L-6.3 - Act to combat maltreatment of seniors and other persons of full age in vulnerable situations

Full text
chapter L-6.3
Act to combat maltreatment of seniors and other persons of full age in vulnerable situations
COMBAT — MALTREATMENTMay 30 2017May 30 2017
AS Québec society places value on the well-being of persons and respect for their fundamental rights;
AS, despite existing legislative and administrative measures to combat maltreatment, persons are still falling victim to it, particularly persons in vulnerable situations;
AS Québec has one of the world’s populations most impacted by aging and certain seniors are in vulnerable situations;
AS maltreatment is unacceptable and the State deems it essential to intervene in order to reinforce existing measures to combat maltreatment of persons in vulnerable situations, in a manner that protects their interests and autonomy;
THE PARLIAMENT OF QUÉBEC ENACTS AS FOLLOWS:
CHAPTER I
OBJECTS AND DEFINITIONS
2017, c. 10, c. I2017, c. 10, c. I.
1. This Act provides measures to combat maltreatment of seniors and other persons of full age in vulnerable situations, such as requiring every institution to adopt and implement a policy to combat maltreatment of such persons, facilitating the reporting of cases of maltreatment and establishing an intervention process with respect to maltreatment of seniors and other persons of full age in vulnerable situations.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, s. 1.
2. For the purposes of this Act,
(1)  local service quality and complaints commissioner : means a local service quality and complaints commissioner appointed under section 30 of the Act respecting health services and social services (chapter S-4.2) or the person designated by the Cree Board of Health and Social Services of James Bay established under the Act respecting health services and social services for Cree Native persons (chapter S-5);
(2)  institution : means an institution within the meaning of the Act respecting health services and social services or the Cree Board of Health and Social Services of James Bay;
(3)  maltreatment : means a single or repeated act, or a lack of appropriate action, that occurs in a relationship where there is an expectation of trust, and that intentionally or unintentionally causes harm or distress to a person;
(4)  person in a vulnerable situation : means a person of full age whose ability to request or obtain assistance is temporarily or permanently limited because of factors such as a restraint, limitation, illness, disease, injury, impairment or handicap, which may be physical, cognitive or psychological in nature;
(5)  person working for the institution : means a physician, dentist, midwife, personnel member, medical resident, trainee, volunteer or other natural person who provides services directly to a person on behalf of the institution; and
(6)  private seniors’ residence : means a private seniors’ residence within the meaning of section 346.0.1 of the Act respecting health services and social services.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, s. 2.
CHAPTER II
ANTI-MALTREATMENT POLICY
2017, c. 10, c. II2017, c. 10, c. II.
DIVISION I
POLICY ADOPTION AND IMPLEMENTATION
2017, c. 10, Div. I2017, c. 10, Div. I.
3. Every institution must adopt a policy to combat maltreatment of persons in vulnerable situations who receive health services and social services, whether services provided in a facility maintained by the institution or in-home services.
The purpose of the policy is, in particular, to establish measures to prevent and combat maltreatment of such persons, whether at the hands of a person working for the institution or of any other person, and to support them in any steps taken to end it.
The president and executive director or the executive director of the institution, as applicable, or the person designated by the president and executive director or the executive director, sees to the implementation of the policy.
The policy must include
(1)  the person responsible for implementing the policy and their contact information;
(2)  the measures put in place to prevent maltreatment of persons in vulnerable situations who receive health services and social services, such as awareness, information and training activities;
(3)  the procedure allowing such persons who believe they are victims of maltreatment to file a complaint with the local service quality and complaints commissioner;
(4)  the procedure allowing any other person, including a person who does not work for the institution, to report to the local service quality and complaints commissioner any alleged case of maltreatment of a person in a vulnerable situation who receives health services and social services;
(5)  the support measures available to help a person file a complaint or report of maltreatment;
(6)  the measures put in place by the local service quality and complaints commissioner to preserve the confidentiality of any information that would allow the person reporting a case of maltreatment to be identified;
(7)  the sanctions, in particular disciplinary sanctions, that could be applied in cases of maltreatment; and
(8)  the required follow-up in response to any complaint or report of maltreatment and the time limit for carrying it out.
