A-18 - Act to promote farm improvement

Full text
chapter A-18
Act to promote farm improvement
FARM IMPROVEMENTDecember 18 1987August 11 1988
Chapter A-18 is replaced by the Act respecting farm financing (chapter F-1.2). (1987, c. 86, s. 153).
1987, c. 86, s. 153.
1. The Office du crédit agricole du Québec shall have charge of the carrying out of this act.
R. S. 1964, c. 109, s. 1; 1977, c. 5, s. 14.
DIVISION I
DEFINITIONS
2. In this act, unless the context indicates a different meaning, the following expressions and words mean and designate:
(a)  agriculture : the cultivation of the soil or the raising of livestock;
(b)  farm operator : any physical person whose principal occupation is agriculture;
(c)  farmer : any physical person who is the owner or lessee of a farm and whose principal occupation is agriculture; it also designates, in the case of undivided ownership of a farm, several physical persons provided that among them there are one or more farm operators holding at least sixty per cent of the rights of ownership in such farm;
(d)  aspiring farmer : any physical person not less than eighteen nor more than forty years of age who, being the owner or lessee of a farm, practises farming without making it his principal occupation and undertakes to make it his principal occupation within the delays and according to the conditions fixed by regulation;
(e)  farm : any immoveable operated or to be operated within a reasonable delay for agricultural purposes;
(f)  economic farm : any farm which, taking into account all of its resources, is capable of producing a revenue which enables the operators thereof to pay the operating costs thereof, including maintenance and depreciation, to fulfil their obligations and to support their family adequately;
(g)  agricultural operations corporation : a corporation constituted under the Companies Act (chapter C-38), whose principal object and principal activity are the operation of an economic farm which it owns or leases, provided that all of its shareholders are physical persons and that not less than sixty per cent of the issued shares of each class are owned by farm operators among whom the principal occupation of the majority is the operation of such farm;
(h)  agricultural operations cooperative : a cooperative governed by the Cooperatives Act (chapter C-67.2) whose main object and principal activity is the operation of an economic farm of which it is the owner or lessee, provided that all of its members are natural persons, that at least sixty per cent of the common shares are owned by farm operators and that the majority of its members are farm operators among whom the principal occupation of the majority is the operation of such farm;
(i)  agricultural operations partnership : a partnership within the meaning of the Civil Code whose principal object is the joint operation of an economic farm, of which it is the owner or lessee, which is constituted by a written contract complying with the regulations, which is composed of physical persons and in which at least sixty per cent of the interests are owned by farm operators among whom the principal occupation of the majority is the operation of such farm;
(j)  joint borrowers : several physical persons to whom a loan is granted jointly, who jointly operate an economic farm constituted of the aggregate of the farms of which they are the owners or lessees, while sharing, according to the proportions determined among them, the income from the aggregate of such farms, provided that not less than sixty per cent of the aggregate of the interests in such farm are owned by one or a number of farmers;
(k)  loan : any loan contracted in accordance with this act;
(l)  borrower : a farmer, an aspiring farmer, an agricultural operations corporation, an agricultural operations cooperative or an agricultural operations partnership to whom a loan is granted, and joint borrowers;
(m)  union : any savings and credit union governed by the Savings and Credit Unions Act (chapter C-4);
(n)  bank : any bank within the meaning of the Bank Act (Statutes of Canada) or the Québec Savings Banks Act (Statutes of Canada);
(o)  lender : any union or bank from which a loan has been obtained;
(p)  federation : La Confédération des caisses populaires et d’économie Desjardins du Québec, the Fédération de Montréal des Caisses Desjardins, the Fédération des Caisses d’établissement du Québec, the Fédération des Caisses d’économie du Québec and the Fédération des Caisses d’entraide économique du Québec;
(q)  regulation : any regulation made by the Government under this act;
(r)  loan : any loan granted in accordance with the provisions of this act.
A holder of a farm under a location ticket or an occupant under a contract for sale made with a veteran under the Veterans’ Land Act (Revised Statutes of Canada, 1970, chapter V-4) shall be deemed an owner for the purposes of this act.
R. S. 1964, c. 109, s. 2; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 40, s. 1; 1969, c. 43, s. 1; 1972, c. 33, s. 1; 1975, c. 34, s. 19; 1975, c. 35, s. 1; 1979, c. 90, s. 3; 1982, c. 26, s. 283.
DIVISION II
CONTRIBUTION FOR THE IMPROVEMENT OF FARMS
3. Any bank or credit union may grant to any borrower, for one or more of the purposes mentioned in section 7, a loan which must in no case exceed $200 000.
