B-8 - Act respecting the Bureau de la statistique

Full text
chapter B-8
Act respecting the Bureau de la statistique
BUREAU DE LA STATISTIQUEJune 20 1998April 1 1999
Chapter B-8 is replaced by the Act respecting the Institut de la statistique du Québec (chapter I-13.011) (1998, c. 44, s. 62).
1998, c. 44, s. 62.
1. In this Act:
(a)  Bureau means the Bureau de la statistique du Québec;
(b)  Minister means the Minister of Industry, Trade, Science and Technology;
(c)  respondent means a person in respect of whom or in respect of whose activities any report or information is sought or provided pursuant to this Act.
R. S. 1964, c. 207, s. 1; 1974, c. 54, s. 1; 1977, c. 5, s. 14; 1979, c. 77, s. 27; 1984, c. 36, s. 45; 1988, c. 41, s. 89; 1994, c. 16, s. 51.
The Minister of Finance exercises the functions, powers and duties of the Minister of Industry, Trade, Science and Technology with respect to the application of this Act. O.C. 375-83 of 83.03.09, (1983) 115 G.O. 2 (French), 1414; 1994, c. 16, s. 52.
2. An administrative body is established in the Ministère de l’Industrie, du Commerce, de la Science et de la Technologie under the name of “Bureau de la statistique du Québec”.
R. S. 1964, c. 207, s. 2; 1977, c. 5, s. 14; 1979, c. 77, s. 27; 1984, c. 36, s. 45; 1988, c. 41, s. 89; 1994, c. 16, s. 51.
3. The Bureau shall consist of a director and such other functionaries and employees as are appointed under the Public Service Act (chapter F-3.1.1).
The Minister may also employ temporarily such persons as are necessary to gather for the Bureau the statistical information that he deems useful in the public interest.
R. S. 1964, c. 207, s. 3; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 14, s. 81; 1978, c. 15, s. 140; 1983, c. 55, s. 161.
4. The director, functionaries and employees of the Bureau, including all persons employed to gather statistics, before entering on their duties, must take oath in accordance with Schedules A and B of the Civil Service Act (chapter F-3.1).
R. S. 1964, c. 207, s. 4; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 14, s. 81; 1978, c. 15, s. 140.
5. The Bureau shall:
(a)  collect, compile, analyse and publish statistical information respecting any matter of provincial jurisdiction;
(b)  collaborate with the departments of the Government in gathering, compiling and publishing such information;
(c)  carry out statistical research.
R. S. 1964, c. 207, s. 5; 1977, c. 5, s. 14.
6. With the authorization of the Government, the Minister may enter with Statistics Canada into any agreement respecting the collection, exchange or transmission of information gathered in accordance with this act and of the compilations and analyses of such information.
When the Bureau gathers information within the scope of such an agreement, it must inform the respondent thereof.
R. S. 1964, c. 207, s. 6; 1974, c. 54, s. 2.
7. The Minister may enter into an agreement with any department or agency of the Gouvernement du Québec, with any municipality or, with any school board, with the Conseil scolaire de l’île de Montréal, with any statistical agency of another province of Canada, with any department or agency of the government of Canada, or with any other legal person for the exchange of information collected jointly with the Bureau and the other party to the agreement from a respondent and for the compilation or publication of such information.
1974, c. 54, s. 3; 1977, c. 5, s. 14; 1988, c. 84, s. 546; 1996, c. 2, s. 101.
8. An agreement entered into under section 7 must provide that the respondent shall be informed of the fact that the information is being gathered jointly for the use of the Bureau and for that of the other party to the agreement.
It must also provide that the agreement does not apply to a respondent who notifies the Bureau in writing that he objects to the exchange of the information between the parties to the agreement.
1974, c. 54, s. 3.
9. Subject to the second paragraph of section 8, the exchange of information collected pursuant to an agreement contemplated in section 7 may include replies to original inquiries and supplementary information provided by a respondent to either of the parties to the agreement.
1974, c. 54, s. 3.
10. The Minister shall determine what information is to be gathered and prescribe the questionnaires and forms deemed necessary.
R. S. 1964, c. 207, s. 7.
11. Every person must answer the questions asked by a functionary or employee of the Bureau with a view to gathering statistical information and must fill in and forward to the Bureau every questionnaire requiring an answer.
R. S. 1964, c. 207, s. 8.
12. Whosoever has the custody of any records, books or other documents of the Government or of any public body must give any functionary or employee of the Bureau access to such records, books or documents.
