E-1.1.1 - Social Economy Act

Full text
chapter E-1.1.1
Social Economy Act
SOCIAL ECONOMYOctober 10 2013October 10 2013
AS social economy enterprises operated by associations, cooperatives and mutual societies have been contributing to the development, occupancy and socioeconomic vitality of Québec and of its territories since the mid-19th century;
AS social economy enterprises are the result of the commitment and entrepreneurial drive of people who grouped together to produce goods and services, thus furthering the aspirations and contributing to the well-being of their members and the community;
AS social economy enterprises have the capacity to mobilize forces in the community to meet its needs, thus becoming an important lever for collective wealth;
AS social economy enterprises are based on collective values that are reflected in various ways in the enterprises’ structure and method of operation, and give rise to a sustainable solidarity economy;
AS most social economy enterprises are grouped within two large organizations, that is the Chantier de l’économie sociale and the Conseil québécois de la coopération et de la mutualité, which are supported by regional and sectoral networks;
AS, in addition to social economy enterprises, various organizations act as support in that area, offering expertise, resources and various services;
AS Québec’s experience and expertise in matters of social economy are shared in numerous forums and are internationally recognized;
THE PARLIAMENT OF QUÉBEC ENACTS AS FOLLOWS:
CHAPTER I
OBJECT AND APPLICATION
1. The object of this Act is to recognize the specific contribution of the social economy to the socioeconomic development of Québec, in numerous sectors of activity and in all of Québec’s territories.
The Act also determines the role of the Government in the social economy.
2013, c. 22, s. 1.
2. The objectives of the Act are
(1)  to promote the social economy as a lever for socioeconomic development;
(2)  to support the development of the social economy by creating and adapting policy tools with a view to fostering coherence in government action and transparency; and
(3)  to facilitate access, for social economy enterprises, to the Administration’s measures and programs.
2013, c. 22, s. 2.
3. “Social economy” means all the economic activities with a social purpose carried out by enterprises whose activities consist, in particular, in the sale or exchange of goods or services, and which are operated in accordance with the following principles:
(1)  the purpose of the enterprise is to meet the needs of its members or the community;
(2)  the enterprise is not under the decision-making authority of one or more public bodies within the meaning of the Act respecting Access to documents held by public bodies and the Protection of personal information (chapter A-2.1);
(3)  the rules applicable to the enterprise provide for democratic governance by its members;
(4)  the enterprise aspires to economic viability;
(5)  the rules applicable to the enterprise prohibit the distribution of surplus earnings generated by its activities or provide that surplus earnings be distributed among its members in proportion to the transactions each of the members has carried out with the enterprise; and
(6)  the rules applicable to a legal person operating the enterprise provide that in the event of its dissolution, the enterprise’s remaining assets must devolve to another legal person sharing similar objectives.
For the purposes of the first paragraph, a social purpose is a purpose that is not centred on monetary profit, but on service to members or to the community and is characterized, in particular, by an enterprise’s contribution to the well-being of its members or the community and to the creation of sustainable high-quality jobs.
A social economy enterprise is an enterprise whose activities consist, in particular, in the sale or exchange of goods or services, and which is operated, in accordance with the principles set out in the first paragraph, by a cooperative, a mutual society or an association endowed with legal personality.
2013, c. 22, s. 3.
4. In this Act, “Administration” means
(1)  the government departments and the secretariat of the Conseil du trésor;
(2)  Investissement Québec and the Société d’habitation du Québec; and
(3)  any other government agency designated by the Government and governed by the Auditor General Act (chapter V-5.01).
2013, c. 22, s. 4.
5. The Chantier de l’économie sociale and the Conseil québécois de la coopération et de la mutualité are the Government’s primary interlocutors where the social economy is concerned.
2013, c. 22, s. 5.
CHAPTER II
THE ROLE AND FUNCTIONS OF THE MINISTER
6. The Minister of Municipal Affairs, Regions and Land Occupancy has the following functions:
(1)  to develop and propose to the Government, jointly with the Minister of Finance and the Economy and after consultation with the Chantier de l’économie sociale and the Conseil québécois de la coopération et de la mutualité, policies to foster the development of the social economy in Québec;
(2)  to coordinate government action with respect to the social economy;
(3)  to assist the Government in the implementation of programs and measures intended for social economy enterprises;
(4)  to support the Administration in carrying out the functions and actions prescribed for the application of this Act; and
(5)  to work to enhance knowledge of the social economy.
