C-39 - Act respecting certain mutual companies of insurance against fire, lightning and wind

Full text
chapter C-39
Act respecting certain mutual companies of insurance against fire, lightning and wind
MUTUAL COMPANIES OF INSURANCE AGAINST FIRE, LIGHTNING AND WINDJune 20 1985September 11 1985
Repealed, 1985, c. 17, s. 95.
1985, c. 17, s. 95.
DIVISION I
MUTUAL INSURANCE COMPANIES FORMED BY MUNICIPAL COUNCILS
1. The council of any rural municipality may, until 20 October 1976 make a by-law establishing a mutual insurance company in order to keep insured against accidents by fire, or fire and lightning, or fire, lightning and wind, any building erected upon taxable land within the municipality, any farm livestock, as well as any grain, hay, fodder, household furniture and agricultural implements contained in such buildings.
A mutual insurance company so established by the council of a rural municipality shall, like other companies, be subject to the formalities of a license and of registration.
R. S. 1964, c. 295, s. 40; 1974, c. 70, s. 431.
2. The owners of property insured in each mutual insurance company established under the authority of this division shall form a corporation known under the name of the “The Mutual Insurance Company of the (here inserting the name of the municipality)”, and each such company shall be under the control of the council of the municipality in which it is established.
It shall be managed by the council, and may sue and be sued, and its place of business shall be the same as that of the council.
R. S. 1964, c. 295, s. 41.
3. After the coming into force of the by-law, the council may, through the county corporation or regional county municipality exercising jurisdiction in the municipality in real estate assessment, order the assessor of that corporation or regional municipality to make, under his oath of office, the appraisal of the buildings, inserting in separate columns, on a special roll prepared for that purpose:
(1)  A succinct description of each building situated upon any taxable land in the municipality;
(2)  The value of each such building, and all information required by the council.
The council may fix, by by-law, the maximum amount of insurance which may be granted upon any kind or kinds of property which may be insured.
R. S. 1964, c. 295, s. 42; 1979, c. 72, s. 326.
4. The special roll mentioned in section 3 may be amended by the council.
R. S. 1964, c. 295, s. 43.
5. The council, after the completion of the roll, shall, at a public meeting duly convened, cause to be therein entered opposite the description and valuation of each building which it shall not deem advisable to insure, the words “objected to by the council”, and opposite the description and valuation of each building, the owner of which applies to have it insured, and which it deems advisable to insure, the word “insured”, and also the maximum amount of the insurance which it has thought fit to grant in virtue of the by-laws.
Such application shall be made in writing and be signed in presence of two witnesses.
After such meeting, the secretary, upon a similar application in writing, shall enter, opposite the description and valuation of the building which is not objected to, and the owner of which applies to have it insured, the word “insured”, and also the maximum amount of the insurance granted by the council in virtue of the by-laws.
R. S. 1964, c. 295, s. 44.
6. From the time the word “insured” is entered as aforesaid, the building shall be insured under the provisions of this division, until the council or the owner discontinues the insurance as provided by the by-laws of the company in force at the time such insurance was effected.
R. S. 1964, c. 295, s. 45.
7. Whenever the owner desires to have a building insured, of which the description and assessment are not entered upon the roll, he must cause it to be appraised by the assessor contemplated in section 3, who shall insert in the roll the description and value thereof and the maximum amount of insurance which the council has thought fit to grant in virtue of the by-laws; and if the council, at its meeting held immediately after the description and assessment of the building and the maximum amount of insurance granted are entered on the roll, do not cause to be entered, opposite the description and assessment of such building, the words “objected to by the council”, such building shall remain insured, dating inclusively from the day of such last meeting.
R. S. 1964, c. 295, s. 46; 1979, c. 72, s. 327.
8. Upon application by the owner, the secretary-treasurer may insure, under the prescribed formalities, the grain, hay and fodder, the produce of the harvest, and furniture, and also the agricultural implements contained in the buildings not objected to by the council, to the amount applied for or for which a maximum has been fixed, if the by-law establishing the insurance provides for the insurance of such articles.