The time limits for processing complaints or reports concerning cases of maltreatment must vary according to the seriousness of each case.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, s. 3.
4. The policy must specify the adaptations required, if any, when it is implemented by
(1)  an intermediate or family-type resource governed by the Act respecting health services and social services (chapter S-4.2) or any other body, partnership or person the institution calls on for the provision of its services, in particular by an agreement under section 108 or 108.1 of the Act respecting health services and social services or section 124 of the Act respecting health services and social services for Cree Native persons (chapter S-5); or
(2)  a private seniors’ residence.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, s. 4.
DIVISION II
DISSEMINATION OF THE POLICY
2017, c. 10, Div. II2017, c. 10, Div. II.
5. The institution must publicly display its policy in the facilities it maintains and publish it on its website. It must also, by any other means it determines, make its policy known to users covered by the policy, including those who receive in-home services, and their close family members.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, s. 5.
6. The person responsible for implementing the policy must inform the persons working for the institution of the policy’s content and, more specifically, of the prevention measures put in place and the possibility of reporting cases of maltreatment to the local service quality and complaints commissioner.
An integrated health and social services centre established by the Act to modify the organization and governance of the health and social services network, in particular by abolishing the regional agencies (chapter O-7.2) and a local authority within the meaning of the Act respecting health services and social services (chapter S-4.2) must also each make its policy known to the health and social services providers working in the territory served by the centre or authority, namely, the groups of professionals, the community organizations within the meaning of section 334 of the Act respecting health services and social services, and the social economy enterprises and private resources, and to the key players in the other sectors of activity that have an impact on health services and social services.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, s. 6.
DIVISION III
POLICY REVIEW
2017, c. 10, Div. III2017, c. 10, Div. III.
7. The institution must review its policy at least every five years.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, s. 7.
DIVISION IV
IMPLEMENTATION OF POLICY BY OTHER SERVICE PROVIDERS
2017, c. 10, Div. IV2017, c. 10, Div. IV.
8. Any intermediate resource or family-type resource that receives users of full age must implement the anti-maltreatment policy of the institution that uses the resource’s services. The same applies to any other body, partnership or person the institution calls on for the provision of services.
Any such resource, body, partnership or person must make its policy known to the users covered by the policy, their close family members and the persons working for the resource, body, partnership or person.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, s. 8.
9. Any operator of a private seniors’ residence must implement the anti-maltreatment policy of the integrated health and social services centre or the local authority, as applicable, in the territory where the residence is situated.
The operator must make the policy known to the residents, their close family members and the persons working for the residence.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, s. 9.
DIVISION V
CONFIDENTIALITY, PROTECTION AGAINST REPRISAL AND IMMUNITY FROM PROCEEDINGS
2017, c. 10, Div. V2017, c. 10, Div. V.
10. The local service quality and complaints commissioner must take all necessary measures to preserve the confidentiality of any information that would allow a person who has reported maltreatment to be identified, unless the person consents to being identified. The commissioner may however communicate the identity of that person to the police force concerned.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, s. 10.
11. Reprisals are prohibited against a person who, in good faith and within the scope of the policy provided for in this chapter, reports maltreatment or cooperates in the examination of a report or complaint of maltreatment, as are threats of reprisal against a person to dissuade them from reporting maltreatment or cooperating in the examination of a report or complaint made within the scope of the policy provided for in this chapter.
The demotion, suspension, termination of employment or transfer of a person working for the institution or any disciplinary or other measure that adversely affects the employment or working conditions of such a person is presumed to be a reprisal. Transferring a user or resident, breaking their lease, or prohibiting or restricting visits to users or residents is also presumed to be a reprisal.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, s. 11.
12. No proceedings may be brought against a person who, in good faith, has reported maltreatment or cooperated in the examination of a report, whatever the conclusions issued following its examination.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, s. 12.
DIVISION VI
ADOPTION OF A POLICY BY OTHER BODIES OR RESOURCES
2017, c. 10, Div. VI2017, c. 10, Div. VI.
13. The Government may, by regulation, require any body, resource or category of bodies or resources it designates to adopt a policy to combat maltreatment of persons in vulnerable situations and, in such a case, specify the necessary adaptations.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, s. 13.
