A-22 - Act respecting land survey

Full text
chapter A-22
Act respecting land survey
LAND SURVEY ACTDecember 31 1977
1. A land surveyor employed to make any survey in a township shall govern himself by the surveys already made under order of the competent authority. In every surveyed township, the original lines, whether internal or external, which have been run, established or reestablished on the ground, under instructions issued by the competent authority and accepted by it, shall be and remain the true lines of such township, whether they are or are not in conformity with the lines mentioned in said instructions; and every post, boundary mark or monument planted in execution of such instructions by a duly qualified land surveyor is declared to be true, and shall not be removed except by the competent authority; and if any such lines, post, boundary or monument be obliterated, effaced, lost or removed, the reestablishment thereof shall be effected according to sections 2 to 5.
By competent authority is meant Parliament, or the Government, or a court of law.
R. S. 1964, c. 263, s. 83.
2. Whenever it happens that the posts or boundary marks between any lots or ranges of lots have been effaced, removed or lost, the land surveyor may administer the oath to witnesses and examine them for the purpose of ascertaining the former boundaries.
R. S. 1964, c. 263, s. 84.
3. If such former boundaries cannot be ascertained, the land surveyor shall measure the true distance between the nearest undisputed posts, limits or boundaries, and divide such distance into such number of lots as the same space contained in the original survey, giving to each a breadth proportionate to that intended in the original survey as shown on the plan and field notes thereof of record in the office of the Surveyor-General of Québec.
R. S. 1964, c. 263, s. 85; 1979, c. 81, s. 20; 1994, c. 13, s. 15; 2003, c. 8, s. 6; 2006, c. 3, s. 35; 2006, c. 40, s. 5.
4. If any part of any outside line, central line, concession or range line intended in the original survey to be straight has been obliterated or lost, the land surveyor shall then run a straight line between the two nearest points or places where such line can be clearly and satisfactorily ascertained, and shall plant such intermediate posts or boundaries as he may be required to plant in the line so ascertained, and the limits of each lot so ascertained shall be the true limits thereof.
R. S. 1964, c. 263, s. 86.
5. In the case of outside or central lines, the land surveyor must not proceed to reestablish them except under the authorization of the Surveyor-General of Québec, and according to instructions given for that purpose; and, in case such operation is made upon the request of private individuals or of municipalities, the costs may be at the charges of such private individuals or of such municipalities.
R. S. 1964, c. 263, s. 87; 2006, c. 40, s. 6.
6. The Government may, at any time, direct a land surveyor to draw a meridian line wherever it may think proper, or to determine the bearings between certain fixed points and objects, so as to enable a land surveyor thereby to ascertain the variation of the magnetic needle.
R. S. 1964, c. 263, s. 88.
7. The side lines of lots in a township shall be established and traced on the azimuth or bearing of the lines which, in the instructions for the survey of such township, is indicated as governing the side lines in each range which it affects. This guiding line shall be either one of the outside lines of the township or a central line, or some other line, according as the side lines of the lots are shown, on official plans deposited among records of surveys, as lines parallel to one or other of such lines.
This means of establishing the side lines of lots shall be the only one followed in townships surveyed after 25 April 1908 (the date of the coming into force of chapter 61 of the statutes of 1908).
R. S. 1964, c. 263, s. 89.
8. The side lines of the lots established before 25 April 1908, in accordance with the law in force when they were established, shall be and remain valid.
Moreover when, before the said date, the side lines of one or more lots in a range of a township have been established before any other line, in accordance with the usage followed in some parts of Québec, from a post of one range to the corresponding one in the adjoining range above or below, and such lines have not been revoked by judicial authority, the land surveyor establishing the side lines of such range shall follow the same method of division in running the boundary lines of the lots remaining to be bounded in the same range. Except as aforesaid, the side lines of lots shall be established according to the provisions of section 7.
R. S. 1964, c. 263, s. 90.
9. The subdivision lines of a township shall be drawn in the manner above stated from the posts or division pickets planted or established on the front of each range or concession line.
R. S. 1964, c. 263, s. 91.
10. The front of a range shall be understood to be the lowest range line in the series of numbers designating the several ranges of a township:
Thus the front of the first range of a township is the division line which separates it from the township, seigniory or river upon which it rests;
The front of the second range is the division line between the first and second ranges;
The front of the third range is the division line between the second and the third ranges, and so on.
