C-17 - Non-Catholic Cemeteries Act

Full text
chapter C-17
Non-Catholic Cemeteries Act
NON-CATHOLIC CEMETERIESDecember 31 1977
Repealed, 2016, c. 1, s. 112.
1. No non-Catholic cemetery, whoever may be the owner, administrator or manager thereof, may be established unless the site thereof has been approved by the Minister of Health and Social Services.
R. S. 1964, c. 309, s. 1; 1970, c. 42, s. 17; 1985, c. 23, s. 24.
2. Whenever a non-Catholic cemetery, whoever may be the owner, administrator or manager thereof, has been condemned by the Minister of Health and Social Services as dangerous to public health, the owners, administrators or managers of such cemetery shall, within six months after having been notified of such condemnation, replace such cemetery by another cemetery the site whereof has been approved by the Minister of Health and Social Services and, after the expiration of such time, no interment may take place in such condemned cemetery, and the removal of the bodies from the old cemetery to the new one, if effected, must be so effected in accordance with the provisions of sections 18, 19 and 20 of the Burial Act (chapter I-11).
R. S. 1964, c. 309, s. 2; 1970, c. 42, s. 17; 1985, c. 23, s. 24; 1999, c. 40, s. 49.
3. Every person who contravenes or is accessory to any contravention of any of the provisions of section 1 or 2 is liable to a fine not exceeding $300 and, on an application by the prosecutor which is attached to the statement of offence, an additional fine of $25 per day, for each day that the offence continues.
R. S. 1964, c. 309, s. 3; 1974, c. 11, s. 2; 1990, c. 4, s. 164; 1992, c. 61, s. 112.
4. Penal proceedings may be instituted by the local municipality in whose territory the offence is committed.
R. S. 1964, c. 309, s. 4; 1990, c. 4, s. 165; 1992, c. 61, s. 113.
5. (This section ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987).
1982, c. 21, s. 1; U. K., 1982, c. 11, Sch. B, Part I, s. 33.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 309 of the Revised Statutes, 1964, in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed effective from the coming into force of chapter C-17 of the Revised Statutes.

C-17 - Loi sur les cimetières non catholiques

Texte complet
chapitre C-17
Loi sur les cimetières non catholiques
CIMETIÈRES NON CATHOLIQUES31 décembre 1977
1. Aucun cimetière non catholique, quel qu’en soit le propriétaire ou l’administrateur ou gérant, ne peut être établi, à moins que l’endroit et le terrain où il doit être établi n’aient été approuvés par le ministre de la Santé et des Services sociaux.
S. R. 1964, c. 309, a. 1; 1970, c. 42, a. 17; 1985, c. 23, a. 24.
2. Lorsqu’un cimetière non catholique, quel qu’en soit le propriétaire ou l’administrateur ou gérant, a été condamné par le ministre de la Santé et des Services sociaux comme dangereux pour la santé publique, les propriétaires et administrateurs ou gérants de ce cimetière doivent, dans les six mois après que cette condamnation leur a été notifiée, remplacer ce cimetière par un autre dont la situation a été approuvée par le ministre de la Santé et des Services sociaux et, après l’expiration de ce délai, aucune inhumation ne peut se faire dans le cimetière condamné, et le transport des cadavres de l’ancien au nouveau cimetière, s’il se fait, doit se faire conformément aux dispositions des articles 18, 19 et 20 de la Loi sur les inhumations et les exhumations (chapitre I‐11).
S. R. 1964, c. 309, a. 2; 1970, c. 42, a. 17; 1985, c. 23, a. 24.
3. Quiconque contrevient ou participe à quelque infraction à l’une des dispositions des articles 1 ou 2, est passible d’une amende maximale de 300 $ et, sur demande du poursuivant jointe au constat d’infraction, d’une amende additionnelle de 25 $ par jour, pour chaque jour que dure l’infraction.
S. R. 1964, c. 309, a. 3; 1974, c. 11, a. 2; 1990, c. 4, a. 164; 1992, c. 61, a. 112.
4. La poursuite pénale peut être intentée par la municipalité locale sur le territoire de laquelle l’infraction est commise.
S. R. 1964, c. 309, a. 4; 1990, c. 4, a. 165; 1992, c. 61, a. 113.
5. (Cet article a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987).
1982, c. 21, a. 1; R.-U., 1982, c. 11, ann. B, ptie I, a. 33.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 309 des Statuts refondus, 1964, tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre C-17 des Lois refondues.