The same borrower may obtain more than one loan provided that the amount of the last loan he obtains, added to the balance owing by him in principal, by succession or otherwise and determined in the manner provided in section 5, on any other loan, does not exceed $200 000.
Where farmers actually jointly operate an economic farm formed by the aggregate of their farms, they cannot obtain a loan except as joint borrowers.
R. S. 1964, c. 109, s. 3; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 40, s. 3; 1969, c. 43, s. 2; 1972, c. 33, s. 2; 1975, c. 35, s. 2; 1978, c. 45, s. 1; 1983, c. 7, s. 1.
4. In the cases and within the limits determined by regulation, the authorization of the Office du crédit agricole du Québec must be obtained prior to the granting of a loan.
The authorization required under the first paragraph is granted by any person designated for that purpose by the Office.
1975, c. 35, s. 2; 1977, c. 5, s. 14; 1978, c. 45, s. 2.
5. The total amount owing by a borrower under this Act must at no time exceed $200 000 in principal, except where the excess is the result of debts devolved to him by succession subsequently to the last loan contracted by him that he has not repaid in full.
1975, c. 35, s. 2; 1978, c. 45, s. 3; 1983, c. 7, s. 2.
5.1. Where the borrower is a farmer or an aspiring farmer, the maximum amount of $200 000 contemplated in section 5 is established by taking into account
(1)  the balance owing by him personnally on any other loan he has obtained or of which he has assumed payment; and
(2)  his relative share in the balance of any other loan he has obtained jointly with any other person or of which he has assumed payment in the same manner.
1983, c. 7, s. 2.
5.2. In the case of joint borrowers or undivided owners considered as one farmer, the maximum amount of $200 000 contemplated in section 5 is established by taking into account
(1)  the balance owing by them on any other loan they have obtained in that capacity or of which they have assumed payment;
(2)  the balance owing by each of them on every other loan he has obtained personally or of which he has assumed payment in the same manner; and
(3)  the relative share in the balance of any other loan obtained by each of them jointly with any other person or of which he has assumed payment in the same manner.
1983, c. 7, s. 2.
6. The Government is authorized to reimburse to a borrower who meets the criteria of need established by regulation, in the cases and according to the terms and conditions provided by regulation, an amount equal to the interest at three per cent on a sum not exceeding $15 000 owed in capital on one or several loans.
1975, c. 35, s. 2; 1977, c. 5, s. 14; 1978, c. 45, s. 4.
7. A loan may be granted for one or more of the following purposes:
(1)  improvement of the land;
(2)  purchase or repair of farm implements, agricultural tools or machinery and farm equipment, including a farm tractor and any other motor vehicle authorized by regulation;
(3)  purchase of breeding stock;
(4)  purchase, erection or improvement of farm buildings;
(5)  construction and organization of a fattening station;
(6)  installation or improvement of a drinking-water supply system;
(7)  installation or improvement of electric wiring;
(8)  purchase of contingents and quotas in the cases and according to the conditions provided for by regulation;
(9)  purchase of additional land;
(10)  repayment of the balance on an existing loan in the case provided for in section 10.
One or another of the loan purposes provided for in this section may, for the purposes of its application, be defined or listed in a regulation.
R. S. 1964, c. 109, s. 4; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 40, s. 4; 1969, c. 43, s. 3; 1972, c. 33, s. 3; 1975, c. 35, s. 3; 1978, c. 45, s. 5.
7.1. A loan may also be granted to repay the whole or a part of the balance owing in principal on a loan contracted otherwise than under this Act that was used to pay the price of any purchase contemplated in section 7, provided that
(1)  the application for this loan is submitted to the lender not later than one year from the date of the purchase,
(2)  the amount of the loan being repaid by means of this loan is repayable on demand or not later than one year after the date of the purchase, and that
(3)  the amount of the repayment does not exceed the price of the property acquired by means of the loan.
1983, c. 7, s. 3.
8. Each loan must be evidenced by a note or by an acknowledgement of indebtedness in the tenor prescribed by regulation or by a deed of loan; in addition, the borrower must, in the cases provided for by regulation, furnish to the lender the security specified therein.
When the borrower is the lessee or the emphyteutic lessee of a farm, his lease must comply with the standards prescribed by regulation.
R. S. 1964, c. 109, s. 5; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 40, s. 5; 1969, c. 43, s. 4; 1972, c. 33, s. 4; 1975, c. 35, s. 4.
9. The term of a loan must not exceed ten years, except in the case of a loan for the purchase of additional land or for land improvement by underground drainage, where such term must not exceed fifteen years.
R. S. 1964, c. 109, s. 6; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 40, s. 7; 1969, c. 43, s. 5; 1975, c. 35, s. 5.