R. S. 1964, c. 263, s. 92.
11. When, in a township, the front of the first range happens to be a line on which no division posts have been planted, or is formed by the shore of a lake or water course on which there is no such post, the front line referred to is the range line next above the first, and the side lines of the lots shall be traced from the posts planted thereon, or from those which have been lawfully substituted for them on either side, in opposite directions for the first and the second ranges, the front being common to both.
R. S. 1964, c. 263, s. 93.
12. If both on the front and rear lines of any range the entire series of posts marking out the lots have been destroyed, either by lapse of time or by fire or from any other cause, the subdivision of such lots shall be made anew in conformity with sections 2 and following, that is, with the official plan of the original survey, and to the side lines established and drawn from the posts so planted, as above described.
R. S. 1964, c. 263, s. 94.
13. The side lines established as aforesaid, from the posts marking a lot on the front of a range, to the rear line of such range, shall, with the part of such latter line between the side lines and the parts of the front line between the said posts, form the boundaries of such lot.
R. S. 1964, c. 263, s. 95.
14. Any land surveyor who, in any report of inspection or valuation respecting lands in the domain of the State, whether vacant or sold, wilfully leads into error the Surveyor-General of Québec or his representatives, by false information, shall be liable to be struck off the Roll of the Ordre des arpenteurs-géomètres du Québec.
R. S. 1964, c. 263, s. 97; 1973, c. 61, s. 81; 1977, c. 5, s. 229; 1979, c. 81, s. 20; 1987, c. 23, s. 76; 1994, c. 13, s. 15; 1999, c. 40, s. 21; 2003, c. 8, s. 6; 2006, c. 3, s. 35; 2006, c. 40, s. 7.
15. Whereas, in several townships, some of the concession lines or parts of concession lines were not drawn at the time of the original survey performed under competent authority, and the traces or marks of some of these lines have been obliterated, and whereas owing to the want of such lines, the inhabitants of such concessions are subject to serious inconvenience; therefore the council of any local municipality in whose territory such concession is situated may, as heretofore, on application of one-half the resident property-owners in any concession, or even without such application, petition the Government, praying it to cause any such line or part of a line of such concession which has been obliterated, to be surveyed and marked by boundaries under the direction and upon the order of the Surveyor-General of Québec in the manner prescribed by this Act and at the cost of the property-owners of the concession interested.
R. S. 1964, c. 263, s. 105; 1973, c. 61, s. 84; 1979, c. 81, s. 20; 1994, c. 13, s. 15; 1996, c. 2, s. 70; 2003, c. 8, s. 6; 2006, c. 3, s. 35; 2006, c. 40, s. 5.
16. The lines of such concession shall be so drawn as to leave each of the adjacent concessions of a depth proportionate to that intended in the original survey.
The line so surveyed and marked shall be thereafter the permanent boundary lines of such concession, to all intents and purposes.
R. S. 1964, c. 263, s. 106.
17. The council shall cause to be laid before them an estimate of the sum required to defray the expenses to be incurred, in order that the same may be levied on the said property-owners in proportion to the quantity of land held by them respectively in such concession.
The manner of levying such amount shall be the same as that authorized by law for any other purpose.
R. S. 1964, c. 263, s. 107.
18. The expenses of such surveys shall be paid, on the certificate and order of the Surveyor-General of Québec, by the secretary-treasurer or treasurer of the local municipality, to the persons who have rendered such services.
R. S. 1964, c. 263, s. 108; 1979, c. 81, s. 20; 1994, c. 13, s. 15; 1996, c. 2, s. 71; 2003, c. 8, s. 6; 2006, c. 3, s. 35; 2006, c. 40, s. 5.
19. Every council of a local municipality that adopts a resolution, on application of one-half the property-owners resident in the territory of the municipality who are to be affected thereby, that it is desirable to place boundary markers at the front or at the rear, or at the front and rear angles of the lots in any concession or part of a concession or range situated in the territory of the municipality, may make application to the Government in the manner prescribed by sections 15 and following, praying it to cause a survey of such concession or range to be made and such boundaries to be planted under the authority of the Surveyor-General of Québec.
R. S. 1964, c. 263, s. 109; 1973, c. 61, s. 85; 1974, c. 65, s. 49; 1979, c. 81, s. 20; 1994, c. 13, s. 15; 1996, c. 2, s. 72; 2003, c. 8, s. 6; 2006, c. 3, s. 35; 2006, c. 40, s. 5.
