E-12.0001 - Act to provide for balanced budgets in the public health and social services network

Full text
chapter E-12.0001
Act to provide for balanced budgets in the public health and social services network
BALANCED BUDGETS IN PUBLIC HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES NETWORKJune 16 2000June 16 2000
2000, c. 17.
1. This Act enacts measures to require public institutions of the health and social services network to maintain a balanced budget.
2000, c. 17, s. 1.
2. The provisions of this Act apply from the fiscal year 2000-2001.
2000, c. 17, s. 2.
3. Every public institution must, during a fiscal year, maintain a balance between its expenditures and its revenues.
2000, c. 17, s. 3.
4. No public institution may have a deficit at the end of a fiscal year.
2000, c. 17, s. 4.
5. At the beginning of a fiscal year, the Minister shall inform each agency of the resource envelope allotted to it pursuant to the Act respecting health services and social services (chapter S‐4.2) for the purpose of financing the expenditures relating to the services to be provided by public institutions.
The Minister shall, at the same time, inform the agency of the ministerial policies and priorities to be complied with both as regards the allocation of resources and the maintenance of a balanced budget, and as regards the organization and accessibility of services.
In addition, the Minister may indicate to an agency conditions for the allocation of resources applicable to one or more institutions in its region. The agency must comply therewith or obtain the approval of the Minister for any adjustments it proposes.
2000, c. 17, s. 5; 2005, c. 32, s. 308.
6. Within three weeks after receiving the information provided for in section 5, the agency shall inform the boards of directors of the institutions in its region of the amounts allocated to the operating budgets of the institutions. The total of the amounts allocated shall not exceed the resource envelope attributed to the agency for that purpose.
The agency shall, at the same time, inform the boards of directors of the regional policies and priorities that will be applicable to the budgets and services of the institutions, as determined by the agency in accordance with the ministerial policies and priorities.
2000, c. 17, s. 6; 2005, c. 32, s. 308.
7. Within three weeks after the date on which the particulars specified in section 6 are transmitted to the boards of directors of public institutions by the agency, the boards of directors shall adopt the operating budgets of the institutions, which must show a balance between revenues and expenditures, and shall inform the agency and the Minister.
2000, c. 17, s. 7; 2005, c. 32, s. 308.
8. The expenditures and commitments authorized by an agency, except commitments made before 1 April 1999, to finance the operations of the health and social services system in its region during a fiscal year shall not exceed the resource envelope allocated to the agency for that year.
2000, c. 17, s. 8; 2005, c. 32, s. 308.
9. The executive director of a public institution shall prepare and submit to the Minister, at the Minister’s request and at the intervals and on the dates determined by the Minister, a statement showing the financial position of the institution.
The executive director shall also ensure that the information is transmitted to each member of the board of directors of the institution before the next board meeting.
2000, c. 17, s. 9.
10. The executive director of a public institution shall, if the executive director is of the opinion that budgetary balance is at risk during a fiscal year, inform the board of directors of the institution of that fact without delay.
As soon as the board of directors ascertains that it will not be possible to maintain budgetary balance, the board shall amend the institution’s operating budget to post any anticipated deficit as an expenditure and shall inform the agency and the Minister. A recovery plan must also be prepared and submitted for approval to the Minister who may approve it with or without amendment.
2000, c. 17, s. 10; 2005, c. 32, s. 308.
11. Where warranted by the financial position of a public institution, in particular where the budgetary balance is at risk, the Minister may establish control mechanisms to ensure that the objective of this Act is attained. The Minister may, in particular, require that the institution implement an assessment program or an internal audit program.
The Minister may also, in the same circumstances, issue, in respect of a public institution, a directive concerning the management of its human, budgetary, physical or informational resources. The directive is binding on the institution from the date fixed therein.
2000, c. 17, s. 11.
12. The Minister may subject the approval and carrying out of any of a public institution’s projects involving a capital expenditure or the purchase of equipment to compliance with the requirement to maintain a balance between revenues and expenditures.