R. S. 1964, c. 295, s. 47.
9. The owners of property insured as aforesaid shall be members of the mutual insurance company. They shall alone be responsible, in proportion to the amount for which each of their properties is insured, towards the company, for the amount of damage caused by fire, or by fire and lightning, or by fire, lightning and wind, as well as for all debts and obligations contracted by the said company.
R. S. 1964, c. 295, s. 48.
10. The company shall be responsible towards each of its members for two-thirds of the damage caused by fire, or fire and lightning, or fire, lightning and wind, to the buildings and moveable effects so insured, to an amount not exceeding two-thirds of the valuation of such buildings and moveable effects, as shown upon the said valuation roll, or to an amount not exceeding two-thirds of the maximum amount of the insurance if there is a by-law fixing such amount.
R. S. 1964, c. 295, s. 49.
11. The council is entitled, on behalf of the corporation, as indemnity for all costs incurred in the management of the company, including the salary of the secretary-treasurer and the amount to be paid to the county corporation or regional county municipality for the work of its assessor, to such amount as it may deem reasonable, but which shall in no case exceed ten per cent of the amount collected by it for the company.
R. S. 1964, c. 295, s. 50; 1979, c. 72, s. 328.
12. The council may, if authorized by the majority of the insured present at the meeting mentioned in section 5, levy $0.25 per $100 of the amount insured, to establish a reserve fund, and shall levy annually an amount sufficient to meet all the damages, the amount of which shall have then been established and to pay all the obligations and matured debts of the company.
This amount shall be levied by means of a tax imposed upon each building insured, in proportion to the amount of its valuation and of that of the valuation of its contents, as shown on the valuation roll, or in porportion to the amount of the insurance thereon, as the case may be.
The tax imposed in virtue of this section is assimilated to municipal taxes. It shall have the same privilege and the same rank without registration being required, and the amount, with legal interest from the time it has become due, shall be recoverable by the secretary-treasurer in the same manner as municipal taxes.
R. S. 1964, c. 295, s. 51.
13. In the event of a change in the limits of a municipality, each member of the company whose real estate is not then taxable is entitled to the reimbursement of his share of contribution to the reserve fund, upon the condition, however, that such property-owner has been insured in the company for at least five years on the 31st of December preceding the changing of the limits of such municipality.
In order to determine the portion then repayable to each member, the secretary-treasurer must divide the total insurance in force by the total of the reserve fund, including the interest accrued on the 31st of December preceding, and deliver, within a period of three months, to the member contemplated by the preceding paragraph of this section, his share of reimbursement in proportion to the amount of insurance which he had in the company on the 31st of December preceding the date of the reimbursement.
This section shall not apply to changes of limits made before the 19th of February, 1932.
R. S. 1964, c. 295, s. 52.
14. Two or more of the mutual insurance companies established under the authority of this division may enter into an agreement for the purpose of making one responsible towards the other, in proportion to the amount insured by each of them, for damages caused by fire, or by fire and lightning, or by fire, lightning and wind.
R. S. 1964, c. 295, s. 53.
15. The council may make any by-law necessary for the proper working of the company, and in particular to determine the conditions on which a building shall become insured, when and in what manner a building which is insured may cease to be insured, and in what manner a member of the company may transfer his interest in the company, and generally all other by-laws not inconsistent with this division.
The council may also, by by-law, order the issuing of an insurance certificate, provided, however, that all the by-laws of the company in force at the date of its issue be inserted at full length in such certificate.
R. S. 1964, c. 295, s. 54; 1974, c. 70, s. 432.
16. In villages, all buildings situated at a distance of less than fifty feet from each other, shall be valued separately and proportionately, in such a manner that their aggregate value shall not exceed $3 000.
R. S. 1964, c. 295, s. 55.
DIVISION II
MUTUAL INSURANCE COMPANIES FORMED BY INDIVIDUALS IN A PARISH OR LOCAL MUNICIPALITY
17. (1)  Twenty-five freeholders residing in any parish or local municipality in Québec, five of whom shall be provisional directors of an association formed with the view of establishing a mutual fire insurance company, may, until 20 October 1976 establish such company for the purpose of insuring the property situated within such parish or local municipality, and also the properties outside the limits thereof, provided they be situated entirely within the county in which is situated the chief place of business of the company in the said parish or municipality, the farm live stock, as well as the grain, hay, fodder, agricultural implements and furniture in or upon the properties aforesaid, which insurance company shall be known under the name of “The Mutual Fire Insurance Company of the parish of (or of the local municipality of as the case may be).