20. The boundary marks so planted shall be in conformity with the standards enacted by the regulations of the board of directors of the Ordre des arpenteurs-géomètres du Québec, and be planted, by those employed in the survey, in front or in rear or at the front and rear angles of each lot; and the limits of each lot so ascertained and marked are deemed to be the true limits thereof.
R. S. 1964, c. 263, s. 110; 1973, c. 61, s. 86; 1977, c. 5, s. 229; 1999, c. 40, s. 21; 2008, c. 11, s. 212.
21. The costs of survey shall be defrayed in the manner prescribed in section 18.
R. S. 1964, c. 263, s. 111.
22. (This section ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987).
1982, c. 21, s. 1; U. K., 1982, c. 11, Sch. B, Part I, s. 33.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 263 of the Revised Statutes, 1964, in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed effective from the coming into force of chapter A-22 of the Revised Statutes.

A-22 - Loi sur les arpentages

Texte complet
chapitre A-22
Loi sur les arpentages
ARPENTAGES31 décembre 1977
1. L’arpenteur-géomètre faisant un arpentage dans un canton, doit se guider sur les arpentages qui y ont été préalablement faits par ordre de l’autorité compétente. Dans tout canton arpenté, les lignes primordiales tant intérieures qu’extérieures, qui ont été tracées, établies, ou rétablies sur le terrain en vertu d’instructions émises par l’autorité compétente, et acceptées par elle, sont et restent les lignes véritables dudit canton, qu’elles soient conformes ou non aux lignes projetées dans lesdites instructions; et tout poteau ou borne planté en exécution des instructions susdites par un arpenteur-géomètre ayant dûment qualité est déclaré véritable et ne peut être déplacé que par l’autorité compétente. Et s’il arrive que ces lignes, poteaux ou bornes sont oblitérés, effacés, perdus ou déplacés, leur rétablissement doit s’effectuer conformément aux dispositions des articles 2 à 5.
Par autorité compétente, on doit entendre soit le Parlement, soit le gouvernement, soit une cour de justice.
S. R. 1964, c. 263, a. 83.
2. Lorsque les poteaux ou marques de délimitation entre des lots ou rangs de lots sont effacés, déplacés ou perdus, l’arpenteur-géomètre est autorisé, par la présente loi, à faire prêter serment aux témoins et à les interroger aux fins de constater les bornes primitives.
S. R. 1964, c. 263, a. 84.
3. Si les bornes primitives ne peuvent être constatées, tel arpenteur-géomètre doit mesurer la distance exacte entre les poteaux, limites ou bornes reconnus comme les plus rapprochés, et diviser cette distance en autant de lots que le même espace en contenait dans l’arpentage primitif, en assignant à chacun d’eux une largeur proportionnée à celle qui était fixée dans cet arpentage primitif, tel que l’indiquent les plans et notes d’opérations déposés au bureau de l’arpenteur général du Québec.
S. R. 1964, c. 263, a. 85; 1979, c. 81, a. 20; 1994, c. 13, a. 15; 2003, c. 8, a. 6; 2006, c. 3, a. 35; 2006, c. 40, a. 5.
4. Si une partie d’une ligne extérieure, d’une ligne centrale, ou d’une ligne de concession ou de rang, qui devait être droite dans l’arpentage primitif, se trouve oblitérée ou perdue, alors l’arpenteur-géomètre tire une ligne droite entre les deux points ou endroits les plus rapprochés où telle ligne peut être reconnue et constatée d’une manière claire et satisfaisante, et il place les poteaux ou bornes intermédiaires qu’il est requis de placer, dans la ligne ainsi reconnue et constatée; les limites de chaque lot ainsi reconnues en sont les véritables limites.
S. R. 1964, c. 263, a. 86.
5. Dans le cas de lignes extérieures ou de lignes centrales, l’arpenteur-géomètre ne peut procéder à leur rétablissement que sur l’autorisation de l’arpenteur général du Québec, d’après les instructions qui lui sont données à cette fin. Dans le cas où cette opération est faite à la demande de particuliers ou de municipalités, les frais peuvent être à la charge de ces particuliers ou de ces municipalités.
S. R. 1964, c. 263, a. 87; 2006, c. 40, a. 6.
6. Le gouvernement peut, en tout temps, charger un arpenteur-géomètre de faire le tracé d’une ligne méridienne, où il le juge à propos, ou déterminer le rhumb de vent d’une ligne tracée entre certains points ou objets fixes, de manière à ce que tout arpenteur-géomètre puisse constater la déclinaison de l’aiguille aimantée.
