B-3 - Public Libraries Act

Full text
chapter B-3
Public Libraries Act
PUBLIC LIBRARIESDecember 22 1992January 1 1993
Repealed, 1992, c. 65, s. 24.
1992, c. 65, s. 24.
1. The Minister of Cultural Affairs shall have charge of the carrying out of this act.
R. S. 1964, c. 59, s. 1.
2. In this act, the expression
(a)  Commission means the Commission des bibliothèques publiques established by this act;
(b)  member means a member of such Commission.
R. S. 1964, c. 59, s. 2; 1977, c. 5, s. 14.
3. A permanent body, called the “Commission des bibliothèques publiques du Québec”, is established by this act.
R. S. 1964, c. 59, s. 3; 1977, c. 5, s. 14.
4. The Commission shall be charged with the study of the best means of solving the problems relating to the establishment, maintenance and development of public libraries in Québec, reporting its findings and opinions to the Minister of Cultural Affairs and, in addition, studying all questions relating to public libraries that may be submitted to it by the latter.
It shall commence and continue its work with dispatch and report at least every three months on its studies, findings and recommendations to the Minister of Cultural Affairs respecting the matters contemplated by this section.
R. S. 1964, c. 59, s. 4.
5. The Commission shall consist of
(a)  the director of public libraries of Québec who shall be a member thereof ex officio and whose appointment is provided for in section 11;
(b)  six other members selected for the interest that they take in the development of libraries and who shall be appointed by the Government for six years. Their mandate may be renewed. By exception, at the end of the first three-year period, three members appointed by the Government shall retire. At the end of each three-year period, the Government shall fill the vacancies in the Commission.
R. S. 1964, c. 59, s. 5.
6. Before the end of a three-year period, any vacancy among the members of the Commission shall be filled by the Government and the mandate of such member shall be limited to the unexpired period of the mandate of the member whom he replaces.
R. S. 1964, c. 59, s. 6.
7. The members of the Commission, in the performance of their duties as such, shall be reimbursed their expenses for travelling and subsistence away from their place of residence.
R. S. 1964, c. 59, s. 7.
8. The Commission may make for its internal management such regulations as it may deem expedient. Such regulations shall come into force upon approval by the Minister of Cultural Affairs.
R. S. 1964, c. 59, s. 8.
9. The Government may make all such regulations as it may deem necessary to secure the implementing of the recommendations of the Commission.
Such regulations shall be published in the Gazette officielle du Québec. They shall come into force from the date of such publication, or from the date fixed for such purpose by the Government, as the case may be.
R. S. 1964, c. 59, s. 9.
10. An administrative body is constituted and established in the Ministère des Affaires culturelles under the name of the “Service des bibliothèques du Québec”.
R. S. 1964, c. 59, s. 10; 1977, c. 5, s. 14.
11. The Service des bibliothèques du Québec shall consist of:
(1)  the director of public libraries of Québec;
(2)  all officers and employees deemed necessary.
The director, officers and employees contemplated by this section shall be governed by the Public Service Act (chapter F-3.1.1) and the Act respecting the Civil Service Superannuation Plan (chapter R-12).
R. S. 1964, c. 59, s. 11; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 14, s. 81; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 15, s. 1; 1977, c. 5, s. 14; 1978, c. 15, s. 140; 1983, c. 55, s. 161.
12. The director of public libraries of Québec shall have supervision of the Service des bibliothèques du Québec and shall act as liaison officer between the Minister of Cultural Affairs and the Commission. He shall ensure the carrying out of the regulations made by the Government under this act and shall cooperate with municipal corporations, librarians’ associations and any other groups interested in the development of public libraries. He shall perform such other duties as may be assigned to him by the Minister of Cultural Affairs.
R. S. 1964, c. 59, s. 12; 1977, c. 5, s. 14.
13. (This section ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987).
1982, c. 21, s. 1; U. K., 1982, c. 11, Sch. B, Part I, s. 33.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 59 of the Revised Statutes, 1964, in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed effective from the coming into force of chapter B-3 of the Revised Statutes.

