A-7.0001 - Act to prohibit commercial advertising along certain thoroughfares

Full text
chapter A-7.0001
Act to prohibit commercial advertising along certain thoroughfares
COMMERCIAL ADVERTISING ALONG CERTAIN THOROUGHFARESDecember 20 2000December 20 2000
1. All advertising, even advertising erected on private property, that is located and angled so as to attract the attention of the users of a bridge or a public highway situated in the territory of a municipality governed by the Cities and Towns Act (chapter C‐19) and on which, in the case of a public highway, the maximum speed permitted is 70 km/h or more, is prohibited.
For the purposes of this section, a bridge includes the entry and exit ramps within a distance of 300 metres.
This section does not apply
(1)  to signs erected more than 200 metres from the edge of the roadway ;
(2)  to road or traffic signs referred to in subparagraph 1 or 2 or to inscriptions referred to in subparagraph 3 of the first paragraph of section 1 of the Roadside Advertising Act (chapter P‐44) ;
(3)  to a sign referred to in the first paragraph of section 5 of that Act ;
(4)  (subparagraph repealed).
2000, c. 58, s. 1; 2000, c. 56, s. 217.1; 2001, c. 25, s. 223; 2002, c. 44, s. 1.
2. The prohibition on commercial advertising along a public highway referred to in section 1 applies to the following places, even if the speed posted is reduced in those places to less than 70 km/h :
(1)  in interchanges and within a distance of 200 metres before and after the approach nose of an exit ramp or entrance ramp ;
(2)  at intersections and within a distance of 200 metres before and after intersections ;
(3)  in sharp curves and in school zones and within a distance of 100 metres before and after the road or traffic signs or signals erected on either side of the curves and the school zones.
Elsewhere, the prohibition applies only if the advertising displays an animated message or an electronic variable message or if the following minimum distances and maximum dimensions are not complied with :
(1)  within an urbanization perimeter,
(a)  a distance of at least 50 metres from any road or traffic sign and a distance of more than 100 metres from any other advertising measuring less than 40 square metres and more than 200 metres from any other advertising measuring 40 square metres or more ;
(b)  a distance of more than 15 metres from the edge of the roadway and dimensions of no more than 20 square metres if the advertising is at a distance of less than 30 metres from the edge of the roadway or dimensions of no more than 65 square metres if the advertising is 30 metres or more from the edge of the roadway ;
(2)  outside an urbanization perimeter, the minimum distances and maximum dimensions prescribed by the Roadside Advertising Act (chapter P‐44) and any regulation thereunder.
2000, c. 58, s. 2; 2002, c. 44, s. 2.
3. The Minister of Transport or the person responsible for the maintenance of a public highway or a bridge may, if he or she has reasonable grounds to believe that advertising is erected in contravention of section 1 or 2, issue to the person who erected the advertising or, where the person cannot be identified or contacted, to the person who caused or allowed it to be erected, a notice requiring the person to remove the advertising within 30 days. However, the time limit shall be reduced to five days in the case of advertising erected near a road or traffic sign at a distance that is less than the minimum distance prescribed.
If the person fails to comply with the notice, the Minister or the person responsible for the maintenance of the highway or the bridge may have the advertising removed at the person’s expense.
2000, c. 58, s. 3.
4. Every person who erects advertising or causes or allows advertising to be erected in contravention of section 1 is guilty of an offence and is liable to a fine of $500 to $2,000 in the case of a natural person and $2,000 to $10,000 in the case of a legal person.
2000, c. 58, s. 4; 2002, c. 44, s. 3.
5. Sections 20 and 21 and paragraph 3 of section 24 of the Roadside Advertising Act (chapter P-44) apply, with the necessary modifications, to the inspection of advertising to determine whether it is erected in contravention of this Act.
2000, c. 58, s. 5.
6. Any advertising erected before 11 May 2000 and prohibited under this Act must be removed on or before 30 June 2002. From that date, the Minister may, if the advertising has not been removed, issue to the person who erected the advertising or, where the person cannot be identified or contacted, to the person who caused or allowed it to be erected, a notice requiring the person to remove the advertising within 15 days of receipt of the notice.
If the person fails to comply with the notice, the Minister or the person responsible for the maintenance of the highway or the bridge may have the advertising removed at the person’s expense.
The first paragraph does not apply to advertising that does not comply with the minimum distances and the maximum dimensions prescribed by the second paragraph of section 2, if it was erected on the same display panel to replace the original advertising and does not exceed the dimensions of the original advertising.
2000, c. 58, s. 6; 2002, c. 44, s. 4.
7. Section 3 has effect from 11 May 2000 in respect of advertising erected on or after that date as if it had been erected on or after the date specified in section 8.
2000, c. 58, s. 7.
8. (Omitted).
2000, c. 58, s. 8.
REPEAL SCHEDULE
In accordance with section 9 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes and regulations (chapter R‐3), chapter 58 of the statutes of 2000, in force on 1 April 2001, is repealed, except section 8, effective from the coming into force of chapter A-7.0001 of the Revised Statutes.

