L-2 - Freedom of Worship Act

Full text
chapter L-2
Freedom of Worship Act
FREEDOM OF WORSHIPDecember 31 1977
DIVISION I
FREEDOM OF WORSHIP
1. The free exercise and enjoyment of religious profession and worship, without discrimination or preference, provided the same be not made an excuse for acts of licentiousness or a justification of practices inconsistent with the peace and safety of Québec, are by the constitution and laws of Québec allowed to all persons living within the same.
R. S. 1964, c. 301, s. 1; 1999, c. 40, s. 168.
2. (Repealed).
R. S. 1964, c. 301, s. 2; 1986, c. 95, s. 175.
DIVISION II
GOOD ORDER IN AND NEAR CHURCHES
3. In this Act, the word church means any church, chapel, or other building or place used for public worship.
R. S. 1964, c. 301, s. 3.
4. The churchwardens in office in each parish or locality in Québec shall, under a penalty of not less than $2 nor more than $8 for every neglect or refusal to perform the duties so imposed upon them by this Act, maintain good order in and about the church of such parish or locality, both within and without such church, and in the public hall attached or adjacent to the parsonage or presbytery, and also in the roads and public places adjoining the same, and they shall carry out and have carried out the provisions of this Act.
R. S. 1964, c. 301, s. 4; 1992, c. 61, s. 373.
5. Any person who causes any disturbance in the church, in any parish or locality, during divine service, or in any wise indecently or irreverently conducts himself in or about such church, or resists the churchwardens or any person in the execution of the duties imposed on them or him by this Act, or insults them or any of them, is guilty of an offence and liable to a fine of $1 to $8.
R. S. 1964, c. 301, s. 5; 1969, c. 21, s. 35; 1986, c. 95, s. 176; 1990, c. 4, s. 535.
6. Any person who remains or loiters near any such church or place used for public worship, or in the highways and public places adjacent thereto, or in the public hall attached or adjacent to the parsonage house or presbytery, or who so remaining or loitering near the said church, or in the highways and public places adjacent thereto, and upon being directed to retire or to enter the said church during divine service, refuses or neglects so to do, is guilty of an offence and liable to a fine of $1 to $4.
R. S. 1964, c. 301, s. 6; 1969, c. 21, s. 35; 1986, c. 95, s. 177; 1990, c. 4, s. 536.
7. Every peace officer in any parish, seigniory, township or locality or other extra-parochial place, shall, for the execution of the duties imposed upon him, have the same powers as those vested by this Act in churchwardens.
R. S. 1964, c. 301, s. 7.
DIVISION III
PENAL PROVISIONS
1990, c. 4, s. 537.
8. (Repealed).
R. S. 1964, c. 301, s. 8; 1969, c. 21, s. 35; 1986, c. 95, s. 178.
9. Any person attending, as well in going to as returning from divine service, at any such church, who, on approaching or returning from the same, within 585 m therefrom, drives, whether on horseback or in a carriage, faster than a slow and moderate trot, shall, for every such offence, be liable to a fine of not more than $2, nor less than $1.
R. S. 1964, c. 301, s. 9; 1984, c. 47, s. 213.
10. A justice, on application by the churchwardens, or any rector or priest officiating in any church or place of public worship, may appoint one or two constables for the purposes of assisting the churchwardens in office, in the performance of the duties imposed upon them by this Act; and such constables shall obey the orders and directions of the churchwardens in office.
R. S. 1964, c. 301, s. 10; 1990, c. 4, s. 538; 1992, c. 61, s. 374.
11. (Repealed).
R. S. 1964, c. 301, s. 11; 1986, c. 95, s. 179.
12. (Repealed).
R. S. 1964, c. 301, s. 12; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 80, a. 1; 1986, c. 95, s. 180.
13. (Repealed).
R. S. 1964, c. 301, s. 13; 1986, c. 95, s. 181.
DIVISION IV
Repealed, 1990, c. 4, s. 539.
1990, c. 4, s. 539.
14. (Repealed).
R. S. 1964, c. 301, s. 14; 1990, c. 4, s. 539.
DIVISION V
Repealed, 1992, c. 61, s. 375.
1992, c. 61, s. 375.
15. (Repealed).
R. S. 1964, c. 301, s. 15; 1990, c. 4, s. 540; 1992, c. 61, s. 375.
16. (Repealed).
R. S. 1964, c. 301, s. 16; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 80, a. 1; 1990, c. 4, s. 541.
17. (Repealed).
R. S. 1964, c. 301, s. 17; 1992, c. 61, s. 375.
DIVISION VI
This Division ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987.
18. (This section ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987).
1982, c. 21, s. 1; U. K., 1982, c. 11, Sch. B, Part I, s. 33.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 301 of the Revised Statutes, 1964, in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed effective from the coming into force of chapter L-2 of the Revised Statutes.