2013, c. 22, s. 6.
CHAPTER III
THE ROLE OF THE GOVERNMENT
7. In the exercise of their powers and responsibilities, all ministers must, in their actions and with respect to any agency referred to in section 4 for which they are responsible, recognize the social economy as an integral part of the socioeconomic structure of Québec by taking it into consideration in measures and programs, when updating those measures and programs, and in developing new tools for enterprises.
In addition, whenever it is relevant, ministers must promote social economy initiatives carried out in Québec and at the international level.
2013, c. 22, s. 7.
CHAPTER IV
GOVERNMENT ACTION PLAN
8. The Government must adopt a social economy action plan no later than 1 April 2014. The action plan must be developed and proposed to the Government by the Minister, in collaboration with the government departments and agencies concerned, after consultation with the Chantier de l’économie sociale and the Conseil québécois de la coopération et de la mutualité. The Minister is also responsible for follow-up on the plan, reporting and evaluation.
The action plan is based on this Act and on the policies adopted by the Government with respect to social economy, and identifies the action the Administration must take to support the development and promotion of the social economy in Québec.
2013, c. 22, s. 8.
9. The action plan provides for reporting mechanisms as regards the commitments it contains and any other action taken by the Administration with respect to the social economy.
The Minister publishes a report on the implementation of the action plan no later than 18 months before the review provided for in section 10. The report is also tabled in the National Assembly as soon as possible or, if the Assembly is not sitting, within 30 days of resumption.
2013, c. 22, s. 9.
10. The Government must review the social economy action plan every five years. However, it may defer a review for a period not exceeding two years.
2013, c. 22, s. 10.
CHAPTER V
PANEL OF SOCIAL ECONOMY PARTNERS
11. The Panel of Social Economy Partners advises the Minister on any question on the subject of the social economy.
2013, c. 22, s. 11.
12. The Minister determines the composition of the Panel of Social Economy Partners.
In addition, when the Panel discusses a particular subject likely to be of interest to a group that is active in the social economy, the Minister invites a representative of the group, as well as any other person who, in the Minister’s opinion, could enhance the Panel’s understanding of the subject, to participate in the discussion.
The composition of the Panel must also tend toward gender parity.
2013, c. 22, s. 12.
CHAPTER VI
AMENDING PROVISION
13. (Omitted).
2013, c. 22, s. 13.
CHAPTER VII
TRANSITIONAL AND FINAL PROVISIONS
14. The Minister of Municipal Affairs, Regions and Land Occupancy is responsible for the administration of this Act.
2013, c. 22, s. 14.
The functions of the Minister of Municipal Affairs, Regions and Land Occupancy provided for in this Act are entrusted to the Minister of Economy and Innovation. Order in Council 820-2019 dated 14 August 2019, (2019) 151 G.O. 2 (French), 3787.
15. For the purposes of section 12, the composition of the first Panel of Social Economy Partners must be determined no later than 10 April 2014.
2013, c. 22, s. 15.
16. No later than 10 October 2020, and every 10 years after that, the Minister must report to the Government on the carrying out of this Act.
The report must be tabled in the National Assembly within 30 days or, if the Assembly is not sitting, within 30 days of resumption.
2013, c. 22, s. 16.
17. (Omitted).
2013, c. 22, s. 17.

E-1.1.1 - Loi sur l’économie sociale

Texte complet
chapitre E-1.1.1
Loi sur l’économie sociale
ÉCONOMIE SOCIALE10 octobre 201310 octobre 2013
CONSIDÉRANT que depuis le milieu du XIXe siècle, les entreprises d’économie sociale, exploitées par des associations, des coopératives et des mutuelles, contribuent au développement, à l’occupation et à la vitalité socioéconomique du Québec et de ses territoires;
CONSIDÉRANT que les entreprises d’économie sociale sont issues de la mobilisation et de la volonté entrepreneuriale de personnes qui se sont regroupées pour produire des biens et des services, contribuant ainsi aux aspirations et au bien-être de leurs membres et de la collectivité;
CONSIDÉRANT que ces entreprises ont la capacité de mobiliser les forces du milieu afin de répondre à ses besoins, devenant ainsi un important levier de richesse collective;
CONSIDÉRANT que ces entreprises sont fondées sur des valeurs collectives qui se traduisent de manières variées dans leur structure et leur mode de fonctionnement et qu’elles permettent une forme d’économie solidaire et durable;
CONSIDÉRANT que la plupart de ces entreprises se sont regroupées au sein de deux grandes organisations, à savoir le Chantier de l’économie sociale et le Conseil québécois de la coopération et de la mutualité, lesquelles sont appuyées par des réseaux sectoriels et régionaux;
CONSIDÉRANT qu’en plus des entreprises d’économie sociale, diverses organisations interviennent en soutien à ce domaine, afin d’offrir de l’expertise, des ressources ou des services variés;
CONSIDÉRANT que l’expérience et l’expertise du Québec en matière d’économie sociale sont partagées sur de nombreuses tribunes et reconnues internationalement;
LE PARLEMENT DU QUÉBEC DÉCRÈTE CE QUI SUIT:
CHAPITRE I
OBJET ET APPLICATION
1. La présente loi a pour objet de reconnaître la contribution particulière de l’économie sociale au développement socioéconomique du Québec, dans de nombreux secteurs d’activité et sur tous les territoires du Québec.
