C-64 - Constitut or Tenure System Act

Full text
chapter C-64
Constitut or Tenure System Act
CONSTITUT OR TENURE SYSTEMDecember 18 1992January 1 1994
Repealed, 1992, c. 57, s. 522.
1992, c. 57, s. 522.
1. The lots or lands held under contract of lease, alienation for rent or constitut, upon which the holder, the lessee, the party owing the rent or their auteurs have built a house at their own cost which is used as a dwelling or place of business by the lessee or holder of the immoveable or have made improvements thereon, the value whereof is equal to or exceeds that of the lot or land, may be acquired by the latter, in full ownership, upon paying the value thereof to the proprietor after fulfilling the formalities hereinafter set forth.
R. S. 1964, c. 322, s. 1.
2. The lessee or holder of the immoveable shall offer to the proprietor, or his agent if the proprietor does not reside in Québec, the price he is willing to pay him for the immoveable.
R. S. 1964, c. 322, s. 2.
3. Such offer shall be made in writing, containing a description of the immoveable made in accordance with the provisions of article 2168 of the Civil Code, and the sum at which he values the constructions and improvements made, and containing a notice to the proprietor of the lessee’s or holder’s wish to purchase the immoveable for the price which he offers, and to have the price fixed by the Superior Court, if the proprietor refuses to sell the immoveable voluntarily for such price, or if he has not agreed to sell within three months after the service of the notice.
R. S. 1964, c. 322, s. 3; 1973, c. 38, s. 122.
4. The writing may be drawn up by a notary under the form of a summons or putting in default and be served upon the proprietor or agent by the notary who drew it up. It may also be under private signature, provided that it be made in duplicate and bear the signatures of two witnesses, one of whom shall testify under oath, before a judge, magistrate or any official authorized to administer oaths, that he was present at the signing of the writing and that he saw the lessee or holder of the immoveable as well as the other witness affix their signatures.
R. S. 1964, c. 322, s. 4.
5. When the writing is under private signature, it shall be served upon the proprietor or his agent by a bailiff, who shall draw up a return of the service, as in ordinary cases.
R. S. 1964, c. 322, s. 5; 1974, c. 13, s. 36.
6. If the proprietor does not reside and has no agent to represent him in Québec, the writing may be made in duplicate under private signature, in the manner indicated in sections 4 and 5, and a notice thereof of thirty days shall be given in a French newspaper and in an English newspaper of the district.
R. S. 1964, c. 322, s. 6.
7. If, within the three months from the service of the notice or from the last insertion in the newspapers, the proprietor has not agreed to the sale of the immoveable for the price offered in the notice, the lessee or holder may apply by petition to the Superior Court requesting it to confirm the offer made by him or to itself fix the price for the lot or land and to order the proprietor to give him a title upon payment of the said price.
R. S. 1964, c. 322, s. 7; 1973, c. 38, s. 123.
8. The petition must set forth the facts necessary for the Superior Court to know in order to determine the matter and to be in a position to fix the sale price. It must be accompanied by an affidavit of the petitioner.
R. S. 1964, c. 322, s. 8; 1973, c. 38, s. 124.
9. The petition must be served upon the proprietor, or his agent if the proprietor does not reside in Québec, but without a notice of the date of its presentation. The petitioner shall mail it to the prothonotary of the Superior Court.
If the proprietor does not reside and has no agent in Québec, the service of the petition is made in accordance with section 6.
The proprietor or his agent may answer it in writing and mail his answer to the prothonotary of the Superior Court after serving it upon the lessee or holder of the immoveable.
The prothonotary shall give, by registered or certified letter, at least fifteen days’ notice to the parties in the case, of the day, hour and place where the Superior Court will sit to hear them.
R. S. 1964, c. 322, s. 9; 1973, c. 38, s. 125; 1975, c. 83, s. 84.
10. The proceedings are summary and it shall not be necessary to take the evidence in writing.
The costs shall be against the lessee or holder if the price fixed by the Court is higher than the sum offered to the proprietor under sections 2 and 3; if it is not, they shall be against the proprietor.
R. S. 1964, c. 322, s. 10; 1973, c. 38, s. 126; 1979, c. 69, s. 1.
11. The order of the Court fixing the sale price obliges the proprietor or his agent to give a title deed of ownership in favour of the lessee or holder, within sixty days from the date of the order, upon payment of the price fixed by it. It also obliges the lessee or holder to purchase the immoveable if the price fixed is not higher than the sum offered under sections 2 and 3. If the price is higher than the offer, the lessee, or holder may, at his option, within thirty days after its decision is rendered, surrender his right to purchase or declare that he agrees to buy the immoveable at the price. When the lessee or holder surrenders his right to purchase, he shall be liable for the costs and damages.
