A-1 - Bees Act

Full text
chapter A-1
Bees Act
BEES ACTNovember 15 2000November 15 2000
Repealed, 2000, c. 40, s. 43.
2000, c. 40, s. 43.
1. The Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food shall have charge of the carrying out of this Act.
R. S. 1964, c. 128, s. 1; 1973, c. 22, s. 22; 1979, c. 77, s. 21.
2. (Repealed).
R. S. 1964, c. 128, s. 2; 1990, c. 4, s. 13.
DIVISION I
PREVENTION AND TREATMENT OF CONTAGIOUS DISEASES IN BEES
3. The Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food may, if he believes, on reasonable grounds, that a contagious disease infects certain apiaries, appoint an inspector to enter the apiaries at any reasonable time and inspect them.
The inspector shall, on request, identify himself and produce a certificate of his capacity signed by the Minister.
R. S. 1964, c. 128, s. 3; 1973, c. 22, s. 22; 1979, c. 77, s. 21; 1986, c. 95, s. 1.
4. He may, in addition, for the purpose of such inspection, oblige any person keeping bees in box hives to move them into hives with moveable frames.
R. S. 1964, c. 128, s. 4.
5. The inspector, when required to do so by the Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food, shall forthwith visit every apiary indicated to him, and shall report to the Minister as to the sanitary condition thereof, in such manner and form as may be prescribed.
R. S. 1964, c. 128, s. 5; 1973, c. 22, s. 22; 1979, c. 77, s. 21.
6. Whenever any contagious disease has been discovered in an apiary, the Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food shall cause the necessary measures to be taken to subject the bees in such apiary to appropriate treatment, and, if he deem it necessary, he may order the bees affected, the hives occupied by them and all accessories thereof which cannot be effectually disinfected, to be destroyed in presence of the inspector.
R. S. 1964, c. 128, s. 6; 1973, c. 22, s. 22; 1979, c. 77, s. 21.
7. Upon the failure of the owner or possessor of an apiary infected by a contagious disease to obey the orders which he receives for the treatment of sick bees, the Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food may order the destruction of the hives and of the bees and of all accessories thereof which cannot be effectually disinfected.
R. S. 1964, c. 128, s. 7; 1973, c. 22, s. 22; 1979, c. 77, s. 21.
7.1. The owner or possessor of an apiary to whom an order made under section 6 or 7 is notified without prior notice because, in the Minister’s opinion, urgent action is required or there is a danger of irreparable damage being caused, may, within the time specified in the order, present observations to the Minister so that the order may be reviewed.
1997, c. 43, s. 1.
8. (1)  When the destruction of hives, bees or accessories be deemed necessary by the Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food, he shall indemnify the owner or possessor thereof, or both, as the case may be, upon an equitable basis, which shall be left to his discretion.
(2)  Nevertheless, in the case of section 7, the owner or possessor of the hives, bees or accessories shall be entitled to no indemnity.
R. S. 1964, c. 128, s. 8; 1973, c. 22, s. 22; 1979, c. 77, s. 21.
9. It is forbidden to import into Québec any bees, or any accessory for bee-keeping which has already been made use of, unless the shipment be accompanied by a certificate from the head apiarist or other competent officer of the province or state of origin to the effect that such bees are free from disease, and that such accessory is not infected. The Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food may, however, authorize such importation, but for scientific purposes only.
R. S. 1964, c. 128, s. 9; 1973, c. 22, s. 22; 1979, c. 77, s. 21.
10. It is forbidden to sell or exchange female bees, commonly called queen-bees, from an apiary situated within Québec, without having previously obtained a certificate stating that such apiary is healthy and free from any contagious disease. Such certificate shall be issued free of charge by the Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food or by an officer of his Department designated by him, on such conditions as the Minister may impose and for such time as may be fixed in the said certificate. The latter shall be revocable at any time by the Minister, for any cause deemed sufficient by him, by means of a written notice sent to the holder of the said certificate. Such notice may be given by the officer selected by the Minister.