R. S. 1964, c. 207, s. 9; 1977, c. 5, s. 14.
13. Any unfair discrimination in the exercise of the powers conferred by this act is prohibited.
Nevertheless statistical information may be gathered by sampling or spot-checking.
R. S. 1964, c. 207, s. 10.
14. Any document purporting to have been signed by the Minister, the director or an authorized functionary, and containing notice of the appointment of any person employed for the carrying out of this act or any order, shall constitute primafacie proof of such appointment or order.
R. S. 1964, c. 207, s. 11.
15. Any document or paper, written or printed, purporting to be a form authorized for use in the collection of statistical information, or purporting to set forth any instruction relating to such collection, that is produced by any person employed in the application of this act as being such form or as setting forth such instructions, shall be presumed to have been supplied by the proper authority to the person producing such document, and is evidence of all instructions therein set forth.
R. S. 1964, c. 207, s. 12; 1974, c. 54, s. 4.
16. Subject to the agreements provided for in sections 6 and 7, no report made under this act, nor any answer to a question asked under this act may be disclosed without the previous written consent of the respondent and, except for the purposes of proceedings under this act, no one other than a person contemplated in section 3 may be authorized to take cognizance thereof.
No publication contemplated by this act may contain information relating to a specific individual, undertaking or organization in such a way that the details contained in a report exclusively concerning an identifiable individual, undertaking or organization could be connected with such individual, undertaking or organization.
R. S. 1964, c. 207, s. 13; 1974, c. 54, s. 4.
17. The director of the Bureau may in writing, authorize the publication of:
(a)  information gathered by persons, departments or agencies for their own use and communicated to the Bureau before or after 5 July 1974; however, such information shall be subject, when communicated to the Bureau, to the requirements of secrecy to which it was subject when gathered and shall not be disclosed by the Bureau except in the manner and to the extent agreed upon with the respondents by those who gathered it or the director of the Bureau;
(b)  the information available to the public under any act;
(c)  a list of names and addresses of individual establishments;
(d)  a list of the products obtained, manufactured, processed, prepared, transported, stored, purchased or sold by individual establishments in the course of their business or of the services provided by such establishments;
(e)  a list of the names and addresses of individual establishments that are within specific ranges of numbers of employees or persons engaged or constituting its work force;
(f)  information relating to a public agency or transportation service.
1974, c. 54, s. 5.
18. No statistical report transmitted to the Bureau in accordance with this Act and no copy of such a report in the possession of a respondent shall be used as evidence for any purpose other than that provided for under this Act and no person contemplated in section 3 may, in any proceeding, testify or produce any report, document or record relating to any information obtained in the course of the application of this Act.
This section applies in respect of any information that the Bureau is prohibited by this Act from disclosing or that may only be disclosed in accordance with the authorization contemplated in section 17.
1974, c. 54, s. 5; 1992, c. 61, s. 88.
19. Any functionary or employee of the Bureau who,
(a)  on pretext of performing his duty, obtains or tries to obtain information that he is not authorized to obtain, or
(b)  does not keep secret, as prescribed by this Act, any information gathered,
is guilty of an offence and liable to a fine of $1 000.
R. S. 1964, c. 207, s. 14; 1974, c. 54, s. 6; 1990, c. 4, s. 110.
20. Any functionary or employee of the Bureau who
(a)  reveals without right to a third party any information obtained in the course of his employment and capable of affecting the current price of any article or security, or
(b)  uses such information to speculate in any article or security,
is guilty of an offence and liable to a fine of $5 000.
R. S. 1964, c. 207, s. 15; 1990, c. 4, s. 111.
21. Whosoever, being required by a functionary or employee of the Bureau to supply information or fill in and forward a questionnaire, refuses or neglects, without reasonable excuse, to do so within the delay allowed or gives a false answer to any question, is guilty of an offence for each such refusal or neglect and is liable for each to a fine of $200.
R. S. 1964, c. 207, s. 16; 1974, c. 54, s. 7; 1990, c. 4, s. 112.
22. Whosoever, having custody of any records, books or other documents of a public body, prevents any functionary or employee of the Bureau from examining the same, is guilty of an offence and liable to a fine of $500.
R. S. 1964, c. 207, s. 17; 1974, c. 54, s. 8; 1990, c. 4, s. 113.
22.1. (1)  The fund of the Bureau de la statistique du Québec is hereby established to pay the remuneration and the expenses relating to social benefits and other conditions of employment of the personnel needed to provide services rendered by the Bureau, and any other costs incurred for that purpose.
