p-19 - Press Act

Full text
chapter P-19
Press Act
PRESSDecember 31 1977
1. For the purposes of this Act, the word newspaper means every newspaper or periodical writing the publication whereof for sale or distribution free of charge is made at successive and determined periods, appearing on a fixed day or by irregular issues, but more than once a month and whose object is to give news, opinions, comments or advertisements.
R. S. 1964, c. 48, s. 1; 1997, c. 30, s. 1.
2. Every person who deems himself injured by an article published in a newspaper and who wishes to claim damages must institute his action within the three months following the publication of such article, or within three months after his having had knowledge of such publication, provided, in the latter case, that the action be instituted within one year from the publication of the article complained of.
R. S. 1964, c. 48, s. 2.
3. No such action may be brought against the proprietor of the newspaper, unless, personally or through his attorney, the party who deems himself injured gives a previous notice thereof of three days, not being holidays, at the office of the newspaper or at the domicile of the proprietor, so as to allow such newspaper to rectify or retract the article complained of.
R. S. 1964, c. 48, s. 3.
4. If the newspaper fully retracts and establishes good faith, in its issue published on the day following the receipt of such notice or on the day next after such day, only damages for the injury actually sustained may be claimed.
R. S. 1964, c. 48, s. 4; 1999, c. 40, s. 216.
5. Such retraction must be published by the newspaper gratis and in as conspicuous a place in the newspaper as the article complained of.
R. S. 1964, c. 48, s. 5.
6. Whenever the newspaper is not a daily, the rectification must, at the choice of the party who deems himself injured, and at the newspaper’s expense, be published in a newspaper of the judicial district or of a neighbouring judicial district, as well as in the next issue of the newspaper itself.
R. S. 1964, c. 48, s. 6.
7. The newspaper shall also publish at its expense any reply which the party who deems himself injured may communicate to it, provided that same be ad rem, be not unreasonably long and be couched in fitting terms.
R. S. 1964, c. 48, s. 7.
8. Whenever the party who deems himself injured has both obtained a retraction and exercised the right to reply, no prosecution may issue if the newspaper publishes such retraction and reply without further comment.
R. S. 1964, c. 48, s. 8.
9. No newspaper may avail itself of the provisions of this Act in the following cases:
(a)  when the party who deems himself injured is accused by the newspaper of a criminal offence;
(b)  when the article complained of refers to a candidate and was published within the three days prior to the nomination day and up to the polling day in a parliamentary or municipal election.
R. S. 1964, c. 48, s. 9.
10. Provided that the facts be accurately reported and in good faith, the publication in a newspaper of the following is privileged:
(a)  reports of the proceedings of the Senate, the House of Commons, the National Assembly and of their committees from which the public is not excluded and reports of the Public Protector laid before the National Assembly;
(b)  any notice, bulletin or recommendation emanating from a Government or municipal health service;
(c)  public notices given by the Government or by a person authorized by it respecting the solvency of certain legal persons or regarding the value of certain issues of bonds, shares or stock;
(d)  reports of the sittings of the courts provided they be not held in camera, and that the reports be accurate.
This provision shall not, however, affect or diminish the rights of the press under common law.
R. S. 1964, c. 48, s. 10; 1968, c. 9, s. 77, s. 90; 1968, c. 11, s. 40; 1977, c. 5, s. 14; 1982, c. 62, s. 143; 2009, c. 52, s. 597.
11. The judge may, during a suit for defamation against a newspaper, order the plaintiff to furnish security for costs, provided that the defendant himself furnishes security to satisfy the judgment. The amount of security in each instance shall be left to the sole discretion of the judge.
R. S. 1964, c. 48, s. 11.
12. No newspaper may avail itself of the provisions of this Act if the formalities required by the Newspaper Declaration Act (chapter J-1) have not been complied with.
R. S. 1964, c. 48, s. 12.
13. Every judgment condemning a newspaper at fault must be published in the said newspaper, and at its expense, on the order of the court which rendered the judgment, under penalty of contempt of court.
R. S. 1964, c. 48, s. 13.
14. (This section ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987).
1982, c. 21, s. 1; U. K., 1982, c. 11, Sch. B, Part I, s. 33.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 48 of the Revised Statutes, 1964, in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed effective from the coming into force of chapter P-19 of the Revised Statutes.