(2)  In the case, however, of a change in the limits of the county in which a company is in regular operation, all policies then issued by such company to insure property situated outside the new limits of the county shall remain in force until the expiration of the term of five years from the date of the issue thereof, but subject to the right of cancellation provided by law.
(3)  All the provisions respecting mutual fire insurance associations contained in the Act respecting insurance (chapter A-32) shall apply to such companies in so far as they are not inconsistent with the provisions of this division.
R. S. 1964, c. 295, s. 56; 1974, c. 70, s. 433.
18. The said company may insure against fire, lightning and wind, or against fire, lightning or wind separately.
The company may fix rates for policies of insurance in a village, at one hundred per cent more than in a parish.
When the rate in the parish and in the village is the same, and several properties are destroyed at the same time in such village, the company need not, if the total value of the properties so destroyed exceeds the maximum fixed by the company, pay, in all, more than such maximum, which maximum shall be divided between the parties insured whose property has been so destroyed, in proportion to the amount of their insurance.
R. S. 1964, c. 295, s. 57.
19. The directors shall be members of the company and insured therein, for the time they hold office, to the amount of at least $500.
R. S. 1964, c. 295, s. 58.
20. The company may pass by-laws respecting the qualification of the persons who elect to form part thereof, and when forty persons, duly qualified according to such by-laws, have signed their names in the subscription books, and the sums subscribed, for which they have bound themselves to effect insurance, amount to $25 000 or more, such persons and those who may thereafter become members of the company, shall, by effecting insurance therein, be considered a corporation according to the provisions of this division, provided that a notice be previously given in the Gazette officielle du Québec.
R. S. 1964, c. 295, s. 59.
21. The required notices shall be published and posted at the door of the parish church after divine service in the forenoon on a Sunday or holiday immediately before the meeting, and not otherwise or elsewhere.
R. S. 1964, c. 295, s. 60.
22. Annual meetings of any such company may be held either on the day fixed by section 264 of the Act respecting insurance (chapter A-32), or any other day that may be fixed for the purpose by any by-law of the company.
The convening of the members for an annual or special general meeting shall be made by means of a notice published and posted up, at least five clear days before the meeting, at the door of the parish church, on a Sunday or feast day, in each parish in which there are members.
R. S. 1964, c. 295, s. 61; 1974, c. 70, s. 434.
23. In addition to the rights and powers granted to the company by the provisions respecting mutual insurance companies contained in this act and in the Act respecting insurance (chapter A-32), it shall also have power to make such rules and regulations as it deems necessary for the good working and proper administration thereof, and to repeal, amend or replace the same, provided, however, that no such rule or regulation be inconsistent with the laws, customs and usages in force in Québec.
R. S. 1964, c. 295, s. 62; 1974, c. 70, s. 435.
24. Each company so constituted shall have its office within the parish or local municipality in which such company is established, and at the place selected by the board of directors; provided always that so soon as the directors have selected a place for holding their office, they shall give public notice thereof on the following Sunday in the manner prescribed by section 21.
R. S. 1964, c. 295, s. 63.
DIVISION III
ADMINISTRATION OF MUTUAL COMPANIES
25. The rules respecting the administration of mutual fire insurance associations contained in the Act respecting insurance (chapter A-32) apply mutatismutandis to the administration of the mutual companies governed by this act.
1974, c. 70, s. 436.
DIVISION IV
SPECIAL PROVISION
26. This Act shall operate notwithstanding the provisions of sections 2 and 7 to 15 of the Constitution Act, 1982 (Schedule B of the Canada Act, chapter 11 in the 1982 volume of the Acts of the Parliament of the United Kingdom).
1982, c. 21, s. 1.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 295 of the Revised Statutes, 1964, in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed effective from the coming into force of chapter C-39 of the Revised Statutes.