(2)  The Government shall determine for what services and costs payment may be made out of or assumed by the fund and what surpluses shall be remitted to the consolidated revenue fund.
(3)  The fund shall be managed by the Minister of Finance and the books shall be kept by the director of the Bureau. The fund shall be maintained by the sums collected by the Bureau for services rendered and by such sums as may be advanced to it by the Minister of Finance out of the consolidated revenue fund upon the authorization of the Government.
(4)  Subject to subsections 1 to 3, the fund is governed by the provisions of the Financial Administration Act (chapter A-6), adapted as required.
1987, c. 60, s. 1.
23. (Repealed).
R. S. 1964, c. 207, s. 18; 1990, c. 4, s. 114.
24. (This section ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987).
1982, c. 21, s. 1; U. K., 1982, c. 11, Sch. B, Part I, s. 33.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 207 of the Revised Statutes, 1964, in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed effective from the coming into force of chapter B-8 of the Revised Statutes.

B-8 - Loi sur le Bureau de la statistique

Texte complet
chapitre B-8
Loi sur le Bureau de la statistique
BUREAU DE LA STATISTIQUE20 juin 19981er avril 1999
Le chapitre B-8 est remplacé par la Loi sur l’Institut de la statistique du Québec (chapitre I‐13.011) (1998, c. 44, a. 62).
1998, c. 44, a. 62.
1. Dans la présente loi:
a)  «Bureau» désigne le Bureau de la statistique du Québec;
b)  «ministre» désigne le ministre de l’Industrie, du Commerce, de la Science et de la Technologie;
c)  «intéressé» désigne une personne sur laquelle ou sur les activités de laquelle un rapport ou des renseignements sont demandés ou fournis suivant la présente loi.
S. R. 1964, c. 207, a. 1; 1974, c. 54, a. 1; 1979, c. 77, a. 27; 1984, c. 36, a. 45; 1988, c. 41, a. 89; 1994, c. 16, a. 51.
Le ministre des Finances exerce les fonctions, pouvoirs et devoirs du ministre de l’Industrie, du Commerce, de la Science et de la Technologie quant à l’application de la présente loi. D. 375-83 du 83.03.09, (1983) 115 G.O. 2, 1414; 1994, c. 16, a. 52.
2. Un organisme administratif est constitué au ministère de l’Industrie, du Commerce, de la Science et de la Technologie sous le nom de «Bureau de la statistique du Québec».
S. R. 1964, c. 207, a. 2; 1977, c. 5, a. 14; 1979, c. 77, a. 27; 1984, c. 36, a. 45; 1988, c. 41, a. 89; 1994, c. 16, a. 51.
3. Le Bureau se compose d’un directeur, d’autres fonctionnaires et d’employés nommés suivant la Loi sur la fonction publique (chapitre F‐3.1.1).
Le ministre peut aussi employer temporairement toutes personnes nécessaires pour recueillir, pour le Bureau, les renseignements statistiques qu’il juge utiles dans l’intérêt public.
S. R. 1964, c. 207, a. 3; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 14, a. 81; 1978, c. 15, a. 140; 1983, c. 55, a. 161.
4. Le directeur, les fonctionnaires et employés du Bureau, y compris toutes personnes employées pour recueillir des statistiques, doivent avant d’entrer en fonctions prêter serment suivant les annexes A et B de la Loi sur la fonction publique (chapitre F‐3.1).
S. R. 1964, c. 207, a. 4; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 14, a. 81; 1978, c. 15, a. 140.
5. Le Bureau est chargé:
a)  de recueillir, compiler, analyser et publier des renseignements de nature statistique sur toute matière de juridiction provinciale;
b)  de collaborer avec les ministères du gouvernement dans la collecte, la compilation et la publication de tels renseignements;
c)  de faire de la recherche statistique.
S. R. 1964, c. 207, a. 5.
6. Le ministre peut, avec l’autorisation du gouvernement, conclure avec Statistique Canada toute entente concernant la collecte, l’échange ou la transmission d’informations recueillies suivant la présente loi de même que des compilations et analyses de ces informations.
Lorsque le Bureau recueille des renseignements dans le cadre d’une telle entente, il est tenu d’en aviser l’intéressé.
