L-4 - Winding-up Act

Full text
chapter L-4
Winding-up Act
WINDING-UPDecember 31 1977
DIVISION I
METHOD OF VOLUNTARY WINDING-UP
1. Any joint-stock company constituted by letters patent, by the filing of its articles or by special Act may be wound up voluntarily whenever the directors deem it expedient that the company be dissolved.
This Act does not apply to a business corporation to which the Business Corporations Act (chapter S-31.1) applies.
R. S. 1964, c. 281, s. 1; 1979, c. 31, s. 44; 1999, c. 40, s. 169; 2009, c. 52, s. 595.
2. The directors shall thereupon convene a general meeting of the shareholders, mentioning in the notice that the dissolution of the company will be proposed at such meeting.
R. S. 1964, c. 281, s. 2.
3. The resolution of the directors, declaring it to be expedient that the company should be wound up voluntarily, shall be submitted to the general meeting of the shareholders, and if such meeting pass, by the vote of at least two-thirds in value of the shares represented by the shareholders present, a resolution that the company shall be wound up voluntarily and dissolved, then the company shall subsist and carry on business for the purpose only of winding-up its affairs.
R. S. 1964, c. 281, s. 3.
4. The company’s status and powers as a legal person shall continue until its affairs are wound up.
R. S. 1964, c. 281, s. 4; 1999, c. 40, s. 169.
DIVISION II
LIQUIDATORS
5. At the general meeting, a liquidator or liquidators shall be appointed for the purpose of winding-up the affairs of the company and of distributing its assets; and thereupon the board of directors shall cease to exist.
R. S. 1964, c. 281, s. 5.
6. If any vacancy occurs in the office of liquidator by death, resignation or otherwise, the company may, at a general meeting, fill such vacancy; and such general meeting may be called by the continuing liquidator or liquidators, or by any shareholder.
R. S. 1964, c. 281, s. 6.
7. The company may also, at a general meeting called by any three shareholders, on notice mentioning that the removal of the liquidators or of any liquidator will be proposed, remove such liquidator or liquidators and appoint another or others in his or their place.
R. S. 1964, c. 281, s. 7.
8. In default of the shareholders appointing or replacing a liquidator or liquidators, any judge of the Superior Court, in the district where the company has its head office or principal establishment, may, on application of a shareholder, after a default of 15 days, appoint a liquidator or liquidators.
The judge may also, on due cause shown, remove any liquidator; and he may, after a default of 15 days on the part of the shareholders to do so, appoint another.
R. S. 1964, c. 281, s. 8; 1999, c. 40, s. 169.
9. A notice of the resolution passed by the shareholders for the winding-up and dissolution of the company shall be transmitted to the enterprise registrar, who shall deposit it in the register referred to in Chapter II of the Act respecting the legal publicity of enterprises (chapter P-44.1).
R. S. 1964, c. 281, s. 9; 1969, c. 26, s. 115; 1975, c. 76, s. 11; 1981, c. 9, s. 24; 1982, c. 52, s. 204; 1993, c. 48, s. 423; 2002, c. 45, s. 543; 2010, c. 7, s. 282.
10. The liquidator or liquidators shall take into his or their custody, and under his or their control, all the assets of the company, and shall, subject however to such limitations as may be determined by the resolution of the shareholders for the dissolution of the company, have power:
(1)  To bring or defend any action or other judicial proceeding in the name and on behalf of the company;
(2)  To carry on the business of the company, so far as may be necessary for the beneficial winding-up of the same, and to collect all moneys due to it;
(3)  To sell the property of the company, by auction, private sale, sale of the enterprise or retail sale; provided that, at a general meeting of the shareholders, the majority have given their consent to such sale of the enterprise;
(4)  To execute, in the name and on behalf of the company, all deeds, acquittances, receipts and other documents;
(5)  To draw, accept, make or endorse bills of exchange or promissory notes in the name and on behalf of the company; and to raise upon the security of the assets of the company, from time to time, any requisite sums of money;
(6)  To do and execute whatever else may be necessary for winding-up the affairs of the company and distributing its assets, including the power to compromise, at discretion, all claims and rights belonging to the company.
