A-5 - Penal Actions Act

Full text
chapter A-5
Penal Actions Act
PENAL ACTIONSApril 11 1990October 1 1990
Chapter A-5 is replaced by the Code of Penal Procedure (chapter C-25.1).(1987, c. 96, a. 374; 1990, c. 4, s. 11).
1987, c. 96, a. 374; 1990, c. 4, s. 11.
1. No action, suit or information for the recovery of any fine imposed under any statute, whereby the forfeiture is limited to the Crown only, may be brought or laid except within the two years next after the date upon which the offence was committed against such statute.
Any action, suit or information for the recovery of any fine imposed under any statute, the benefit and suit whereto is by such statute limited to the Crown and to any other person who may prosecute in that behalf, may be brought or laid by such other person, as aforesaid, within one year next after the date upon which the offence was committed but not afterwards; and in default of any action or suit by such person, then the same may be brought for the Crown at any time within the two years next after the expiry of such first year.
R. S. 1964, c. 34, s. 1.
2. Any action, suit or information for any offence against any statute, brought or laid after the time in that behalf limited, shall be void; but when the offence consists in an omission to discharge a duty imposed by law, the time during which such duty subsists and such omission continues shall not be counted.
R. S. 1964, c. 34, s. 2.
3. Sections 1 and 2 shall apply only to cases in which no other provision is made by law, and nothing contained in this act shall prolong or extend in any manner the time or delay for the commencement of any action, suit or prosecution in virtue of any statute which fixes or prescribes a shorter time than that limited by this act.
R. S. 1964, c. 34, s. 3.
4. Unless the court or judge before whom a prosecution is to be brought, or the procedure which is to be followed, be mentioned in the statute enacting a penalty, the prosecution shall be brought, tried and decided before a magistrate, in accordance with the provisions of the Summary Convictions Act (chapter P-15).
R. S. 1964, c. 34, s. 4.
5. If any statute enacting a penalty authorizes the recovery thereof before a court of civil jurisdiction, but without indicating who shall have the right to institute the prosecution, the action may be taken by any person of the age of majority, in his own name.
R. S. 1964, c. 34, s. 5.
6. The court, the judge or the magistrate, before which or whom a prosecution for a penalty is taken, may, in all cases, award costs to the prosecutor when the action is maintained or to the defendant when it is dismissed.
R. S. 1964, c. 34, s. 6.
7. When no other mode is provided for the recovery of any forfeiture imposed by any statute, it shall be recoverable, with costs, in the same manner as any ordinary debt of like amount and before the same court, at the suit of the Crown, or of any private party suing in his own name.
R. S. 1964, c. 34, s. 7.
8. (1)  Whenever, by law or under a municipal by-law, any person is authorized to sue for the recovery of any fine or penalty before the civil courts, he may recover the same in his own name, in the same manner as an ordinary debt of like amount, even if the fine wholly or partly reverts to the Crown or to a municipal corporation.
(2)  No affidavit shall be required from the plaintiff or any other person before such suit is taken.
R. S. 1964, c. 34, s. 8.
9. Notice of any action before a civil court for the recovery of a fine or penalty, wholly or partly reverting to the Crown or to a municipal corporation, shall be served without delay by the plaintiff upon the Attorney General or upon the municipal corporation; and the original of such notice, with a certificate of its service, shall be returned into court with the action. No proceedings may be had on the action before such return.
R. S. 1964, c. 34, s. 9.
10. The Crown or the municipal corporation may intervene in the suit at any stage of the proceedings, to protect its interests and continue the case to judgment.
R. S. 1964, c. 34, s. 10.
11. In no case shall the defendant be discharged, either before or after judgment, except by depositing in the office of the court the amount of the fine and costs. The prothonotary or clerk shall thereafter distribute the amount so deposited, according to law.
R. S. 1964, c. 34, s. 11.
12. If no other provisions for the application of a fine have been prescribed, one-half of it shall belong to the Crown and one-half to the private prosecutor; if there be no private prosecutor, the whole belongs to the Crown.
R. S. 1964, c. 34, s. 12.
13. If there are no provisions to the contrary, all duties, fines, sums of money or proceeds of forfeitures recovered by the Crown in virtue of any statute shall form part of the consolidated revenue fund, and shall be accounted for accordingly.
R. S. 1964, c. 34, s. 13.
14. No provision in any municipal charter, by which fines are declared to belong to any corporation, shall be deemed to affect the right to such fines or part thereof which the Crown would have had if such provision had not been passed.
R. S. 1964, c. 34, s. 14.
15. If in a statute providing for the imprisonment of any person, no other place of imprisonment be fixed, such imprisonment shall be in the house of detention of the district in which the order of imprisonment is issued, or, if there be no house of detention in such district, in the nearest house of detention.
R. S. 1964, c. 34, s. 15; 1969, c. 21, s. 35.
16. (This section ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987).
1982, c. 21, s. 1; U. K., 1982, c. 11, Sch. B, Part I, s. 33.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 34 of the Revised Statutes, 1964, in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed effective from the coming into force of chapter A-5 of the Revised Statutes.