C-39 - Loi sur certaines compagnies d’assurance mutuelle contre l’incendie, la foudre et le vent

Texte complet
chapitre C-39
Loi sur certaines compagnies d’assurance mutuelle contre l’incendie, la foudre et le vent
ASSURANCE MUTUELLE CONTRE L’INCENDIE, LA FOUDRE ET LE VENT20 juin 198511 septembre 1985
Abrogée, 1985, c. 17, a. 95.
1985, c. 17, a. 95.
SECTION I
DES COMPAGNIES D’ASSURANCE MUTUELLE FORMÉES PAR DES CONSEILS MUNICIPAUX
1. Le conseil de toute municipalité rurale peut, jusqu’au 20 octobre 1976 passer un règlement pour établir une compagnie d’assurance mutuelle à l’effet de tenir assurés contre les accidents du feu, ou du feu et de la foudre, ou du feu, de la foudre et du vent, des bâtiments érigés sur tout bien-fonds imposable dans la municipalité, les animaux de ferme, ainsi que les grains, foins, fourrages, instruments aratoires et meubles de ménage contenus dans lesdits bâtiments.
Une compagnie d’assurance mutuelle ainsi formée par le conseil d’une municipalité rurale est soumise, comme les autres compagnies, aux formalités du permis et de l’enregistrement.
S. R. 1964, c. 295, a. 40; 1974, c. 70, a. 431.
2. Les propriétaires de biens assurés à une assurance mutuelle établie sous l’empire de la présente section, forment une corporation connue sous le nom de «la compagnie d’assurance mutuelle de la (insérer ici le nom de la municipalité)»; et chaque telle compagnie est sous le contrôle du conseil de la municipalité dans laquelle elle est établie.
Elle est administrée par le conseil, et peut ester en justice, et son bureau d’affaires est le même que celui du conseil.
S. R. 1964, c. 295, a. 41.
3. Après la mise en vigueur du règlement, le conseil peut, par l’intermédiaire de la corporation de comté ou de la municipalité régionale de comté exerçant à l’égard de la municipalité la compétence en matière d’évaluation foncière, ordonner à l’évaluateur de cette corporation ou municipalité régionale de dresser, sous son serment d’office, l’évaluation des bâtiments, en insérant, dans des colonnes distinctes sur un rôle spécial préparé à cette fin:
1°  Une description succincte de chaque bâtiment situé sur tout bien-fonds imposable de la municipalité;
2°  La valeur de chaque tel bâtiment et tous les renseignements exigés par le conseil.
Il est loisible au conseil de fixer, par règlement, le montant maximum d’assurance qu’il décide d’accorder sur les biens qui peuvent être assurés ou sur quelques-uns d’entre eux.
S. R. 1964, c. 295, a. 42; 1979, c. 72, a. 326.
4. Le rôle spécial mentionné dans l’article 3 peut être amendé par le conseil.
S. R. 1964, c. 295, a. 43.
5. Le conseil, après la confection du rôle, doit, à une assemblée publique dûment convoquée, y entrer, vis-à-vis de la description et de l’évaluation de chaque bâtiment qu’il croit ne pas devoir assurer, les mots «objecté par le conseil», et vis-à-vis de la description et de l’évaluation de chaque bâtiment, dont le propriétaire demande l’assurance et qu’il croit devoir assurer, le mot «assuré» ainsi que le montant maximum d’assurance qu’il croit devoir accorder en vertu des règlements.
Cette demande est faite par écrit, et signée en présence de deux témoins.
Après cette assemblée, le secrétaire, sur pareille demande par écrit doit entrer, vis-à-vis de la description et de l’évaluation du bâtiment non objecté dont le propriétaire demande l’assurance, le mot «assuré» ainsi que le montant maximum d’assurance accordé par le conseil en vertu des règlements.
S. R. 1964, c. 295, a. 44.
6. Du moment que le mot «assuré» a été entré comme susdit, le bâtiment demeure assuré suivant les dispositions de la présente section, jusqu’à ce que le conseil ou le propriétaire ait interrompu l’assurance, tel que prévu par les règlements de la compagnie en force lors de l’assurance.