A-7.0001 - Loi interdisant l’affichage publicitaire le long de certaines voies de circulation

Texte complet
chapitre A-7.0001
Loi interdisant l’affichage publicitaire le long de certaines voies de circulation
AFFICHAGE PUBLICITAIRE LE LONG DE CERTAINES VOIES DE CIRCULATION20 décembre 200020 décembre 2000
1. Est interdite toute publicité, même installée sur une propriété privée, qui est orientée de manière à capter l’attention des usagers d’un pont ou d’un chemin public qui est situé dans le territoire d’une municipalité régie par la Loi sur les cités et villes (chapitre C‐19) et où, lorsqu’il s’agit d’un chemin public, la vitesse maximale permise est de 70 km/h ou plus.
Pour l’application du présent article, un pont comprend ses voies d’entrée et de sortie sur une distance de 300 mètres.
Le présent article ne s’applique pas :
1°  à une publicité installée à plus de 200 mètres du bord de la chaussée ;
2°  à une signalisation visée au paragraphe 1° ou 2° ou à une inscription visée au paragraphe 3° du premier alinéa de l’article 1 de la Loi sur la publicité le long des routes (chapitre P‐44) ;
3°  à une publicité visée au premier alinéa de l’article 5 de cette loi ;
4°  (paragraphe abrogé).
2000, c. 58, a. 1; 2000, c. 56, a. 217.1; 2001, c. 25, a. 223; 2002, c. 44, a. 1.
2. L’interdiction d’affichage publicitaire le long d’un chemin public visé à l’article 1 s’applique aux endroits suivants, même si la vitesse affichée y est réduite à moins de 70 km/h :
1°  dans les échangeurs et sur une distance de 200 mètres avant et après le musoir d’entrée et le musoir de sortie ;
2°  aux intersections et sur une distance de 200 mètres avant et après celles-ci ;
3°  dans les courbes prononcées et les zones scolaires et sur une distance de 100 mètres avant et après la signalisation installée de part et d’autre de celles-ci.
Ailleurs qu’à ces endroits, l’interdiction ne s’applique que si le message publicitaire est animé ou électroniquement variable ou si les distances minimales et les dimensions maximales suivantes ne sont pas respectées :
1°  dans un périmètre d’urbanisation :
a)  toute publicité doit être à au moins 50 mètres d’un panneau de signalisation et à plus de 100 mètres d’une autre publicité qui a moins de 40 mètres carrés ou à plus de 200 mètres d’une autre publicité qui a 40 mètres carrés ou plus ;
b)  toute publicité doit être à plus de 15 mètres du bord de la chaussée et avoir une dimension maximale de 20 mètres carrés si elle est placée à moins de 30 mètres du bord de la chaussée ou de 65 mètres carrés si elle est placée à 30 mètres et plus du bord de la chaussée ;
2°  à l’extérieur d’un périmètre d’urbanisation, les distances minimales et les dimensions maximales prescrites par la Loi sur la publicité le long des routes (chapitre P‐44 ) et par tout règlement édicté en vertu de celle-ci.
2000, c. 58, a. 2; 2002, c. 44, a. 2.
3. Le ministre des Transports ou la personne responsable de l’entretien d’un chemin public ou d’un pont peut, s’il a des motifs raisonnables de croire qu’une publicité est installée en contravention à l’article 1 ou 2, délivrer à la personne qui a installé cette publicité ou, à défaut de pouvoir identifier ou rejoindre cette personne, à celle qui l’a fait installer ou à celle qui en a permis l’installation, un avis l’enjoignant d’enlever cette publicité dans un délai de 30 jours. Toutefois, ce délai est réduit à 5 jours dans le cas d’une publicité qui est installée près d’un panneau de signalisation à une distance inférieure à la distance minimale prescrite.
À défaut pour la personne avisée de se conformer à cet avis, le ministre ou la personne responsable de l’entretien du chemin public ou du pont peut faire enlever cette publicité aux frais de cette personne.
2000, c. 58, a. 3.
4. La personne qui installe, fait installer ou permet que soit installée une publicité en contravention à l’article 1 commet une infraction et est passible d’une amende de 500 $ à 2 000 $ s’il s’agit d’une personne physique et de 2 000 $ à 10 000 $ s’il s’agit d’une personne morale.
2000, c. 58, a. 4; 2002, c. 44, a. 3.
5. Les articles 20 et 21 et le paragraphe 3° de l’article 24 de la Loi sur la publicité le long des routes (chapitre P-44) s’appliquent, compte tenu des adaptations nécessaires, à l’inspection d’une publicité visant à déterminer si elle est installée en contravention à la présente loi.
2000, c. 58, a. 5.
6. Toute publicité installée avant le 11 mai 2000 et interdite en vertu de la présente loi doit être enlevée au plus tard le 30 juin 2002. À compter de cette date, le ministre peut, si une publicité n’a pas été enlevée, aviser la personne qui a installé cette publicité ou, à défaut de pouvoir identifier ou rejoindre cette personne, celle qui l’a fait installer ou en a permis l’installation d’enlever celle-ci dans les 15 jours de la réception de cet avis.
À défaut pour la personne avisée de se conformer à cet avis, le ministre ou la personne responsable de l’entretien du chemin public ou du pont peut faire enlever cette publicité aux frais de cette personne.
Le premier alinéa ne s’applique pas à une publicité interdite pour le motif que les distances minimales ou les dimensions maximales prescrites au deuxième alinéa de l’article 2 ne sont pas respectées, s’il s’agit d’une publicité placée en remplacement de la publicité d’origine, sur le même support, et dont les dimensions n’excèdent pas celles de cette publicité d’origine.
2000, c. 58, a. 6; 2002, c. 44, a. 4.
7. L’article 3 a effet à compter du 11 mai 2000 à l’égard d’une publicité installée depuis cette date comme si elle avait été installée à la date visée à l’article 8 ou après celle-ci.
2000, c. 58, a. 7.
8. (Omis).
2000, c. 58, a. 8.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE
Conformément à l’article 9 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois et des règlements (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 58 des lois de 2000, tel qu’en vigueur le 1er avril 2001, à l’exception de l’article 8, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre A-7.0001 des Lois refondues.