DIVISION VII
REPORTING
2017, c. 10, Div. VII2017, c. 10, Div. VII.
14. The local service quality and complaints commissioner must, in the activities summary the commissioner submits to the institution, include a section dealing specifically with complaints and reports the commissioner has received concerning cases of maltreatment of persons in vulnerable situations, without compromising the confidentiality of maltreatment records, including the identity of the persons concerned by a complaint or report of maltreatment.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, s. 14.
15. The Minister of Health and Social Services reports annually on the application of this chapter in a report the Minister tables in the National Assembly within four months of the end of the fiscal year or, if the Assembly is not sitting, within 15 days of resumption. The report is also published on the website of the Minister’s department.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, s. 15.
CHAPTER III
QUÉBEC-WIDE FRAMEWORK AGREEMENT TO COMBAT MALTREATMENT
2017, c. 10, c. III2017, c. 10, c. III.
16. The Minister responsible for Seniors, in concert with the actors from the sectors concerned, is responsible for combatting maltreatment of seniors, in particular by ensuring the complementarity and effectiveness of actions undertaken to prevent, identify and combat such maltreatment.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, s. 16.
17. The Minister enters into a Québec-wide framework agreement concerning maltreatment of seniors with the Minister of Public Security, the Minister of Justice, the Minister of Health and Social Services, the Director of Criminal and Penal Prosecutions, the Autorité des marchés financiers, the Commission des droits de la personne et des droits de la jeunesse, the Public Curator and any other department or body considered useful.
The framework agreement must, among other things, stipulate the parties’ obligation to make sure an intervention process is established in each region that takes into account the different regional realities.
The framework agreement must also provide that it may be applied, with the necessary adaptations, to any person of full age in a vulnerable situation.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, s. 17.
18. Any person who has reasonable cause to believe that a person concerned by an intervention process is a victim of maltreatment may report the case to any of the persons authorized to receive such reports under the intervention process.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, s. 18.
19. Sections 10 to 12 apply, with the necessary modifications, to persons who, under this chapter, report maltreatment, receive a report of maltreatment or cooperate in the examination of such a report.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, s. 19.
20. The Minister responsible for Seniors reports annually on the application of this chapter in a report the Minister tables in the National Assembly within four months of the end of the fiscal year or, if the Assembly is not sitting, within 15 days of resumption. The report is also published on the website of the Minister’s department.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, s. 20.
CHAPTER IV
OBLIGATION TO REPORT CERTAIN CASES OF MALTREATMENT
2017, c. 10, c. IV2017, c. 10, c. IV.
21. Any health services and social services provider or any professional within the meaning of the Professional Code (chapter C-26) who has reasonable grounds to believe that a person of full age is a victim of a single or repeated act, or a lack of appropriate action, that seriously undermines the physical or psychological integrity of the person must report it immediately if
(1)  the person is lodged in a facility maintained by an institution operating a residential and long-term care centre within the meaning of the Act respecting health services and social services (chapter S-4.2); or
(2)  the person is under tutorship or curatorship, or is a person for whom a protection mandate has been homologated.
The report is filed with the local service quality and complaints commissioner of the institution where the person receives services, if applicable, or, in any other case, with a police force, to be handled in accordance with Chapter II or Chapter III, as applicable.
This section even applies to persons bound by professional secrecy, except lawyers and notaries who receive information about such a case in the exercise of their profession.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, s. 21.
22. The Government may, by regulation, determine that the obligation to report maltreatment provided for in section 21 applies in the case of other persons receiving health services and social services.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, s. 22.
CHAPTER V
AMENDING PROVISIONS
2017, c. 10, c. V2017, c. 10, c. V.
Act respecting Access to documents held by public bodies and the Protection of personal information
23. (Amendment integrated into c. A-2.1, s. 59.1).
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, s. 23.
Tax Administration Act
24. (Amendment integrated into c. A-6.002, s. 69.0.0.11).
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, s. 24.
Act respecting the Barreau du Québec
25. (Amendment integrated into c. B-1, s. 131).
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, s. 25.