P-19 - Loi sur la presse

Texte complet
chapitre P-19
Loi sur la presse
PRESSE31 décembre 1977
1. Le mot «journal» , aux fins de la présente loi, signifie tout journal ou écrit périodique dont la publication à des fins de vente ou de distribution gratuite a lieu à des périodes successives et déterminées, paraissant soit à jour fixe, soit par livraisons et irrégulièrement, mais plus d’une fois par mois et dont l’objet est de donner des nouvelles, des opinions, des commentaires ou des annonces.
S. R. 1964, c. 48, a. 1; 1997, c. 30, a. 1.
2. Toute personne qui se croit lésée par un article publié dans un journal et veut réclamer des dommages-intérêts, doit intenter son action dans les trois mois qui suivent la publication de cet article, ou dans les trois mois qu’elle a eu connaissance de cette publication, pourvu, dans ce dernier cas, que l’action soit intentée dans le délai d’un an du jour de la publication de l’article incriminé.
S. R. 1964, c. 48, a. 2.
3. Aucune telle action ne peut être intentée contre le propriétaire du journal, sans que la partie qui se croit lésée, par elle-même ou par procureur, n’en donne avis préalable de trois jours ouvrables, au bureau du journal, ou au domicile du propriétaire, de manière à permettre à ce journal de rectifier ou de rétracter l’article incriminé.
S. R. 1964, c. 48, a. 3; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
4. Si le journal, dans le numéro publié le jour ou le lendemain du jour qui suit la réception de cet avis, se rétracte d’une manière complète et justifie de sa bonne foi, seuls les dommages-intérêts en réparation du préjudice réellement subi peuvent être réclamés.
S. R. 1964, c. 48, a. 4; 1999, c. 40, a. 216.
5. Telle rétractation doit être publiée par le journal gratis et dans un endroit du journal aussi en vue que l’article incriminé.
S. R. 1964, c. 48, a. 5.
6. Si le journal n’est pas quotidien, la rectification, au choix de la partie qui se croit lésée, doit être publiée, aux frais du journal, dans un journal du district judiciaire ou d’un district judiciaire voisin, ainsi que dans le journal même dans son prochain numéro.
S. R. 1964, c. 48, a. 6.
7. Le journal doit également publier à ses frais, pourvu qu’elle soit ad rem, qu’elle ne soit pas démesurément longue et qu’elle soit couchée dans des termes convenables, toute réponse que la partie qui se croit lésée lui fera tenir.
S. R. 1964, c. 48, a. 7.
8. Quand la partie qui se croit lésée aura à la fois obtenu rétractation et usé du droit de réponse, il n’y aura plus lieu à poursuite si le journal publie ces rétractation et réponse sans autre commentaire.
S. R. 1964, c. 48, a. 8.
9. Le journal ne peut pas se prévaloir des dispositions de la présente loi dans les cas suivants:
a)  si la partie qui se croit lésée est accusée par le journal d’une offense criminelle;
b)  si l’article incriminé a trait à un candidat et a été publié dans les trois jours qui précèdent le jour de la mise en nomination et jusqu’au jour du scrutin dans une élection parlementaire ou municipale.
S. R. 1964, c. 48, a. 9.
10. Pourvu que les faits soient rapportés exactement et de bonne foi, la publication, dans un journal, de ce qui suit est privilégiée:
a)  les rapports des délibérations du Sénat, de la Chambre des Communes, de l’Assemblée nationale et de leurs comités d’où le public n’a pas été exclu ainsi que les rapports du Protecteur du citoyen déposés devant l’Assemblée nationale;
b)  tout avis, bulletin ou recommandation émanant d’un service d’hygiène gouvernemental ou municipal;
c)  les avis publics donnés par le gouvernement ou par une personne autorisée par lui au sujet de la solvabilité de certaines personnes morales ou relativement à la valeur de certaines émissions d’obligations, actions ou stocks;
d)  les rapports des séances des tribunaux pourvu qu’elles ne soient pas tenues à huis clos, et qu’ils soient fidèles.
La présente disposition n’affecte cependant ni ne diminue les droits de la presse en vertu du droit commun.
S. R. 1964, c. 48, a. 10; 1968, c. 9, a. 77, a. 90; 1968, c. 11, a. 40; 1982, c. 62, a. 143; 2009, c. 52, a. 597.
11. Il est loisible au juge, au cours d’une instance pour diffamation contre un journal, d’ordonner au demandeur de fournir un cautionnement pour les frais, pourvu que le défendeur en fournisse un lui-même de satisfaire à la condamnation. Dans chaque cas, le montant du cautionnement est laissé à l’entière discrétion du juge.
S. R. 1964, c. 48, a. 11.
12. Aucun journal ne peut se prévaloir des dispositions de la présente loi si les formalités prévues par la Loi sur les journaux et autres publications (chapitre J‐1) n’ont pas été observées.
S. R. 1964, c. 48, a. 12.
13. Tout jugement portant condamnation doit être publié dans le journal incriminé, et à ses frais, sur l’ordre du tribunal qui l’a prononcé, sous peine d’outrage au tribunal.
S. R. 1964, c. 48, a. 13; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 80, a. 1.
14. (Cet article a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987).
1982, c. 21, a. 1; R.-U., 1982, c. 11, ann. B, ptie I, a. 33.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R-3), le chapitre 48 des Statuts refondus, 1964, tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre P-19 des Lois refondues.