DIVISION III
PROVISIONS COMMON TO ALL LOANS
10. Any borrower who, on or pursuant to the disposition or expropriation of his farm, resettles on another farm, may obtain a loan for the purpose provided for in subparagraph 10 of the first paragraph of section 7.
R. S. 1964, c. 109, s. 9; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 40, s. 9; 1969, c. 43, s. 6; 1972, c. 33, s. 5; 1975, c. 35, s. 6; 1978, c. 45, s. 6.
11. The rate of interest on any loan must not exceed the maximum fixed by regulation.
R. S. 1964, c. 109, s. 10; 1975, c. 35, s. 7.
12. Every loan contemplated by this act shall be repaid in equal and consecutive instalments which may be, as agreed between the borrower and the lender, monthly, quarterly, semi-annual or annual.
R. S. 1964, c. 109, s. 11.
13. Notwithstanding any inconsistent stipulation, the borrower shall always have the right to repay the capital of his loan, in whole or in part, by anticipation.
R. S. 1964, c. 109, s. 12.
14. No issue, allotment or transfer of shares in an agricultural operations corporation which is a borrower shall be valid without the authorization of the Office du crédit agricole du Québec.
No amendment to the contract constituting an agricultural operations partnership which is a borrower shall be valid without the authorization of the Office.
No issue, allotment, transfer or reimbursement of ordinary shares or common shares, as the case may be, of an agricultural operations cooperative to which a loan is granted is valid without the authorization of the Office.
1969, c. 43, s. 7; 1975, c. 34, s. 19; 1975, c. 35, s. 8; 1977, c. 5, s. 14.
15. The amount repayable by the Government shall be paid to the borrower, every six months; but it shall only be payable to the extent to which the borrower has himself paid the instalments due in principal and interest and to which he continues to fulfil the conditions required to benefit from this act.
No repayment shall be made respecting interest on overdue payments.
R. S. 1964, c. 109, s. 14; 1969, c. 43, s. 9; 1975, c. 35, s. 10; 1977, c. 5, s. 14.
16. Whenever, at the end of the term provided in section 9, a borrower has not met his obligations in full and the lender grants him a delay to pay the balance of the loan, the borrower shall no longer be entitled to the repayment of interest, but the lender shall continue to benefit by the guarantee provided in the first paragraph of section 19 or, as the case may be, by the guarantee contemplated in the third paragraph of the same section.
R. S. 1964, c. 109, s. 15; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 40, s. 10; 1978, c. 49, s. 29.
17. A borrower who obtains a repayment of interest by false statements or on false pretences, or uses the proceeds of the loan or any part thereof for purposes other than those for which the loan was obtained, shall ipso facto forfeit the right to repayment and must return to the Office du crédit agricole du Québec what he has received.
R. S. 1964, c. 109, s. 16; 1969, c. 43, s. 10; 1977, c. 5, s. 14.
18. The Office du crédit agricole du Québec or the lender may make any inquiry respecting a loan application or a loan and visit or inspect property serving as security for a loan at any reasonable time or at any time if it is required, in the circumstances, to protect a claim or the property serving as security for a loan or to ensure that the borrower’s operation is carried on.
The representative or employee designated by the Office or by the lender shall, on request, identify himself and produce a certificate of his capacity issued by the Office or by the lender.
1975, c. 35, s. 11; 1977, c. 5, s. 14; 1986, c. 95, s. 15.
DIVISION IV
PARTIAL GUARANTEE BY THE GOVERNMENT OR GUARANTEE BY THE FONDS D’ASSURANCE-PRÊTS AGRICOLES ET FORESTIERS
1978, c. 49, s. 30.
19. The Gouvernement du Québec shall guarantee to the lender the repayment of losses in capital and interest, and the expenses allowable by regulation that are incurred to claim or obtain the payment thereof, resulting from loans contemplated by this act and sustained by
(a)  any bank, up to ten per cent of the total amount of such loans made by such bank;
(b)  any credit union not affiliated with a federation, up to ten per cent of the total amount of such loans made by such union;
(c)  any credit union affiliated with a federation, up to ten per cent of the total amount of such loans made by credit unions affiliated with such federation.
The guarantee contemplated in the first paragraph applies only to loans contracted before 1 August 1978.
The Fonds d’assurance-prêts agricoles et forestiers established under the Act respecting farm-loan insurance and forestry-loan insurance (chapter A-29.1) guarantees to the lender, in conformity with that act, the repayment of losses in principal and interest resulting from loans contracted from the date mentioned in the second paragraph, and of the expenses allowable by regulation under the said act that are incurred to claim or obtain the payment thereof.