R. S. 1964, c. 322, s. 11; 1973, c. 38, s. 127.
12. If the lessee or holder is obliged to buy the immoveable or agrees to buy it, as the case may be, he must, within sixty days after the date of the Court’s order, if the proprietor or his agent has not then offered to give him a deed of sale, deposit the amount of the price fixed by the order, and the amount of the costs and damages when same are to be borne by him, in the hands of the prothonotary of the Superior Court of the district in which the immoveable is situated, who shall receive any such amount as agent for the Minister of Finance, and shall give him a receipt and a copy thereof certified by his signature.
The lessee or holder shall then have the receipt served upon the proprietor or his agent, as the case may be, by having delivered to him the copy certified by the prothonotary.
The proprietor or his agent shall be bound to effect, within eight days of such service, a deed of sale in favour of the lessee or holder according to the terms of the order by the Court. If he refuses or neglects to do so within this delay, the order of the Court shall take the place of a title, and the registration of a copy of such order together with the prothonotary’s receipt for the sale price and the costs and damages in the case where same must be deposited shall constitute the lessee or holder the proprietor of the immoveable.
R. S. 1964, c. 322, s. 12; 1973, c. 38, s. 128.
13. At any time before the hearing of the matter by the Superior Court, the parties may agree to have the sale price fixed by three arbitrators, one chosen by the proprietor, one by the lessee or holder, the third to be appointed by the two arbitrators chosen by the proprietor and the lessee or holder. If they fail to agree upon the choice of such third arbitrator, the matter shall be heard before the Superior Court.
The arbitrators shall proceed at the time and place fixed by them, whereof they shall have given a special notice of at least ten days to the interested parties.
After having heard the parties and their witnesses under oath which they are authorized to administer, the arbitrators shall give their decision by a certificate signed by them or by the majority of them, and deposit such certificate in the office of the secretary-treasurer of the municipality wherein the immoveable is situated.
R. S. 1964, c. 322, s. 13; 1973, c. 38, s. 129.
14. (Repealed).
R. S. 1964, c. 322, s. 14; 1973, c. 38, s. 130; 1979, c. 69, s. 2.
15. When the arbitrators have rendered their award, the lessee or holder may compel the proprietor to transfer the ownership of the immoveable to him, by proceeding in the manner prescribed by section 12, and the registration of the receipt given by the prothonotary, and of a copy of the arbitrators’ award certified by the secretary-treasurer of the municipality wherein the immoveable is situated, shall have the same effect as the registration mentioned in the said section 12.
R. S. 1964, c. 322, s. 15.
16. The usufructuary or the institute in a substitution possessing in such capacity one or more of the lands to which this act applies, the tutor, curator, testamentary executor, administrator, agent or attorney of the proprietor of one or more of such lands, shall be considered as proprietor of said land and shall have all the rights and be subject to all the obligations of a proprietor for the purposes of this Act.
R. S. 1964, c. 322, s. 16.
17. The Superior Court shall fix the tariff for all proceedings under this act, including the remuneration of the arbitrators.
R. S. 1964, c. 322, s. 17; 1973, c. 38, s. 131.
18. This act shall not apply to any land held or leased under a contract by which the lessee has an option to purchase the land at a price agreed upon or fixed in the lease.
R. S. 1964, c. 322, s. 18.
19. This act must not be interpreted as affecting the Act respecting constituts and the system of tenure in the city of Hull (chapter 99 of the statutes of 1923-1924) and its amendments.
R. S. 1964, c. 322, s. 19.
20. (This section ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987).
1982, c. 21, s. 1; U. K., 1982, c. 11, Sch. B, Part I, s. 33.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 322 of the Revised Statutes, 1964, in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed effective from the coming into force of chapter C-64 of the Revised Statutes.

C-64 - Loi sur les constituts ou sur le régime de tenure

Texte complet
chapitre C-64
Loi sur les constituts ou sur le régime de tenure
CONSTITUTS OU RÉGIME DE TENURE18 décembre 19921er janvier 1994
Abrogée, 1992, c. 57, a. 522.
1992, c. 57, a. 522.
1. Les lots ou terrains détenus en vertu d’un contrat de louage, d’un bail à rente ou constitut, sur lesquels le détenteur, le locataire, le débirentier ou leurs auteurs, ont construit à leurs frais une maison qui sert de logement ou de place d’affaires au locataire ou détenteur de l’immeuble ou y ont fait des améliorations, dont la valeur égale ou excède celle du lot ou du terrain, peuvent être acquis par ce dernier, en pleine propriété, en en payant la valeur au propriétaire après l’accomplissement des formalités ci-après énoncées.
S. R. 1964, c. 322, a. 1.
2. Le locataire ou détenteur de l’immeuble offre au propriétaire, ou à son agent si le propriétaire ne réside pas au Québec, le prix qu’il entend lui payer pour l’immeuble.