Elle a également pour objet d’établir le rôle du gouvernement en matière d’économie sociale.
2013, c. 22, a. 1.
2. La présente loi a pour objectif:
1°  de promouvoir l’économie sociale comme levier de développement socioéconomique;
2°  de soutenir le développement de l’économie sociale par l’élaboration ou l’adaptation d’outils d’intervention, dans une perspective de cohérence gouvernementale et de transparence;
3°  de favoriser, pour les entreprises d’économie sociale, l’accès aux mesures et aux programmes de l’Administration.
2013, c. 22, a. 2.
3. On entend par «économie sociale», l’ensemble des activités économiques à finalité sociale réalisées dans le cadre des entreprises dont les activités consistent notamment en la vente ou l’échange de biens ou de services et qui sont exploitées conformément aux principes suivants:
1°  l’entreprise a pour but de répondre aux besoins de ses membres ou de la collectivité;
2°  l’entreprise n’est pas sous le contrôle décisionnel d’un ou de plusieurs organismes publics au sens de la Loi sur l’accès aux documents des organismes publics et sur la protection des renseignements personnels (chapitre A-2.1);
3°  les règles applicables à l’entreprise prévoient une gouvernance démocratique par les membres;
4°  l’entreprise aspire à une viabilité économique;
5°  les règles applicables à l’entreprise interdisent la distribution des surplus générés par ses activités ou prévoient une distribution de ceux-ci aux membres au prorata des opérations effectuées entre chacun d’eux et l’entreprise;
6°  les règles applicables à la personne morale qui exploite l’entreprise prévoient qu’en cas de dissolution, le reliquat de ses biens doit être dévolu à une autre personne morale partageant des objectifs semblables.
Pour l’application du premier alinéa, la finalité sociale est celle qui n’est pas centrée sur le profit pécuniaire mais sur le service aux membres ou à la collectivité et elle s’apprécie notamment en fonction de la contribution de l’entreprise à l’amélioration du bien-être de ses membres ou de la collectivité et à la création d’emplois durables et de qualité.
Est une entreprise d’économie sociale, une entreprise dont les activités consistent notamment en la vente ou l’échange de biens ou de services et qui est exploitée, conformément aux principes énoncés au premier alinéa, par une coopérative, une mutuelle ou une association dotée de la personnalité juridique.
2013, c. 22, a. 3.
4. Dans la présente loi, on entend par «Administration»:
1°  les ministères et le secrétariat du Conseil du trésor;
2°  Investissement Québec et la Société d’habitation du Québec;
3°  tout autre organisme du gouvernement désigné par ce dernier et visé par la Loi sur le vérificateur général (chapitre V-5.01).
2013, c. 22, a. 4.
5. Le Chantier de l’économie sociale et le Conseil québécois de la coopération et de la mutualité sont les interlocuteurs privilégiés du gouvernement en matière d’économie sociale.
2013, c. 22, a. 5.
CHAPITRE II
RÔLE ET FONCTIONS DU MINISTRE
6. Le ministre des Affaires municipales, des Régions et de l’Occupation du territoire a pour fonctions:
1°  d’élaborer et de proposer au gouvernement, conjointement avec le ministre des Finances et de l’Économie, après consultation du Chantier de l’économie sociale et du Conseil québécois de la coopération et de la mutualité, des politiques en vue de favoriser le développement de l’économie sociale au Québec;
2°  de coordonner l’intervention du gouvernement en matière d’économie sociale;
3°  d’accompagner le gouvernement dans la mise en place de programmes et de mesures destinés aux entreprises d’économie sociale;
4°  d’appuyer l’Administration dans l’exercice des fonctions et des actions prévues pour l’application de la présente loi;
5°  d’améliorer les connaissances en matière d’économie sociale.