S. R. 1964, c. 295, a. 45.
7. Lorsqu’un propriétaire veut faire assurer un bâtiment dont la description et l’évaluation ne sont pas portées au rôle, il doit le faire évaluer par l’évaluateur visé à l’article 3 qui fait insérer sur ce rôle la description et l’évaluation de ce bâtiment ainsi que le montant maximum d’assurance que le conseil croit devoir accorder en vertu des règlements; si le conseil, à l’assemblée tenue immédiatement après l’entrée au rôle de la description et de l’évaluation du bâtiment ainsi que du montant maximum d’assurance accordé, ne fait pas entrer vis-à-vis des inscriptions qui concernent ce bâtiment les mots «objecté par le conseil», ce bâtiment est assuré à dater, inclusivement, du jour de cette dernière assemblée.
S. R. 1964, c. 295, a. 46; 1979, c. 72, a. 327.
8. Le secrétaire-trésorier, sur demande du propriétaire, peut assurer, en observant les formalités requises, les grains, foins, fourrages, produits de sa récolte, et meubles de ménage, ainsi que les instruments aratoires contenus dans les bâtiments non objectés par le conseil, au montant pour lequel demande lui en est faite ou pour lequel un maximum a été fixé, si le règlement établissant l’assurance pourvoit à l’assurance de ces biens.
S. R. 1964, c. 295, a. 47.
9. Les propriétaires de biens assurés comme susdit sont les membres de la compagnie d’assurance mutuelle; ils sont les seuls responsables envers la compagnie, en proportion du montant pour lequel chacun de leurs biens est assuré, pour le montant des dommages causés par le feu, ou le feu et la foudre, ou le feu, la foudre et le vent, ainsi que pour toutes dettes et obligations contractées par la compagnie.
S. R. 1964, c. 295, a. 48.
10. La compagnie est responsable, en faveur de chacun de ses membres, des deux tiers des dommages causés par le feu, ou le feu et la foudre, ou le feu, la foudre et le vent, aux bâtiments ou biens mobiliers ainsi assurés, pour un montant n’excédant pas les deux tiers de l’évaluation de ces bâtiments ou biens mobiliers, telle que portée audit rôle, ou pour un montant n’excédant pas les deux tiers du montant maximum d’assurance, s’il existe un règlement fixant un montant.
S. R. 1964, c. 295, a. 49.
11. Le conseil a droit, au profit de la corporation, pour l’indemniser de tous frais occasionnés par l’administration de la compagnie, y compris le salaire du secrétaire-trésorier et le montant à verser à la corporation de comté ou à la municipalité régionale de comté pour le travail de son évaluateur, à un montant qu’il juge raisonnable mais qui ne peut, en aucun cas, excéder dix pour cent du montant par lui perçu pour la compagnie.
S. R. 1964, c. 295, a. 50; 1979, c. 72, a. 328.
12. Le conseil peut, s’il y est autorisé par la majorité des assurés présents à l’assemblée mentionnée en l’article 5, prélever 0,25 $ par 100 $ sur le montant assuré, pour établir un fonds de réserve, et doit prélever, chaque année, un montant suffisant pour rencontrer les dommages dont le montant est alors établi, et pour satisfaire à toutes les obligations et aux dettes échues de la compagnie.
Ce montant est prélevé au moyen d’une taxe imposée sur chaque bâtiment assuré, en proportion du montant de son évaluation et de celui de son contenu, telle que portée au rôle, ou en proportion du montant d’assurance qu’il porte, selon le cas.
La taxe imposée, en vertu du présent article est assimilée aux taxes municipales; elle en a tous les privilèges au même rang et sans la formalité de l’enregistrement; et le montant avec l’intérêt légal, après échéance, en est recouvrable par le secrétaire-trésorier, de la même manière que les taxes municipales.
S. R. 1964, c. 295, a. 51.
13. Advenant le cas de modification dans les limites de la municipalité, chaque membre de la compagnie dont les biens-fonds ne sont pas alors imposables a droit au remboursement de sa part de contribution au fonds de réserve, à la condition toutefois que tel propriétaire ait été assuré dans la compagnie depuis au moins cinq ans, à la date du 31 décembre précédant la modification des limites de telle municipalité.