Where the Office du crédit agricole du Québec repays, in the name of the Government, a loss resulting from a loan contracted under this act, it is subrogated in the rights of the lender to whom a repayment is so made, up to the amount of such repayment.
The borrower whose default entails the repayment contemplated in the fourth paragraph or, as the case may be, that contemplated in section 17 of the Act respecting farm-loan insurance and forestry-loan insurance, shall not benefit by another loan without the prior consent of the Office.
R. S. 1964, c. 109, s. 17; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 40, s. 11; 1969, c. 43, s. 11; 1975, c. 35, s. 12; 1977, c. 5, s. 14; 1978, c. 49, s. 31.
20. When a loss is repaid by the Government under section 19 or, as the case may be, by the Fonds d’assurance-prêts agricoles et forestiers under the Act respecting farm-loan insurance and forestry-loan insurance, the borrower whose default has entailed such repayment shall no longer be entitled to repayment of interest on any other loan which he has contracted.
1969, c. 43, s. 12; 1977, c. 5, s. 14; 1978, c. 49, s. 32.
DIVISION V
CARRYING OUT
21. The Government may:
(a)  define by regulation the expressions “principal occupation”, “principal activity”, “cultivation of the soil” and “raising of livestock” used in section 2;
(b)  make any regulation contemplated in paragraphs d and i of section 2 and in sections 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 11 and 19;
(c)  fix the accessory or secondary conditions to which the loans are subject, respecting the titles of the borrower, the deeds of loan, the protection of the security and other matters of the same nature and fix that part of the price of purchase or of the cost of the work which must be paid by the borrower otherwise than with the proceeds of a loan when such purchase or work is a purpose of the loan;
(d)  prescribe, by regulation, the forms to be used, the documents and information to be filed and the delay for their filing.
Every regulation made under this Act shall come into force from its publication in the Gazette officielle du Québec or on any later date fixed therein.
R. S. 1964, c. 109, s. 18; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 40, s. 13; 1969, c. 43, s. 13; 1975, c. 35, s. 13.
22. The sums due by reason of the guarantee provided for in the first paragraph of section 19 shall be payable out of the consolidated revenue fund and the other expenses out of the money voted annually for that purpose by the Legislature.
R. S. 1964, c. 109, s. 19; 1978, c. 49, s. 33.
DIVISION VI
This Division ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987.
23. (This section ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987).
1982, c. 21, s. 1; U. K., 1982, c. 11, Sch. B, Part I, s. 33.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 109 of the Revised Statutes, 1964, in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed effective from the coming into force of chapter A-18 of the Revised Statutes.

A-18 - Loi favorisant l’amélioration des fermes

Texte complet
chapitre A-18
Loi favorisant l’amélioration des fermes
AMÉLIORATION DES FERMES18 décembre 198711 août 1988
Le chapitre A-18 est remplacé par la Loi sur le financement agricole (chapitre F‐1.2). (1987, c. 86, a. 153).
1987, c. 86, a. 153.
1. L’Office du crédit agricole du Québec est chargé de l’exécution de la présente loi.
S. R. 1964, c. 109, a. 1.
SECTION I
DÉFINITIONS
2. Dans la présente loi, à moins que le contexte n’indique un sens différent, les expressions et mots suivants signifient ou désignent:
a)  «agriculture» : la culture du sol ou l’élevage d’animaux de ferme;
b)  «exploitant agricole» : toute personne physique dont l’agriculture est la principale occupation;
c)  «agriculteur» : toute personne physique qui est propriétaire ou locataire d’une ferme et dont l’agriculture est la principale occupation; il désigne également, dans le cas de propriété indivise d’une ferme, plusieurs personnes physiques à condition que parmi celles-ci, il se trouve un ou plusieurs exploitants agricoles détenant au moins soixante pour cent des droits de propriété dans telle ferme;
d)  «aspirant-agriculteur» : toute personne physique âgée d’au moins dix-huit ans et d’au plus quarante ans, propriétaire ou locataire d’une ferme, qui s’adonne à l’agriculture sans en faire sa principale occupation et s’engage à en faire sa principale occupation dans les délais et suivant les conditions fixés par règlement;
e)  «ferme» : tout immeuble exploité ou devant l’être dans un délai raisonnable pour fins agricoles;
