O-1 - Sunday Observance Act

Full text
chapter O-1
Sunday Observance Act
SUNDAY OBSERVANCEDecember 19 1986February 15 1987
Repealed, 1986, c. 95, s. 207.
1986, c. 95, s. 207.
DIVISION I
GENERAL PROVISIONS
1. The laws of this Legislature, whether general or special, respecting the observance of Sunday, and in force on the 28th of February, 1907 (the date of the coming into force of chapter 42 of the statutes of 1907), shall continue in force until amended, replaced or repealed; and every person shall be and remain entitled to do on Sunday any act not forbidden by the acts of this Legislature in force on the said date, and, subject to the restrictions contained in this division, to enjoy on Sunday all such liberties as are recognized by the customs of Québec.
R. S. 1964, c. 302, s. 1.
2. No person shall, on Sunday, for gain, except in cases of necessity or urgency, do or cause to be done any industrial work, or pursue any business or calling.
R. S. 1964, c. 302, s. 2; 1971, c. 19, s. 204.
3. Every offence against this division shall be punishable, for a first offence, by a fine of not less than $1 nor more than $40, with costs, and, in default of payment thereof, by imprisonment for not more than thirty days, and for every subsequent offence by a fine of not more than $100, and, in default of payment, by imprisonment for not more than sixty days.
R. S. 1964, c. 302, s. 3.
4. The fine shall belong to the Crown, but may be recovered only by a Canadian citizen or a citizen of the Commonwealth, within the two months next following the commission of the offence, before a judge of the sessions of the peace, municipal judge, judge of the Provincial Court or two justices of the peace, under the provisions of the Summary Convictions Act (chapter P-15); and whenever any person violates any of the provisions of this division, and such offence is also an offence against another law, the offender may be prosecuted either under the provisions of this division or under those of any other law applicable to the alleged offence.
R. S. 1964, c. 302, s. 4; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 17, s. 2; S. C. 1974-75-76, c. 108, s. 31.
5. Nothing in this division shall repeal the acts of this Legislature in force on the 28th of February, 1907, respecting the observance of Sunday, nor any by-laws passed thereunder, which laws and by-laws shall continue in full force and effect until amended, replaced or repealed according to law.
R. S. 1964, c. 302, s. 5.
6. Nothing contained in this division shall restrict the privileges granted or recognized by chapter L-13 of the Revised Statutes of Canada, 1970.
R. S. 1964, c. 302, s. 6.
DIVISION II
SALE OF GOODS ON SUNDAY
7. No shopkeeper, peddler, hawker or other person shall sell or retail any goods, wares or merchandise during Sunday under penalty of a fine of not more than $20 for the first offence, and not less than $20 nor more than $40 for every subsequent offence.
Nevertheless, articles collected from the public for churches, and those destined for pious purposes, may be sold on Sunday at the doors of country churches.
R. S. 1964, c. 302, s. 7.
8. Any such fine may be recovered before the justice of the peace nearest to the place where the offence is committed, who shall hear and determine such offence in a summary way, either by voluntary confession of the party accused or upon the oath of one or more credible witnesses other than the prosecutor, except where such prosecutor is a churchwarden, constable or peace officer, in which case he shall be a competent witness; and, in default of payment of the sum forfeited, it shall be recovered by seizure and sale of the offender’s goods and chattels, by warrant under the hand of such justice, addressed to any peace officer; and any surplus of the moneys so recovered, after deducting the forfeiture and reasonable charges of seizure and sale taxed by a justice of the peace, shall be returned to the offender.
R. S. 1964, c. 302, s. 8.
9. One-half of every such fine collected under this division shall belong to the person prosecuting, and the other half to Her Majesty for public purposes.
R. S. 1964, c. 302, s. 9.
10. No prosecution under this division shall be instituted against any person for any such fine unless it be commenced within two months after the commission of the offence.
R. S. 1964, c. 302, s. 10.
DIVISION III
SPECIAL PROVISION
11. This Act shall operate notwithstanding the provisions of sections 2 and 7 to 15 of the Constitution Act, 1982 (Schedule B of the Canada Act, chapter 11 in the 1982 volume of the Acts of the Parliament of the United Kingdom).
1982, c. 21, s. 1.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 302 of the Revised Statutes, 1964, in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed effective from the coming into force of chapter O-1 of the Revised Statutes.

