C-23 - Amusement Clubs Act

Full text
chapter C-23
Amusement Clubs Act
AMUSEMENT CLUBSDecember 31 1977
DIVISION I
CONSTITUTION AS A LEGAL PERSON
1999, c. 40, s. 54.
1. Ten or more persons, domiciled in any part of Canada, who wish to form an association or club with a view of recreation, instruction and amusement, or with a view to developing and encouraging tourist traffic, or a musical association or an automobile club, may be constituted as a legal person by proceeding as follows:
(1)  by obtaining for that purpose the consent and authorization of the municipal council of the place of their domicile if it be in Québec, or of the place in which such association shall have its head office in Québec;
(2)  by signing a memorandum, in which they shall set forth the name of the association, the object for which they wish to be constituted as a legal person, and the place in which the association shall have its head office;
(3)  by transmitting the memorandum and the certificate of approval of the municipal council to the enterprise registrar. The enterprise registrar shall deposit the memorandum and the certificate in the enterprise register kept under Chapter II of the Act respecting the legal publicity of enterprises (chapter P-44.1) and give a copy of the memorandum to the association.
R. S. 1964, c. 298, s. 1; 1969, c. 26, s. 115; 1975, c. 76, s. 11; 1981, c. 9, s. 24; 1982, c. 52, s. 113; 1993, c. 48, s. 211; 1999, c. 40, s. 54; 2002, c. 45, s. 265; 2010, c. 7, s. 194; 2010, c. 40, s. 92.
1.1. The name of a club shall be in conformity with section 9.1 of the Companies Act (chapter C‐38).
1993, c. 48, s. 212; 1999, c. 40, s. 54.
1.2. The enterprise registrar shall refuse to deposit in the register a memorandum containing a proposed name not in conformity with any of paragraphs 1 to 6 of section 9.1 of the Companies Act (chapter C-38).
1993, c. 48, s. 212; 2002, c. 45, s. 265.
2. (Repealed).
R. S. 1964, c. 298, s. 2; 1993, c. 48, s. 213.
3. Upon the completion of these formalities, the persons applying for constitution as a legal person, and such others as may thereafter become members of the association, shall constitute a legal person under the name set forth in the memorandum.
R. S. 1964, c. 298, s. 3; 1999, c. 40, s. 54.
4. The members of the association, in general meeting assembled, may, at any time, by resolution, change the name thereof, provided that a notice to that effect be transmitted to the enterprise registrar, who shall deposit it in the register, and that a notice of the change be published once in a French newspaper and once in an English newspaper published in the judicial district in which the association is established. The change has effect from the date of deposit of the notice in the register.
The association, under its new name, shall enjoy and possess all the privileges and be subject to all the duties and liabilities of the said association incurred under its former name.
R. S. 1964, c. 298, s. 4; 1969, c. 26, s. 115; 1975, c. 76, s. 11; 1981, c. 9, s. 24; 1982, c. 52, s. 113; 1993, c. 48, s. 214; 2002, c. 45, s. 265.
DIVISION II
GENERAL POWERS
5. Every association may acquire and hold, in the territory of the local municipality that authorized its constitution as a legal person or in the adjacent local municipal territory in the same judicial district and registration division, any property it requires and whose rental value does not exceed $1,000 or $2,000, depending on whether the population of the municipality is less than 3,000 inhabitants, or is equal to or greater than that number.
R. S. 1964, c. 298, s. 5; 1996, c. 2, s. 211; 1999, c. 40, s. 54.
6. The association may, for the management of its affairs, adopt such by-laws, rules and regulations as it deems necessary respecting the admission and expulsion of its members, the contributions and fines which it deems advisable to impose, and generally for the administration and management of its affairs.
R. S. 1964, c. 298, s. 6.
DIVISION III
MISCELLANEOUS
7. The members shall not be personally responsible for the debts of the association.
R. S. 1964, c. 298, s. 7.
8. In so far as applicable, the provisions of the Companies Act (chapter C-38) shall govern clubs and associations mentioned in section 1 and more particularly the provisions of Division IV of Part III of the said Companies Act shall apply to such clubs and associations.