S. R. 1964, c. 207, a. 6; 1974, c. 54, a. 2.
7. Le ministre peut conclure avec tout ministère ou organisme du gouvernement du Québec, avec toute municipalité, avec toute commission scolaire, avec le Conseil scolaire de l’île de Montréal, avec tout organisme de statistique d’une autre province du Canada, avec tout ministère ou organisme du gouvernement du Canada ou avec toute autre personne morale, toute entente sur l’échange de renseignements recueillis d’un intéressé, à la fois pour le Bureau et pour l’autre partie à l’entente, et sur les compilations et publications de ces renseignements.
1974, c. 54, a. 3; 1988, c. 84, a. 546; 1996, c. 2, a. 101.
8. Une entente conclue suivant l’article 7 doit prévoir que l’intéressé sera informé du fait que les renseignements sont recueillis à la fois pour l’usage du Bureau et pour celui de l’autre partie à l’entente.
Elle doit également prévoir que l’entente ne s’applique pas à un intéressé qui avise le Bureau par écrit qu’il s’oppose à l’échange des renseignements entre les parties à l’entente.
1974, c. 54, a. 3.
9. Sous réserve du deuxième alinéa de l’article 8, l’échange de renseignements recueillis dans le cadre d’une entente visée à l’article 7 peut comporter les réponses aux enquêtes initiales et les renseignements supplémentaires fournis par l’intéressé à l’une ou l’autre des parties à l’entente.
1974, c. 54, a. 3.
10. Le ministre décide quels renseignements doivent être recueillis et il établit les questionnaires et formules jugés nécessaires.
S. R. 1964, c. 207, a. 7.
11. Toute personne est tenue de répondre aux questions posées par un fonctionnaire ou employé du Bureau dans le but de recueillir des renseignements statistiques et doit remplir et transmettre au Bureau chaque questionnaire exigeant une réponse.
S. R. 1964, c. 207, a. 8.
12. Quiconque a la garde d’archives, de registres ou d’autres documents du gouvernement ou d’un organisme public est tenu de donner, à tout fonctionnaire ou employé du Bureau, accès à ces archives, registres ou documents.
S. R. 1964, c. 207, a. 9.
13. Toute distinction injuste dans l’exercice des pouvoirs conférés par la présente loi est prohibée.
Cependant, la collecte de renseignements statistiques peut être faite par échantillonnage ou sondage.
S. R. 1964, c. 207, a. 10.
14. Tout document paraissant avoir été signé par le ministre, le directeur ou un fonctionnaire autorisé et contenant l’avis de nomination d’une personne employée à l’exécution de la présente loi ou un ordre quelconque, constitue une preuve primafacie de cette nomination ou de cet ordre.
S. R. 1964, c. 207, a. 11.
15. Un document, sous forme manuscrite ou imprimée, paraissant être une formule dont l’utilisation est autorisée pour la collecte de renseignements statistiques, ou paraissant contenir des instructions concernant cette collecte, et présenté par une personne chargée de l’application de la présente loi comme étant cette formule ou comme contenant ces instructions, est présumé avoir été fourni par l’autorité compétente à la personne présentant ce document, et fait foi de toutes les instructions qui y sont contenues.
S. R. 1964, c. 207, a. 12; 1974, c. 54, a. 4.
16. Sous réserve des ententes prévues aux articles 6 et 7, aucun rapport fait en vertu de la présente loi, ni aucune réponse à une question posée en vertu de la présente loi ne doivent être divulgués sans le consentement écrit préalable de l’intéressé et, sauf pour les fins d’une poursuite en vertu de la présente loi, nul autre qu’une personne visée à l’article 3 ne doit être autorisé à en prendre connaissance.
Aucune publication visée par la présente loi ne doit contenir des renseignements relatifs à un individu, une entreprise ou une organisation en particulier de manière qu’il soit possible de rattacher à un individu, une entreprise ou une organisation identifiable les détails contenus dans un rapport qui les concerne exclusivement.