f)  «ferme rentable» : une ferme susceptible de produire, compte tenu de l’ensemble de ses ressources, un revenu permettant à ceux qui l’exploitent d’en acquitter les frais d’exploitation y compris l’entretien et la dépréciation, de remplir leurs obligations et de faire vivre leur famille convenablement;
g)  «corporation d’exploitation agricole» : une corporation constituée en vertu de la Loi sur les compagnies (chapitre C-38), ayant pour objet principal et pour activité principale l’exploitation d’une ferme rentable dont elle est propriétaire ou locataire, pourvu que tous ses actionnaires soient des personnes physiques et qu’au moins soixante pour cent des actions de chaque catégorie émises soient la propriété d’exploitants agricoles dont la majorité a pour principale occupation l’exploitation de cette ferme;
h)  «coopérative d’exploitation agricole» : une coopérative régie par la Loi sur les coopératives (chapitre C-67.2), ayant pour objet principal et pour activité principale l’exploitation d’une ferme rentable dont elle est propriétaire ou locataire, pourvu que tous ses membres soient des personnes physiques, qu’au moins 60% des parts sociales soient la propriété d’exploitants agricoles et que la majorité de ses membres soient des exploitants agricoles dont la majorité a pour principale occupation l’exploitation de cette ferme;
i)  «société d’exploitation agricole» : une société au sens du Code civil qui a pour objet principal l’exploitation en commun d’une ferme rentable dont elle est propriétaire ou locataire, qui est formée au moyen d’un contrat écrit conforme aux règlements, qui est constituée de personnes physiques et dont au moins soixante pour cent des intérêts sont la propriété d’exploitants agricoles dont la majorité a pour principale occupation l’exploitation de cette ferme;
j)  «emprunteurs conjoints» : plusieurs personnes physiques, à qui un prêt est consenti conjointement, qui exploitent conjointement une ferme rentable constituée de l’ensemble des fermes dont elles sont propriétaires ou locataires en se partageant, suivant les proportions déterminées entre elles, les revenus de l’ensemble de ces fermes, pourvu qu’au moins soixante pour cent de l’ensemble des intérêts dans cette ferme soient la propriété d’un ou de plusieurs agriculteurs;
k)  «emprunt» : tout emprunt contracté conformément aux dispositions de la présente loi;
l)  «emprunteur» : un agriculteur, un aspirant-agriculteur, une corporation d’exploitation agricole, une coopérative d’exploitation agricole ou une société d’exploitation agricole à qui un prêt est consenti, ainsi que des emprunteurs conjoints;
m)  «caisse» : toute caisse d’épargne et de crédit régie par la Loi sur les caisses d’épargne et de crédit (chapitre C-4);
n)  «banque» : toute banque au sens de la Loi sur les banques (Statuts du Canada) ou de la Loi sur les banques d’épargne de Québec (Statuts du Canada);
o)  «prêteur» : une caisse ou une banque de laquelle un emprunt a été obtenu;
p)  «fédération» : La Confédération des caisses populaires et d’économie Desjardins du Québec, la Fédération de Montréal des Caisses Desjardins, la Fédération des Caisses d’établissement du Québec, la Fédération des Caisses d’économie du Québec et la Fédération des Caisses d’entraide économique du Québec;
q)  «règlement» : tout règlement adopté par le gouvernement en vertu de la présente loi;
r)  «prêt» : tout prêt consenti conformément aux dispositions de la présente loi.
Le détenteur d’une ferme en vertu d’un billet de location et l’occupant en vertu d’une convention de vente consentie à un ancien combattant sous le régime de la Loi sur les terres destinées aux anciens combattants (Statuts revisés du Canada, 1970, chapitre V-4) sont considérés comme propriétaires pour les fins de la présente loi.
S. R. 1964, c. 109, a. 2; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 40, a. 1; 1969, c. 43, a. 1; 1972, c. 33, a. 1; 1975, c. 35, a. 1; 1979, c. 90, a. 3; 1982, c. 26, a. 283.
SECTION II
CONTRIBUTION À L’AMÉLIORATION DES FERMES
3. Toute banque ou caisse peut consentir à un emprunteur, pour l’une ou plusieurs des fins mentionnées à l’article 7, un prêt qui ne doit en aucun cas excéder 200 000 $.
Un même emprunteur peut obtenir plus d’un prêt à condition que le montant du dernier prêt qu’il obtient, ajouté au solde dû par lui en principal, par succession ou autrement et déterminé en la manière prévue à l’article 5, sur tout autre prêt, n’excède pas 200 000 $.
Lorsque effectivement des agriculteurs exploitent conjointement une ferme rentable constituée de l’ensemble de leurs fermes, ils ne peuvent obtenir un prêt qu’en qualité d’emprunteurs conjoints.
S. R. 1964, c. 109, a. 3; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 40, a. 3; 1969, c. 43, a. 2; 1972, c. 33, a. 2; 1975, c. 35, a. 2; 1978, c. 45, a. 1; 1983, c. 7, a. 1.
