C-55 - Act respecting the Conseil consultatif du travail et de la main-d’oeuvre

Full text
chapter C-55
Act respecting the Conseil consultatif du travail et de la main-d’oeuvre
CONSEIL CONSULTATIF DU TRAVAIL ET DE LA MAIN-D’OEUVREJune 13 2011October 1 2011
Repealed, 2011, c. 16, s. 81.
2011, c. 16, s. 81.
1. A body for study and consultation, hereinafter called “the Council”, is established under the name of “Conseil consultatif du travail et de la main-d’oeuvre”.
1968, c. 44, s. 1; 1977, c. 5, s. 14.
2. The Council shall advise the Minister of Labour on any question that the Minister submits to it respecting matters within his competence. It shall also give its opinion to any other minister on any question related to labour or workforce that the Minister of Labour submits to it, on the request of the other minister, respecting matters within the competence of that other minister.
The Council may, in addition, subject to section 16 of the Advisory Council on Labour and Manpower Act (Statutes of Québec, 1968, chapter 44), undertake the study of any question appertaining to the field of labour and workforce and cause such studies and research to be carried out as it deems useful or necessary for the pursuit of its objects.
1968, c. 44, s. 2; 1981, c. 9, s. 34; 1982, c. 53, s. 21; 1992, c. 44, s. 81; 1994, c. 12, s. 20; 1996, c. 29, s. 17; 2007, c. 3, s. 72.
2.1. The Council shall release the general policy taken into consideration for the purpose of advising the Minister of Labour in respect of the list of arbitrators referred to in section 77 of the Labour Code (chapter C-27) and advising him under this section. The policy may include criteria for the appraisal of the arbitrators’ qualifications and conduct.
The Council shall examine the complaints it receives concerning the remuneration paid to and the expenses claimed by the arbitrators whose names appear on the list as well as those concerning the conduct and qualifications of the arbitrators. The Council shall also examine any complaint concerning an arbitrator submitted to it by the Minister.
The Council shall attempt to settle complaints to the satisfaction of the complainant and the arbitrator. If no settlement is reached, the Council shall transmit its findings together with the recommendations that it deems appropriate to the Minister of Labour, with a copy to the complainant and the arbitrator.
1991, c. 76, s. 1; 1994, c. 12, s. 21; 1996, c. 29, s. 18.
3. The Council may invite opinions and suggestions from the public on any question of which it is about to make or is making a study, and submit its recommendations on the question to the Ministers referred to in section 2.
1968, c. 44, s. 3; 1981, c. 9, s. 34; 1982, c. 53, s. 22.
4. The Council is composed of the following members, appointed by the Government:
(1)  the president;
(2)  six persons chosen from among those who are recommended by the most representative associations of employees;
(3)  six persons chosen from among those who are recommended by the most representative employers’ associations.
The Deputy Minister of Labour, or his delegate, is also a member ex officio of the Council but is not entitled to vote.
1968, c. 44, s. 4; 1981, c. 9, s. 34; 1982, c. 53, s. 23; 1992, c. 44, s. 81; 1994, c. 12, s. 22; 1996, c. 29, s. 19; 1997, c. 23, s. 1.
5. The members of the Council, other than the president and the Deputy Minister of Labour or his delegate, shall be appointed for three years; the president shall be appointed for five years.
1968, c. 44, s. 5; 1981, c. 9, s. 34; 1982, c. 53, s. 24; 1992, c. 44, s. 81; 1994, c. 12, s. 23; 1996, c. 29, s. 20.
6. The members of the Council shall remain in office, notwithstanding the expiry of their term, until reappointed or replaced.
1968, c. 44, s. 6.
7. Any vacancy occurring during the term of office of a member of the Council other than the Deputy Minister of Labour or his delegate shall be filled by following the method prescribed for the appointment of the member to be replaced.
1968, c. 44, s. 7; 1981, c. 9, s. 34; 1982, c. 53, s. 25; 1992, c. 44, s. 81; 1994, c. 12, s. 24; 1996, c. 29, s. 20.
8. The president of the Council shall direct the activities thereof; he shall prepare the agenda of the sittings, which he shall call and preside over, coordinate the work of the Council and ensure the continuity thereof, see that the files are prepared, give the members of the Council information relating to the problems to be studied and ensure co-operation between the Council and the Minister of Labour or any other minister referred to in section 2.
The Government shall fix the fees, allowances or salary, or additional salary, as the case may be, of the president.