R. S. 1964, c. 128, s. 10; 1973, c. 22, s. 22; 1979, c. 77, s. 21.
11. Every owner or possessor of hives, bees or accessories who knowingly transfers the ownership of, or transports from one property to another, any infected hives, bees or accessories, and every person who exposes to the open air any infected frames, honeycombs or objects whatsoever, or who conceals the existence of any contagious disease or diseases with which his bees may be infected, or who prevents the inspector from performing his duties, or who infringes any of the provisions of this Division, shall be liable to a fine of not more than $50 for the first offence and of not more than $75 for every subsequent offence.
R. S. 1964, c. 128, s. 11; 1990, c. 4, s. 14; 1999, c. 40, s. 1.
12. (Repealed).
R. S. 1964, c. 128, s. 12; 1990, c. 4, s. 15.
13. The reports of the inspector shall be registered in the Ministère de l’Agriculture, des Pêcheries et de l’Alimentation.
R. S. 1964, c. 128, s. 13; 1973, c. 22, s. 22; 1977, c. 5, s. 14; 1979, c. 77, s. 21; 1987, c. 68, s. 1.
14. The Government, on the recommendation of the Minister, may make regulations on any matter arising out of this Division, especially with respect to the transportation or the transfer of ownership of bees or apicultural material; and it may limit the application of such regulations to one or more districts, the boundaries of which it determines. Such regulations shall have force of law as if they were an integral part of this Division from and after their publication in the Gazette officielle du Québec.
R. S. 1964, c. 128, s. 14; 1999, c. 40, s. 1.
DIVISION II
THE PROTECTION OF BEES
15. No person shall spray a fruit tree or fruit trees by sprinkler or otherwise, or dust, using any mixture containing any compound of arsenic or any other poison hurtful to bees, during the time such fruit tree or trees shall be in bloom.
R. S. 1964, c. 128, s. 15.
16. Every person who contravenes any provision of section 15 is guilty of an offence and is liable to a fine of $10 to $100 for the first offence, and to a fine of $20 to $200 for any subsequent offence.
R. S. 1964, c. 128, s. 16; 1990, c. 4, s. 16.
DIVISION III
PROTECTION AGAINST BEES
17. No hive containing a swarm of bees shall be left upon any land unless it be 15 m from the nearest public road or dwelling.
This section shall not apply when the land upon which the hive is left is fenced on the side nearest to the dwelling or public road, as the case may be, by a fence without openings, at least 2,5 m high and extending at least 4,5 m beyond each end of the apiary.
R. S. 1964, c. 128, s. 17; 1984, c. 47, s. 213; 1996, c. 2, s. 1.
18. Every person put in default by a ratepayer or by an officer of the council, as the case may be, to comply with the law, who does not comply therewith within fifteen days, shall be liable to a fine of not less than $1 nor more than $4, with or without costs, for each day he refuses or neglects to comply with the law.
R. S. 1964, c. 128, s. 18.
DIVISION IV
This Division ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987.
19. (This section ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987).
1982, c. 21, s. 1; U. K., 1982, c. 11, Sch. B, Part I, s. 33.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 128 of the Revised Statutes, 1964, in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed effective from the coming into force of chapter A-1 of the Revised Statutes.

A-1 - Loi sur les abeilles

Texte complet
chapitre A-1
Loi sur les abeilles
ABEILLES15 novembre 200015 novembre 2000
Abrogée, 2000, c. 40, a. 43.
2000, c. 40, a. 43.
1. Le ministre de l’Agriculture, des Pêcheries et de l’Alimentation est chargé de l’exécution de la présente loi.
S. R. 1964, c. 128, a. 1; 1973, c. 22, a. 22; 1979, c. 77, a. 21.
2. (Abrogé).
S. R. 1964, c. 128, a. 2; 1990, c. 4, a. 13.
SECTION I
DE LA PRÉVENTION ET DU TRAITEMENT DES MALADIES CONTAGIEUSES CHEZ LES ABEILLES
3. Le ministre de l’Agriculture, des Pêcheries et de l’Alimentation peut, s’il a des motifs raisonnables de croire qu’une maladie contagieuse infecte certains ruchers, désigner un inspecteur pour pénétrer, à toute heure raisonnable, dans ces ruchers et en faire l’inspection.
Sur demande, l’inspecteur doit s’identifier et exhiber le certificat, signé par le ministre, attestant sa qualité.
