E-19 - Act respecting reciprocal enforcement of maintenance orders

Full text
chapter E-19
Act respecting reciprocal enforcement of maintenance orders
RECIPROCAL ENFORCEMENT OF MAINTENANCE ORDERSDecember 31 1977
1. A judgment rendered in a state, province or territory designated under section 10 ordering payment of maintenance may be executed in Québec in accordance with the conditions and formalities prescribed by this Act.
R. S. 1964, c. 23, s. 1; 1982, c. 32, s. 81.
1.1. Where a judgment indicates an amount in a foreign currency, the clerk shall convert the amount to Canadian currency at the rate of exchange in force on the date of the judgment.
1982, c. 32, s. 82.
2. The Attorney General, when he receives from an authorized official source a copy of such judgment, certified a true copy of the original by the judge or a competent officer of the court which rendered it, shall transmit the same to the clerk of the Superior Court of the district where the defendant has his domicile or residence.
If the place of such domicile or residence is not indicated to the Attorney General, he shall transmit the copy of the judgment to the clerk of the Superior Court of the district of Québec.
R. S. 1964, c. 23, s. 2.
3. As soon as he receives such copy of judgment, the clerk shall inscribe thereon the date of its receipt and deposit it in the archives of his office.
Such judgment shall then produce the same effects, particularly as to its execution, as if it had been rendered by a court sitting in Québec.
R. S. 1964, c. 23, s. 3.
4. To have the benefit of the provisions of this Act, the judgment must be in conformity with the laws and rules of public order in force in Québec, especially those relating to marriage or the civil union.
R. S. 1964, c. 23, s. 4; 1982, c. 32, s. 83; 2002, c. 6, s. 140.
5. The incompatibility of the judgment with the laws or rules of public order of Québec may be pleaded by the defendant, by way of opposition to execution.
Such opposition, the procedure on which shall be summary, shall be submitted to the court with all possible dispatch and shall be heard by precedence before any other case.
R. S. 1964, c. 23, s. 5.
6. The creditor under an extra-provincial judgment submitted for decision to the courts of Québec cannot execute it until he has obtained, on an application, from the Superior Court of the district in which the copy of the judgment is deposited, a confirmation of such judgment with or without modification.
R. S. 1964, c. 23, s. 6; I.N. 2016-01-01 (NCCP).
7. In the case of section 6, the depositions or stenographic transcripts of testimony transmitted with the judgment shall be filed in the record of the case as part of the evidence, which may be completed by further legal evidence offered by the parties. The Superior Court shall then render its judgment either confirming or modifying or quashing the extra-provincial judgment.
The judgment of the Superior Court shall be subject to the same legal recourses and right of appeal as if the action had been commenced in Québec.
R. S. 1964, c. 23, s. 7; 1982, c. 32, s. 84.
8. The creditor under a judgment ordering payment of maintenance, rendered in Québec against a person neither domiciled nor resident therein, may have an authentic copy of such judgment transmitted by the clerk to the Attorney General for purposes of execution in a state, province or a territory designated under section 10.
The Attorney General shall transmit such copy to the competent person in the state, province or territory where the debtor has his domicile or residence, in order that such judgment may be executed there in accordance with the laws in force therein.
R. S. 1964, c. 23, s. 8; 1982, c. 32, s. 85.
9. In the case of an action for maintenance before a court of Québec, against a person neither resident nor domiciled therein, the court may, for the purposes of section 8, notwithstanding the rules of the Code of Civil Procedure (chapter C-25.01) and even if the defendant has not been summoned or heard, render a judgment of a provisional nature, subject to the final judgment of the competent court of the place where the defendant resides or is domiciled.
The depositions and stenographic transcripts of the evidence and particulars of the description, identity and residence or domicile of the defendant shall then be transmitted, with the copy of the judgment, by the clerk to the Attorney General, and by the latter to the competent person in the state, province or territory where such judgment is to be executed.
R. S. 1964, c. 23, s. 9; 1982, c. 32, s. 86; I.N. 2016-01-01 (NCCP).
10. The Government may by order designate any state, province or territory which it considers to have legislation substantially similar to the provisions of this Act that authorizes the execution of judgments ordering payment of maintenance rendered in Québec.
The order must further give the date of the coming into force of this Act for each state, province or territory it designates; the order shall be published in the Gazette officielle du Québec.
R. S. 1964, c. 23, s. 10; 1982, c. 32, s. 87.
11. (This section ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987).
1982, c. 21, s. 1; U. K., 1982, c. 11, Sch. B, Part I, s. 33.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 23 of the Revised Statutes, 1964, in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed effective from the coming into force of chapter E-19 of the Revised Statutes.