R. S. 1964, c. 281, s. 10; 1999, c. 40, s. 169.
11. When several liquidators are appointed, their powers may be validly exercised by the majority of them.
R. S. 1964, c. 281, s. 11.
12. The liquidator or liquidators shall first pay the debts of the company and the costs, charges and expenses of winding it up, and shall afterwards distribute the balance of the proceeds of the assets among the shareholders, according to their rights and interests in the company.
R. S. 1964, c. 281, s. 12.
13. The liquidator or liquidators shall recover and collect unpaid calls, in full or proportionately as the case may require, from shareholders in default, should he or they deem it necessary; but in case of the non-collection in whole or in part of such unpaid calls, the shareholders in default shall only rank in the distribution when those who have paid more shall have been ranked for the excess so paid by them.
R. S. 1964, c. 281, s. 13.
14. The shareholders shall fix the remuneration of the liquidator or liquidators; and also whether or not he or they shall give security for his or their administration, specifying when security shall be given and the amount thereof.
R. S. 1964, c. 281, s. 14.
15. If the winding-up continues for more than one year, the liquidator or liquidators shall call a general meeting of the shareholders, at the end of the first year, and at the end of each succeeding year, or so soon thereafter as may be convenient; and he or they shall lay before such meetings an account, showing his or their acts and dealings, and the manner in which the operations for the winding-up have been conducted during the preceding year.
R. S. 1964, c. 281, s. 15.
16. As soon as the affairs of the company are fully wound up, the liquidator or liquidators shall make up an account showing the cash on hand at the date on which the company was placed in liquidation, the property of the company disposed of, the amounts realized, the sums paid and generally the manner in which such winding-up has been conducted, and shall attest the same before a justice of the peace; and thereupon he or they shall call a general meeting of the company for the purpose of laying such account before the shareholders and of having the same confirmed.
R. S. 1964, c. 281, s. 16.
17. The liquidator or liquidators shall make a return to the enterprise registrar of such meeting having been held, and also of such meeting having confirmed the account, showing the manner in which the winding-up has been conducted.
The enterprise registrar shall make an entry in the register indicating that the return was transmitted to him, and the company shall be dissolved from the date of such entry.
However, where a cooperative is wound up, the return shall be transmitted to the Minister of Economic Development, Innovation and Export Trade. The latter shall send a notice to the enterprise registrar indicating that he has received the return.
The enterprise registrar shall make an entry in the register indicating that the return was transmitted to the Minister, and the cooperative shall be dissolved from the date of such entry.
R. S. 1964, c. 281, s. 17; 1969, c. 26, s. 115; 1975, c. 76, s. 11; 1981, c. 9, s. 24; 1982, c. 52, s. 204; 1993, c. 48, s. 424; 1995, c. 67, s. 174; 1999, c. 8, s. 20; 2002, c. 45, s. 543; 2003, c. 29, s. 135; 2006, c. 8, s. 31.
18. In the course of the winding-up, but before the sale of the property, the general meeting of shareholders may decide, by a majority representing not less than 2/3 of the capital, to discontinue the winding-up proceedings and continue the operations of the company.
At the same meeting the shareholders shall direct one of their number to apply, in the name of the company, to a judge of the Superior Court, for the approval of the resolution.
Notice of the day when such application will be presented shall be given to the liquidators, to the creditors and to the shareholders, by registered mail. It shall be sent at least six days before the day fixed for the presentation of the application.
The resolution of the shareholders shall have no effect until approved by the judge.
Notice of such resolution and of its approval shall be transmitted to the enterprise registrar, who shall deposit the same in the register.
However, where a cooperative is wound up, the notice of such resolution and of its approval shall be transmitted in duplicate to the Minister of Economic Development, Innovation and Export Trade. The latter shall send a copy thereof to the enterprise registrar, who shall deposit it in the register.
The approval of such resolution by the judge shall put an end to the powers of the liquidators, but every act done by them while in office shall remain valid, and any action instituted by them may be taken up and carried on by the company in the usual way.
From the date of such deposit, the notice referred to in section 9 shall cease to have effect.