S. R. 1964, c. 128, a. 3; 1973, c. 22, a. 22; 1979, c. 77, a. 21; 1986, c. 95, a. 1.
4. Il peut, en outre, pour les fins de cette inspection, obliger toute personne gardant des abeilles dans des ruches fixes, à les transvaser dans des ruches à cadres mobiles.
S. R. 1964, c. 128, a. 4.
5. Il est du devoir de cet inspecteur, lorsqu’il en est requis par le ministre de l’Agriculture, des Pêcheries et de l’Alimentation, de visiter sans délai le ou les ruchers qui lui sont indiqués, et de lui faire rapport sur l’état sanitaire de ce ou de ces ruchers en la forme et la manière qui lui sont prescrites.
S. R. 1964, c. 128, a. 5; 1973, c. 22, a. 22; 1979, c. 77, a. 21.
6. Quand une maladie contagieuse est constatée dans un rucher, le ministre de l’Agriculture, des Pêcheries et de l’Alimentation doit faire prendre les moyens nécessaires pour soumettre les colonies qui composent ce rucher à un traitement approprié et, s’il le juge nécessaire, il peut ordonner que les colonies affectées, les ruches qu’elles occupent et tous les accessoires apicoles qui ne peuvent être efficacement désinfectés soient détruits en la présence de l’inspecteur.
S. R. 1964, c. 128, a. 6; 1973, c. 22, a. 22; 1979, c. 77, a. 21.
7. À défaut par le propriétaire ou le possesseur d’un rucher affecté d’une maladie contagieuse d’obéir aux ordres qu’il reçoit pour le traitement des colonies malades, le ministre de l’Agriculture, des Pêcheries et de l’Alimentation peut ordonner la destruction des ruches, des abeilles ainsi que de tous les accessoires apicoles qui ne peuvent efficacement être désinfectés.
S. R. 1964, c. 128, a. 7; 1973, c. 22, a. 22; 1979, c. 77, a. 21.
7.1. Le propriétaire ou le possesseur d’un rucher à qui un tel ordre est notifié en vertu des articles 6 ou 7 sans qu’il en ait été informé au préalable parce que, de l’avis du ministre, il y a urgence ou danger de causer un préjudice irréparable, peut, dans le délai qui y est indiqué, présenter ses observations au ministre pour en permettre le réexamen.
1997, c. 43, a. 1.
8. 1.  Quand la destruction des ruches, des abeilles ou des accessoires apicoles a été jugée nécessaire par le ministre de l’Agriculture, des Pêcheries et de l’Alimentation, il doit, d’après une base équitable laissée à sa discrétion, en indemniser le propriétaire ou le possesseur ou les deux, selon le cas.
2.  Cependant, dans le cas de l’article 7, le propriétaire ou le possesseur des ruches, des abeilles et des accessoires apicoles n’a droit à aucune indemnité.
S. R. 1964, c. 128, a. 8; 1973, c. 22, a. 22; 1979, c. 77, a. 21.
9. Il est prohibé d’importer au Québec des abeilles ou du matériel apicole ayant déjà servi, à moins que les envois ne soient accompagnés d’un certificat de l’apiculteur en chef ou autre préposé compétent de la province ou du pays d’origine, attestant que les abeilles sont exemptes de maladie et que le matériel n’est pas infecté. Le ministre de l’Agriculture, des Pêcheries et de l’Alimentation peut cependant accorder l’autorisation d’importer, mais pour fins scientifiques seulement.
S. R. 1964, c. 128, a. 9; 1973, c. 22, a. 22; 1979, c. 77, a. 21; 1999, c. 40, a. 1.
10. Il est prohibé de vendre ou échanger des abeilles mères, communément appelées reines, provenant d’un rucher situé dans les limites du Québec, sans avoir obtenu au préalable un certificat attestant que ce rucher est sain et indemne de toute maladie contagieuse. Ce certificat est émis gratuitement par le ministre de l’Agriculture, des Pêcheries et de l’Alimentation, ou un préposé par lui désigné de son ministère, aux conditions que le ministre voudra bien imposer et pour la période de temps qui sera fixée dans ledit certificat. Celui-ci est révocable en tout temps par le ministre, pour une cause par lui estimée suffisante, au moyen d’un avis écrit adressé au bénéficiaire dudit certificat. Cet avis peut être donné par le préposé désigné par le ministre.