E-19 - Loi sur l’exécution réciproque d’ordonnances alimentaires

Texte complet
chapitre E-19
Loi sur l’exécution réciproque d’ordonnances alimentaires
EXÉCUTION RÉCIPROQUE D’ORDONNANCES ALIMENTAIRES31 décembre 1977
1. Le jugement rendu dans un état, une province ou un territoire désigné suivant l’article 10, portant condamnation à des aliments, peut être exécuté au Québec conformément aux conditions et formalités prescrites par la présente loi.
S. R. 1964, c. 23, a. 1; 1982, c. 32, a. 81.
1.1. Lorsqu’un jugement indique un montant en monnaie étrangère, le greffier convertit ce montant en monnaie canadienne selon le taux de change en vigueur à la date de ce jugement.
1982, c. 32, a. 82.
2. Le procureur général, lorsqu’il reçoit de source autorisée une copie de ce jugement, certifiée comme conforme à l’original par le juge du tribunal qui l’a rendu ou par un officier compétent de ce tribunal, la transmet au greffier de la Cour supérieure du district où le défendeur a son domicile ou sa résidence.
Si l’endroit de ce domicile ou de cette résidence n’est pas indiqué au procureur général, il transmet la copie du jugement au greffier de la Cour supérieure du district de Québec.
S. R. 1964, c. 23, a. 2.
3. Aussitôt que cette copie de jugement lui parvient, le greffier y inscrit la date de sa réception et la dépose dans les archives de son greffe pour en faire partie.
Ce jugement, dès lors, produit les mêmes effets, notamment quant à son exécution, que s’il avait été rendu par un tribunal siégeant au Québec.
S. R. 1964, c. 23, a. 3.
4. Pour bénéficier des dispositions de la présente loi, le jugement doit être conforme aux lois et règles d’ordre public en vigueur au Québec, notamment celles qui ont trait au mariage ou à l’union civile.
S. R. 1964, c. 23, a. 4; 1982, c. 32, a. 83; 2002, c. 6, a. 140.
5. L’inconciliabilité du jugement avec les lois ou règles d’ordre public du Québec peut être plaidée par le défendeur, par voie d’opposition à l’exécution.
Cette opposition, dont la procédure est sommaire, est soumise au tribunal avec toute la diligence possible et a préséance, quant à l’audition, sur toute autre cause.
S. R. 1964, c. 23, a. 5.
6. Le bénéficiaire d’un jugement extra-provincial subordonné à la décision des tribunaux du Québec ne peut l’exécuter qu’après en avoir obtenu de la Cour supérieure du district où la copie du jugement est déposée, une confirmation de ce jugement avec ou sans modification.
S. R. 1964, c. 23, a. 6; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
7. Dans le cas de l’article 6, les dépositions ou transcriptions sténographiques des témoignages transmises avec le jugement sont versées au dossier de la cause pour faire partie de la preuve, laquelle peut être complétée par de nouvelles preuves légales offertes par les parties. Puis, la Cour supérieure rend son jugement, confirmant, modifiant ou annulant, selon le cas, le jugement extra-provincial.
Ce jugement de la Cour supérieure est soumis aux mêmes recours légaux et au même droit d’appel que si l’instance avait été commencée au Québec.
S. R. 1964, c. 23, a. 7; 1982, c. 32, a. 84.
8. Le bénéficiaire d’un jugement rendu au Québec, contre une personne n’y ayant ni domicile ni résidence, et portant condamnation à des aliments peut obtenir du greffier l’envoi, au procureur général, d’une copie authentique de ce jugement, pour fins d’exécution dans un état, une province ou un territoire désigné selon l’article 10.
Le procureur général transmet cette copie à la personne compétente dans l’état, la province ou le territoire où le débiteur a son domicile ou sa résidence, afin que ce jugement puisse y être exécuté suivant les lois qui y sont en vigueur.
S. R. 1964, c. 23, a. 8; 1982, c. 32, a. 85.
9. Dans le cas de poursuite pour des aliments devant un tribunal du Québec, contre une personne qui n’y a ni résidence ni domicile, la cour peut, pour les fins de l’article 8, par dérogation aux règles du Code de procédure civile (chapitre C-25.01), même si le défendeur n’a pas été appelé ni entendu, rendre un jugement de caractère provisoire, subordonné au jugement définitif du tribunal compétent du lieu où le défendeur réside ou a son domicile.
Les dépositions et transcriptions sténographiques des témoignages et les indices de signalement, d’identité et de résidence ou de domicile du défendeur sont alors transmis, avec la copie du jugement, par le greffier au procureur général, et par celui-ci à la personne compétente dans l’état, la province ou le territoire où il s’agit d’exécuter ce jugement.
S. R. 1964, c. 23, a. 9; 1982, c. 32, a. 86; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
10. Le gouvernement peut, par décret, désigner tout état, province ou territoire dans lequel il estime qu’il existe une législation substantiellement semblable à ce que prévoit la présente loi et permettant l’exécution d’un jugement portant condamnation à des aliments rendu au Québec.
Le décret indique également la date d’entrée en vigueur de la présente loi pour chaque état, province ou territoire qu’il désigne; il est publié à la Gazette officielle du Québec.
S. R. 1964, c. 23, a. 10; 1982, c. 32, a. 87.
11. (Cet article a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987).
1982, c. 21, a. 1; R.-U., 1982, c. 11, ann. B, ptie I, a. 33.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 23 des Statuts refondus, 1964, tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre E-19 des Lois refondues.