The remedy provided for in section 123.27.1 of the said Act, adapted as required, may be exercised in respect of the name of an association.
R. S. 1964, c. 298, s. 8; 1993, c. 48, s. 215.
9. If required by a member of the Sûreté du Québec, or by a member of any municipal police force authorized by its chief, the association must produce a certified list of its members, and a certified copy of the by-laws, rules and regulations adopted under section 6 if the documents are required as evidence of an offence against an Act applicable in Québec.
Any person who has the custody of the documents of the association, or the president or manager thereof, who refuses to obey the demand above-mentioned, shall be liable to a fine of not less than $50 nor more than $100.
R. S. 1964, c. 298, s. 9; 1968, c. 17, s. 97; 1977, c. 5, s. 14; 1986, c. 95, s. 57; 1990, c. 4, s. 209.
10. (This section ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987).
1982, c. 21, s. 1; U. K., 1982, c. 11, Sch. B, Part I, s. 33.
11. The Government designates the Minister responsible for the administration of this Act except the provisions relating to the responsibilities of the enterprise registrar, which are administered by the Minister of Employment and Social Solidarity.
2002, c. 45, s. 266; 2006, c. 38, s. 16; 2016, c. 29, s. 26.
Not in force
12. The Minister of Economic Development, Innovation and Export Trade is responsible for the application of this Act.
2002, c. 45, s. 266; 2003, c. 29, s. 170; 2006, c. 8, s. 31.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 298 of the Revised Statutes, 1964, in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed effective from the coming into force of chapter C-23 of the Revised Statutes.

C-23 - Loi sur les clubs de récréation

Texte complet
chapitre C-23
Loi sur les clubs de récréation
CLUBS DE RÉCRÉATION31 décembre 1977
SECTION I
DE LA CONSTITUTION DU CLUB EN PERSONNE MORALE
1999, c. 40, a. 54.
1. Dix, ou un plus grand nombre de personnes, domiciliées dans quelque partie du Canada, qui désirent se former en association, cercle ou club, dans un but de récréation et d’instruction pour l’esprit et de délassement pour le corps, ou dans le but de développer et d’encourager le tourisme, ou en société musicale ou en association d’automobilistes, peuvent être constituées en personne morale, en procédant de la manière suivante:
1°  en obtenant, dans ce but, l’assentiment et l’autorisation du conseil municipal du lieu de leur domicile, s’il est situé au Québec, ou de l’endroit où cette association aura son siège au Québec;
2°  en signant une déclaration, dans laquelle elles mentionnent le nom de l’association, l’objet pour lequel elles veulent être constituées en personne morale et l’endroit où cette association aura son siège;
3°  en transmettant au registraire des entreprises la déclaration et le certificat d’approbation du conseil municipal. Le registraire des entreprises dépose la déclaration et le certificat au registre des entreprises visé au chapitre II de la Loi sur la publicité légale des entreprises (chapitre P-44.1) et remet un exemplaire de la déclaration à l’association.
S. R. 1964, c. 298, a. 1; 1969, c. 26, a. 115; 1975, c. 76, a. 11; 1981, c. 9, a. 24; 1982, c. 52, a. 113; 1993, c. 48, a. 211; 1999, c. 40, a. 54; 2002, c. 45, a. 265; 2010, c. 7, a. 194; 2010, c. 40, a. 92.
1.1. Le nom d’un club doit être conforme à l’article 9.1 de la Loi sur les compagnies (chapitre C‐38).
1993, c. 48, a. 212.
1.2. Le registraire des entreprises refuse de déposer au registre une déclaration qui contient un nom non conforme à l’un des paragraphes 1° à 6° de l’article 9.1 de la Loi sur les compagnies (chapitre C‐38).
1993, c. 48, a. 212; 2002, c. 45, a. 265.
2. (Abrogé).
S. R. 1964, c. 298, a. 2; 1993, c. 48, a. 213.
3. Après les formalités ci-dessus accomplies, les personnes qui demandent leur constitution en personne morale et telles autres qui peuvent, par la suite, devenir membres de l’association, forment une personne morale sous le nom énoncé dans la déclaration.