Pour déterminer la part alors remboursable à chaque membre, le secrétaire-trésorier doit diviser le total d’assurance en vigueur par le total du fonds de réserve, y compris les intérêts accumulés à la date du 31 décembre précédent, et remettre, dans un délai de trois mois, au membre visé par l’alinéa précédent du présent article, sa part de remboursement dans la proportion du montant d’assurance qu’il avait dans la compagnie au 31 décembre précédant la date du remboursement.
Les dispositions du présent article ne s’appliquent pas aux modifications de limites faites avant le 19 février, 1932.
S. R. 1964, c. 295, a. 52.
14. Deux ou plus des compagnies d’assurance mutuelle, établies sous l’empire de la présente section, peuvent faire des arrangements à l’effet de se rendre responsables l’une envers l’autre, en proportion du montant assuré par chacune d’elles, jusqu’à concurrence des dommages causés par le feu, ou le feu et la foudre, ou le feu, la foudre et le vent.
S. R. 1964, c. 295, a. 53.
15. Le conseil peut faire tout règlement nécessaire pour le bon fonctionnement de la compagnie, notamment pour établir les conditions auxquelles un bâtiment demeure assuré, quand et comment un bâtiment assuré peut cesser de l’être, et comment un membre de la compagnie peut transporter ses intérêts dans la compagnie, et généralement tout autre règlement non incompatible avec la présente section.
Le conseil peut aussi décréter par règlement l’émission d’un certificat constatant la qualité d’assuré, pourvu toutefois que tous les règlements de la compagnie, en vigueur à la date de son émission, soient insérés au long dans ce certificat.
S. R. 1964, c. 295, a. 54; 1974, c. 70, a. 432.
16. Dans les villages, tous les bâtiments situés à une distance moindre de cinquante pieds l’un de l’autre doivent être évalués séparément et proportionnellement, de manière que leur valeur collective n’excède pas 3 000 $.
S. R. 1964, c. 295, a. 55.
SECTION II
DES COMPAGNIES D’ASSURANCE MUTUELLE FORMÉES PAR DES PARTICULIERS DANS UNE PAROISSE OU UNE MUNICIPALITÉ LOCALE
17. 1.  Vingt-cinq francs tenanciers, résidant dans une paroisse ou municipalité locale quelconque au Québec, dont cinq étant administrateurs provisoires d’une association formée dans le but d’établir une compagnie d’assurance mutuelle contre le feu, peuvent, jusqu’au 20 octobre 1976 établir telle compagnie aux fins d’assurer les propriétés situées dans les limites de telle paroisse ou municipalité locale, et aussi les propriétés hors de ces limites, pourvu qu’elles soient situées entièrement dans le comté où se trouve le siège social de la compagnie, dans telle paroisse ou municipalité, les animaux de ferme, ainsi que les grains, foins, fourrages, instruments aratoires et meubles de ménage sur ou dans les propriétés susdites, laquelle assurance est connue sous le nom de «la compagnie d’assurance mutuelle contre le feu, de la paroisse de (ou de la municipalité locale de », suivant le cas).
2.  Cependant dans le cas de modification dans les limites du comté où une compagnie est régulièrement en opération, toutes les polices alors émises par cette compagnie pour assurer des biens situés en dehors des nouvelles limites du comté demeurent en vigueur jusqu’à l’expiration du terme de cinq années de leur émission, mais sujet au droit d’annulation prévu par la loi.
3.  Toutes les dispositions relatives aux sociétés mutuelles d’assurance incendie contenues dans la Loi sur les assurances (chapitre A‐32) s’appliquent à telles compagnies en autant qu’elles ne sont pas incompatibles avec les dispositions de la présente section.
S. R. 1964, c. 295, a. 56; 1974, c. 70, a. 433.
18. Il est loisible à la compagnie d’assurer contre le feu, la foudre et le vent, ou contre le feu ou le vent ou la foudre séparément.
La compagnie peut fixer le taux des polices d’assurance dans un village à cent pour cent de plus que dans une paroisse.