B-3 - Loi sur les bibliothèques publiques

Texte complet
chapitre B-3
Loi sur les bibliothèques publiques
BIBLIOTHÈQUES PUBLIQUES22 décembre 19921er janvier 1993
Abrogée, 1992, c. 65, a. 24.
1992, c. 65, a. 24.
1. Le ministre des Affaires culturelles est chargé de l’exécution de la présente loi.
S. R. 1964, c. 59, a. 1.
2. Dans la présente loi, l’expression
a)  «Commission» signifie la Commission des bibliothèques publiques établie par la présente loi;
b)  «membre» signifie un membre de cette Commission.
S. R. 1964, c. 59, a. 2.
3. Un organisme permanent, désigné sous le nom de «Commission des bibliothèques publiques du Québec», est institué par la présente loi.
S. R. 1964, c. 59, a. 3.
4. La Commission est chargée d’étudier les meilleurs moyens de résoudre les problèmes relatifs à l’établissement, au maintien et au développement des bibliothèques publiques au Québec, de faire rapport de ses constatations et opinions au ministre des Affaires culturelles et, en outre, d’étudier toutes questions se rattachant aux bibliothèques publiques que ce dernier lui soumet.
Elle doit commencer et poursuivre son travail avec diligence et faire rapport au moins à tous les trois mois de ses études, conclusions et recommandations au ministre des Affaires culturelles sur les sujets visés par le présent article.
S. R. 1964, c. 59, a. 4.
5. La Commission se compose
a)  du directeur des bibliothèques publiques du Québec qui en fait partie de droit et dont la nomination est prévue par l’article 11;
b)  de six autres membres choisis pour l’intérêt qu’ils prennent au développement des bibliothèques et qui sont nommés par le gouvernement pour six ans. Leur mandat peut être renouvelé. Exceptionnellement, à la fin du premier triennat, trois membres désignés par le gouvernement sortent de charge. À la fin de chaque triennat, le gouvernement comble les vacances de la Commission.
S. R. 1964, c. 59, a. 5.
6. Avant la fin d’un triennat, toute vacance parmi les membres de la Commission est comblée par le gouvernement et le mandat de ce membre se limite à la période non écoulée du mandat de celui qu’il remplace.
S. R. 1964, c. 59, a. 6.
7. Les membres de la Commission, dans l’exécution de leurs fonctions en cette qualité, reçoivent le remboursement de leurs frais de déplacement et de subsistance hors du lieu de leur résidence.
S. R. 1964, c. 59, a. 7.
8. La Commission peut adopter pour sa régie interne les règlements qu’elle juge opportuns. Ces règlements entrent en vigueur dès leur approbation par le ministre des Affaires culturelles.
S. R. 1964, c. 59, a. 8.
9. Le gouvernement peut adopter tous les règlements qu’il juge nécessaires pour assurer la mise en oeuvre des recommandations de la Commission.
Ces règlements sont publiés dans la Gazette officielle du Québec. Ils entrent en vigueur à compter de la date de cette publication ou, selon le cas, à compter de la date fixée à cette fin par le gouvernement.
S. R. 1964, c. 59, a. 9; 1968, c. 23, a. 8.
10. Il est constitué et établi au ministère des Affaires culturelles un organisme administratif sous le nom de «Service des bibliothèques du Québec».
S. R. 1964, c. 59, a. 10.
11. Le Service des bibliothèques du Québec se compose:
1°  du directeur des bibliothèques publiques du Québec;
2°  de tous les officiers et employés jugés nécessaires.
Le directeur, les officiers et les employés visés par le présent article sont régis par la Loi sur la fonction publique (chapitre F‐3.1.1) et la Loi sur le régime de retraite des fonctionnaires (chapitre R‐12).
S. R. 1964, c. 59, a. 11; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 14, a. 81; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 15, a. 1; 1978, c. 15, a. 140; 1983, c. 55, a. 161.
12. Le directeur des bibliothèques publiques du Québec a la direction du Service des bibliothèques du Québec et agit comme agent de liaison entre le ministre des Affaires culturelles et la Commission. Il assure l’exécution des règlements adoptés par le gouvernement en vertu de la présente loi et coopère avec les corporations municipales, les associations de bibliothécaires et tous autres groupements qui s’intéressent au développement des bibliothèques publiques. Il remplit toutes les autres fonctions que lui confie le ministre des Affaires culturelles.
S. R. 1964, c. 59, a. 12.
13. (Cet article a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987).
1982, c. 21, a. 1; R.-U., 1982, c. 11, ann. B, ptie I, a. 33.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 59 des Statuts refondus, 1964, tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre B-3 des Lois refondues.