C-36 - Act respecting the Standing Commission on Reform of the Electoral Districts

Full text
chapter C-36
Act respecting the Standing Commission on Reform of the Electoral Districts
COMMISSION ON REFORM OF THE ELECTORAL DISTRICTSDecember 13 1979January 10 1980
Chapter C-36 is replaced by the Act respecting electoral representation (chapter R-24.1) except sections 2 to 5 which are repealed. (1979, c. 57, s. 42).
1979, c. 57, s. 42.
1. A body, hereinafter called the Commission, is constituted under the name of “Standing Commission on Reform of the Electoral Districts” in English and “Commission permanente de la réforme des districts électoraux” in French.
1971, c. 7, s. 1.
2. (Repealed).
1971, c. 7, s. 2; 1977, c. 11, s. 132; 1979, c. 57, s. 42.
3. (Repealed).
1971, c. 7, s. 3; 1977, c. 11, s. 132; 1979, c. 57, s. 42.
4. (Repealed).
1971, c. 7, s. 4; 1977, c. 11, s. 132; 1979, c. 57, s. 42.
5. (Repealed).
1971, c. 7, s. 5; 1979, c. 57, s. 42.
6. The function of the Commission shall be to delimit the electoral districts of Québec, applying thereto the principles set out in this act to ensure fair and equitable representation in the Assemblée nationale to all the electors.
1971, c. 7, s. 6.
7. The Commission shall, in the year following general elections in Québec, determine whether the electoral districts must be again delimited to comply with the principles set out in this act, and send its opinion to the President of the Assemblée nationale who shall communicate it to the members within the five days on which the Assemblée sits after receipt of such opinion.
If the Commission considers that changes must be made, it shall, within six months following the sending of its opinion to the President of the Assemblée nationale, present to him a draft indicating the new delimitations proposed by it and the President shall communicate it to the members within the five days on which the Assemblée sits after receipt of such draft.
1971, c. 7, s. 7.
8. The Commission must, taking into account the number of electoral districts in Québec and the area of each, ensure that each electoral district includes 32,000 electors and for that purpose it must take into account the factors of variation in the population; it may, however, allow electoral districts in which the number of electors is greater or less than that number by not more than twenty-five per cent, whevener it considers it necessary by reason of the population density.
The Commission may depart from the rules set out in the first paragraph for exceptional reasons of a demographic and geographic nature such as the very low population density, the relative growth rate of the population of a region, its accessibility, area or shape.
1971, c. 7, s. 9.
9. In the performance of its duties, the Commission and each of its members shall have the powers and immunities of commissioners appointed under the Act respecting public inquiry commissions (chapter C-37).
1971, c. 7, s. 10.
10. The Commission may, in the performance of its duties, retain the services of any person.
Such a person shall be appointed by the Commission according to the staff requirements determined by the Conseil du trésor; he shall be remunerated in accordance with the standards and scales established by such Conseil and section 434 of the Election Act shall apply to such person, if necessary.
1971, c. 7, s. 11; 1977, c. 5, s. 14.
11. The Commission must, whenever the Assemblée nationale or one of its committees studies any of its opinions or reports, provide it with all documents and information at its disposal and be available to it in the carrying out of its work.
1971, c. 7, s. 12.
12. The moneys required for the purposes of this act shall be taken out of the consolidated revenue fund.
1971, c. 7, s. 13.

C-36 - Loi sur la Commission permanente de la réforme des districts électoraux

Texte complet
chapitre C-36
Loi sur la Commission permanente de la réforme des districts électoraux
COMMISSION DE RÉFORME DES DISTRICTS ÉLECTORAUX13 décembre 197910 janvier 1980
Le chapitre C-36 est remplacé par la Loi sur la représentation électorale (chapitre R‐24.1), sauf les articles 2 à 5 qui sont abrogés. (1979, c. 57, a. 42).
1979, c. 57, a. 42.
1. Un organisme, ci-après appelé la Commission, est constitué sous le nom, en français, de «Commission permanente de la réforme des districts électoraux» et, en anglais, de «Standing Commission on Reform of the Electoral Districts».
1971, c. 7, a. 1.
2. (Abrogé).
1971, c. 7, a. 2; 1977, c. 11, a. 132; 1979, c. 57, a. 42.
3. (Abrogé).
1971, c. 7, a. 3; 1977, c. 11, a. 132; 1979, c. 57, a. 42.
4. (Abrogé).
1971, c. 7, a. 4; 1977, c. 11, a. 132; 1979, c. 57, a. 42.
5. (Abrogé).
1971, c. 7, a. 5; 1979, c. 57, a. 42.
6. La Commission a pour fonction de délimiter les districts électoraux du Québec en y appliquant les principes indiqués dans la présente loi afin d’assurer à tous les électeurs une représentation juste et équitable à l’Assemblée nationale.
1971, c. 7, a. 6.
7. La Commission doit, dans l’année qui suit des élections générales au Québec, déterminer si les districts électoraux doivent être délimités de nouveau pour être conformes aux principes indiqués dans la présente loi et transmettre son avis au président de l’Assemblée nationale qui le communique aux députés dans les cinq jours au cours desquels siège l’Assemblée après réception de cet avis.
Si la Commission estime que des changements doivent être apportés, elle doit, dans les six mois qui suivent l’expédition de son avis au président de l’Assemblée nationale, lui présenter un projet indiquant les nouvelles délimitations qu’elle propose et le président doit le communiquer aux députés dans les cinq jours au cours desquels siège l’Assemblée après réception de ce projet.
1971, c. 7, a. 7.
8. La Commission doit, en appréciant le nombre des districts électoraux au Québec et l’étendue de chacun d’eux, s’assurer que chaque district électoral comprend 32,000 électeurs et à cette fin elle devra tenir compte des facteurs de variation de la population; toutefois, elle peut admettre des districts électoraux dont le nombre des électeurs est supérieur ou inférieur à ce nombre d’au plus vingt-cinq pour cent, chaque fois qu’elle l’estime nécessaire en raison de la densité de la population.
La Commission peut s’écarter des règles énoncées au premier alinéa pour des considérations exceptionnelles d’ordre démographique et géographique tels que la très faible densité de la population, le taux relatif de croissance de la population d’une région, son accessibilité, sa superficie ou sa configuration.
1971, c. 7, a. 9.
9. Dans l’exercice de ses fonctions, la Commission, ainsi que chacun de ses membres, sont investis des pouvoirs et immunités de commissaires nommés en vertu de la Loi sur les commissions d’enquête (chapitre C‐37).
1971, c. 7, a. 10.
10. La Commission peut, dans l’exercice de ses fonctions, retenir les services de toute personne.
Ces personnes sont nommées par la Commission suivant les effectifs déterminés par le Conseil du trésor; elles sont rémunérées conformément aux normes et barèmes établis par ce Conseil et l’article 434 de la Loi électorale s’applique à ces personnes, le cas échéant.
1971, c. 7, a. 11.
11. La Commission doit, chaque fois que l’Assemblée nationale ou une de ses commissions étudie un de ses avis ou rapports, lui fournir tous les documents et renseignements dont elle dispose et être à sa disposition dans l’exécution de ses travaux.
1971, c. 7, a. 12.
12. Les deniers requis aux fins de la présente loi sont pris à même le fonds consolidé du revenu.
1971, c. 7, a. 13.