M-35.2 - Act respecting the implementation of international trade agreements

Full text
chapter M-35.2
Act respecting the implementation of international trade agreements
IMPLEMENTATION OF INTERNATIONAL TRADE AGREEMENTSJune 13 1996July 10 1996
WHEREAS Québec subscribes to the principles and rules established by the North American Free Trade Agreement, the North American Agreement on Environmental Cooperation, the North American Agreement on Labor Cooperation and the Agreement Establishing the World Trade Organization;
Whereas Québec is at liberty to subscribe to the principles and rules established in other international trade agreements containing provisions falling within its constitutional jurisdiction; and
Whereas Québec alone is competent to implement those agreements in each field coming under its jurisdiction;

THE PARLIAMENT OF QUÉBEC ENACTS AS FOLLOWS:
2002, c. 8, s. 11.
1. In this Act,
Agreement Establishing the World Trade Organization means the Agreement Establishing the World Trade Organization, including the agreements set out in the annexes to that Agreement to which Canada is a party, all forming an integral part of the Final Act Embodying The Results Of The Uruguay Round Of Multilateral Trade Negotiations, signed at Marrakesh on 15 April 1994;
North American Agreement on Environmental Cooperation means the North American Agreement on Environmental Cooperation entered into by the Government of Canada, the Government of the United States of America and the Government of the United Mexican States, and signed on 14 September 1993;
North American Agreement on Labor Cooperation means the North American Agreement on Labor Cooperation entered into by the Government of Canada, the Government of the United States of America and the Government of the United Mexican States, and signed on 14 September 1993;
North American Free Trade Agreement means the North American Free Trade Agreement entered into by the Government of Canada, the Government of the United States of America and the Government of the United Mexican States, and signed on 17 December 1992.
1996, c. 6, s. 1; 2002, c. 8, s. 12.
2. The object of this Act is to implement the following agreements:
 —  the North American Free Trade Agreement;
 —  the North American Agreement on Environmental Cooperation;
 —  the North American Agreement on Labor Cooperation;
 —  the Agreement Establishing the World Trade Organization.
The Government may, by order and subject to the terms and conditions it determines, make this Act applicable to any other international trade agreement.
1996, c. 6, s. 2; 2002, c. 8, s. 13.
3. The commitments and reservations of Québec which are to appear in the Schedules of Canada annexed to the North American Free Trade Agreement shall be the commitments and reservations set out in the list established by the Gouvernement du Québec.
The list is transmitted to the authorities concerned by the Minister.
1996, c. 6, s. 3.
4. The commitments, reservations, measures and programs of Québec which are to appear in the Schedules of Canada annexed to the agreements forming part of the Agreement Establishing the World Trade Organization shall be the commitments, reservations, measures and programs set out in the list established by the Gouvernement du Québec.
The list is transmitted to the authorities concerned by the Minister.
1996, c. 6, s. 4.
4.1. The commitments, reservations, measures and programs of Québec which are to appear in the Schedules of Canada annexed to the international trade agreements designated by government order under section 2 shall be the commitments, reservations, measures and programs set out by the Gouvernement du Québec.
The list is transmitted to the authorities concerned by the Minister.
2002, c. 8, s. 14.
5. The Minister may propose that the Government take any compensatory measure he considers necessary for the purpose of implementing the measures taken by Canada under the agreements listed in section 2.
1996, c. 6, s. 5.
6. Except for the dispute settlement mechanisms available to investors under Section B of Chapter 11 of the North American Free Trade Agreement or specifically available to a person under any of the agreements referred to in section 2, no person has any cause of action based on the application of any of sections 2 to 5 of this Act or any order made thereunder.
1996, c. 6, s. 6; 2002, c. 8, s. 15.
7. Only the Minister or the Deputy Minister, jointly with the Minister or Deputy Minister of Economy and Innovation, may appoint a person to be the representative of the Gouvernement du Québec on the committees and working groups established under any of the agreements referred to in section 2. The representative shall be appointed after consultation, where applicable, with the minister concerned.
In the case of an agreement referred to in section 2 pertaining to environmental or labour cooperation, the Minister or Deputy Minister, jointly with the Minister or Deputy Minister of Sustainable Development, Environment and Parks, or the Minister or Deputy Minister of Labour, as the case may be, may appoint a person to be the representative of the Gouvernement du Québec on the committees and working groups established under the said Agreements.
1996, c. 6, s. 7; 1999, c. 8, s. 20; 1999, c. 36, s. 158; 2002, c. 8, s. 16; 2003, c. 29, s. 135; 2006, c. 3, s. 35; 2006, c. 8, s. 31; 2019, c. 29, s. 1.
8. The Commission for Environmental Cooperation or the Commission for Labor Cooperation, as the case may be, may file at the office of the Superior Court a certified copy of any determination by an arbitral panel that is a panel determination described in Annex 36A of the North American Agreement on Environmental Cooperation or in Annex 41A of the North American Agreement on Labor Cooperation which imposes on Québec, upon failure by Québec for fully implement an action plan in such matters, full implementation of the action plan or a monetary enforcement assessment. The filing shall be made in the circumstances provided for in the aforesaid annexes.
When filed, an arbitral panel determination has all the effects of a final judgment of the Superior Court against the Gouvernement du Québec, and is not subject to appeal.
A certified copy of any determination on environmental or labor cooperation by an arbitral panel established under an agreement referred to in section 2 may also be filed at the office of the Superior Court.
Where that is the case, the procedural requirements for the carrying out of the third paragraph and the effects of the filing shall be determined in the order made under section 2, which shall have precedence over the provisions of the Code of Civil Procedure (chapter C-25.01).
1996, c. 6, s. 8; 2002, c. 8, s. 17; I.N. 2016-01-01 (NCCP).
9. No civil, administrative or penal proceedings may be instituted against an employee or an official representative of any of the administrative bodies established under an agreement referred to in section 2 by reason of any act performed in the exercise of his functions.
Such immunity cannot be waived except in the circumstances provided for in the rules of international law.
1996, c. 6, s. 9; 2002, c. 8, s. 18.
10. The Minister of International Relations is responsible for the administration of this Act.
1996, c. 6, s. 10.
11. (Omitted).
1996, c. 6, s. 11.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 9 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes and regulations (chapter R-3), chapter 6 of the statutes of 1996, in force on 1 March 1997, is repealed, except section 11, effective from the coming into force of chapter M-35.2 of the Revised Statutes.

