A-7.01 - Act respecting adoptions of children domiciled in the People’s Republic of China

Full text
chapter A-7.01
Act respecting adoptions of children domiciled in the People’s Republic of China
ADOPTIONS OF CHILDREN DOMICILED IN THE PEOPLE’S REPUBLIC OF CHINAFebruary 1 2006
Repealed, 2017, c. 12, s. 38.
1. Every person domiciled in Québec who wishes to adopt a child domiciled in the People’s Republic of China shall, before travelling to that State, undergo a psychosocial assessment made in accordance with the conditions prescribed by the Youth Protection Act (chapter P-34.1). He shall also, by motion, obtain the approval of the Court of Québec for the proposed adoption.
The Court shall approve the proposed adoption if the psychosocial assessment enables it to consider the adopter apt to meet the physical, psychological and social needs of a child. The judgment of the Court is equivalent to an adoption judgment rendered in Québec, provided the clerk issues a certificate of the registration of the adoption pursuant to section 3.
1992, c. 41, s. 1.
2. The adoption of a child effected in the People’s Republic of China must be registered with the Court of Québec.
The adopter requesting the registration of the adoption must, in his application, refer to the judgment by which approval for the proposed adoption was granted.
He must also include the following documents with his application:
(1)  the notarized certificate evidencing the adoption, established in accordance with the law of the People’s Republic of China;
(2)  the child’s birth certificate;
(3)  the child’s bill of health.
1992, c. 41, s. 2.
3. The clerk of the Court of Québec shall give the adopter a certificate of the registration he has made in the record of the Court.
The certificate attests that the conditions of the adoption have been satisfied and indicates the name chosen for the adopted child by the adopter.
1992, c. 41, s. 3.
4. The adoption has effect in Québec from the time adoptive filiation was established in the People’s Republic of China.
1992, c. 41, s. 4.
5. Adoptions already effected in the People’s Republic of China on the day on which this Act comes into force may be registered with the Court by the clerk, upon application by the adopter, who shall include with his application the notarized certificate evidencing the adoption, established in accordance with the law of the People’s Republic of China and, if they are in his possession, the child’s birth certificate and bill of health.
1992, c. 41, s. 5.
6. This Act shall cease to have effect on the day of the coming into force, in the People’s Republic of China and in Québec, of an agreement respecting the international adoption of children which is binding on that State and on Québec or when adoptions between China and Québec become subject to the Convention on Protection of Children and Co-operation in Respect of Intercountry Adoption.
1992, c. 41, s. 6; 2004, c. 3, s. 31.
7. (Omitted).
1992, c. 41, s. 7.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 9 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes and regulations (chapter R-3), chapter 41 of the statutes of 1992, in force on 1 March 1993, is repealed, except section 7, effective from the coming into force of chapter A-7.01 of the Revised Statutes.

A-7.01 - Loi sur les adoptions d’enfants domiciliés en République populaire de Chine

Texte complet
chapitre A-7.01
Loi sur les adoptions d’enfants domiciliés en République populaire de Chine
ADOPTIONS D’ENFANTS DOMICILIÉS EN RÉPUBLIQUE POPULAIRE DE CHINE1er février 2006
La Loi sur les adoptions d’enfants domiciliés en République populaire de Chine (chapitre A-7.01) a cessé d’avoir effet le 1er février 2006, sauf à l’égard des projets d’adoption ayant été approuvés par la Cour du Québec avant cette date (1992, c. 41, a. 6; 2004, c. 3, a. 31; Décret 3-2006 du 10 janvier 2006, (2006) 138 G.O. 2, 659).
1. Toute personne domiciliée au Québec qui veut adopter un enfant domicilié en République populaire de Chine doit, avant de se rendre dans cet État, faire l’objet d’une évaluation psychosociale effectuée suivant les conditions prévues par la Loi sur la protection de la jeunesse (chapitre P‐34.1). Elle doit également, par requête, faire approuver son projet d’adoption par la Cour du Québec.
Le tribunal approuve le projet d’adoption si l’évaluation psychosociale lui permet de considérer que l’adoptant est apte à répondre aux besoins physiques, psychiques et sociaux d’un enfant. Le jugement du tribunal équivaut à un jugement d’adoption rendu au Québec, à la condition que le greffier délivre, en application de l’article 3, un certificat d’inscription de l’adoption.
1992, c. 41, a. 1.
2. L’adoption d’un enfant effectuée en République populaire de Chine doit faire l’objet d’une inscription à la Cour du Québec.
L’adoptant qui requiert l’inscription de l’adoption doit faire état, dans sa demande, du jugement qui a approuvé son projet d’adoption.
Il doit, en outre, joindre à cette demande les documents suivants:
1°  le certificat notarié qui constate l’adoption, établi conformément à la loi de la République populaire de Chine;
2°  l’acte de naissance de l’enfant;
3°  le bulletin de santé de l’enfant.
1992, c. 41, a. 2.
3. Le greffier de la Cour du Québec remet à l’adoptant un certificat de l’inscription qu’il a faite dans le dossier du tribunal.
Le certificat atteste que les conditions de l’adoption ont été remplies et il indique le nom choisi par l’adoptant pour l’adopté.
1992, c. 41, a. 3.
4. L’adoption a effet au Québec à compter du moment où la filiation adoptive a été établie en République populaire de Chine.
1992, c. 41, a. 4.
5. Les adoptions déjà effectuées en République populaire de Chine au jour de l’entrée en vigueur de la présente loi, peuvent être inscrites au tribunal par le greffier, sur demande de l’adoptant qui joint à celle-ci le certificat notarié qui constate l’adoption, établi conformément à la loi de la République populaire de Chine et, s’il les a en sa possession, l’acte de naissance de l’enfant et son bulletin de santé.
1992, c. 41, a. 5.
6. La présente loi cesse d’avoir effet le jour où, tant en République populaire de Chine qu’au Québec, entrera en vigueur une entente liant cet État et le Québec et portant sur l’adoption internationale d’enfants ou lorsque les adoptions entre la Chine et le Québec seront assujetties à la Convention sur la protection des enfants et la coopération en matière d’adoption internationale.
1992, c. 41, a. 6; 2004, c. 3, a. 31.
7. (Omis).
1992, c. 41, a. 7.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 9 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois et des règlements (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 41 des lois de 1992, tel qu’en vigueur le 1er mars 1993, à l’exception de l’article 7, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre A-7.01 des Lois refondues.