R-9.1, r. 1 - Regulation respecting the application of the Act respecting the Pension Plan of Certain Teachers

Full text
chapter R-9.1, r. 1
Regulation respecting the application of the Act respecting the Pension Plan of Certain Teachers
PENSION PLAN OF CERTAIN TEACHERS
Act respecting the Pension Plan of Certain Teachers
(chapter R-9.1, s. 41.8).
R-9.1
September 1 2012
DIVISION 0.0.0.1
CLASSES OF PERSONS FOR WHOM THE BASIS OF REMUNERATION IS 200 DAYS
(s. 4)
T.B. 208554, s. 1.
0.0.0.1. The classes of persons who hold pensionable employment for which the basis of remuneration is 200 days are
(1)  teachers employed by a school board within the meaning of the Education Act (chapter I-13.3) whose employment is to teach students under that Act;
(2)  teachers employed by a school board within the meaning of the Education Act for Cree, Inuit and Naskapi Native Persons (chapter I-14) whose employment is to teach students under that Act; and
(3)  teachers employed by a private institution accredited for the purposes of subsidies under the Act respecting private education (chapter E-9.1) whose contract of employment ends on 30 June and whose employment is to teach students as part of the educational services dispensed at preschool, elementary school or secondary school, belonging to one of the categories referred to in paragraphs 1 to 4 of section 1 of that Act and subject, under section 25 of that Act, to the basic school regulation prescribed under the Education Act.
T.B. 208554, s. 1.
DIVISION 0.0.0.2
ABSENCE WITHOUT PAY
(s. 4.0.1)
219770T.B. 219770, s. 1.
0.0.0.2. An absence without pay is
(1)  an absence of the person owing to a strike or a lock-out;
(2)  an absence of the person owing to a disciplinary suspension and for which the employee receives no pay;
(3)  an absence within 36 months after the date of a person’s dismissal owing to disability;
(4)  an absence within 24 months after the date of a person’s dismissal owing to a cause other than disability; and
(5)  an absence after the date of dismissal of the person concerned, to the extent that it is agreed that the absence must be considered to be an absence without pay in an agreement entered into after 6 May 2016 and before 17 July 2018.
For the purposes of subparagraphs 3 and 4 of the first paragraph, the absence must be agreed to in an out-of-court settlement of the dismissal grievance entered into after 16 July 2018. In addition, the absence must not be later than the earliest date on which the person would be entitled to a pension if the person ceased to participate in the plan on that date.
A person on a leave of absence described in subparagraph 3, 4 or 5 of the first paragraph is considered to be a person to whom the Pension Plan of Certain Teachers applies.
219770T.B. 219770, s. 1.
DIVISION 0.0.1
SPOUSE’S WAIVER
(s. 35.0.1)
T.B. 206221, s. 1.
0.0.1. The waiver or revocation notice required under the second paragraph of section 35.0.1 of the Act respecting the Pension Plan of Certain Teachers (chapter R-9.1) must be dated and indicate the name and address of the employee, of the person who ceased to participate in the plan or of the pensioner, as the case may be, and the name and address of the spouse.
T.B. 206221, s. 1.
DIVISION 0.1
LIMITS TO ADDED PENSION AMOUNTS
(s. 35.9)
T.B. 195703, s. 1.
0.1. For the purposes of section 35.9 of the Act respecting the Pension Plan of Certain Teachers (chapter R-9.1), the sum of the amounts that a person may add to their pension may not exceed the amount “M” which corresponds to “M1”, “M2” or “M3”, whichever is lowest, calculated as follows:
M1 = (F x N x 2.0% x TM) - CRRR
M2 = F x N x (1.1% x TM + $230)
M3 = maximum [0; (F x 70% x TM) - (CRRR + BRSR)]
T.B. 195703, s. 1.
0.2. The amount added to the person’s pension shall correspond to the sum of the following amounts:
(1)  the amount “MO” which corresponds to “MO1”, “MO2” or “MO3”, whichever is lowest, calculated as follows:
i.  MO1 = [N x [(F x 2.0% x TM) - (0.7% x minimum (TM; MGA))]] - CRRR
ii.  MO2 = F x N x 1.1% x TM
iii.  MO3 = maximum [0; [(F x 70% x TM) - (NN x 0.7% x minimum (TM; MGA))] - (CRRR + BRCOSR)] where NN = NA + ((70 - (1.6 x NA)) /2)
(2)  the difference between the amount “M” determined in section 0.1 and the amount “MO” determined in paragraph 1, if the person is under 65 years of age when the pension becomes payable. That amount shall be paid until the end of the month during which the pensioner reaches 65 years of age.