Dans le cas où le taux serait le même dans la paroisse que dans le village, et que plusieurs propriétés seraient détruites à la fois dans ce village, la compagnie n’est pas tenue, si la valeur totale des propriétés ainsi détruites excède le maximum fixé par la compagnie, de payer en tout plus que ce maximum, lequel maximum est divisé entre les parties assurées dont les propriétés ont été ainsi détruites, proportionnellement au montant de leurs assurances.
S. R. 1964, c. 295, a. 57.
19. Les administrateurs doivent être membres et assurés de la compagnie pendant la durée de leur charge, jusqu’à concurrence d’au moins 500 $.
S. R. 1964, c. 295, a. 58.
20. La compagnie peut faire des règlements sur la qualité des personnes qui veulent en faire partie, et lorsque quarante personnes, ayant dûment qualité d’après ces règlements, ont signé leurs noms dans le livre de souscriptions, et que les sommes souscrites pour lesquelles elles se sont obligées à effectuer les assurances, se sont montées à la somme de 25 000 $ ou plus, telles personnes et celles qui deviennent, par la suite membres de la compagnie sont, en y effectuant des assurances, considérées comme corporation suivant les dispositions de la présente section, pourvu qu’un avis soit au préalable donné dans la Gazette officielle du Québec.
S. R. 1964, c. 295, a. 59; 1968, c. 23, a. 8.
21. Les avis nécessaires sont publiés et affichés à la porte de l’église paroissiale, un dimanche ou un jour de fête, après le service divin du matin, immédiatement avant l’assemblée, et non autrement ni ailleurs.
S. R. 1964, c. 295, a. 60.
22. Les assemblées annuelles de toute telle compagnie peuvent avoir lieu soit à l’époque fixée par l’article 264 de la Loi sur les assurances (chapitre A‐32), ou à tout autre jour fixé par un règlement de la compagnie adopté à cette fin.
La convocation des membres pour une assemblée générale annuelle, ou spéciale, se fait au moyen d’un avis publié et affiché, cinq jours francs au moins avant l’assemblée, à la porte de l’église paroissiale, un dimanche ou un jour de fête, dans chaque paroisse où se trouvent des membres.
S. R. 1964, c. 295, a. 61; 1974, c. 70, a. 434.
23. Outre les droits et pouvoirs accordés à la compagnie par les dispositions relatives aux compagnies d’assurance mutuelle et contenues dans la présente loi et dans la Loi sur les assurances (chapitre A‐32), elle a de plus le pouvoir de faire les règles et règlements qu’elle croit nécessaires à son fonctionnement et à sa bonne administration, et d’abroger, modifier ou remplacer ces règlements; pourvu, toujours, que ces règles et règlements ne soient pas contraires aux lois, coutumes et usages en vigueur au Québec.
S. R. 1964, c. 295, a. 62; 1974, c. 70, a. 435.
24. Chaque compagnie, ainsi constituée, tient son bureau dans la paroisse ou municipalité locale dans laquelle elle est établie, et à l’endroit qui a été choisi par le conseil d’administration; pourvu, toujours, qu’aussitôt que les administrateurs ont fait choix d’un endroit pour y tenir leur bureau, ils en donnent avis public le dimanche suivant en la manière prescrite par l’article 21.
S. R. 1964, c. 295, a. 63.
SECTION III
ADMINISTRATION DES COMPAGNIES MUTUELLES
25. Les règles relatives à l’administration des sociétés mutuelles d’assurance-incendie contenues dans la Loi sur les assurances (chapitre A‐32) s’appliquent mutatismutandis à l’administration des compagnies mutuelles régies par la présente loi.
1974, c. 70, a. 436.
SECTION IV
DISPOSITION PARTICULIÈRE
26. La présente loi a effet indépendamment des dispositions des articles 2 et 7 à 15 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982 (annexe B de la Loi sur le Canada, chapitre 11 du recueil des lois du Parlement du Royaume-Uni pour l’année 1982).
1982, c. 21, a. 1.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 295 des Statuts refondus, 1964, tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre C-39 des Lois refondues.