R. S. 1964, c. 281, s. 18; 1969, c. 26, s. 115; 1975, c. 76, s. 11; 1975, c. 83, s. 84; 1981, c. 9, s. 24; 1982, c. 52, s. 204; 1993, c. 48, s. 425; 1995, c. 67, s. 175; 1999, c. 8, s. 20; 2002, c. 45, s. 543; 2003, c. 29, s. 135; 2006, c. 8, s. 31; I.N. 2016-01-01 (NCCP).
DIVISION III
PROCEEDINGS AFTER DISSOLUTION
19. The enterprise registrar shall deposit a notice of dissolution in the register.
R. S. 1964, c. 281, s. 19; 1969, c. 26, s. 115; 1975, c. 76, s. 11; 1981, c. 9, s. 24; 1982, c. 52, s. 204; 1993, c. 48, s. 426; 2002, c. 45, s. 543.
20. Within 30 days after the date of the dissolution of the company, the liquidator or liquidators shall transfer to the Minister of Revenue the amount of all debts and of all dividends which may then be unclaimed and unpaid, with a statement thereof, attested before a justice of the peace, indicating, where applicable, the name and last known address of the interested parties and the date on which the money was transferred to the Minister of Revenue; and the money so transferred shall be governed by the Unclaimed Property Act (chapter B-5.1).
R. S. 1964, c. 281, s. 20; 1970, c. 17, s. 101; 1997, c. 80, s. 68; 2005, c. 44, s. 54; 2011, c. 10, s. 93.
21. The liquidator shall keep the books and records of the legal person for five years from the closing of the liquidation ; the liquidator shall keep them for a longer period if the books and records are required as evidence in proceedings.
The liquidator disposes of them thereafter as the liquidator sees fit.
R. S. 1964, c. 281, s. 21; 1997, c. 80, s. 69; 1999, c. 40, s. 169.
22. If the liquidator or liquidators neglects or neglect to transfer the moneys to the Minister of Revenue, or to deposit the books, accounts and documents as provided in sections 20 and 21, he or they severally shall be liable to a penalty of not more than $10 for every day during which he or they is or are in default.
R. S. 1964, c. 281, s. 22; 1997, c. 80, s. 70; 2005, c. 44, s. 54.
23. The liquidators are required to render their accounts and pay over the moneys for which they are accountable in the same manner as the liquidator of a legal person under the Civil Code.
R. S. 1964, c. 281, s. 23; 1992, c. 57, s. 607.
DIVISION IV
JUDICIAL WINDING-UP
24. Upon application by a shareholder, the Superior Court may order the winding-up of a company whenever it is of the opinion that, for a reason other than bankruptcy or insolvency, it is just and equitable that the company be wound up.
R. S. 1964, c. 281, s. 24; I.N. 2016-01-01 (NCCP).
25. The order of the court directing the winding-up of the company shall have the same effects as a resolution of the shareholders under section 3.
In making the order, the court shall appoint one or more liquidators to wind up the affairs of the company and distribute its assets, and thereupon the functions of the directors shall cease.
The court or a judge thereof may thereafter fill any vacancy occurring in the office of liquidator, and dismiss and replace any liquidator deemed for any reason unfit or undesirable.
The court, when making the winding-up order, and, at any time thereafter, the court or one of its judges may order and authorize any proceeding consistent with this Act to ensure the protection of the rights of interested parties and an orderly winding-up of the company.
R. S. 1964, c. 281, s. 25.
25.1. The liquidator shall forthwith transmit the winding-up order to the enterprise registrar, who shall deposit a notice to that effect in the register.
1993, c. 48, s. 427; 2002, c. 45, s. 543.
26. When the winding-up order has been made the judge, upon the application of the company, the liquidator, a shareholder, a creditor or a contributory, may restrain further proceedings in any civil action, suit or proceeding against the company, upon such terms as he thinks fit.
R. S. 1964, c. 281, s. 26; 1992, c. 61, s. 376.
27. The judge shall not postpone the right of a secured creditor to realize or otherwise deal with his security, except as follows:
(a)  in the case of a security for a debt due at the date of the winding-up order, such right shall not be postponed for more than six months from such date;
(b)  in the case of a security for a debt that becomes due after the date of the winding-up order, such right shall not be postponed for more than six months from the date of maturity of such debt, nor unless all instalments of interest six months overdue have been paid.