1968, c. 44, s. 8; 1981, c. 9, s. 34; 1982, c. 53, s. 26; 1992, c. 44, s. 81; 1994, c. 12, s. 25; 1996, c. 29, s. 21.
9. The members of the Council, other than the president and the Deputy Minister of Labour or his delegate, shall be indemnified for their expenses in attending sittings and shall receive an attendance allowance fixed by the Government.
1968, c. 44, s. 9; 1981, c. 9, s. 34; 1982, c. 53, s. 27; 1992, c. 44, s. 81; 1994, c. 12, s. 26; 1996, c. 29, s. 22.
10. The Secretary of the Council shall be appointed by the Government which shall fix his fees, allowances or salary, or additional salary, as the case may be.
If the secretary is appointed permanently, he shall not be dismissed except in accordance with section 33 of the Public Service Act (chapter F-3.1.1).
Any other officer or employee of the Council shall be appointed in accordance with the Public Service Act.
1968, c. 44, s. 10; 1978, c. 15, s. 140; 1983, c. 55, s. 161; 2000, c. 8, s. 242.
11. The Council may hold its sittings at any place in Québec.
Nine members shall constitute a quorum of the Council.
1968, c. 44, s. 11; 1997, c. 23, s. 2.
12. If the president is absent from a sitting of the Council, he shall be replaced alternately by one of the members contemplated in subparagraphs 2 and 3 of section 4, designated for such purpose by the members of the Council present at the sitting.
1968, c. 44, s. 12.
13. The Council, subject to section 16 of chapter 44 of the statutes of 1968, may constitute special committees for the study of particular questions and direct them to collect pertinent information and to report their findings and recommendations to the Council.
Such committees shall be composed of members of the Council chosen in equal number from each of the classes of members contemplated in subparagraphs 2 and 3 of section 4.
The Minister, at the request of the Council, may add to any committee so constituted, as temporary members, persons who are not members of the Council. Such persons shall receive no salary as such; they may be indemnified for their expenses in attending sittings and receive an attendance allowance and fees fixed by the Government.
1968, c. 44, s. 13.
13.1. No member of the Council may be prosecuted by reason of an act done in good faith in the performance of his duties under section 2.1 of this Act, section 77 of the Labour Code (chapter C-27) and section 216 of the Act respecting industrial accidents and occupational diseases (chapter A-3.001).
1991, c. 76, s. 2.
14. The Council may make by-laws for its internal management. Such by-laws must be submitted for the approval of the Government.
1968, c. 44, s. 14.
15. The Council, not later than 30 June each year, shall forward to the Minister of Labour a report of its activities for its preceding fiscal year and of the studies it has carried out or caused to be carried out in accordance with the second paragraph of section 2.
The Minister of Labour shall table the report of the Council in the National Assembly within 30 days after its receipt. If the Minister receives the report when the Assembly is not sitting, he shall table it within 30 days after the opening of the next session or, as the case may be, within 15 days after resumption.
1968, c. 44, s. 15; 1981, c. 9, s. 34; 1982, c. 53, s. 28; 1982, c. 62, s. 143; 1992, c. 44, s. 81; 1994, c. 12, s. 27; 1996, c. 29, s. 22.
16. The Minister of Labour shall have charge of the carrying out of this Act.
1968, c. 44, s. 17; 1981, c. 9, s. 34; 1982, c. 53, s. 56; 1994, c. 12, s. 28; 1996, c. 29, s. 22.
17. (This section ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987).
1982, c. 21, s. 1; U. K., 1982, c. 11, Sch. B, Part I, s. 33.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 44 of the statutes of 1968, in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed, except sections 16 and 19, effective from the coming into force of chapter C-55 of the Revised Statutes.

C-55 - Loi sur le Conseil consultatif du travail et de la main-d’oeuvre

Texte complet
chapitre C-55
Loi sur le Conseil consultatif du travail et de la main-d’oeuvre
CONSEIL CONSULTATIF DU TRAVAIL ET DE LA MAIN-D’OEUVRE13 juin 20111er octobre 2011
Abrogée, 2011, c. 16, a. 81.
2011, c. 16, a. 81.
1. Un organisme d’étude et de consultation, ci-après appelé «le Conseil», est institué sous le nom de «Conseil consultatif du travail et de la main-d’oeuvre».
1968, c. 44, a. 1; 1977, c. 5, a. 14.