S. R. 1964, c. 298, a. 3; 1999, c. 40, a. 54.
4. Les membres de l’association, réunis en assemblée générale, peuvent en tout temps, par résolution, changer le nom de l’association pourvu qu’un avis à cet effet soit transmis au registraire des entreprises qui le dépose au registre et qu’un avis du changement soit publié une fois dans un journal français et une fois dans un journal anglais publiés dans le district judiciaire dans lequel l’association est établie. Le changement prend effet à la date du dépôt de l’avis au registre.
L’association, sous son nouveau nom, jouit et est revêtue de tous les privilèges et est sujette à tous les devoirs et obligations de l’association sous son ancien nom.
S. R. 1964, c. 298, a. 4; 1968, c. 23, a. 8; 1969, c. 26, a. 115; 1975, c. 76, a. 11; 1981, c. 9, a. 24; 1982, c. 52, a. 113; 1993, c. 48, a. 214; 2002, c. 45, a. 265.
SECTION II
DES POUVOIRS GÉNÉRAUX DU CLUB
5. Toute association peut acquérir et posséder, sur le territoire de la municipalité locale qui a autorisé sa constitution ou sur le territoire municipal local contigu compris dans le même district judiciaire et la même circonscription foncière, des biens qui lui sont nécessaires et dont la valeur locative n’excède pas 1 000 $ ou 2 000 $, selon que la population de la municipalité est inférieure à 3 000 habitants ou y est égale ou supérieure.
S. R. 1964, c. 298, a. 5; 1996, c. 2, a. 211.
6. L’association peut adopter, pour l’administration de ses affaires, les statuts, les règles ou règlements qu’elle juge à propos, relativement à l’admission et à l’expulsion de ses membres, aux contributions et amendes qu’il convient de leur imposer, et généralement à l’administration et à la régie de ses affaires.
S. R. 1964, c. 298, a. 6.
SECTION III
DISPOSITIONS DIVERSES
7. Les membres ne sont pas personnellement responsables des dettes de l’association.
S. R. 1964, c. 298, a. 7.
8. En tant qu’elles sont applicables, les dispositions de la Loi sur les compagnies (chapitre C‐38) régissent les clubs ou associations mentionnés dans l’article 1 et particulièrement les dispositions de la section IV de la partie III de ladite Loi sur les compagnies s’appliquent à ces clubs et associations.
Le recours prévu à l’article 123.27.1 de cette loi peut être exercé, compte tenu des adaptations nécessaires, à l’encontre du nom d’une association.
S. R. 1964, c. 298, a. 8; 1993, c. 48, a. 215.
9. L’association, sur demande d’un membre de la Sûreté du Québec ou d’un membre de la police municipale autorisé par le chef de ce dernier corps, doit produire une liste certifiée des membres qui la composent et une copie certifiée des statuts, règles et règlements adoptés en vertu de l’article 6 si ces documents sont requis comme preuve d’une infraction à une loi applicable au Québec.
Toute personne qui a la garde de ces documents, ou le président ou gérant de l’association, qui refuse de se rendre à la demande ci-dessus, est passible d’une amende d’au moins 50 $ et d’au plus 100 $.
S. R. 1964, c. 298, a. 9; 1968, c. 17, a. 97; 1986, c. 95, a. 57; 1990, c. 4, a. 209.
10. (Cet article a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987).
1982, c. 21, a. 1; R.-U., 1982, c. 11, ann. B, ptie I, a. 33.
11. Le gouvernement désigne le ministre responsable de l’application des dispositions de la présente loi sauf de celles relatives aux responsabilités confiées au registraire des entreprises qui relèvent du ministre de l’Emploi et de la Solidarité sociale.
2002, c. 45, a. 266; 2006, c. 38, a. 16; 2016, c. 29, a. 26.
Non en vigueur
12. Le ministre du Développement économique, de l’Innovation et de l’Exportation est chargé de l’application de la présente loi.
2002, c. 45, a. 266; 2003, c. 29, a. 170; 2006, c. 8, a. 31.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 298 des Statuts refondus, 1964, tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre C-23 des Lois refondues.