T.B. 195703, s. 1; T.B. 197461, s. 1.
0.3. For the purposes of sections 0.1 and 0.2:
BRSR represents the pension granted under section 19 of the Act increased by the amounts provided for in section 20 of the Act taking into account any applicable actuarial reduction;
BRCOSR represents BRSR less the amount of the pension reduction applicable from the month following the person’s sixty-fifth birthday in accordance with section 24 of the Act;
CRRR represents:
(1)  the amount of the pension credit on the date of retirement including the increase referred to in sections 89 and 107.1 of the Act respecting the Government and Public Employees Retirement Plan (chapter R-10) and takes into account any applicable actuarial reduction;
(2)  the amount of the paid-up annuity certificate indicated on the statement of benefits taking into account, if applicable, an actuarial reduction of 0.5% per month calculated for each month included between the date of retirement and the person’s sixty-fifth birthday;
(3)  the value of the pension credit attributed to the amounts corresponding to the years or parts of years recognized for purposes of eligibility and transferred into a locked-in retirement account (LIRA) calculated as follows:
(balance of the LIRA on the date of designation of the employer in Schedule I to the Act respecting the Government and Public Employees Retirement Plan x (5))
____________________________________________________
(value of a $10 annual pension credit payable monthly as of age 65 according to Table II of Schedule IV.3 to the Regulation under the Act respecting the Government and Public Employees Retirement Plan (chapter R-10, r. 2) and taking into account the age of the employee on the date of designation of the employer in Schedule I to the Act.)
The value attributed to the pension credit shall include the rate of any increase referred to in section 89 of the Act respecting the Government and Public Employees Retirement Plan, between the date of designation of the employer in Schedule I and the date of retirement and taking into account, if applicable, an actuarial reduction of 0.5% per month calculated for each month between the date of retirement and the person’s sixty-fifth birthday;
F represents 1 less the percentage of the actuarial reduction applicable to the pension of the person;
MGA represents the average Maximum Pensionable Earnings within the meaning of the Act respecting the Québec Pension Plan (chapter R-9);
N represents the number of years or parts of years referred to in the first paragraph of section 35.9 of the Act;
NA represents the number of years giving entitlement to 1.6% of the pensionable salary under section 20 of the Act;
NN represents the number of years necessary to reach the limit provided for in the first paragraph of section 22 of the Act;
TM represents the average pensionable salary determined in accordance with section 19 of the Act.
T.B. 195703, s. 1; T.B. 203094, s. 1; T.B. 208554, s. 2.
0.4. The limits provided for in this Division may not operate to exceed the limits authorized under the Income Tax Act (R.S.C. 1985, c. 1 (5th Suppl.)).
T.B. 200380, s. 1.
DIVISION I
LIMIT APPLICABLE TO THE PENSIONABLE SALARY, AND RULES AND PROCEDURES FOR COMPUTING THE PENSION
(s. 59.2)
1. The pensionable salary, for the purpose of establishing the cost of redeeming a year prior to 1 January 1990 in which the employee was not a member of a pension plan within the meaning of the Income Tax Act (R.S.C. 1985, c. 1 (5th Suppl.)), shall not exceed amount “M” in the following formula:
A + (0.7% x B) = M
———————
2%
“A” represents 2/3 of $1,725 or of the defined benefit limit applicable under the Income Tax Act for the year in which the application for redemption is received at Retraite Québec, whichever amount is higher;
“B” represents the portion of the pensionable salary that does not exceed the maximum pensionable earnings within the meaning of the Act respecting the Québec Pension Plan (chapter R-9) and applicable for the year in which the application for redemption is received at Retraite Québec.
The pensionable salary, for the purpose of establishing the cost of redeeming part of a year prior to 1 January 1990, shall be divided by the service credited being redeemed, and the amount resulting from that division shall not exceed amount “M” in the first paragraph.
O.C. 708-94, s. 1; T.B. 202419, s. 1.
2. If the employee retires on the date of his sixty-fifth birthday or after that date, the part of the pension relating to years or parts of a year prior to 1 January 1990 in which the employee was not a member of a pension plan within the meaning of the Income Tax Act (R.S.C. 1985, c. 1 (5th Suppl.)) and that were redeemed shall not exceed the amount obtained by multiplying 2/3 of $1,725 or of the defined benefit limit applicable for the year of retirement under the Income Tax Act, whichever amount is higher, by the number of years or parts of years of service credited under the redemption.