2. Le Conseil doit donner son avis au ministre du Travail sur toute question que celui-ci lui soumet relativement aux sujets qui relèvent de sa compétence. Il doit aussi donner son avis à tout autre ministre sur toute question reliée au travail ou à la main-d’oeuvre que le ministre du Travail lui soumet, à la demande de cet autre ministre, relativement à un sujet qui relève de la compétence de celui-ci.
Le Conseil peut également, sous réserve de l’article 16 de la Loi du Conseil consultatif du travail et de la main-d’oeuvre (Statuts du Québec, 1968, chapitre 44), entreprendre l’étude de toute question qui relève du domaine du travail et de la main-d’oeuvre et faire effectuer les études et recherches qu’il juge utiles ou nécessaires pour la poursuite de ses fins.
1968, c. 44, a. 2; 1981, c. 9, a. 34; 1982, c. 53, a. 21; 1992, c. 44, a. 81; 1994, c. 12, a. 20; 1996, c. 29, a. 17.
2.1. Le Conseil doit diffuser la politique générale qu’il prend notamment en considération aux fins de l’avis qu’il donne au ministre du Travail concernant la liste des arbitres visée à l’article 77 du Code du travail (chapitre C‐27) et de celui qu’il lui donne en vertu du présent article. Cette politique peut comprendre des critères d’appréciation relatifs à la compétence et à la conduite des arbitres.
Le Conseil étudie les plaintes qu’il reçoit concernant la rémunération et les frais réclamés par les arbitres de cette liste ainsi que celles concernant la conduite et la compétence de ces arbitres. Il étudie aussi toute plainte que le ministre lui soumet concernant un arbitre.
Le Conseil tente de régler la plainte à la satisfaction du plaignant et de l’arbitre. Si aucun règlement n’intervient, le Conseil transmet au ministre du Travail ses constatations et les recommandations qu’il juge appropriées. Il en transmet aussi une copie au plaignant et à l’arbitre.
1991, c. 76, a. 1; 1994, c. 12, a. 21; 1996, c. 29, a. 18.
3. Le Conseil peut solliciter des opinions et suggestions du public sur toute question dont il entreprend ou poursuit l’étude et soumettre des recommandations sur cette question aux ministres visés à l’article 2.
1968, c. 44, a. 3; 1981, c. 9, a. 34; 1982, c. 53, a. 22.
4. Le Conseil se compose des membres suivants, nommés par le gouvernement:
1°  le président;
2°  six personnes choisies parmi celles qui sont recommandées par les associations de salariés les plus représentatives;
3°  six personnes choisies parmi celles qui sont recommandées par les associations d’employeurs les plus représentatives.
Le sous-ministre du Travail ou son délégué est aussi, d’office, membre du Conseil, mais il n’a pas droit de vote.
1968, c. 44, a. 4; 1981, c. 9, a. 34; 1982, c. 53, a. 23; 1992, c. 44, a. 81; 1994, c. 12, a. 22; 1996, c. 29, a. 19; 1997, c. 23, a. 1.
5. Les membres du Conseil autres que le président et le sous-ministre du Travail ou son délégué sont nommés pour trois ans; le président est nommé pour cinq ans.
1968, c. 44, a. 5; 1981, c. 9, a. 34; 1982, c. 53, a. 24; 1992, c. 44, a. 81; 1994, c. 12, a. 23; 1996, c. 29, a. 20.
6. Les membres du Conseil demeurent en fonction nonobstant l’expiration de leur mandat, jusqu’à ce qu’ils soient nommés de nouveau ou remplacés.
1968, c. 44, a. 6.
7. Toute vacance survenant au cours de la durée du mandat d’un membre du Conseil autre que le sous-ministre du Travail ou son délégué est comblée en suivant le mode de nomination prescrit pour la nomination du membre à remplacer.
1968, c. 44, a. 7; 1981, c. 9, a. 34; 1982, c. 53, a. 25; 1992, c. 44, a. 81; 1994, c. 12, a. 24; 1996, c. 29, a. 20.
8. Le président du Conseil en dirige les activités; il prépare l’ordre du jour des séances, qu’il convoque et préside, coordonne les travaux du Conseil et en assure la continuité, veille à la préparation des dossiers, fournit aux membres du Conseil les renseignements relatifs aux questions à étudier et assure la liaison entre le Conseil et le ministre du Travail ou tout autre ministre visé à l’article 2.