S. R. 1964, c. 263, a. 88.
7. Les lignes latérales des lots dans un canton sont établies et tracées sur l’azimut ou rhumb de vent de la ligne qui, dans les instructions ordonnant l’arpentage de ce canton, est indiquée comme étant la directrice de ces lignes latérales dans chaque rang qu’elle affecte. Cette directrice est tantôt l’une des lignes extérieures du canton, tantôt la ligne centrale, et quelquefois une autre ligne quelconque, selon que les latérales des lots sont montrées sur les plans officiels déposés aux archives des arpentages, comme étant parallèles à l’une ou à l’autre de ces lignes.
Ce mode d’établir les lignes latérales des lots est le seul suivi dans les cantons dont l’arpentage a été effectué après le 25 avril 1908 (date de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre 61 des lois de 1908).
S. R. 1964, c. 263, a. 89.
8. Les lignes latérales des lots, établies avant le 25 avril 1908, et suivant la loi en vigueur lors de leur établissement, sont et restent valides.
De plus, lorsque, avant le 25 avril 1908, les lignes latérales d’un ou plusieurs lots dans un rang de canton, ont été établies avant toute autre ligne, conformément à l’usage suivi dans quelques parties du Québec, depuis un poteau d’un rang au poteau correspondant dans le rang adjoignant au-dessus ou au-dessous, et que ces lignes n’ont pas été révoquées par autorité judiciaire, l’arpenteur-géomètre établissant les lignes latérales de ce rang est tenu de suivre le même mode de division dans la délimitation des lots restant à borner dans le même rang. Hors de ces circonstances, les lignes latérales des lots sont établies conformément aux dispositions de l’article 7.
S. R. 1964, c. 263, a. 90.
9. Les lignes de subdivision dans un canton sont établies de la manière susdite, à partir des poteaux ou piquets de division plantés ou établis sur le front de chaque rang ou ligne de concession.
S. R. 1964, c. 263, a. 91.
10. Le front d’un rang doit s’entendre de la ligne de rang la plus basse, dans la série des numéros désignant chacun des rangs d’un canton:
Ainsi, le front du premier rang d’un canton est la ligne de division qui le sépare du canton, de la seigneurie ou de la rivière sur lesquels il est appuyé;
Le front du deuxième rang est la ligne de division entre le premier et le deuxième rang;
Le front du troisième rang, la ligne entre le deuxième et le troisième rang, et ainsi de suite.
S. R. 1964, c. 263, a. 92.
11. Lorsque dans un canton, le front du premier rang se trouve être une ligne sur laquelle il n’a pas été planté de poteau de division, ou qu’il se trouve borné par la rive d’un lac ou d’un cours d’eau, sur laquelle il n’existe aucun semblable poteau, la ligne du front doit se reporter sur la ligne de rang la plus proche au-dessus du premier, et les lignes latérales des lots doivent être tracées à partir des poteaux qui sont plantés, ou de ceux qui les ont légalement remplacés, dans les deux sens en directions opposées pour le premier et le second rang, le front étant commun aux deux.
S. R. 1964, c. 263, a. 93.
12. S’il arrive que, à la fois, sur la ligne de front et sur la ligne de profondeur d’un rang, la série entière des poteaux qui marquaient les lots ait été détruite soit par le temps, soit par le feu, soit par toute autre cause, la subdivision de ces lots doit être faite de nouveau, conformément aux articles 2 et suivants, c’est-à-dire au plan officiel de l’arpentage primitif et aux lignes latérales établies et tracées, à partir des poteaux plantés comme ci-dessus.
S. R. 1964, c. 263, a. 94.
13. Les lignes latérales établies comme dit antérieurement, depuis les poteaux qui désignent un lot sur le front de rang jusqu’à la ligne de profondeur de ce rang, forment avec la partie de cette dernière comprise entre les lignes latérales et la partie de la ligne de front entre lesdits poteaux, les limites de tel lot.
S. R. 1964, c. 263, a. 95.
14. L’arpenteur-géomètre qui, dans un rapport d’inspection ou d’évaluation des terres du domaine de l’État, vacantes ou vendues, induit en erreur, avec connaissance de cause, l’arpenteur général du Québec ou ses représentants, par de fausses données, est sujet à la radiation du tableau de l’Ordre des arpenteurs-géomètres du Québec.