S. R. 1964, c. 322, a. 2.
3. Cette offre est faite par un écrit qui doit contenir une description de l’immeuble faite conformément aux dispositions de l’article 2168 du Code civil, le montant auquel il évalue les constructions et les améliorations faites, et contenir un avis au propriétaire lui signifiant la volonté du locataire ou détenteur d’acquérir l’immeuble pour le prix qu’il offre et d’en faire fixer le prix par la Cour supérieure, si le propriétaire refuse de vendre volontairement l’immeuble pour ce prix, ou s’il n’a pas consenti à vendre dans les trois mois qui suivent la signification de l’avis.
S. R. 1964, c. 322, a. 3; 1973, c. 38, a. 122.
4. L’écrit peut être fait par un notaire sous forme de sommation ou de mise en demeure et signifié au propriétaire ou à l’agent par le notaire qui l’a dressé. Il peut être aussi sous seing privé, pourvu qu’il soit fait en double et qu’il porte la signature de deux témoins, dont l’un atteste sous serment, devant un juge, un magistrat, ou devant tout fonctionnaire autorisé à recevoir les serments, qu’il était présent à la signature de l’écrit et qu’il a vu le locataire ou détenteur de l’immeuble ainsi que l’autre témoin y apposer leurs signatures.
S. R. 1964, c. 322, a. 4.
5. Lorsque l’écrit est sous seing privé, il est signifié au propriétaire ou à son agent par un huissier, qui en dresse un procès-verbal de signification, comme dans les cas ordinaires.
S. R. 1964, c. 322, a. 5; 1974, c. 13, a. 36.
6. Dans le cas où le propriétaire ne réside pas et n’est pas représenté par un agent au Québec, l’écrit peut être fait en double sous seing privé, de la manière indiquée dans les articles 4 et 5, et avis de trente jours en est donné dans un journal français et dans un journal anglais du district.
S. R. 1964, c. 322, a. 6.
7. Si, dans les trois mois de la signification de l’avis ou de la dernière insertion dans les journaux, le propriétaire n’a pas consenti à vendre l’immeuble pour le prix offert dans l’avis, le locataire ou détenteur peut s’adresser par requête à la Cour supérieure, pour lui demander de confirmer l’offre qu’il a faite ou de fixer elle-même le prix du lot ou terrain et d’ordonner au propriétaire de passer, au locataire ou détenteur, titre sur paiement dudit prix.
S. R. 1964, c. 322, a. 7; 1973, c. 38, a. 123.
8. La requête doit exposer les faits qu’il importe à la Cour supérieure de connaître pour apprécier le litige et être en mesure de fixer le prix de vente. Elle doit être accompagnée d’une déposition sous serment du requérant.
S. R. 1964, c. 322, a. 8; 1973, c. 38, a. 124.
9. La requête doit être signifiée au propriétaire, ou à son agent si le propriétaire ne réside pas au Québec, mais sans avis de la date de sa présentation. Le requérant l’expédie par la poste au protonotaire de la Cour supérieure.
Dans le cas où le propriétaire ne réside pas et n’est pas représenté par un agent au Québec, la signification de la requête est faite suivant l’article 6.
Le propriétaire ou son agent peut y répondre par écrit et envoyer sa réponse par la poste au protonotaire de la Cour supérieure, après l’avoir fait signifier au locataire ou détenteur de l’immeuble.
Le protonotaire donne aux parties en cause, par lettre recommandée ou certifiée, un avis d’au moins 15 jours de l’heure, du jour et du lieu où la Cour supérieure siégera pour les entendre.
S. R. 1964, c. 322, a. 9; 1973, c. 38, a. 125; 1975, c. 83, a. 84.
10. L’instruction se fait sommairement sans qu’il soit nécessaire de faire prendre les témoignages par écrit.
Les frais sont à la charge du locataire ou détenteur si le prix fixé par la Cour est supérieur au montant offert au propriétaire en vertu des articles 2 et 3, sinon ils sont à la charge du propriétaire.
S. R. 1964, c. 322, a. 10; 1973, c. 38, a. 126; 1979, c. 69, a. 1.
11. L’ordonnance de la Cour fixant le prix de vente a pour effet d’obliger le propriétaire ou son agent à passer un titre de propriété en faveur du locataire ou détenteur, dans les soixante jours de la date de l’ordonnance et sur paiement du prix fixé par elle. Elle oblige aussi le locataire ou détenteur à acheter l’immeuble si le prix qu’elle fixe n’est pas supérieur au montant offert en vertu des articles 2 et 3. Si le prix est supérieur à l’offre, le locataire ou détenteur peut, à son gré, se désister dans un délai de trente jours après le prononcé de la sentence de son droit d’acheter, ou déclarer qu’il consent à acheter l’immeuble à ce prix. Lorsque le locataire ou détenteur se désiste de son droit d’acheter, il est responsable des frais et des dommages.