R. S. 1964, c. 281, s. 27.
28. A secured creditor, within a period of 30 days after demand in writing made upon him by the liquidator, must file with the liquidator an affidavit giving full particulars of his security.
R. S. 1964, c. 281, s. 28; 1999, c. 40, s. 169.
29. The liquidator may redeem a security on payment of the debt.
R. S. 1964, c. 281, s. 29.
30. Failing approval by the shareholders of the account provided for in sections 16 and 17, the approval of the judge or court shall avail for all purposes in lieu thereof.
R. S. 1964, c. 281, s. 30.
31. Furthermore, and saving inconsistency with this division, the provisions of sections 4 to 23 shall apply to the judicial winding-up and dissolution of companies under this division.
R. S. 1964, c. 281, s. 31.
32. There shall be an appeal to the Court of Appeal from the order to wind up the company. Such appeal shall be heard by preference, in summary manner, in conformity with article 31 of the Code of Civil Procedure (chapter C-25.01).
Where applicable, the liquidator shall also transmit forthwith to the enterprise registrar a notice indicating that the order has been appealed from; the enterprise registrar shall deposit such notice in the register.
Any other order or decision of the court or one of its judges relating to such winding-up shall be definitive.
R. S. 1964, c. 281, s. 32; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 80, a. 1; 1974, c. 11, s. 2; 1993, c. 48, s. 428; 2002, c. 45, s. 543; I.N. 2016-01-01 (NCCP).
32.1. The decision of any court concerning the winding-up order shall be transmitted forthwith by the company or the liquidator, as the case may be, to the enterprise registrar, who shall deposit a notice to that effect in the register.
1993, c. 48, s. 429; 2002, c. 45, s. 543.
33. (This section ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987).
1982, c. 21, s. 1; U. K., 1982, c. 11, Sch. B, Part I, s. 33.
34. The Government designates the Minister responsible for the administration of this Act except the provisions relating to the responsibilities of the enterprise registrar, which are administered by the Minister of Employment and Social Solidarity.
2002, c. 45, s. 544; 2006, c. 38, s. 40; 2016, c. 29, s. 26.
The Minister of Finance exercises the functions of the Minister of Revenue provided for in this Act. Order in Council 821-2019 dated 14 August 2019, (2019) 151 G.O. 2 (French), 3788.
Not in force
35. The Minister of Economic Development, Innovation and Export Trade is responsible for the application of this Act.
2002, c. 45, s. 544; 2003, c. 29, s. 170; 2006, c. 8, s. 31.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 281 of the Revised Statutes, 1964, in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed effective from the coming into force of chapter L-4 of the Revised Statutes.

L-4 - Loi sur la liquidation des compagnies

Texte complet
chapitre L-4
Loi sur la liquidation des compagnies
LIQUIDATION DES COMPAGNIES31 décembre 1977
SECTION I
DU MODE DE LIQUIDATION VOLONTAIRE
1. Toutes les affaires des compagnies à fonds social, constituées par lettres patentes, par dépôt des statuts ou par charte spéciale, peuvent être liquidées volontairement, quand les administrateurs jugent à propos de dissoudre leur compagnie.
La présente loi ne s’applique pas à l’égard d’une société par actions à laquelle s’applique la Loi sur les sociétés par actions (chapitre S-31.1).
S. R. 1964, c. 281, a. 1; 1979, c. 31, a. 44; 2009, c. 52, a. 595.
2. Les administrateurs convoquent alors une assemblée générale des actionnaires, mentionnant, dans l’avis, que la dissolution de la compagnie sera proposée à cette assemblée.
S. R. 1964, c. 281, a. 2.
3. La résolution des administrateurs déclarant qu’il est à propos que les affaires de la compagnie soient liquidées volontairement, est soumise à l’assemblée générale des actionnaires et si, à cette assemblée, il est passé une résolution, par le vote d’au moins les deux tiers en valeur des actions représentées par les actionnaires présents déclarant que les affaires de la compagnie seront liquidées volontairement, et que la compagnie sera dissoute, la compagnie n’existe et ne fait ensuite d’opérations que dans le but seulement de liquider ses affaires.