Professional Code
26. (Amendment integrated into c. C-26, s. 60.4).
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, s. 26.
Act respecting labour standards
27. (Amendment integrated into c. N-1.1, s. 3.1).
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, s. 27.
28. (Amendment integrated into c. N-1.1, s. 122).
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, s. 28.
Notaries Act
29. (Amendment integrated into c. N-3, s. 14.1).
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, s. 29.
Act respecting the sharing of certain health information
30. (Amendment integrated into c. P-9.0001, s. 102).
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, s. 30.
Youth Protection Act
31. (Amendment integrated into c. P-34.1, s. 72.8).
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, s. 31.
Act respecting the protection of personal information in the private sector
32. (Amendment integrated into c. P-39.1, s. 18.1).
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, s. 32.
Act respecting health services and social services
33. (Amendment integrated into c. S-4.2, s. 19.0.1).
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, s. 33.
34. (Amendment integrated into c. S-4.2, s. 33).
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, s. 34.
35. (Amendment integrated into c. S-4.2, s. 505).
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, s. 35.
Act respecting health services and social services for Cree Native persons
36. (Amendment integrated into c. S-5, s. 7).
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, s. 36.
37. (Amendment integrated into c. S-5, s. 18).
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, s. 37.
CHAPTER VI
MISCELLANEOUS, TRANSITIONAL AND FINAL PROVISIONS
2017, c. 10, c. VI2017, c. 10, c. VI.
38. Every institution must adopt its anti-maltreatment policy, described in section 3, not later than 30 November 2018.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, s. 38.
39. Despite section 7, the first review of the policy to combat maltreatment of persons in vulnerable situations who receive health services and social services must be carried out not later than 30 May 2020.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, s. 39.
40. The Minister responsible for Seniors is responsible for the administration of this Act, except Chapter II and section 38, which are under the responsibility of the Minister of Health and Social Services.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, s. 40.
The Minister Responsible for Seniors and Informal Caregivers exercises the functions of the Minister responsible for Seniors provided for in this Act. Order in Council 1322-2018 dated 31 October 2018, (2018) 150 G.O. 2 (French), 7427.
41. (Omitted).
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, s. 41.

L-6.3 - Loi visant à lutter contre la maltraitance envers les aînés et toute autre personne majeure en situation de vulnérabilité

Texte complet
chapitre L-6.3
Loi visant à lutter contre la maltraitance envers les aînés et toute autre personne majeure en situation de vulnérabilité
LUTTE — MALTRAITANCE30 mai 201730 mai 2017
CONSIDÉRANT que le bien-être des personnes et le respect de leurs droits fondamentaux sont des préoccupations de la société québécoise;
CONSIDÉRANT que, malgré les mesures législatives et administratives existantes visant à lutter contre la maltraitance, des personnes en sont encore victimes, notamment des personnes en situation de vulnérabilité;
CONSIDÉRANT que le Québec est l’une des sociétés où le vieillissement de la population est le plus marqué dans le monde et que certains aînés sont des personnes en situation de vulnérabilité;
CONSIDÉRANT que la maltraitance est inacceptable et que l’État estime qu’il est essentiel d’intervenir pour renforcer les mesures existantes afin de lutter contre la maltraitance envers ces personnes, dans le respect de leur intérêt et de leur autonomie;
LE PARLEMENT DU QUÉBEC DÉCRÈTE CE QUI SUIT :
CHAPITRE I
OBJETS ET DÉFINITIONS
2017, c. 10, c. I2017, c. 10, c. I.
1. La présente loi prévoit des mesures visant à lutter contre la maltraitance envers les aînés et toute autre personne majeure en situation de vulnérabilité, notamment en imposant à tout établissement l’obligation d’adopter et de mettre en oeuvre une politique de lutte contre la maltraitance envers ces personnes, en facilitant le signalement des cas de maltraitance ainsi qu’en mettant en place un processus d’intervention concernant la maltraitance envers les aînés et toute autre personne majeure en situation de vulnérabilité.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, a. 1.