S. R. 1964, c. 322, a. 11; 1973, c. 38, a. 127.
12. Si le locataire ou détenteur est obligé d’acheter l’immeuble, ou consent à l’acheter, selon le cas, il doit, dans un délai de soixante jours après la date de l’ordonnance de la Cour, si le propriétaire ou son agent n’a pas alors offert de lui consentir un acte de vente, déposer le montant du prix fixé par l’ordonnance et le montant des frais et des dommages lorsque ceux-ci sont à sa charge, entre les mains du protonotaire de la Cour supérieure du district où l’immeuble est situé, qui les reçoit en sa qualité d’agent du ministre des Finances, et lui en délivre un récépissé avec une copie certifiée de sa signature.
Le locataire ou détenteur fait alors signifier le récépissé au propriétaire ou à son agent, selon le cas, en lui faisant remettre la copie certifiée par le protonotaire.
Le propriétaire ou l’agent est tenu de consentir, dans les huit jours de la signification, un acte de vente au locataire ou détenteur suivant les termes de l’ordonnance de la Cour. S’il refuse ou néglige de le faire dans ce délai, l’ordonnance de la Cour tient lieu de titre, et l’enregistrement d’une copie de cette ordonnance, avec le récépissé du protonotaire du prix de vente et des frais et des dommages dans le cas où ceux-ci doivent être déposés, rend le locataire ou détenteur propriétaire de l’immeuble.
S. R. 1964, c. 322, a. 12; 1973, c. 38, a. 128.
13. En tout temps avant l’audition de l’affaire par la Cour supérieure, les parties peuvent convenir de faire fixer le prix de vente par trois arbitres, l’un choisi par le propriétaire, un autre par le locataire ou détenteur, le troisième devant être nommé par les deux arbitres choisis par le propriétaire et le locataire ou détenteur. À défaut d’entente sur le choix de ce troisième arbitre, l’audition de l’affaire doit avoir lieu devant la Cour supérieure.
Les arbitres procèdent au temps et au lieu fixés par eux et dont ils ont donné un avis spécial d’au moins dix jours aux parties intéressées.
Après avoir entendu les parties et leurs témoins sous serment qu’ils sont autorisés à recevoir, les arbitres donnent leur décision au moyen d’un certificat signé par eux ou par la majorité d’entre eux, et déposent ce certificat au bureau du secrétaire-trésorier de la municipalité où est situé l’immeuble.
S. R. 1964, c. 322, a. 13; 1973, c. 38, a. 129.
14. (Abrogé).
S. R. 1964, c. 322, a. 14; 1973, c. 38, a. 130; 1979, c. 69, a. 2.
15. Lorsque les arbitres ont rendu leur décision, le locataire ou détenteur peut contraindre le propriétaire à lui transporter la propriété de l’immeuble, en procédant de la manière prescrite par l’article 12, et l’enregistrement du récépissé délivré par le protonotaire et d’une copie de la sentence arbitrale certifiée par le secrétaire-trésorier de la municipalité où est situé l’immeuble, a le même effet que l’enregistrement prévu par ledit article 12.
S. R. 1964, c. 322, a. 15.
16. L’usufruitier ou le grevé de substitution possédant en cette qualité un ou des terrains auxquels s’applique la présente loi, le tuteur, le curateur, l’exécuteur testamentaire, l’administrateur, l’agent ou procureur du propriétaire d’un ou de plusieurs de ces terrains, sont considérés comme propriétaires desdits terrains et ont tous les droits et sont soumis à toutes les obligations d’un propriétaire pour les fins de la présente loi.
S. R. 1964, c. 322, a. 16.
17. La Cour supérieure doit faire le tarif sur toutes les procédures en vertu de la présente loi, y compris la rémunération des arbitres.
S. R. 1964, c. 322, a. 17; 1973, c. 38, a. 131.
18. La présente loi ne s’applique à aucune terre possédée ou louée en vertu d’un contrat par lequel le locataire a une option pour acheter la terre à un prix convenu ou fixé dans le bail.
S. R. 1964, c. 322, a. 18.
19. La présente loi ne doit pas être interprétée comme portant atteinte à la Loi relative aux constituts et au régime de tenure dans la cité de Hull (chapitre 99 des lois de 1923-1924) et ses amendements.
S. R. 1964, c. 322, a. 19.
20. (Cet article a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987).
1982, c. 21, a. 1; R.-U., 1982, c. 11, ann. B, ptie I, a. 33.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 322 des Statuts refondus, 1964, tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre C-64 des Lois refondues.