4. Dans les cas et les limites établis par règlement, l’autorisation de l’Office du crédit agricole du Québec doit être obtenue préalablement au consentement d’un prêt.
L’autorisation requise aux fins du premier alinéa est donnée par toute personne désignée à telle fin par l’Office.
1975, c. 35, a. 2; 1978, c. 45, a. 2.
5. Le montant total dû par un emprunteur en vertu de la présente loi ne doit en aucun temps excéder 200 000 $ en principal, sauf si l’excédent résulte de dettes qui lui échoient par succession subséquemment au dernier emprunt qu’il a contracté et qu’il n’a pas totalement remboursé.
1975, c. 35, a. 2; 1978, c. 45, a. 3; 1983, c. 7, a. 2.
5.1. Lorsque l’emprunteur est un agriculteur ou un aspirant-agriculteur, on établit le maximum de 200 000 $ visé à l’article 5 en tenant compte:
1°  du solde dû individuellement par lui sur tout autre prêt qu’il a obtenu ou dont il a assumé le paiement; et
2°  de sa part relative du solde de tout autre prêt qu’il a obtenu conjointement avec toute autre personne ou dont il a assumé le paiement de la même manière.
1983, c. 7, a. 2.
5.2. Lorsqu’il s’agit d’emprunteurs conjoints ou de propriétaires indivis considérés comme un agriculteur, on établit le maximum de 200 000 $ visé à l’article 5 en tenant compte:
1°  du solde dû par eux sur tout autre prêt qu’ils ont obtenu en cette qualité ou dont ils ont assumé le paiement;
2°  du solde dû par chacun d’eux sur tout autre prêt qu’il a obtenu individuellement ou dont il a assumé le paiement de la même manière; et
3°  de la part relative du solde de tout autre prêt que chacun d’eux a obtenu conjointement avec toute autre personne ou dont il a assumé le paiement de la même manière.
1983, c. 7, a. 2.
6. Le gouvernement est autorisé à rembourser à un emprunteur répondant aux critères de besoin établis par règlement, dans les cas et selon les modalités prévus par règlement, un montant équivalent à l’intérêt à trois pour cent sur une somme n’excédant pas 15 000 $ due en principal sur un ou plusieurs emprunts.
1975, c. 35, a. 2; 1978, c. 45, a. 4.
7. Un prêt peut être consenti pour une ou plusieurs des fins suivantes:
1°  amélioration au fonds de terre;
2°  achat ou réparation d’instruments aratoires, d’outillage ou de machinerie agricole et d’équipement de ferme, y compris un tracteur de ferme et tout autre véhicule automobile permis par règlement;
3°  achat d’animaux reproducteurs;
4°  achat, construction ou amélioration de bâtiments de ferme;
5°  construction ou aménagement de parc d’engraissement;
6°  installation ou amélioration d’un système d’approvisionnement en eau potable;
7°  installation ou amélioration de filerie électrique;
8°  achat de contingents et de quotas dans les cas et suivant les conditions prévus par règlement;
9°  achat de terre additionnelle;
10°  remboursement du solde d’un prêt existant, dans le cas prévu à l’article 10.
L’une ou l’autre des fins d’emprunt prévues au présent article peut, pour les fins de son application, faire l’objet d’une définition ou d’une énumération dans un règlement.
S. R. 1964, c. 109, a. 4; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 40, a. 4; 1969, c. 43, a. 3; 1972, c. 33, a. 3; 1975, c. 35, a. 3; 1978, c. 45, a. 5.
7.1. Un prêt peut aussi être consenti pour rembourser la totalité ou une partie du solde dû en principal sur un emprunt contracté autrement qu’en vertu de la présente loi et ayant servi au paiement du prix de tout achat visé dans l’article 7, pourvu que:
1°  la demande de ce prêt ait été soumise au prêteur dans un délai d’au plus un an de la date de tel achat;
2°  le montant de l’emprunt dont le remboursement est effectué au moyen de ce prêt soit remboursable à demande ou au plus tard un an après la date de l’achat; et que
3°  le montant de ce remboursement n’excède pas le prix du bien acquis au moyen de cet emprunt.
1983, c. 7, a. 3.
8. Chaque emprunt doit être constaté par un billet ou par une reconnaissance de dette en la teneur prescrite par règlement ou par un acte de prêt; en outre, l’emprunteur doit, dans les cas prévus par règlement, fournir au prêteur les garanties qui y sont spécifiées.
Lorsque l’emprunteur est locataire d’une ferme ou qu’il en est le preneur en vertu d’un bail emphytéotique, son bail doit être conforme aux normes prévues par règlement.