M-35.2 - Loi concernant la mise en oeuvre des accords de commerce international

Texte complet
chapitre M-35.2
Loi concernant la mise en oeuvre des accords de commerce international
MISE EN OEUVRE DES ACCORDS DE COMMERCE INTERNATIONAL13 juin 199610 juillet 1996
ATTENDU que le Québec souscrit aux principes et aux règles établis par l’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain, l’Accord nord-américain de coopération dans le domaine de l’environnement, l’Accord nord-américain de coopération dans le domaine du travail et l’Accord instituant l’Organisation mondiale du commerce;
Attendu qu’il est loisible au Québec de souscrire aux principes et règles établis dans d’autres accords de commerce international qui comportent des dispositions ressortissant à sa compétence constitutionnelle;
Attendu que le Québec est seul compétent pour assurer la mise en oeuvre de ces accords dans chacun des domaines de sa compétence;

LE PARLEMENT DU QUÉBEC DÉCRÈTE CE QUI SUIT:
2002, c. 8, a. 11.
1. Dans la présente loi, on entend par:
«Accord nord-américain de coopération environnementale» : l’Accord nord-américain de coopération dans le domaine de l’environnement conclu entre le gouvernement du Canada, le gouvernement des États-Unis d’Amérique et le gouvernement des États-Unis du Mexique et signé le 14 septembre 1993;
«Accord nord-américain de coopération dans le domaine du travail » : l’Accord nord-américain de coopération dans le domaine du travail conclu entre le gouvernement du Canada, le gouvernement des États-Unis d’Amérique et le gouvernement des États-Unis du Mexique et signé le 14 septembre 1993;
«Accord de libre-échange nord-américain» : l’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain conclu entre le gouvernement du Canada, le gouvernement des États-Unis d’Amérique et le gouvernement des États-Unis du Mexique et signé le 17 décembre 1992;
«Accord instituant l’Organisation mondiale du commerce» : l’Accord instituant l’Organisation mondiale du commerce et l’ensemble des accords figurant aux annexes de celui-ci, dans la mesure où le Canada y est partie et qui font partie intégrante de l’Acte final reprenant les résultats des négociations commerciales multilatérales du cycle Uruguay, signé à Marrakech le 15 avril 1994.
1996, c. 6, a. 1; 2002, c. 8, a. 12.
2. La présente loi a pour objet la mise en oeuvre des accords suivants:
 —  l’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain;
 —  l’Accord nord-américain de coopération environnementale;
 —  l’Accord nord-américain de coopération dans le domaine du travail;
 —  l’Accord instituant l’Organisation mondiale du commerce.
Le gouvernement peut, par décret et selon les modalités qu’il détermine, rendre la présente loi applicable à tout autre accord de commerce international.
1996, c. 6, a. 2; 2002, c. 8, a. 13.
3. La liste des engagements et réserves du Québec qui doivent figurer sur les listes du Canada annexées à l’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain est celle établie par le gouvernement du Québec.
La liste est transmise aux instances concernées par le ministre.
1996, c. 6, a. 3.
4. La liste des engagements, réserves, mesures et programmes du Québec qui doivent figurer sur les listes du Canada annexées aux accords faisant partie de l’Accord instituant l’Organisation mondiale du commerce est celle établie par le gouvernement du Québec.
La liste est transmise aux instances concernées par le ministre.
1996, c. 6, a. 4.
4.1. La liste des engagements, réserves, mesures et programmes du Québec qui doivent figurer sur les listes du Canada annexées aux accords de commerce international désignés par décret du gouvernement en vertu de l’article 2 sont celles établies par le gouvernement du Québec.
La liste est transmise aux instances concernées par le ministre.
2002, c. 8, a. 14.
5. Le ministre peut proposer au gouvernement de prendre toute mesure de compensation qu’il estime nécessaire pour mettre en oeuvre celles prises par le Canada en vertu des accords visés à l’article 2.