S. R. 1964, c. 207, a. 13; 1974, c. 54, a. 4.
17. Le directeur du Bureau peut par écrit, autoriser la publication:
a)  de renseignements recueillis par des personnes, ministères ou organismes pour leur propre usage et communiqués au Bureau avant ou après le 5 juillet 1974; toutefois, ces renseignements sont soumis, lorsqu’ils ont été communiqués au Bureau, aux exigences du secret auxquelles ils étaient soumis lorsqu’ils ont été recueillis et ils ne peuvent être divulgués par le Bureau que de la manière et dans la mesure où en ont convenu avec les intéressés ceux qui les ont recueillis ou le directeur du Bureau;
b)  des renseignements mis à la disposition du public en vertu d’une loi;
c)  d’une liste de noms et d’adresses d’établissements particuliers;
d)  d’une liste des produits obtenus, manufacturés, fabriqués, préparés, transportés, entreposés, achetés ou vendus par des établissements particuliers dans le cours de leurs affaires ou des services fournis par tels établissements;
e)  d’une liste de noms et d’adresses d’établissements particuliers qui se rangent dans des classes déterminées quant au nombre de personnes qui en constituent la main-d’oeuvre;
f)  des renseignements relatifs à un organisme public ou un service de transport.
1974, c. 54, a. 5.
18. Tout rapport statistique transmis au Bureau conformément à la présente loi et toute copie d’un tel rapport en possession d’un intéressé ne doivent servir de preuve à nulle autre fin que celle prévue sous le régime de la présente loi et aucune des personnes visées à l’article 3 ne peut, dans une procédure, témoigner ou produire un rapport, un document ou des archives ayant trait à des renseignements obtenus au cours de l’application de la présente loi.
Le présent article s’applique à l’égard des renseignements que la présente loi interdit au Bureau de divulguer ou qui ne peuvent être divulgués qu’en conformité de l’autorisation visée à l’article 17.
1974, c. 54, a. 5; 1992, c. 61, a. 88.
19. Tout fonctionnaire ou employé du Bureau qui,
a)  sous prétexte de l’accomplissement de ses devoirs, obtient ou cherche à obtenir des renseignements qu’il n’est pas autorisé à obtenir, ou
b)  ne garde pas, selon qu’il est prescrit par la présente loi, le secret des renseignements recueillis,
commet une infraction et est passible d’une amende de 1 000 $.
S. R. 1964, c. 207, a. 14; 1974, c. 54, a. 6; 1990, c. 4, a. 110.
20. Tout fonctionnaire ou employé du Bureau qui
a)  révèle sans droit à un tiers des renseignements obtenus au cours de son emploi et susceptibles d’influer sur le prix courant d’un article ou d’une valeur, ou
b)  se sert de ces renseignements pour spéculer sur un article ou une valeur,
commet une infraction et est passible d’une amende de 5 000 $.
S. R. 1964, c. 207, a. 15; 1990, c. 4, a. 111.
21. Quiconque, sans excuse légitime, étant requis par un fonctionnaire ou employé du Bureau de fournir des renseignements ou de remplir et transmettre un questionnaire, refuse ou néglige de le faire dans le délai imparti ou répond faussement à quelque question, commet une infraction pour chaque tel refus ou négligence et est passible pour chacun d’une amende de 200 $.
S. R. 1964, c. 207, a. 16; 1974, c. 54, a. 7; 1990, c. 4, a. 112.
22. Quiconque ayant la garde d’archives, de registres ou d’autres documents d’un organisme public empêche un fonctionnaire ou employé du Bureau d’en prendre connaissance, commet une infraction et est passible d’une amende de 500 $.
S. R. 1964, c. 207, a. 17; 1974, c. 54, a. 8; 1990, c. 4, a. 113.
22.1. 1.  Est constitué le fonds du Bureau de la statistique du Québec pour permettre de défrayer la rémunération et les dépenses afférentes aux avantages sociaux et aux autres conditions de travail du personnel nécessaire à la fourniture de services rendus par le Bureau ainsi que les autres coûts encourus à cette fin.
2.  Le gouvernement détermine les services et les coûts pouvant être payés ou assumés par le fonds de même que les surplus à être remis au fonds consolidé du revenu.
3.  Le fonds est géré par le ministre des Finances et la comptabilité en est tenue par le directeur du Bureau. Il est alimenté par les sommes perçues par le Bureau pour services rendus et par celles qui peuvent lui être avancées par le ministre des Finances à même le fonds consolidé du revenu sur autorisation du gouvernement.
4.  Sous réserve des paragraphes 1 à 3, le fonds est soumis aux dispositions de la Loi sur l’administration financière (chapitre A‐6) en y faisant les adaptations nécessaires.
1987, c. 60, a. 1.
23. (Abrogé).
S. R. 1964, c. 207, a. 18; 1990, c. 4, a. 114.
24. (Cet article a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987).
1982, c. 21, a. 1; R.-U., 1982, c. 11, ann. B, ptie I, a. 33.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 207 des Statuts refondus, 1964, tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre B-8 des Lois refondues.