2000, c. 17, s. 12.
13. No public institution may borrow to meet operating expenditures unless expressly authorized by the Minister.
2000, c. 17, s. 13.
14. Where at any time during a fiscal year the Minister finds that a public institution is not complying with the requirements of section 7, that the expenditures of a public institution exceed its revenues or that an agency is not complying with the prescriptions of section 8, the Minister may, for that sole reason, assume the provisional administration of the institution or the agency pursuant to the Act respecting health services and social services (chapter S‐4.2) or exercise, on the Minister’s own initiative, the powers provided for in sections 499 to 501 of that Act.
2000, c. 17, s. 14; 2005, c. 32, s. 308.
15. If, despite the measures taken to comply with section 4, a public institution anticipates a deficit on 31 March in a fiscal year, the deficit must be posted as an expenditure in the institution’s budget for the next fiscal year.
2000, c. 17, s. 15.
16. The Minister of Health and Social Services is responsible for the administration of this Act.
2000, c. 17, s. 16.
17. (Omitted).
2000, c. 17, s. 17.
REPEAL SCHEDULE
In accordance with section 9 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes and regulations (chapter R‐3), chapter 17 of the statutes of 2000, in force on 1 April 2001, is repealed, except section 17, effective from the coming into force of chapter E-12.0001 of the Revised Statutes.

E-12.0001 - Loi sur l’équilibre budgétaire du réseau public de la santé et des services sociaux

Texte complet
chapitre E-12.0001
Loi sur l’équilibre budgétaire du réseau public de la santé et des services sociaux
ÉQUILIBRE BUDGÉTAIRE DU RÉSEAU PUBLIC — SANTÉ ET SERVICES SOCIAUX16 juin 200016 juin 2000
1. La présente loi édicte des mesures ayant pour objectif le maintien de l’équilibre budgétaire des établissements publics du réseau de la santé et des services sociaux.
2000, c. 17, a. 1.
2. Les dispositions de la présente loi s’appliquent à compter de l’année financière 2000-2001.
2000, c. 17, a. 2.
3. Un établissement public doit, en cours d’année financière, maintenir l’équilibre entre ses dépenses et ses revenus.
2000, c. 17, a. 3.
4. Aucun établissement public ne doit encourir de déficit à la fin d’une année financière.
2000, c. 17, a. 4.
5. Dès le début d’une année financière, le ministre transmet à chaque agence l’enveloppe budgétaire qui lui est allouée conformément à la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux (chapitre S‐4.2) aux fins d’assurer le financement des dépenses relatives à la prestation des services que les établissements publics sont appelés à fournir.
Le ministre fait alors connaître à chaque agence les orientations et les priorités ministérielles qu’elle devra respecter tant en matière d’allocation de ressources et de respect de l’équilibre budgétaire qu’en matière d’organisation et d’accessibilité aux services.
De plus, le ministre peut indiquer à une agence des modalités d’allocation des ressources applicables à un ou plusieurs établissements de sa région. L’agence doit s’y conformer ou faire approuver par le ministre les ajustements qu’elle souhaite.
2000, c. 17, a. 5; 2005, c. 32, a. 308.
6. Dans les trois semaines qui suivent la transmission prévue à l’article 5, l’agence fait connaître aux conseils d’administration des établissements de sa région le montant des sommes qu’elle affecte aux budgets de fonctionnement de ces établissements. Le montant total des sommes ainsi affectées ne doit pas excéder les sommes comprises à cette fin dans l’enveloppe budgétaire que l’agence a reçue.
L’agence fait alors connaître aux conseils d’administration les orientations et les priorités régionales qui seront applicables aux budgets et aux services des établissements et qu’elle a déterminées conformément aux orientations et aux priorités ministérielles.
2000, c. 17, a. 6; 2005, c. 32, a. 308.
7. Dans les trois semaines de la date où l’agence leur fait connaître les éléments prévus à l’article 6, les conseils d’administration des établissements publics adoptent le budget de fonctionnement de ces établissements, dont les dépenses et les revenus doivent être en équilibre, et en informent l’agence et le ministre.