S. R. 1964, c. 109, a. 5; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 40, a. 5; 1969, c. 43, a. 4; 1972, c. 33, a. 4; 1975, c. 35, a. 4.
9. La durée d’un prêt ne doit pas excéder dix ans, excepté dans le cas d’un prêt pour achat de terre additionnelle ou pour amélioration au fonds de terre au moyen de drainage souterrain où cette durée ne doit pas excéder quinze ans.
S. R. 1964, c. 109, a. 6; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 40, a. 7; 1969, c. 43, a. 5; 1975, c. 35, a. 5.
SECTION III
DISPOSITIONS COMMUNES À TOUS LES PRÊTS
10. Un emprunteur qui, à l’occasion ou à la suite de l’aliénation ou de l’expropriation de sa ferme, se réinstalle sur une autre ferme, peut obtenir un prêt pour la fin prévue au paragraphe 10° du premier alinéa de l’article 7.
S. R. 1964, c. 109, a. 9; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 40, a. 9; 1969, c. 43, a. 6; 1972, c. 33, a. 5; 1975, c. 35, a. 6; 1978, c. 45, a. 6.
11. Le taux d’intérêt sur tout emprunt ne doit pas dépasser le maximum fixé par règlement.
S. R. 1964, c. 109, a. 10; 1975, c. 35, a. 7.
12. Tout emprunt visé par la présente loi doit être remboursé par versements égaux et consécutifs qui peuvent être, selon que convenu entre l’emprunteur et le prêteur, mensuels, trimestriels, semi-annuels ou annuels.
S. R. 1964, c. 109, a. 11.
13. Nonobstant toute stipulation inconciliable, l’emprunteur a toujours le droit de rembourser par anticipation, en partie ou en entier, le principal de son emprunt.
S. R. 1964, c. 109, a. 12.
14. Aucune émission ou répartition ni aucun transfert d’actions d’une corporation d’exploitation agricole qui est un emprunteur n’est valide sans l’autorisation de l’Office du crédit agricole du Québec.
Aucune modification au contrat par lequel est formée une société d’exploitation agricole qui est un emprunteur n’est valide sans l’autorisation de l’Office.
Aucune émission ou répartition, aucun transfert ni aucun remboursement d’actions ordinaires ou de parts sociales, selon le cas, d’une coopérative d’exploitation agricole à qui un prêt est consenti n’est valide sans l’autorisation de l’Office.
1969, c. 43, a. 7; 1975, c. 35, a. 8.
15. Le montant remboursable par le gouvernement est versé à l’emprunteur, tous les six mois; cependant, il n’est payé qu’autant que l’emprunteur a acquitté lui-même les versements échus d’intérêt et de principal et qu’il continue de remplir les conditions requises pour bénéficier de la présente loi.
Aucun remboursement n’est fait à l’égard d’intérêt sur les versements arriérés.
S. R. 1964, c. 109, a. 14; 1969, c. 43, a. 9; 1975, c. 35, a. 10.
16. Lorsqu’à l’expiration du terme prévu à l’article 9, un emprunteur n’a pas acquitté en entier ses obligations et que le prêteur lui accorde terme pour l’acquittement du solde du prêt, l’emprunteur n’a plus droit au remboursement d’intérêt, mais le prêteur continue de bénéficier de la garantie prévue au premier alinéa de l’article 19 ou, selon le cas, de l’assurance visée au troisième alinéa du même article.
S. R. 1964, c. 109, a. 15; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 40, a. 10; 1978, c. 49, a. 29.
17. Un emprunteur qui obtient un remboursement d’intérêt à la suite de fausses déclarations ou de faux prétextes, ou emploie le produit ou une partie du produit de l’emprunt à des fins autres que celles pour lesquelles celui-ci a été obtenu, est de plein droit déchu du droit au remboursement et doit rendre à l’Office du crédit agricole du Québec ce qu’il a reçu.
S. R. 1964, c. 109, a. 16; 1969, c. 43, a. 10.
18. L’Office du crédit agricole du Québec ou le prêteur peut procéder à toute enquête relativement à une demande d’emprunt ou à un prêt et faire, à toute heure raisonnable, ou en tout temps si les circonstances l’exigent pour la protection d’une créance ou des biens garantissant un prêt ou pour assurer le maintien en opération de l’exploitation d’un emprunteur, une visite ou une inspection des biens faisant l’objet de la garantie d’un emprunt.
Sur demande, le représentant ou l’employé désigné par l’Office ou par le prêteur doit s’identifier et exhiber un certificat délivré par l’Office ou par le prêteur, selon le cas, attestant sa qualité.