S. R. 1964, c. 281, a. 3.
4. Le statut et les pouvoirs constitutifs de la compagnie continuent jusqu’à ce que ses affaires soient liquidées.
S. R. 1964, c. 281, a. 4; 1999, c. 40, a. 169.
SECTION II
DES LIQUIDATEURS
5. À l’assemblée générale, un ou des liquidateurs sont nommés dans le but de liquider les affaires de la compagnie, et de distribuer son actif, et, sur ce, le conseil d’administration cesse d’exister.
S. R. 1964, c. 281, a. 5.
6. Dans le cas où une vacance survient dans la charge de liquidateur, par décès, démission ou autrement, la compagnie peut, à une assemblée générale, remplir cette vacance; cette assemblée générale peut être convoquée par le ou les liquidateurs, ou par tout actionnaire.
S. R. 1964, c. 281, a. 6.
7. La compagnie peut aussi, à une assemblée générale convoquée par trois actionnaires, sur un avis mentionnant que la démission des liquidateurs ou de quelqu’un d’eux sera proposée, démettre ce ou ces liquidateurs et en nommer d’autres à leurs places.
S. R. 1964, c. 281, a. 7.
8. À défaut des actionnaires de nommer ou de remplacer un ou des liquidateurs, tout juge de la Cour supérieure, dans le district où la compagnie a son siège ou son principal établissement, peut, après un défaut de 15 jours, sur la demande d’un actionnaire, nommer un ou plusieurs liquidateurs.
Le juge peut aussi, pour des raisons suffisantes, démettre tout liquidateur; et il peut, après un défaut de 15 jours de la part des actionnaires de le faire, en nommer un autre.
S. R. 1964, c. 281, a. 8; 1999, c. 40, a. 169.
9. Avis de la résolution passée par les actionnaires pour la liquidation et la dissolution de la compagnie doit être transmis au registraire des entreprises qui le dépose au registre visé au chapitre II de la Loi sur la publicité légale des entreprises (chapitre P-44.1).
S. R. 1964, c. 281, a. 9; 1968, c. 23, a. 8; 1969, c. 26, a. 115; 1975, c. 76, a. 11; 1981, c. 9, a. 24; 1982, c. 52, a. 204; 1993, c. 48, a. 423; 2002, c. 45, a. 543; 2010, c. 7, a. 282.
10. Le ou les liquidateurs prennent, sous leur garde et sous leur contrôle, tout l’actif de la compagnie, et ont, eu égard toutefois aux restrictions qui peuvent être déterminées par la résolution des actionnaires pour la dissolution de la compagnie, le pouvoir:
1°  D’intenter ou de contester toute action, ou adopter toute autre procédure judiciaire, au nom et de la part de la compagnie;
2°  De transiger les affaires de la compagnie, en autant qu’il est nécessaire pour leur liquidation avantageuse, et percevoir toutes les sommes d’argent qui lui sont dues;
3°  De vendre les biens de la compagnie, par vente aux enchères, vente privée ou vente d’entreprise ou en détail, pourvu qu’à une assemblée générale des actionnaires, la majorité ait donné son consentement à une telle vente d’entreprise;
4°  D’exécuter, au nom et de la part de la compagnie, les contrats, quittances, reçus et autres documents;
5°  De tirer, accepter, faire ou endosser des lettres de change ou billets au nom et de la part de la compagnie, et prélever, sur la garantie de l’actif de cette dernière, de temps à autre, toutes sommes d’argent requises;
6°  De faire et mettre à exécution tous les autres actes et toutes les procédures nécessaires pour liquider les affaires de la compagnie et pour la distribution de son actif, avec pouvoir de transiger, à leur discrétion, sur toutes réclamations et tous droits de la compagnie.
S. R. 1964, c. 281, a. 10; 1999, c. 40, a. 169.
11. Lorsqu’il est nommé plusieurs liquidateurs, leurs pouvoirs peuvent être exercés par la majorité d’entre eux.
S. R. 1964, c. 281, a. 11.
12. Le ou les liquidateurs payent d’abord les dettes de la compagnie, ainsi que les frais et dépenses de la liquidation, et distribuent ensuite la balance provenant de l’actif entre les actionnaires, suivant leurs droits et intérêts dans la compagnie.