2. Pour l’application de la présente loi, on entend par:
1°  «commissaire local aux plaintes et à la qualité des services» : un commissaire local aux plaintes et à la qualité des services nommé en vertu de l’article 30 de la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux (chapitre S-4.2) ou la personne désignée par le Conseil cri de la santé et des services sociaux de la Baie James institué en vertu de la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux pour les autochtones cris (chapitre S-5);
2°  «établissement» : un établissement au sens de la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux et le Conseil cri de la santé et des services sociaux de la Baie James;
3°  «maltraitance» : un geste singulier ou répétitif ou un défaut d’action appropriée qui se produit dans une relation où il devrait y avoir de la confiance et qui cause, intentionnellement ou non, du tort ou de la détresse à une personne;
4°  «personne en situation de vulnérabilité» : une personne majeure dont la capacité de demander ou d’obtenir de l’aide est limitée temporairement ou de façon permanente, en raison notamment d’une contrainte, d’une maladie, d’une blessure ou d’un handicap, lesquels peuvent être d’ordre physique, cognitif ou psychologique;
5°  «personne oeuvrant pour l’établissement» : un médecin, un dentiste, une sage-femme, un membre du personnel, un résident en médecine, un stagiaire, un bénévole ainsi que toute autre personne physique qui fournit directement des services à une personne pour le compte de l’établissement;
6°  «résidence privée pour aînés» : une résidence privée pour aînés au sens de l’article 346.0.1 de la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, a. 2.
CHAPITRE II
POLITIQUE DE LUTTE CONTRE LA MALTRAITANCE
2017, c. 10, c. II2017, c. 10, c. II.
SECTION I
ADOPTION ET MISE EN OEUVRE DE LA POLITIQUE
2017, c. 10, sec. I2017, c. 10, sec. I.
3. L’établissement doit adopter une politique de lutte contre la maltraitance envers les personnes en situation de vulnérabilité qui reçoivent des services de santé et des services sociaux, que ces services soient rendus dans une installation maintenue par l’établissement ou à domicile.
Cette politique a notamment pour objet d’établir des mesures visant à prévenir la maltraitance envers ces personnes, à lutter contre celle-ci et à soutenir les personnes dans toute démarche entreprise afin de mettre fin à cette maltraitance, que celle-ci soit le fait d’une personne oeuvrant pour l’établissement ou de toute autre personne.
Le président-directeur général ou le directeur général de l’établissement, selon le cas, ou la personne qu’il désigne voit à la mise en oeuvre de la politique et à son application.
La politique doit notamment indiquer les éléments suivants:
1°  la personne responsable de sa mise en oeuvre et les coordonnées pour la joindre;
2°  les mesures mises en place pour prévenir la maltraitance des personnes en situation de vulnérabilité qui reçoivent des services de santé et des services sociaux, telles des activités de sensibilisation, d’information ou de formation;
3°  les modalités applicables pour qu’une telle personne qui croit être victime de maltraitance puisse formuler une plainte au commissaire local aux plaintes et à la qualité des services;
4°  les modalités applicables pour que toute autre personne, y compris une personne qui n’oeuvre pas pour l’établissement, puisse signaler au commissaire local aux plaintes et à la qualité des services un cas de maltraitance dont serait victime une personne en situation de vulnérabilité qui reçoit des services de santé et des services sociaux;
5°  les mesures de soutien disponibles pour aider une personne à formuler une plainte ou à effectuer un signalement;
6°  les mesures mises en place par le commissaire local aux plaintes et à la qualité des services pour assurer la confidentialité des renseignements permettant d’identifier toute personne qui effectue le signalement d’un cas de maltraitance;
7°  les sanctions, notamment les sanctions disciplinaires, qui pourraient, le cas échéant, être appliquées devant un constat de maltraitance;
8°  le suivi qui doit être donné à toute plainte ou à tout signalement ainsi que le délai dans lequel il doit être réalisé.
Le délai de traitement de toute plainte ou de tout signalement concernant un cas de maltraitance doit être modulé selon la gravité de la situation.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, a. 3.