O-1 - Loi sur l’observance du dimanche

Texte complet
chapitre O-1
Loi sur l’observance du dimanche
OBSERVANCE DU DIMANCHE19 décembre 198615 février 1987
Abrogée, 1986, c. 95, a. 207.
1986, c. 95, a. 207.
SECTION I
DISPOSITIONS GÉNÉRALES
1. Les lois de la Législature, soit générales soit spéciales, relatives à l’observance du dimanche, en vigueur le 28 février 1907 (date de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre 42 des lois de 1907), continuent à être en vigueur jusqu’à ce qu’elles soient modifiées, remplacées ou abrogées; et il est et continue d’être permis à toute personne de faire, le dimanche, tout acte qui n’est pas prohibé par les lois de la Législature en vigueur à ladite date, et d’user, le dimanche, de toutes les libertés que lui reconnaissent les usages au Québec, sous les restrictions contenues dans la présente section.
S. R. 1964, c. 302, a. 1.
2. Il est défendu, le dimanche, dans un but de lucre, sauf néanmoins le cas de nécessité ou d’urgence, d’exécuter ou de faire exécuter aucune oeuvre industrielle, ainsi que d’exercer aucun négoce ou métier.
S. R. 1964, c. 302, a. 2; 1971, c. 19, a. 204.
3. Chaque contravention à quelqu’une des prohibitions de la présente section rend passible d’une amende de 1 $ au moins et de 40 $ au plus, avec dépens, et, à défaut de paiement, d’un emprisonnement n’excédant pas trente jours pour une première infraction, et d’une amende n’excédant pas 100 $, et, à défaut de paiement, d’un emprisonnement n’excédant pas soixante jours pour toute infraction subséquente.
S. R. 1964, c. 302, a. 3.
4. L’amende appartient à la couronne, mais le recouvrement n’en peut être demandé que par un citoyen canadien ou un citoyen du Commonwealth, dans les deux mois qui suivent le délit, devant un juge des sessions de la paix, un juge municipal ou un juge de la Cour provinciale, ou deux juges de paix, conformément aux dispositions de la Loi sur les poursuites sommaires (chapitre P‐15), et, lorsqu’une personne enfreint quelqu’une des dispositions de la présente section et que cette infraction est aussi une contravention à une autre loi, le délinquant peut être poursuivi soit en vertu des dispositions de la présente section, soit en vertu des dispositions de toute autre loi applicable à la contravention imputée.
S. R. 1964, c. 302, a. 4; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 17, a. 2; S. C. 1974-75-76, c. 108, a. 31.
5. Rien dans la présente section n’abroge les lois de la Législature en vigueur le 28 février 1907, ni les règlements adoptés en vertu de ces lois concernant l’observance du dimanche, lesquels continuent à produire leur plein effet jusqu’à ce qu’ils soient modifiés, remplacés ou abrogés, conformément à la loi.
S. R. 1964, c. 302, a. 5.
6. Rien dans la présente section ne restreint les libertés accordées ou reconnues par le chapitre L-13 des Statuts revisés du Canada, 1970.
S. R. 1964, c. 302, a. 6.
SECTION II
DES VENTES DE MARCHANDISES LE DIMANCHE
7. Nul marchand, colporteur ou regrattier, ne doit vendre ni détailler le dimanche aucuns effets, denrées ou marchandises, sous peine d’une amende n’excédant pas 20 $ pour la première contravention, et, pour chaque récidive, d’une amende de pas moins de 20 $ ni de plus de 40 $.
Néanmoins, les effets provenant des quêtes publiques pour le bénéfice des églises et ceux destinés à des oeuvres pieuses peuvent être vendus, le dimanche, à la porte des églises des campagnes.
S. R. 1964, c. 302, a. 7.
8. Ces amendes peuvent être recouvrées devant le juge de paix le plus voisin du lieu de la contravention, lequel entend et juge la contravention d’une manière sommaire, par la confession volontaire du défendeur ou sur le serment d’un ou plusieurs témoins dignes de foi, autres que le poursuivant, à moins que le poursuivant ne soit un marguillier, constable ou officier de paix, auquel cas il est un témoin compétent; et, à défaut de paiement de la somme adjugée, elle est prélevée par saisie et vente des meubles et effets du contrevenant, en vertu d’un mandat sous le seing de ce juge de paix, adressé à un officier de paix, et le surplus des deniers prélevés, déduction faite de l’amende et des frais raisonnables de la saisie et vente taxés par un juge de paix est remboursé au contrevenant.
S. R. 1964, c. 302, a. 8.
9. La moitié des amendes perçues en vertu de la présente section appartient au poursuivant, et l’autre moitié à Sa Majesté, pour les fins publiques.
S. R. 1964, c. 302, a. 9.
10. Aucune poursuite en vertu de la présente section ne peut être intentée contre qui que ce soit pour aucune telle amende, à moins d’être commencée dans les deux mois qui suivent la contravention.
S. R. 1964, c. 302, a. 10.
SECTION III
DISPOSITION PARTICULIÈRE
11. La présente loi a effet indépendamment des dispositions des articles 2 et 7 à 15 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982 (annexe B de la Loi sur le Canada, chapitre 11 du recueil des lois du Parlement du Royaume-Uni pour l’année 1982).
1982, c. 21, a. 1.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 302 des Statuts refondus, 1964, tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre O-1 des Lois refondues.