Le gouvernement fixe les honoraires, allocations ou traitement ou, suivant le cas, le traitement additionnel du président.
1968, c. 44, a. 8; 1981, c. 9, a. 34; 1982, c. 53, a. 26; 1992, c. 44, a. 81; 1994, c. 12, a. 25; 1996, c. 29, a. 21.
9. Les membres du Conseil autres que le président et le sous-ministre du Travail ou son délégué sont indemnisés de ce qu’il leur en coûte pour assister aux séances et reçoivent une allocation de présence fixée par le gouvernement.
1968, c. 44, a. 9; 1981, c. 9, a. 34; 1982, c. 53, a. 27; 1992, c. 44, a. 81; 1994, c. 12, a. 26; 1996, c. 29, a. 22.
10. Le secrétaire du Conseil est nommé par le gouvernement qui fixe ses honoraires, allocations ou traitement ou, s’il y a lieu, son traitement additionnel.
Si le secrétaire est nommé à titre permanent, il ne peut être destitué que conformément à l’article 33 de la Loi sur la fonction publique (chapitre F-3.1.1).
Tout autre fonctionnaire ou employé du Conseil est nommé suivant la Loi sur la fonction publique.
1968, c. 44, a. 10; 1978, c. 15, a. 140; 1983, c. 55, a. 161; 2000, c. 8, a. 242.
11. Le Conseil peut tenir ses séances à tout endroit au Québec.
Le quorum du Conseil est de neuf membres.
1968, c. 44, a. 11; 1997, c. 23, a. 2.
12. Au cas d’absence du président à une séance du Conseil, il est remplacé alternativement par l’un des membres visés aux paragraphes 2° et 3° de l’article 4, désigné à cette fin par les membres du Conseil présents à la séance.
1968, c. 44, a. 12.
13. Le Conseil peut, sous réserve de l’article 16 du chapitre 44 des lois de 1968, former des comités spéciaux pour l’étude de questions particulières et les charger de recueillir les renseignements pertinents et de faire rapport au Conseil de leurs constatations et recommandations.
Ces comités sont composés de membres du Conseil choisis en nombre égal dans chacune des catégories de membres visées aux paragraphes 2° et 3° de l’article 4.
Le ministre peut à la demande du Conseil, adjoindre à tout comité ainsi formé, à titre de membres temporaires, des personnes qui ne font pas partie du Conseil. Ces personnes ne reçoivent aucun traitement à ce titre; elles peuvent être indemnisées de ce qu’il leur en coûte pour assister aux séances et recevoir une allocation de présence et des honoraires fixés par le gouvernement.
1968, c. 44, a. 13.
13.1. Les membres du Conseil ne peuvent être poursuivis en justice en raison d’un acte accompli de bonne foi dans l’exercice de leurs fonctions visées à l’article 2.1, à l’article 77 du Code du travail (chapitre C‐27) et à l’article 216 de la Loi sur les accidents du travail et les maladies professionnelles (chapitre A‐3.001).
1991, c. 76, a. 2.
14. Le Conseil peut adopter des règlements pour la régie interne. Ces règlements doivent être soumis à l’approbation du gouvernement.
1968, c. 44, a. 14.
15. Le Conseil doit, au plus tard le 30 juin de chaque année, faire au ministre du Travail un rapport de ses activités pour son exercice financier précédent et des études qu’il a effectuées ou a fait effectuer conformément au deuxième alinéa de l’article 2.
Le ministre du Travail dépose le rapport du Conseil devant l’Assemblée nationale dans les 30 jours suivant sa réception. S’il le reçoit alors que l’Assemblée ne siège pas, il le dépose dans les 30 jours de l’ouverture de la session suivante ou, selon le cas, dans les 15 jours de la reprise des travaux.
1968, c. 44, a. 15; 1981, c. 9, a. 34; 1982, c. 53, a. 28; 1982, c. 62, a. 143; 1992, c. 44, a. 81; 1994, c. 12, a. 27; 1996, c. 29, a. 22.
16. Le ministre du Travail est chargé de l’application de la présente loi.
1968, c. 44, a. 17; 1981, c. 9, a. 34; 1982, c. 53, a. 56; 1994, c. 12, a. 28; 1996, c. 29, a. 22.
17. (Cet article a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987).
1982, c. 21, a. 1; R.-U., 1982, c. 11, ann. B, ptie I, a. 33.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 44 des lois de 1968, tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, à l’exception des articles 16 et 19, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre C-55 des Lois refondues.