1996, c. 6, a. 5.
6. À l’exception des recours reconnus aux investisseurs en vertu de la section B du chapitre 11 de l’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain ou de ceux spécifiquement reconnus à une personne dans l’un des accords visés à l’article 2, aucun droit de poursuite invoquant l’application de l’un ou l’autre des articles 2 à 5 de la présente loi ou de leurs décrets d’application n’est conféré.
1996, c. 6, a. 6; 2002, c. 8, a. 15.
7. Seul le ministre ou le sous-ministre, conjointement avec le ministre ou le sous-ministre du Développement économique, de l’Innovation et de l’Exportation, peut nommer une personne pour représenter le gouvernement du Québec auprès des comités et groupes de travail constitués en vertu de l’un des accords visés à l’article 2. Le représentant est nommé après consultation, le cas échéant, du ministre concerné.
Dans le cas d’un accord visé à l’article 2 et portant sur la coopération dans le domaine de l’environnement ou du travail, le ministre ou le sous-ministre, conjointement avec le ministre ou le sous-ministre du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et des Parcs ou le ministre ou le sous-ministre du Travail selon le cas, peuvent nommer une personne pour représenter le gouvernement du Québec auprès des comités et groupes de travail constitués en vertu de ces accords.
1996, c. 6, a. 7; 1999, c. 8, a. 20; 1999, c. 36, a. 158; 2002, c. 8, a. 16; 2003, c. 29, a. 135; 2006, c. 3, a. 35; 2006, c. 8, a. 31.
8. Il peut être déposé au greffe de la Cour supérieure, par la Commission de coopération environnementale ou la Commission de coopération dans le domaine du travail selon le cas, une copie certifiée conforme de toute décision d’un groupe spécial arbitral visée à l’Annexe 36A de l’Accord nord-américain de coopération environnementale ou à l’Annexe 41A de l’Accord nord-américain de coopération dans le domaine du travail, imposant au Québec, à défaut par celui-ci d’appliquer pleinement un plan d’action en ces matières, la pleine application du plan d’action ou une compensation monétaire. Le dépôt est effectué dans les conditions prévues aux annexes précitées.
Sur ce dépôt, la détermination du groupe spécial arbitral a tous les effets d’un jugement final et sans appel de cette Cour à l’encontre du gouvernement du Québec.
Il peut également être déposé au greffe de la Cour supérieure une copie certifiée conforme de toute décision d’un groupe spécial arbitral établi en vertu d’un accord, visé à l’article 2, en matière de coopération dans le domaine de l’environnement ou du travail.
Le cas échéant, le décret pris en vertu de l’article 2 détermine toutes les modalités nécessaires à l’application du troisième alinéa et les effets de ce dépôt et a préséance sur les dispositions du Code de procédure civile (chapitre C-25.01).
1996, c. 6, a. 8; 2002, c. 8, a. 17; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
9. Aucune poursuite en matière civile, administrative ou pénale ne peut être intentée à l’encontre d’un employé ou d’un représentant officiel d’un des organes administratifs établis en vertu de l’un des accords visé à l’article 2 pour les actes accomplis par eux dans l’exercice de leurs fonctions.
Une telle immunité ne peut être levée que dans les conditions prévues par les règles du droit international.
1996, c. 6, a. 9; 2002, c. 8, a. 18.
10. Le ministre des Relations internationales est chargé de l’application de la présente loi.
1996, c. 6, a. 10.
11. (Omis).
1996, c. 6, a. 11.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 9 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois et des règlements (chapitre R-3), le chapitre 6 des lois de 1996, tel qu’en vigueur le 1er mars 1997, à l’exception de l’article 11, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre M-35.2 des Lois refondues.