2000, c. 17, a. 7; 2005, c. 32, a. 308.
8. Les dépenses et, sauf à l’égard de ceux pris avant le 1er avril 1999, les engagements de dépenses autorisés par une agence pour assurer, au cours d’une année financière, le financement des activités du système de santé et de services sociaux dans sa région, ne doivent pas excéder les sommes comprises dans l’enveloppe budgétaire qui lui a été allouée pour cette même année.
2000, c. 17, a. 8; 2005, c. 32, a. 308.
9. Le directeur général d’un établissement public doit préparer et soumettre au ministre, à sa demande et selon la fréquence et aux dates qu’il détermine, un état de la situation financière de cet établissement.
En outre, il doit s’assurer que cette information soit transmise à chacun des membres du conseil d’administration de l’établissement avant la tenue de la prochaine séance de ce conseil.
2000, c. 17, a. 9.
10. Le directeur général d’un établissement public doit, s’il est d’avis que le maintien de l’équilibre budgétaire de l’établissement est menacé au cours d’une année financière, en informer sans retard le conseil d’administration de l’établissement.
Dès que le conseil d’administration constate que l’équilibre budgétaire ne pourra être respecté, il doit procéder à la modification du budget de fonctionnement de l’établissement pour y intégrer, comme dépense, tout déficit anticipé et en informer l’agence et le ministre. Un plan de redressement doit également être élaboré et soumis au ministre qui l’approuve avec ou sans modification.
2000, c. 17, a. 10; 2005, c. 32, a. 308.
11. Lorsque la situation financière d’un établissement public le justifie, particulièrement lorsque le maintien de l’équilibre budgétaire de cet établissement est menacé, le ministre peut établir des mécanismes de contrôle afin de s’assurer de l’atteinte de l’objectif de la présente loi. Il peut notamment exiger de cet établissement la mise en place d’un programme d’évaluation ou d’un programme de vérification interne.
Le ministre peut également, dans les mêmes circonstances, prendre, à l’égard d’un établissement public, une directive sur la gestion de ses ressources humaines, budgétaires, matérielles ou informationnelles. La directive lie l’établissement à compter de la date qui y est fixée.
2000, c. 17, a. 11.
12. Le ministre peut assujettir l’approbation et la réalisation d’un projet d’immobilisation ou d’achat d’équipements d’un établissement public au respect, par ce dernier, de l’équilibre entre ses revenus et ses dépenses.
2000, c. 17, a. 12.
13. À moins que le ministre ne l’y autorise expressément, un établissement public ne peut contracter un emprunt pour le paiement de ses dépenses de fonctionnement.
2000, c. 17, a. 13.
14. En tout temps au cours d’une année financière, lorsque le ministre constate qu’un établissement public ne se conforme pas aux prescriptions de l’article 7, que les dépenses d’un établissement public excèdent ses revenus ou qu’une agence ne se conforme pas aux prescriptions de l’article 8, il peut, pour ce seul motif, assumer l’administration provisoire de cet établissement ou de cette agence conformément à la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux (chapitre S‐4.2) ou exercer, de son propre chef, les pouvoirs prévus aux articles 499 à 501 de cette loi.
2000, c. 17, a. 14; 2005, c. 32, a. 308.
15. Si, malgré les mesures prises pour se conformer à l’article 4, un établissement public anticipe un déficit au 31 mars d’une année financière, il doit intégrer ce déficit, comme dépense, à son budget de l’année financière subséquente.
2000, c. 17, a. 15.
16. Le ministre de la Santé et des Services sociaux est responsable de l’application de la présente loi.
2000, c. 17, a. 16.
17. (Omis).
2000, c. 17, a. 17.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE
Conformément à l’article 9 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois et des règlements (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 17 des lois de 2000, tel qu’en vigueur le 1er avril 2001, à l’exception de l’article 17, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre E-12.0001 des Lois refondues.