If the employee retires before the date of his sixty-fifth birthday, the part of the pension relating to those years or parts of years shall not exceed the amount obtained pursuant to the first paragraph increased by the amount obtained by multiplying the amount calculated pursuant to section 24 of the Act by the fraction representing the number of years or parts of years of service credited being redeemed over the number of years or parts of years of service referred to in subparagraph 2 of the first paragraph of that section.
O.C. 708-94, s. 2; T.B. 202419, s. 2.
DIVISION II
PERIODS OF ABSENCE AFTER 31 DECEMBER 1991
(s. 59.3)
3. The periods during which the employee is absent after 31 December 1991, except the periods during which the employee is exempt from any contribution under section 21 or 21.1 of the Act respecting the Government and Public Employees Retirement Plan (chapter R-10), to which section 9 of the Act refers, and the periods for which the Income Tax Act (R.S.C. 1985, c. 1 (5th Suppl.)) provides for the issue of an equivalence factor for past service, and which may be credited under the Pension Plan of Certain Teachers shall not exceed a total of 5 years of service. Notwithstanding the foregoing, in the case of leave related to maternity, paternity or adoption, that total may be increased by not more than 3 years of service.
For the purposes of the first paragraph, a period of absence corresponds to the difference between the service credited under the Pension Plan of Certain Teachers and the service that would have been credited under that plan in proportion to the salary received by the employee. For the purposes of that paragraph, leave related to maternity, paternity or adoption constitutes all or part of a period beginning at the time of the birth or adoption of a child and ending not later than 12 months after any of those events.
O.C. 708-94, s. 3; T.B. 202419, s. 3.
4. (Omitted).
O.C. 708-94, s. 4.
REFERENCES
O.C. 708-94, 1994 G.O. 2, 2046
T.B. 195703, 2001 G.O. 2, 454
T.B. 197461, 2002 G.O. 2, 255
T.B. 200380, 2003 G.O. 2, 3365
T.B. 202419, 2005 G.O. 2, 1727
T.B. 203094, 2005 G.O. 2, 5493
T.B. 206221, 2008 G.O. 2, 1165
T.B. 208554, 2010 G.O. 2, 154
S.Q. 2015, c. 20, s. 61
T.B. 219770, 2018 G.O. 2, 3617

R-9.1, r. 1 - Règlement d’application de la Loi sur le régime de retraite de certains enseignants

Texte complet
chapitre R-9.1, r. 1
Règlement d’application de la Loi sur le régime de retraite de certains enseignants
RÉGIME DE RETRAITE DE CERTAINS ENSEIGNANTS
Loi sur le régime de retraite de certains enseignants
(chapitre R-9.1, a. 41.8).
R-9.1
1er septembre 2012
SECTION 0.0.0.1
CATÉGORIES DE PERSONNES DONT LA BASE DE RÉMUNÉRATION EST DE 200 JOURS
(a. 4)
C.T. 208554, a. 1.
0.0.0.1. Les catégories de personnes qui occupent une fonction visée dont la base de rémunération est de 200 jours sont:
1°  les enseignants à l’emploi d’une commission scolaire au sens de la Loi sur l’instruction publique (chapitre I-13.3) dont la fonction est d’enseigner à des élèves en vertu de cette loi;
2°  les enseignants à l’emploi d’une commission scolaire au sens de la Loi sur l’instruction publique pour les autochtones cris, inuit et naskapis (chapitre I-14) dont la fonction est d’enseigner à des élèves en vertu de cette loi;
3°  les enseignants à l’emploi d’un établissement privé agréé aux fins de subventions en vertu de la Loi sur l’enseignement privé (chapitre E-9.1) dont le contrat d’engagement se termine le 30 juin et dont la fonction est d’enseigner à des élèves dans le cadre des services éducatifs dispensés au préscolaire, au primaire ou au secondaire qui appartiennent à l’une des catégories visées aux paragraphes 1 à 4 de l’article 1 de cette loi et qui sont assujettis, en vertu de l’article 25 de cette loi, au régime pédagogique édicté en application de la Loi sur l’instruction publique.
C.T. 208554, a. 1.
SECTION 0.0.0.2
ABSENCE SANS TRAITEMENT
(a. 4.0.1)
219770C.T. 219770, a. 1.