S. R. 1964, c. 281, a. 12.
13. Ils recouvrent et perçoivent, s’ils le jugent nécessaire, les versements non payés, en entier ou en partie, suivant que le cas l’exige, des actionnaires en défaut; mais, dans le cas où ces versements dus ne sont pas perçus en entier ou en partie, les actionnaires en défaut ne prennent part dans la distribution, que lorsque ceux qui ont payé plus ont été colloqués pour le surplus ainsi payé par eux.
S. R. 1964, c. 281, a. 13.
14. Les actionnaires fixent la rémunération du ou des liquidateurs; et, s’ils doivent donner des garanties pour leur administration, ils spécifient quand un cautionnement doit être donné, et quel en doit être le montant.
S. R. 1964, c. 281, a. 14.
15. Dans le cas où la liquidation dure plus d’une année, le ou les liquidateurs convoquent une assemblée générale des actionnaires, à la fin de la première année, et, à la fin de chaque année suivante, ou aussitôt que convenable après l’expiration de chaque année, et ils déposent devant l’assemblée un rapport de leurs actes et indiquent de quelle manière les opérations pour la liquidation ont été conduites pendant l’année précédente.
S. R. 1964, c. 281, a. 15.
16. Aussitôt que les affaires de la compagnie ont été entièrement liquidées, le ou les liquidateurs font un état démontrant le montant d’argent en mains quand la compagnie a été mise en liquidation, les biens de la compagnie dont on a disposé, les sommes réalisées, les sommes payées et en général la manière dont cette liquidation a été conduite, et l’attestent devant un juge de paix; sur ce, ils convoquent une assemblée générale de la compagnie afin de soumettre cet état aux actionnaires et le faire approuver.
S. R. 1964, c. 281, a. 16.
17. Le ou les liquidateurs font un rapport au registraire des entreprises de la tenue de telle assemblée, de l’approbation par cette assemblée, et de l’état démontrant la manière dont la liquidation a été conduite.
Le registraire des entreprises inscrit une mention au registre à l’effet que ce rapport lui a été transmis et la compagnie est dissoute à compter de la date de cette mention.
Toutefois, lors de la liquidation d’une coopérative, le rapport est transmis au ministre du Développement économique, de l’Innovation et de l’Exportation. Ce dernier transmet au registraire des entreprises un avis indiquant qu’il a reçu le rapport.
Le registraire des entreprises inscrit une mention au registre à l’effet que le rapport a été transmis au ministre et la coopérative est dissoute à compter de la date de cette mention.
S. R. 1964, c. 281, a. 17; 1969, c. 26, a. 115; 1975, c. 76, a. 11; 1981, c. 9, a. 24; 1982, c. 52, a. 204; 1993, c. 48, a. 424; 1995, c. 67, a. 174; 1999, c. 8, a. 20; 2002, c. 45, a. 543; 2003, c. 29, a. 135; 2006, c. 8, a. 31.
18. Dans le cours de la liquidation, mais avant la vente des biens, l’assemblée générale des actionnaires peut décider, par une majorité ne représentant pas moins des 2/3 du capital, de discontinuer les procédures de la liquidation et de reprendre les opérations de la compagnie.
À cette même assemblée, les actionnaires doivent charger un d’entre eux de demander, au nom de la compagnie, à un juge de la Cour supérieure, l’approbation de la résolution.
Avis du jour où la demande sera présentée doit être donné aux liquidateurs, aux créanciers et aux actionnaires, par poste recommandée. Il doit être envoyé au moins six jours avant celui fixé pour la présentation de la demande.
La résolution des actionnaires n’a d’effet que si elle est approuvée par le juge.
Avis de cette résolution et de son approbation doit être transmis au registraire des entreprises qui le dépose au registre.
Toutefois, lors de la liquidation d’une coopérative, l’avis de la résolution et de son approbation est transmis en double exemplaire au ministre du Développement économique, de l’Innovation et de l’Exportation. Ce dernier en transmet un exemplaire au registraire des entreprises qui le dépose au registre.