A-5 - Loi sur les actions pénales

Texte complet
chapitre A-5
Loi sur les actions pénales
ACTIONS PÉNALES11 avril 19901er octobre 1990
Le chapitre A-5 est remplacé par le Code de procédure pénale (chapitre C‐25.1). (1987, c. 96, a. 374; 1990, c. 4, a. 11).
1987, c. 96, a. 374; 1990, c. 4, a. 11.
1. Une action, poursuite ou dénonciation en recouvrement d’une amende imposée par une loi qui décrète que l’amende est attribuée à la couronne seulement, ne peut être intentée ou faite que dans les deux années du jour où l’infraction a été commise contre les dispositions de cette loi.
Une action, poursuite ou dénonciation en recouvrement d’une amende imposée par une loi, dont le bénéfice et la poursuite sont réservés par cette loi à la couronne et à toute autre personne qui peut en poursuivre le recouvrement, peut être intentée ou faite par cette autre personne dans le cours d’une année du jour où l’infraction a été commise, et non plus tard; et, à défaut de poursuite de la part de cette personne, elle peut être intentée pour la couronne, dans le cours des deux années qui suivent l’expiration de cette première année.
S. R. 1964, c. 34, a. 1.
2. Toute action, poursuite ou dénonciation intentée ou faite pour contravention à une loi après le temps prescrit à cet égard, est nulle; mais quand la contravention consiste en l’omission de remplir un devoir imposé par la loi, le temps pendant lequel subsiste ce devoir et continue l’omission de le remplir, ne compte pas.
S. R. 1964, c. 34, a. 2.
3. Les articles 1 et 2 s’appliquent uniquement aux cas pour lesquels la loi n’a rien prévu, et rien de contenu dans la présente loi ne doit avoir l’effet de prolonger ou étendre, en aucune manière, le délai pour intenter une action ou une poursuite ou pour faire une dénonciation en vertu de quelque loi qui fixe un temps plus court que celui prescrit par la présente loi.
S. R. 1964, c. 34, a. 3.
4. À moins que le tribunal ou le juge devant lequel une poursuite doit être portée, ou que la procédure qui doit être suivie ne soient indiqués par la loi décrétant une pénalité, la poursuite est portée, instruite devant, et jugée par un magistrat d’après les dispositions de la Loi sur les poursuites sommaires (chapitre P‐15).
S. R. 1964, c. 34, a. 4.
5. Si la loi qui décrète une pénalité en autorise le recouvrement devant un tribunal de juridiction civile, mais sans attribuer à personne le droit d’intenter la poursuite, l’action peut être intentée par toute personne majeure, en son nom particulier.
S. R. 1964, c. 34, a. 5.
6. Le tribunal, le juge ou le magistrat, saisi d’une poursuite pour pénalité, peut, dans tous les cas, accorder les frais et dépens au poursuivant lorsque l’action est maintenue, ou au défendeur lorsqu’elle est renvoyée.
S. R. 1964, c. 34, a. 6.
7. Lorsqu’il n’a pas été prescrit d’autre mode pour faire prononcer une confiscation imposée par une loi, la procédure pour y parvenir, avec dépens, est la même que pour le recouvrement d’une dette ordinaire d’un égal montant, et elle est intentée devant le même tribunal, à la poursuite de la couronne, ou de toute partie privée poursuivant en son propre nom.
S. R. 1964, c. 34, a. 7.
8. 1.  Lorsque, par la loi ou en vertu d’un règlement municipal, une personne est autorisée à poursuivre devant les cours civiles le recouvrement d’une amende ou d’une pénalité, elle peut les recouvrer en son propre nom, de la même manière que toute dette ordinaire d’un égal montant, lors même que l’amende doit entièrement ou partiellement revenir à la couronne ou à une corporation municipale.
2.  Aucune déposition sous serment n’est requise de la part du poursuivant ni d’aucune autre personne avant cette poursuite.
S. R. 1964, c. 34, a. 8.
9. Avis de toute action intentée devant une cour civile en recouvrement d’une amende ou pénalité revenant entièrement ou partiellement à la couronne ou à une corporation municipale, doit être signifié sans délai, par le poursuivant, au procureur général ou à la corporation municipale; et l’original de cet avis, accompagné d’un certificat de sa signification, doit être rapporté en cour avec l’action. Aucune procédure ne peut être faite sur l’action avant tel rapport.
S. R. 1964, c. 34, a. 9.
10. La couronne ou la corporation municipale peut intervenir dans l’instance, en tout état de cause, pour y protéger ses intérêts et conduire la cause à jugement.
S. R. 1964, c. 34, a. 10.
11. Le défendeur ne peut en aucun cas s’acquitter valablement, soit avant, soit après jugement, qu’en déposant au greffe le montant de l’amende et des frais. Le protonotaire ou le greffier distribue ensuite suivant la loi le montant ainsi déposé.
S. R. 1964, c. 34, a. 11.
12. S’il n’a pas été établi d’autres dispositions pour l’attribution d’une amende, moitié en appartient à la couronne, et moitié à la partie privée poursuivante; à défaut de partie privée, la totalité appartient à la couronne.
S. R. 1964, c. 34, a. 12.
13. S’il n’existe pas de dispositions contraires, les droits, amendes, sommes d’argent ou produits de confiscation, recouvrés par la couronne en vertu d’une loi, forment partie du fonds consolidé du revenu et il en est rendu compte en conséquence.
S. R. 1964, c. 34, a. 13.
14. Nulle disposition contenue dans une charte municipale, par laquelle des amendes sont déclarées appartenir à une corporation, n’est censée affecter le droit qu’aurait eu la couronne à la propriété de ces amendes ou de partie de ces amendes si cette disposition n’avait pas été passée.
S. R. 1964, c. 34, a. 14.
15. S’il n’est pas fixé d’autre lieu d’emprisonnement, lorsqu’une loi prescrit l’incarcération d’une personne, la détention a lieu dans l’établissement de détention du district où l’ordre d’emprisonnement a été donné, ou, s’il n’y a pas d’établissement de détention dans ce district, elle a lieu dans l’établissement de détention le plus rapproché.
S. R. 1964, c. 34, a. 15; 1969, c. 21, a. 35.
16. (Cet article a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987).
1982, c. 21, a. 1; R.-U., 1982, c. 11, ann. B, ptie I, a. 33.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 34 des Statuts refondus, 1964, tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre A-5 des Lois refondues.