1975, c. 35, a. 11; 1986, c. 95, a. 15.
SECTION IV
GARANTIE PARTIELLE DU GOUVERNEMENT OU ASSURANCE DU FONDS D’ASSURANCE-PRÊTS AGRICOLES ET FORESTIERS
1978, c. 49, a. 30.
19. Le gouvernement du Québec garantit au prêteur le remboursement des pertes de principal et d’intérêt, ainsi que des dépenses admises par règlement et encourues pour en réclamer ou en obtenir le paiement résultant des prêts visés par la présente loi et subies par:
a)  une banque, jusqu’à concurrence de dix pour cent du montant total de ces prêts consentis par cette banque;
b)  une caisse qui n’est pas affiliée à une fédération, jusqu’à concurrence de dix pour cent du montant total de ces prêts consentis par cette caisse;
c)  une caisse affiliée à une fédération, jusqu’à concurrence de dix pour cent du montant total de ces prêts consentis par les caisses affiliées à cette fédération.
La garantie visée au premier alinéa ne s’applique qu’à l’égard des emprunts contractés avant le 1er août 1978.
Le Fonds d’assurance-prêts agricoles et forestiers constitué en vertu de la Loi sur l’assurance-prêts agricoles et forestiers (chapitre A‐29.1) assure au prêteur, conformément aux dispositions de cette loi, le remboursement des pertes de principal et d’intérêt résultant des emprunts contractés à compter de la date mentionnée au deuxième alinéa ainsi que des dépenses admises par règlement adopté en vertu de ladite loi et encourues pour en réclamer ou en obtenir le paiement.
Lorsque l’Office du crédit agricole du Québec rembourse au nom du gouvernement une perte résultant d’un emprunt contracté en vertu de la présente loi, il est subrogé aux droits du prêteur auquel un remboursement est ainsi effectué, jusqu’à concurrence du montant de ce remboursement.
L’emprunteur dont le défaut entraîne le remboursement visé au quatrième alinéa ou, selon le cas, celui visé à l’article 17 de la Loi sur l’assurance-prêts agricoles et forestiers ne peut bénéficier d’un autre emprunt sans l’assentiment préalable de l’Office.
S. R. 1964, c. 109, a. 17; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 40, a. 11; 1969, c. 43, a. 11; 1975, c. 35, a. 12; 1978, c. 49, a. 31.
20. Lorsque le remboursement d’une perte est effectué par le gouvernement en vertu de l’article 19 ou, selon le cas, par le Fonds d’assurance-prêts agricoles et forestiers en vertu de la Loi sur l’assurance-prêts agricoles et forestiers, l’emprunteur dont le défaut a entraîné ce remboursement n’a plus droit au remboursement d’intérêt sur tout autre emprunt qu’il a contracté.
1969, c. 43, a. 12; 1978, c. 49, a. 32.
SECTION V
EXÉCUTION
21. Le gouvernement peut:
a)  définir, par règlement, les expressions «principale occupation», «activité principale», «culture du sol» et «élevage d’animaux de ferme» employées dans l’article 2;
b)  édicter tout règlement visé aux paragraphes d et i de l’article 2, aux articles 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 11 et 19;
c)  fixer les conditions accessoires ou secondaires auxquelles les prêts sont soumis, quant aux titres de l’emprunteur, aux actes de prêt, à la protection des garanties et aux autres matières de même nature et fixer la partie du prix d’achat ou du coût des travaux qui doit être payée par l’emprunteur autrement qu’avec le produit d’un emprunt lorsque cet achat ou ces travaux constituent une fin de l’emprunt;
d)  prescrire, par règlement, les formules à utiliser, les documents et renseignements à produire et le délai de leur production.
Tout règlement adopté en vertu de la présente loi entre en vigueur à compter de sa publication dans la Gazette officielle du Québec ou à toute autre date ultérieure qui y est fixée.
S. R. 1964, c. 109, a. 18; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 40, a. 13; 1969, c. 43, a. 13; 1975, c. 35, a. 13.
22. Les sommes dues en conséquence de la garantie prévue au premier alinéa de l’article 19 sont payables sur le fonds consolidé du revenu et les autres dépenses sur les deniers votés annuellement, à cette fin, par la Législature.
S. R. 1964, c. 109, a. 19; 1978, c. 49, a. 33.
SECTION VI
Cette section a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987.
23. (Cet article a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987).
1982, c. 21, a. 1; R.-U., 1982, c. 11, ann. B, ptie I, a. 33.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 109 des Statuts refondus, 1964, tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre A-18 des Lois refondues.