L’approbation de cette résolution par le juge fait cesser les pouvoirs des liquidateurs, mais les actes faits par eux pendant qu’ils étaient en fonction restent valables, et les actions qu’ils ont intentées peuvent être reprises par la compagnie de la manière ordinaire.
À compter de la date de ce dépôt, l’avis visé à l’article 9 cesse d’avoir effet.
S. R. 1964, c. 281, a. 18; 1968, c. 23, a. 8; 1969, c. 26, a. 115; 1975, c. 76, a. 11; 1975, c. 83, a. 84; 1981, c. 9, a. 24; 1982, c. 52, a. 204; 1993, c. 48, a. 425; 1995, c. 67, a. 175; 1999, c. 8, a. 20; 2002, c. 45, a. 543; 2003, c. 29, a. 135; 2006, c. 8, a. 31; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
SECTION III
DES PROCÉDURES APRÈS LA DISSOLUTION DE LA COMPAGNIE
19. Le registraire des entreprises dépose un avis de dissolution au registre.
S. R. 1964, c. 281, a. 19; 1968, c. 23, a. 8; 1969, c. 26, a. 115; 1975, c. 76, a. 11; 1981, c. 9, a. 24; 1982, c. 52, a. 204; 1993, c. 48, a. 426; 2002, c. 45, a. 543.
20. Dans les 30 jours qui suivent la dissolution de la compagnie, le ou les liquidateurs doivent remettre au ministre du Revenu le montant des dettes et dividendes qui ne sont pas alors réclamés et payés, avec un état de ces dettes et dividendes attesté devant un juge de paix et indiquant les nom et dernière adresse connue de leurs ayants droit ainsi que la date de leur remise au ministre du Revenu; les deniers ainsi remis sont régis par la Loi sur les biens non réclamés (chapitre B-5.1).
S. R. 1964, c. 281, a. 20; 1970, c. 17, a. 101; 1997, c. 80, a. 68; 2005, c. 44, a. 54; 2011, c. 10, a. 93.
21. Le liquidateur conserve les livres et registres de la personne morale pendant les cinq années qui suivent la clôture de la liquidation ; il les conserve pour une plus longue période si les livres et registres sont requis en preuve dans une instance.
Par la suite, il en dispose à son gré.
S. R. 1964, c. 281, a. 21; 1997, c. 80, a. 69; 1999, c. 40, a. 169.
22. Si le ou les liquidateurs négligent de remettre les deniers au ministre du Revenu, ou de déposer les livres, comptes et documents, ainsi que prévu dans les articles 20 et 21, ils deviennent individuellement passibles d’une amende n’excédant pas 10 $ pour chaque jour de défaut.
S. R. 1964, c. 281, a. 22; 1997, c. 80, a. 70; 2005, c. 44, a. 54.
23. Les liquidateurs sont tenus de rendre leurs comptes et de rembourser les sommes d’argent pour lesquelles ils sont responsables de la même manière qu’un liquidateur de personne morale en vertu du Code civil.
S. R. 1964, c. 281, a. 23; 1992, c. 57, a. 607.
SECTION IV
DE LA LIQUIDATION JUDICIAIRE
24. À la demande d’un actionnaire, la Cour supérieure peut ordonner la liquidation d’une compagnie lorsqu’elle est d’avis que, pour une raison autre que la faillite ou l’insolvabilité, il est juste et équitable que cette compagnie soit liquidée.
S. R. 1964, c. 281, a. 24; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
25. L’ordonnance de la cour décrétant la mise en liquidation de la compagnie a les mêmes effets qu’une résolution adoptée par les actionnaires en vertu de l’article 3.
En émettant l’ordonnance, la cour nomme un ou des liquidateurs dans le but de liquider les affaires de la compagnie et de distribuer son actif et dès lors les fonctions des administrateurs prennent fin.
La cour ou l’un de ses juges peut, par la suite, remplir toute vacance survenant dans la charge de liquidateur, et démettre et remplacer tout liquidateur jugé inapte ou indésirable pour quelque cause que ce soit.
La cour, en émettant l’ordonnance de liquidation, et, en tout temps par la suite, la cour ou l’un de ses juges peut donner tout ordre et autoriser toute procédure compatible avec la présente loi pour assurer la protection des droits des intéressés et une liquidation ordonnée de la compagnie.