S. R. 1964, c. 263, a. 97; 1973, c. 61, a. 81; 1979, c. 81, a. 20; 1987, c. 23, a. 76; 1994, c. 13, a. 15; 1999, c. 40, a. 21; 2003, c. 8, a. 6; 2006, c. 3, a. 35; 2006, c. 40, a. 7.
15. Attendu que, dans plusieurs cantons, quelques lignes ou parties de lignes de concessions n’ont pas été tirées lors de l’arpentage primitif, exécuté par ordre de l’autorité compétente, que les traces ou indices de quelques-unes de ces lignes ont été oblitérées, et que l’absence de ces lignes peut exposer les habitants de ces concessions à des inconvénients graves; en conséquence, le conseil d’une municipalité locale sur le territoire de laquelle se trouve telle concession, peut, comme par le passé, sur requête de la moitié des propriétaires résidant dans une concession, ou sans requête, s’adresser au gouvernement pour le prier de faire relever les lignes ou parties de lignes de telle concession qui ont été oblitérées, et de les faire marquer par des bornes, sous la direction et par l’ordre de l’arpenteur général du Québec en la manière prescrite par la présente loi, et aux frais des propriétaires de terres de la concession intéressée.
S. R. 1964, c. 263, a. 105; 1973, c. 61, a. 84; 1979, c. 81, a. 20; 1994, c. 13, a. 15; 1996, c. 2, a. 70; 2003, c. 8, a. 6; 2006, c. 3, a. 35; 2006, c. 40, a. 5.
16. Les lignes de telle concession doivent être tirées de manière à laisser à chacune des concessions adjacentes une profondeur proportionnée à celle que l’on avait en vue lors de l’arpentage primitif.
Les lignes ainsi relevées et marquées deviennent les lignes frontières permanentes de telle concession, à toutes fins et intentions quelconques.
S. R. 1964, c. 263, a. 106.
17. Le conseil se fait soumettre une évaluation de la somme requise pour défrayer les dépenses à encourir afin de la prélever sur lesdits propriétaires, en proportion de la quantité des terres qu’ils possèdent respectivement dans telle concession.
La manière de prélever cette somme est la même que celle autorisée par la loi pour toute fin.
S. R. 1964, c. 263, a. 107.
18. Les frais de tel arpentage sont payés par le secrétaire-trésorier ou trésorier de la municipalité locale aux personnes employées à ces services sur le certificat et l’ordre de l’arpenteur général du Québec.
S. R. 1964, c. 263, a. 108; 1979, c. 81, a. 20; 1994, c. 13, a. 15; 1996, c. 2, a. 71; 2003, c. 8, a. 6; 2006, c. 3, a. 35; 2006, c. 40, a. 5.
19. Tout conseil municipal local décidant par une résolution, sur la requête de la moitié des propriétaires qui résident sur le territoire de la municipalité et qui doivent en être affectés, alléguant qu’il est désirable de placer des bornes, en front ou en arrière, ou aux angles de front et de profondeur des lots d’une concession, ou de partie de concession ou rang qui sont situés sur ce territoire, peut s’adresser au gouvernement, en la manière prescrite dans les articles 15 et suivants, le priant de faire un relevé de telle concession ou rang et de faire poser des bornes, sous l’autorité de l’arpenteur général du Québec.
S. R. 1964, c. 263, a. 109; 1973, c. 61, a. 85; 1979, c. 81, a. 20; 1994, c. 13, a. 15; 1996, c. 2, a. 72; 2003, c. 8, a. 6; 2006, c. 3, a. 35; 2006, c. 40, a. 5.
20. Les bornes ainsi posées doivent être conformes aux normes édictées par les règlements du Conseil d’administration de l’Ordre des arpenteurs-géomètres du Québec et être posées, par les personnes employées à l’arpentage, en front ou en arrière ou aux angles de front et de profondeur de chacun des lots; les limites de chaque lot ainsi constatées et marquées sont réputées les véritables limites.
S. R. 1964, c. 263, a. 110; 1973, c. 61, a. 86; 1999, c. 40, a. 21; 2008, c. 11, a. 212.
21. Les frais d’arpentage sont payés de la manière indiquée dans l’article 18.
S. R. 1964, c. 263, a. 111.
22. (Cet article a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987).
1982, c. 21, a. 1; R.-U., 1982, c. 11, ann. B, ptie I, a. 33.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 263 des Statuts refondus, 1964, tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre A-22 des Lois refondues.