S. R. 1964, c. 128, a. 10; 1973, c. 22, a. 22; 1979, c. 77, a. 21; 1999, c. 40, a. 1.
11. Tout propriétaire ou possesseur de ruches, d’abeilles ou d’accessoires apicoles qui sciemment transfère la propriété, qui transporte d’une propriété à une autre, des ruches, des abeilles ou des accessoires apicoles infectés, et toute personne qui expose en plein air des cadres, des rayons de miel ou tous objets quelconques infectés, ou qui cache l’existence d’une ou des maladies contagieuses dont ses abeilles peuvent être infectées, ou qui empêche l’inspecteur de remplir ses devoirs, ou qui contrevient aux dispositions de la présente section, est passible d’une amende n’excédant pas 50 $ pour la première infraction, et d’une amende n’excédant pas 75 $ pour toute récidive.
S. R. 1964, c. 128, a. 11; 1990, c. 4, a. 14; 1999, c. 40, a. 1.
12. (Abrogé).
S. R. 1964, c. 128, a. 12; 1990, c. 4, a. 15.
13. Les rapports faits par l’inspecteur sont enregistrés au ministère de l’Agriculture, des Pêcheries et de l’Alimentation.
S. R. 1964, c. 128, a. 13; 1973, c. 22, a. 22; 1979, c. 77, a. 21; 1987, c. 68, a. 1.
14. Le gouvernement, sur la recommandation du ministre, peut faire des règlements sur toute matière relevant de la présente section, notamment en ce qui concerne le transport ou le transfert de propriété des abeilles ou du matériel apicole; et il peut limiter l’application de ces règlements à une ou plusieurs circonscriptions, dont il détermine les limites. Ces règlements auront force de loi comme s’ils étaient partie intégrante de la présente section, à compter de leur publication dans la Gazette officielle du Québec.
S. R. 1964, c. 128, a. 14; 1968, c. 23, a. 8; 1999, c. 40, a. 1.
SECTION II
DE LA PROTECTION DES ABEILLES
15. Nul ne peut arroser, au pulvérisateur ou autrement, ou saupoudrer, un ou des arbres fruitiers, au moyen d’un mélange contenant des composés arsenicaux ou toutes autres substances vénéneuses nuisibles aux abeilles, pendant l’époque où cet ou ces arbres fruitiers sont en floraison.
S. R. 1964, c. 128, a. 15.
16. Quiconque contrevient à une disposition de l’article 15, commet une infraction et est passible d’une amende de 10 $ à 100 $ pour la première infraction, et d’une amende de 20 $ à 200 $ pour toute récidive.
S. R. 1964, c. 128, a. 16; 1990, c. 4, a. 16.
SECTION III
DE LA PROTECTION CONTRE LES ABEILLES
17. Une ruche contenant une colonie d’abeilles ne peut être laissée sur un terrain que si elle est à 15 m de la voie publique ou d’une habitation.
La prohibition du présent article ne s’applique pas quand le terrain sur lequel est laissée la ruche est enclos du côté des habitations ou de la voie publique, selon le cas, d’une clôture pleine de 2,5 m de hauteur et prolongée à une distance de pas moins de 4,5 m en dehors des limites du rucher.
S. R. 1964, c. 128, a. 17; 1984, c. 47, a. 213; 1996, c. 2, a. 1.
18. Toute personne mise de la part d’un contribuable ou d’un officier du conseil municipal, selon le cas, en demeure de se conformer à la loi et qui ne s’y est pas conformée dans un délai de quinze jours, est passible d’une amende d’au moins 1 $ et d’au plus 4 $, avec ou sans les frais, pour chaque jour qu’elle refuse ou néglige de se conformer à la loi.
S. R. 1964, c. 128, a. 18.
SECTION IV
Cette section a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987.
19. (Cet article a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987).
1982, c. 21, a. 1; R.-U., 1982, c. 11, ann. B, ptie I, a. 33.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 128 des Statuts refondus, 1964, tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre A-1 des Lois refondues.