4. La politique doit prévoir les adaptations nécessaires, le cas échéant, à son application par:
1°  une ressource intermédiaire et une ressource de type familial visées par la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux (chapitre S-4.2) et tout autre organisme, société ou personne auquel l’établissement recourt pour la prestation de ses services, notamment par entente visée à l’article 108 ou 108.1 de la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux ou à l’article 124 de la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux pour les autochtones cris (chapitre S-5);
2°  une résidence privée pour aînés.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, a. 4.
SECTION II
DIFFUSION DE LA POLITIQUE
2017, c. 10, sec. II2017, c. 10, sec. II.
5. L’établissement doit, dans les installations qu’il maintient, afficher sa politique à la vue du public et la publier sur son site Internet. Il doit également, par tout autre moyen qu’il détermine, faire connaître sa politique aux usagers visés par la politique, y compris ceux qui reçoivent des services à domicile, et aux membres significatifs de leur famille.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, a. 5.
6. La personne responsable de la mise en oeuvre de la politique doit informer les personnes oeuvrant pour l’établissement du contenu de la politique et, plus particulièrement, des mesures de prévention mises en place et de la possibilité de signaler un cas de maltraitance au commissaire local aux plaintes et à la qualité des services.
Un centre intégré de santé et de services sociaux institué par la Loi modifiant l’organisation et la gouvernance du réseau de la santé et des services sociaux notamment par l’abolition des agences régionales (chapitre O-7.2) et une instance locale au sens de la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux (chapitre S-4.2) doivent également faire connaître leur politique auprès des intervenants du réseau de la santé et des services sociaux agissant dans le territoire qu’ils desservent, soit les groupes de professionnels, les organismes communautaires au sens de l’article 334 de la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux, les entreprises d’économie sociale et les ressources privées, ainsi qu’auprès des intervenants des autres secteurs d’activité ayant un impact sur les services de santé et les services sociaux.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, a. 6.
SECTION III
RÉVISION DE LA POLITIQUE
2017, c. 10, sec. III2017, c. 10, sec. III.
7. L’établissement doit réviser sa politique au plus tard tous les cinq ans.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, a. 7.
SECTION IV
APPLICATION DE LA POLITIQUE PAR D’AUTRES INTERVENANTS
2017, c. 10, sec. IV2017, c. 10, sec. IV.
8. Toute ressource intermédiaire ou ressource de type familial qui accueille des usagers majeurs doit appliquer la politique de lutte contre la maltraitance de l’établissement qui recourt aux services de cette ressource. Il en est de même de tout autre organisme, société ou personne auquel l’établissement recourt pour la prestation de services.
Ces ressources, organismes, sociétés et personnes sont tenus de faire connaître cette politique aux usagers visés par la politique, aux membres significatifs de la famille de ces usagers et aux personnes qui oeuvrent pour eux.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, a. 8.
9. Tout exploitant d’une résidence privée pour aînés doit appliquer la politique de lutte contre la maltraitance du centre intégré de santé et de services sociaux ou de l’instance locale, selon le cas, du territoire où est située la résidence.
Il est tenu de faire connaître cette politique aux résidents, aux membres significatifs de la famille de ces résidents et aux personnes oeuvrant pour la résidence.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, a. 9.
SECTION V
CONFIDENTIALITÉ, PROTECTION CONTRE DES MESURES DE REPRÉSAILLES ET IMMUNITÉ DE POURSUITE
2017, c. 10, sec. V2017, c. 10, sec. V.
10. Le commissaire local aux plaintes et à la qualité des services doit prendre toutes les mesures nécessaires afin de s’assurer que soit préservée la confidentialité des renseignements permettant d’identifier une personne qui fait un signalement, sauf avec le consentement de cette personne. Le commissaire peut toutefois communiquer l’identité de cette personne au corps de police concerné.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, a. 10.
11. Il est interdit d’exercer des mesures de représailles contre une personne qui, de bonne foi et dans le cadre de la politique prévue au présent chapitre, fait un signalement ou collabore à l’examen d’un signalement ou d’une plainte. Il est également interdit de menacer une personne de mesures de représailles pour qu’elle s’abstienne de faire un signalement ou de collaborer à l’examen d’un signalement ou d’une plainte visés par la politique prévue au présent chapitre.