2013, c. 22, a. 6.
CHAPITRE III
RÔLE DU GOUVERNEMENT
7. Dans l’exercice de ses pouvoirs et de ses responsabilités, tout ministre doit, dans ses interventions et à l’égard de tout organisme visé à l’article 4 et dont il a la responsabilité, reconnaître l’économie sociale comme partie intégrante de la structure socioéconomique du Québec, en prenant en considération l’économie sociale dans les mesures et les programmes, dans leur mise à jour ainsi que dans l’élaboration de nouveaux outils destinés aux entreprises.
De plus, lorsqu’il le considère opportun, il met en valeur les initiatives réalisées en matière d’économie sociale sur le territoire du Québec et à l’échelle internationale.
2013, c. 22, a. 7.
CHAPITRE IV
PLAN D’ACTION GOUVERNEMENTAL
8. Le gouvernement adopte, au plus tard le 1er avril 2014, un plan d’action en économie sociale. Ce plan d’action est élaboré et proposé au gouvernement par le ministre, en collaboration avec les ministères et les organismes concernés, après consultation du Chantier de l’économie sociale et du Conseil québécois de la coopération et de la mutualité. Le ministre en assure également le suivi, la reddition de comptes et l’évaluation.
Le plan d’action prend assise sur la présente loi, de même que sur les politiques adoptées par le gouvernement en matière d’économie sociale, et identifie les actions que doit poser l’Administration afin de soutenir le développement et la promotion de l’économie sociale au Québec.
2013, c. 22, a. 8.
9. Le plan d’action prévoit les mécanismes de reddition de comptes sur les engagements qu’il contient ainsi que sur toute autre action posée par l’Administration en matière d’économie sociale.
Au plus tard 18 mois avant l’exercice de révision prévu à l’article 10, le ministre publie un bilan sur la mise en oeuvre du plan d’action. Ce bilan est également déposé à l’Assemblée nationale dès que possible ou, si elle ne siège pas, dans les 30 jours de la reprise de ses travaux.
2013, c. 22, a. 9.
10. Le gouvernement est tenu de réviser le plan d’action en économie sociale tous les cinq ans. Il peut toutefois reporter, pour une période d’au plus deux ans, un exercice de révision.
2013, c. 22, a. 10.
CHAPITRE V
TABLE DES PARTENAIRES EN ÉCONOMIE SOCIALE
11. La Table des partenaires en économie sociale conseille le ministre sur toute question en matière d’économie sociale.
2013, c. 22, a. 11.
12. Le ministre détermine la composition de la Table des partenaires en économie sociale.
En outre, lorsque la Table traite d’un sujet spécifique susceptible d’intéresser un groupe actif en matière d’économie sociale, le ministre invite à participer aux travaux de la Table un représentant de ce groupe, ainsi que toute autre personne qu’il juge susceptible d’apporter à ces travaux un éclairage approprié.
La composition de la Table doit également tendre à une parité entre les femmes et les hommes.
2013, c. 22, a. 12.
CHAPITRE VI
DISPOSITION MODIFICATIVE
13. (Omis).
2013, c. 22, a. 13.
CHAPITRE VII
DISPOSITIONS TRANSITOIRES ET FINALES
14. Le ministre des Affaires municipales, des Régions et de l’Occupation du territoire est responsable de l’application de la présente loi.
2013, c. 22, a. 14.
Les fonctions du ministre des Affaires municipales, des Régions et de l’Occupation du territoire prévues à la présente loi sont confiées à la ministre de l’Économie, de la Science et de l’Innovation. Décret 31-2016 du 28 janvier 2016, (2016) 148 G.O. 2, 1256.
15. Pour l’application de l’article 12, la première détermination de la composition de la Table des partenaires en économie sociale doit être effectuée au plus tard le 10 avril 2014.
2013, c. 22, a. 15.
16. Le ministre doit, au plus tard le 10 octobre 2020, et par la suite tous les 10 ans, faire au gouvernement un rapport sur l’application de la présente loi.
Ce rapport est déposé dans les 30 jours suivants à l’Assemblée nationale ou, si elle ne siège pas, dans les 30 jours de la reprise de ses travaux.
2013, c. 22, a. 16.
17. (Omis).
2013, c. 22, a. 17.