l-2 - Loi sur la liberté des cultes

Texte complet
chapitre L-2
Loi sur la liberté des cultes
LIBERTÉ DES CULTES31 décembre 1977
SECTION I
DE LA LIBERTÉ DES CULTES
1. La jouissance et le libre exercice du culte de toute profession religieuse, sans distinction ni préférence, mais de manière à ne pas servir d’excuse à la licence, ni à autoriser des pratiques incompatibles avec la paix et la sûreté au Québec, sont permis par la constitution et les lois du Québec à toutes les personnes qui y vivent.
S. R. 1964, c. 301, a. 1; 1999, c. 40, a. 168.
2. (Abrogé).
S. R. 1964, c. 301, a. 2; 1986, c. 95, a. 175.
SECTION II
DU BON ORDRE DANS LES ÉGLISES ET LEURS ALENTOURS
3. Dans la présente section, le mot «église» signifie toute église, chapelle, ou autre édifice ou endroit consacré au culte public.
S. R. 1964, c. 301, a. 3.
4. Il est du devoir des marguilliers en exercice, dans chaque paroisse ou localité du Québec, sous peine d’une amende de pas plus de 8 $ ni de moins de 2 $, pour chaque refus ou négligence de s’acquitter des devoirs qui leur sont imposés par la présente loi, de veiller au maintien du bon ordre dans l’église ou près de l’église de telle paroisse ou localité, tant au dedans qu’au dehors de telle église, et dans la salle publique attachée ou adjacente au presbytère, et aussi dans les chemins et places publiques y adjacents, et ils doivent exécuter et faire exécuter les prescriptions de la présente loi.
S. R. 1964, c. 301, a. 4; 1992, c. 61, a. 373.
5. Quiconque cause des désordres dans l’église d’une paroisse ou d’une localité, pendant le service divin, ou se conduit d’une manière indécente ou irrévérencieuse dans cette église ou près de cette église, ou résiste aux marguilliers, ou à toute autre personne, dans l’exécution des devoirs qui leur sont imposés par la présente loi, ou les insulte, commet une infraction et est passible d’une amende de 1 $ à 8 $.
S. R. 1964, c. 301, a. 5; 1969, c. 21, a. 35; 1986, c. 95, a. 176; 1990, c. 4, a. 535.
6. Toute personne qui demeure ou s’amuse près de cette église ou autre place consacrée au culte public, ou dans les chemins et places publiques y adjacents, ou dans la salle publique attachée ou adjacente au presbytère, ou qui, demeurant ou s’amusant ainsi près de telle église ou dans les chemins et places publiques y adjacents, sur l’ordre qui lui est donné de se retirer ou d’entrer dans l’église, pendant le service divin, refuse ou néglige de le faire, commet une infraction et est passible d’une amende de 1 $ à 4 $.
S. R. 1964, c. 301, a. 6; 1969, c. 21, a. 35; 1986, c. 95, a. 177; 1990, c. 4, a. 536.
7. Tout officier de paix, dans chaque paroisse, seigneurie, canton ou localité, ou autre place extra-paroissiale, a les mêmes pouvoirs que ceux délégués aux marguilliers par la présente loi, pour remplir les devoirs qui lui sont imposés.
S. R. 1964, c. 301, a. 7.
SECTION III
DES PEINES
1990, c. 4, a. 537.
8. (Abrogé).
S. R. 1964, c. 301, a. 8; 1969, c. 21, a. 35; 1986, c. 95, a. 178.
9. Toute personne qui assiste au service divin d’une telle église, ou qui y va ou en revient et qui, en en approchant ou en en revenant, à la distance de 585 m, va, à cheval ou en voiture, plus vite que le petit trot, encourt pour chaque telle infraction une amende de pas plus de 2 $ ni de moins de 1 $.
S. R. 1964, c. 301, a. 9; 1984, c. 47, a. 213.
10. Un juge, sur la réquisition des marguilliers, ou tout curé, ou prêtre faisant les fonctions ecclésiastiques dans une église, peut nommer un ou deux constables à l’effet d’assister les marguilliers de l’oeuvre dans l’exercice des devoirs qui leur sont imposés par la présente loi; ces constables sont tenus d’obéir aux ordres et instructions des marguilliers de l’oeuvre.
S. R. 1964, c. 301, a. 10; 1990, c. 4, a. 538; 1992, c. 61, a. 374.
11. (Abrogé).
S. R. 1964, c. 301, a. 11; 1986, c. 95, a. 179.
12. (Abrogé).
S. R. 1964, c. 301, a. 12; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 80, a. 1; 1986, c. 95, a. 180.
13. (Abrogé).
S. R. 1964, c. 301, a. 13; 1986, c. 95, a. 181.
SECTION IV
Abrogée, 1990, c. 4, a. 539.
1990, c. 4, a. 539.
14. (Abrogé).
S. R. 1964, c. 301, a. 14; 1990, c. 4, a. 539.
SECTION V
Abrogée, 1992, c. 61, a. 375.
1992, c. 61, a. 375.
15. (Abrogé).
S. R. 1964, c. 301, a. 15; 1990, c. 4, a. 540; 1992, c. 61, a. 375.
16. (Abrogé).
S. R. 1964, c. 301, a. 16; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 80, a. 1; 1990, c. 4, a. 541.
17. (Abrogé).
S. R. 1964, c. 301, a. 17; 1992, c. 61, a. 375.
SECTION VI
Cette section a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987.
18. (Cet article a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987).
1982, c. 21, a. 1; R.-U., 1982, c. 11, ann. B, ptie I, a. 33.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 301 des Statuts refondus, 1964, tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre L-2 des Lois refondues.