Sont présumées être des mesures de représailles la rétrogradation, la suspension, le congédiement ou le déplacement d’une personne oeuvrant pour l’établissement ainsi que toute sanction disciplinaire ou autre mesure portant atteinte à son emploi ou à ses conditions de travail. Sont également présumées être des mesures de représailles le déplacement d’un usager ou d’un résident, la rupture de son bail de même que l’interdiction ou la restriction de visites à l’usager ou au résident.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, a. 11.
12. Une personne ne peut être poursuivie en justice pour avoir, de bonne foi, fait un signalement ou collaboré à l’examen d’un signalement, quelles que soient les conclusions rendues.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, a. 12.
SECTION VI
ADOPTION D’UNE POLITIQUE PAR D’AUTRES ORGANISMES OU RESSOURCES
2017, c. 10, sec. VI2017, c. 10, sec. VI.
13. Le gouvernement peut, par règlement, exiger l’adoption d’une politique de lutte contre la maltraitance envers les personnes en situation de vulnérabilité de tout organisme, de toute ressource ou de toute catégorie d’organismes ou de ressources qu’il désigne et prévoir, dans un tel cas, les adaptations nécessaires.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, a. 13.
SECTION VII
REDDITION DE COMPTES
2017, c. 10, sec. VII2017, c. 10, sec. VII.
14. Le commissaire local aux plaintes et à la qualité des services doit, dans le bilan des activités qu’il adresse à l’établissement, prévoir une section traitant spécifiquement des plaintes et des signalements qu’il a reçus concernant des cas de maltraitance envers les personnes en situation de vulnérabilité, sans compromettre la confidentialité des dossiers de signalement, dont l’identité des personnes concernées par une plainte ou un signalement.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, a. 14.
15. Le ministre de la Santé et des Services sociaux rend compte annuellement de l’application des dispositions du présent chapitre dans un rapport qu’il dépose à l’Assemblée nationale dans les quatre mois de la fin de l’année financière ou, si l’Assemblée ne siège pas, dans les 15 jours de la reprise de ses travaux. Ce rapport est également publié sur le site Internet de son ministère.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, a. 15.
CHAPITRE III
ENTENTE-CADRE NATIONALE POUR LUTTER CONTRE LA MALTRAITANCE
2017, c. 10, c. III2017, c. 10, c. III.
16. Le ministre responsable des Aînés assume la responsabilité, en concertation avec les intervenants des milieux concernés, de lutter contre la maltraitance envers les aînés, notamment en favorisant la complémentarité et l’efficacité des interventions destinées à prévenir, à repérer et à lutter contre la maltraitance.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, a. 16.
17. Le ministre conclut une entente-cadre nationale concernant la maltraitance envers les aînés avec le ministre de la Sécurité publique, le ministre de la Justice, le ministre de la Santé et des Services sociaux, le directeur des poursuites criminelles et pénales, l’Autorité des marchés financiers, la Commission des droits de la personne et des droits de la jeunesse, le curateur public et tout autre ministère ou organisme jugé utile.
L’entente-cadre doit notamment prévoir l’obligation pour les parties de s’assurer de la mise en place d’un processus d’intervention dans chaque région qui tient compte des différentes réalités régionales.
L’entente-cadre doit également prévoir la possibilité que celle-ci soit appliquée, avec les adaptations nécessaires, à toute personne majeure en situation de vulnérabilité.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, a. 17.
18. Toute personne qui a un motif raisonnable de croire qu’une personne visée par un processus d’intervention est victime de maltraitance peut signaler le cas à l’une des personnes pouvant recevoir ces signalements en vertu du processus d’intervention.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, a. 18.
19. Les articles 10 à 12 s’appliquent, avec les adaptations nécessaires, aux personnes qui, en application du présent chapitre, font ou reçoivent un signalement ou collaborent à son examen.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, a. 19.
20. Le ministre responsable des Aînés rend compte annuellement de l’application des dispositions du présent chapitre dans un rapport qu’il dépose à l’Assemblée nationale dans les quatre mois de la fin de l’année financière ou, si l’Assemblée ne siège pas, dans les 15 jours de la reprise de ses travaux. Ce rapport est également publié sur le site Internet de son ministère.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, a. 20.