S. R. 1964, c. 281, a. 25.
25.1. Le liquidateur transmet sans délai l’ordonnance de liquidation au registraire des entreprises qui dépose un avis à cet effet au registre.
1993, c. 48, a. 427; 2002, c. 45, a. 543.
26. Lorsque l’ordonnance de liquidation a été rendue, le juge peut, à la demande de la compagnie, du liquidateur, d’un actionnaire, d’un créancier ou d’un contributeur, arrêter le cours de toute action, poursuite ou procédure civiles contre la compagnie, aux conditions qu’il juge à propos.
S. R. 1964, c. 281, a. 26; 1992, c. 61, a. 376.
27. Le juge ne doit pas différer le droit d’un créancier garanti de réaliser sa garantie ou d’en disposer autrement, sauf selon les dispositions suivantes:
a)  dans le cas d’une garantie pour une dette échue à la date de l’ordonnance de liquidation, ce droit ne doit pas être différé plus de six mois à compter de cette date;
b)  dans le cas d’une garantie pour une dette qui devient échue après la date de l’ordonnance de liquidation, ce droit ne doit pas être différé plus de six mois à compter de la date d’échéance de cette dette, ni sans que soient acquittés tous les versements d’intérêts en souffrance depuis six mois.
S. R. 1964, c. 281, a. 27.
28. Un créancier garanti doit, dans un délai de trente jours après que le liquidateur lui en fait la demande par écrit, déposer entre les mains du liquidateur une déclaration sous serment énonçant les détails complets de sa garantie.
S. R. 1964, c. 281, a. 28; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
29. Le liquidateur peut racheter une garantie sur paiement de la créance.
S. R. 1964, c. 281, a. 29.
30. À défaut de l’approbation, par les actionnaires, de l’état visé aux articles 16 et 17, l’approbation du juge ou de la cour en tient lieu à toutes fins.
S. R. 1964, c. 281, a. 30.
31. Au surplus et sauf incompatibilité avec la présente section, les dispositions des articles 4 à 23 s’appliquent à la liquidation judiciaire et à la dissolution des compagnies en vertu de la présente section.
S. R. 1964, c. 281, a. 31.
32. Il y a appel à la Cour d’appel de l’ordonnance de liquidation de la compagnie. Cet appel est entendu par privilège, d’une manière sommaire, conformément à l’article 31 du Code de procédure civile (chapitre C‐25.01).
Le liquidateur transmet également sans délai un avis indiquant que l’ordonnance a été portée en appel, le cas échéant, au registraire des entreprises qui le dépose au registre.
Toute autre ordonnance ou décision de la cour ou de l’un de ses juges ayant trait à cette liquidation est définitive.
S. R. 1964, c. 281, a. 32; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 80, a. 1; 1974, c. 11, a. 2; 1993, c. 48, a. 428; 2002, c. 45, a. 543; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
32.1. La décision de tout tribunal sur l’ordonnance de liquidation doit, sans délai, être transmise par la compagnie ou le liquidateur, selon le cas, au registraire des entreprises qui dépose un avis à cet effet au registre.
1993, c. 48, a. 429; 2002, c. 45, a. 543.
33. (Cet article a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987).
1982, c. 21, a. 1; R.-U., 1982, c. 11, ann. B, ptie I, a. 33.
34. Le gouvernement désigne le ministre responsable de l’application des dispositions de la présente loi sauf de celles relatives aux responsabilités confiées au registraire des entreprises qui relèvent du ministre de l’Emploi et de la Solidarité sociale.
2002, c. 45, a. 544; 2006, c. 38, a. 40; 2016, c. 29, a. 26.
Le ministre des Finances exerce les fonctions du ministre du Revenu prévues à la présente loi. Décret 821-2019 du 14 août 2019, (2019) 151 G.O. 2, 3788.
Non en vigueur
35. Le ministre du Développement économique, de l’Innovation et de l’Exportation est chargé de l’application de la présente loi.
2002, c. 45, a. 544; 2003, c. 29, a. 170; 2006, c. 8, a. 31.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R-3), le chapitre 281 des Statuts refondus, 1964, tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre L-4 des Lois refondues.