerks who receive the fines shall transmit them, within the shortest possible delay, to those indicated by law as being entitled thereto, in accordance with such instructions as may have been given to them by order of the Minister.
R. S. 1964, c. 36, s. 4; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 17, s. 2; 1988, c. 21, s. 66; 1989, c. 52, s. 134; 1992, c. 61, s. 425; 1997, c. 4, s. 4; 1999, c. 40, s. 203.
5. If there be no provisions to the contrary, the fines recovered under the above provisions shall form part of the Consolidated Revenue Fund and shall, in consequence, be transmitted to the Ministère des Finances.
R. S. 1964, c. 36, s. 5; 1977, c. 5, s. 14.
6. (Repealed).
R. S. 1964, c. 36, s. 6; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 16, s. 21; 1997, c. 4, s. 5.
7. Notwithstanding the above provisions, the Government may, by contract, authorize the remittance, in whole or in part, of any fine, pecuniary penalty or confiscation, which otherwise should belong to the State, to the municipality which entirely or partially bears the cost of the administration of the Act under which such fine, pecuniary penalty or confiscation is imposed, or allow it to be applied in any other way deemed the best for the purpose and good administration of this Act.
Should such be the case, the clerks mentioned in sections 3 and 4 must submit to the conditions of any contract accepted by the Government.
R. S. 1964, c. 36, s. 7; 1999, c. 40, s. 203.
8. (Repealed).
R. S. 1964, c. 36, s. 8; 1997, c. 4, s. 6.
9. Every person who contravenes any provision of this Act or of the regulations thereunder shall be liable to a fine not exceeding $20.
R. S. 1964, c. 36, s. 9; 1990, c. 4, s. 618.
10. (This section ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987).
1982, c. 21, s. 1; U. K., 1982, c. 11, Sch. B, Part I, s. 33.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 36 of the Revised Statutes, 1964, in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed effective from the coming into force of chapter P-2 of the Revised Statutes.

P-2 - Loi sur le paiement de certaines amendes

Texte complet
chapitre P-2
Loi sur le paiement de certaines amendes
PAIEMENT DE CERTAINES AMENDES11 avril 19901er octobre 1990
1990, c. 4, a. 615.
1. Le ministre de la Justice est chargé de l’exécution de la présente loi.
S. R. 1964, c. 36, a. 1; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 16, a. 21.
1.1. Le produit de toute amende ou confiscation attribué au Québec en vertu du Code criminel (Lois révisées du Canada (1985), chapitre C-46) ou d’une loi pénale fédérale peut être recouvré selon les dispositions prévues au Chapitre XIII du Code de procédure pénale (chapitre C‐25.1).
1997, c. 4, a. 1.
2. Toute personne condamnée au paiement d’une amende ou d’une amende et des frais peut se libérer:
a)  en payant, avant l’émission d’un avis d’exécution ou d’un mandat d’emprisonnement, la somme déterminée, au greffier de la cour ou du juge qui l’a imposée;
b)  en payant, après l’émission d’un avis d’exécution ou d’un mandat d’emprisonnement, à l’agent de la paix ou à toute autre personne chargée de leur exécution, le montant total de l’amende et des frais;
c)  en payant, après incarcération, au geôlier ou au gardien de l’établissement de détention où elle est détenue le montant total de l’amende et des frais déterminés sur l’ordre d’emprisonnement.
L’agent de la paix ou la personne chargée de l’exécution d’un avis d’exécution ou d’un mandat d’emprisonnement, qui reçoit le montant mentionné sur ce dernier, doit, sans délai, le verser au greffier de la cour ou du juge qui a rendu jugement.
Le geôlier ou le gardien de l’établissement de détention doit, sans délai, verser la somme reçue au greffier de la cour ou du juge qui a donné l’ordre d’emprisonnement à défaut de paiement.
S. R. 1964, c. 36, a. 2; 1969, c. 21, a. 35; 1990, c. 4, a. 616; 1997, c. 4, a. 2; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
3. Sauf les officiers de justice énumérés à l’article 4, toute personne agissant comme greffier d’un juge de paix, qui reçoit d’un délinquant, d’un geôlier, d’un agent de la paix ou de toute autre personne une amende imposée en vertu du Code criminel (Lois révisées du Canada (1985), chapitre C-46) ou d’une loi pénale fédérale doit la transmettre, sans délai, au ministre de la Justice, par chèque ou mandat de poste payable à l’ordre du ministre des Finances lequel est autorisé à la verser aux ayants droit désignés par la loi.
S. R. 1964, c. 36, a. 3; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 16, a. 21; 1990, c. 4, a. 617; 1992, c. 61, a. 424; 1997, c. 4, a. 3.
4. Les greffiers qui reçoivent les amendes doivent, dans le plus court délai possible, les remettre aux ayants droit désignés par la loi et conformément aux instructions qui peuvent leur être données par arrêté du ministre.
S. R. 1964, c. 36, a. 4; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 17, a. 2; 1988, c. 21, a. 66; 1989, c. 52, a. 134; 1992, c. 61, a. 425; 1997, c. 4, a. 4; 1999, c. 40, a. 203.
5. S’il n’existe pas de dispositions contraires les amendes recouvrées conformément aux dispositions ci-dessus forment partie du fonds consolidé du revenu et elles sont en conséquence transmises au ministère des Finances.
S. R. 1964, c. 36, a. 5.
6. (Abrogé).
S. R. 1964, c. 36, a. 6; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 16, a. 21; 1997, c. 4, a. 5.
7. Nonobstant les dispositions ci-dessus, le gouvernement peut, par contrat, permettre que toute amende, peine pécuniaire ou confiscation, qui autrement appartiendrait à l’État, soit remise en totalité ou en partie à la municipalité qui supporte totalement ou partiellement les frais d’administration de la loi en vertu de laquelle cette amende, peine pécuniaire ou confiscation est imposée, ou qu’elle soit appliquée de toute autre manière jugée la plus propre à atteindre le but de la présente loi et à en assurer la bonne administration.
Le cas échéant les greffiers mentionnés dans les articles 3 et 4 doivent se conformer aux conditions de tout contrat accepté par le gouvernement.
S. R. 1964, c. 36, a. 7; 1999, c. 40, a. 203.
8. (Abrogé).
S. R. 1964, c. 36, a. 8; 1997, c. 4, a. 6.
9. Quiconque contrevient à une disposition de la présente loi ou d’un de ses règlements est passible d’une amende maximale de 20 $.
S. R. 1964, c. 36, a. 9; 1990, c. 4, a. 618.
10. (Cet article a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987).
1982, c. 21, a. 1; R.-U., 1982, c. 11, ann. B, ptie I, a. 33.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 36 des Statuts refondus, 1964, tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre P-2 des Lois refondues.