CHAPITRE IV
OBLIGATION DE SIGNALER CERTAINS CAS DE MALTRAITANCE
2017, c. 10, c. IV2017, c. 10, c. IV.
21. Tout prestataire de services de santé et de services sociaux ou tout professionnel au sens du Code des professions (chapitre C-26) qui a un motif raisonnable de croire qu’une personne est victime d’un geste singulier ou répétitif ou d’un défaut d’action appropriée qui porte atteinte de façon sérieuse à son intégrité physique ou psychologique doit signaler sans délai ce cas pour les personnes majeures suivantes:
1°  toute personne hébergée dans une installation maintenue par un établissement qui exploite un centre d’hébergement et de soins de longue durée au sens de la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux (chapitre S-4.2);
2°  toute personne en tutelle ou en curatelle ou à l’égard de laquelle un mandat de protection a été homologué.
Le signalement est effectué auprès du commissaire local aux plaintes et à la qualité des services d’un établissement si cette personne y reçoit des services ou, dans les autres cas, à un corps de police, pour qu’il soit traité conformément aux chapitres II ou III, selon le cas.
Le présent article s’applique même aux personnes liées par le secret professionnel, sauf à l’avocat et au notaire qui, dans l’exercice de leur profession, reçoivent des informations concernant un tel cas.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, a. 21.
22. Le gouvernement peut, par règlement, déterminer que l’obligation de signalement prévu à l’article 21 s’applique à l’égard d’autres personnes recevant des services de santé et des services sociaux.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, a. 22.
CHAPITRE V
DISPOSITIONS MODIFICATIVES
2017, c. 10, c. V2017, c. 10, c. V.
Loi sur l’accès aux documents des organismes publics et sur la protection des renseignements personnels
23. (Modification intégrée au c. A-2.1, a. 59.1).
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, a. 23.
Loi sur l’administration fiscale
24. (Modification intégrée au c. A-6.002, a. 69.0.0.11).
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, a. 24.
Loi sur le Barreau
25. (Modification intégrée au c. B-1, a. 131).
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, a. 25.
Code des professions
26. (Modification intégrée au c. C-26, a. 60.4).
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, a. 26.
Loi sur les normes du travail
27. (Modification intégrée au c. N-1.1, a. 3.1).
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, a. 27.
28. (Modification intégrée au c. N-1.1, a. 122).
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, a. 28.
Loi sur le notariat
29. (Modification intégrée au c. N-3, a. 14.1).
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, a. 29.
Loi concernant le partage de certains renseignements de santé
30. (Modification intégrée au c. P-9.0001, a. 102).
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, a. 30.
Loi sur la protection de la jeunesse
31. (Modification intégrée au c. P-34.1, a. 72.8).
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, a. 31.
Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels dans le secteur privé
32. (Modification intégrée au c. P-39.1, a. 18.1).
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, a. 32.
Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux
33. (Modification intégrée au c. S-4.2, a. 19.0.1).
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, a. 33.
34. (Modification intégrée au c. S-4.2, a. 33).
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, a. 34.
35. (Modification intégrée au c. S-4.2, a. 505).
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, a. 35.
Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux pour les autochtones cris
36. (Modification intégrée au c. S-5, a. 7).
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, a. 36.
37. (Modification intégrée au c. S-5, a. 18).
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, a. 37.
CHAPITRE VI
DISPOSITIONS DIVERSES, TRANSITOIRES ET FINALES
2017, c. 10, c. VI2017, c. 10, c. VI.
38. Chaque établissement doit adopter sa politique de lutte contre la maltraitance visée à l’article 3 au plus tard le 30 novembre 2018.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, a. 38.
39. Malgré l’article 7, la première révision de la politique de lutte contre la maltraitance envers les personnes en situation de vulnérabilité qui reçoivent des services de santé et des services sociaux doit être réalisée au plus tard le 30 mai 2020.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, a. 39.
40. Le ministre responsable des Aînés est responsable de l’application de la présente loi, à l’exception du chapitre II et de l’article 38 dont l’application relève du ministre de la Santé et des Services sociaux.
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, a. 40.
41. (Omis).
2017, c. 102017, c. 10, a. 41.