0.0.0.2. Est une absence sans traitement:
1°  l’absence de la personne en raison d’une grève ou d’un lock-out;
2°  l’absence de la personne en raison d’une suspension disciplinaire et pour laquelle elle ne reçoit pas de traitement;
3°  l’absence située dans les 36 mois suivant la date du congédiement d’une personne en raison de son invalidité;
4°  l’absence située dans les 24 mois suivant la date du congédiement d’une personne en raison d’une cause autre que l’invalidité;
5°  l’absence postérieure à la date du congédiement de la personne concernée, dans la mesure où il est convenu que cette absence doive être considérée comme une absence sans traitement dans une entente ayant été conclue après le 6 mai 2016 et avant le 17 juillet 2018.
Aux fins des paragraphes 3 et 4 du premier alinéa, l’absence doit être convenue dans un règlement hors cour du grief contestant le congédiement conclu après le 16 juillet 2018. De plus, elle ne doit pas être postérieure à la date la plus rapprochée à laquelle la personne aurait droit à une pension si elle cessait de participer au régime à cette date.
La personne qui bénéficie d’une absence visée par le paragraphe 3, 4 ou 5 du premier alinéa est considérée comme une personne visée par le régime de retraite de certains enseignants.
219770C.T. 219770, a. 1.
SECTION 0.0.1
RENONCIATION DU CONJOINT
(a. 35.0.1)
C.T. 206221, a. 1.
0.0.1. L’avis visé au deuxième alinéa de l’article 35.0.1 de la Loi sur le régime de retraite de certains enseignants (chapitre R-9.1) doit, en outre de comporter la renonciation ou la révocation exigée à cet alinéa, être daté et mentionner les nom et adresse de l’employé, de la personne qui a cessé d’y participer ou du pensionné, selon le cas, ainsi que ceux du conjoint.
C.T. 206221, a. 1.
SECTION 0.1
LIMITES AUX MONTANTS DE PENSION AJOUTÉS
(a. 35.9)
C.T. 195703, a. 1 .
0.1. Aux fins de l’article 35.9 de la Loi sur le régime de retraite de certains enseignants (chapitre R-9.1), la somme des montants qu’une personne peut faire ajouter à sa pension ne peut excéder le montant «M» qui correspond au moins élevé des montants «M1», «M2» et «M3» résultant des formules suivantes:
M1 = (F x N x 2,0% x TM) - CRRR
M2 = F x N x (1,1% x TM + 230 $)
M3 = maximum [0; (F x 70% x TM) - (CRRR + BRSR)]
C.T. 195703, a. 1.
0.2. Le montant ajouté à la pension de la personne correspond à la somme des montants suivants:
1°  le montant «MO» qui correspond au moins élevé des montants «MO1», «MO2» et «MO3» résultant des formules suivantes:
i.  MO1 = [N x [(F x 2,0% x TM) - (0,7% x minimum (TM; MGA))]] - CRRR
ii.  MO2 = F x N x 1,1% x TM
iii.  MO3 = maximum [0; [(F x 70% x TM) - (NN x 0,7% x minimum (TM; MGA))] - (CRRR + BRCOSR) ] où NN = NA + ((70 - (1,6 x NA)) /2)
2°  un montant égal à la différence entre le montant «M» déterminé à l’article 0.1 et le montant «MO» déterminé au paragraphe 1, s’il est âgé de moins de 65 ans au moment où sa pension devient payable. Ce montant est versé jusqu’à la fin du mois au cours duquel le pensionné atteint l’âge de 65 ans.
C.T. 195703, a. 1; C.T. 197461, a. 1.
0.3. Pour l’application des articles 0.1 et 0.2:
BRSR représente la pension accordée en vertu de l’article 19 de la Loi augmentée des montants prévus à l’article 20 de la loi en tenant compte, le cas échéant, de la réduction actuarielle qui est applicable;
BRCOSR représente BRSR moins le montant de réduction de la pension applicable à compter du mois qui suit le soixante-cinquième anniversaire de naissance conformément à l’article 24 de la Loi;
CRRR représente:
1°  le montant du crédit de rente à la date de la prise de la retraite, incluant l’augmentation visée aux articles 89 et 107.1 de la Loi sur le régime de retraite des employés du gouvernement et des organismes publics (chapitre R-10) et tient compte, le cas échéant, de la réduction actuarielle qui lui est applicable;
2°  le montant du certificat de rente libérée indiqué à l’état de participation en tenant compte, le cas échéant, d’une réduction actuarielle de 0,5% par mois calculé pour chaque mois compris entre la date de la prise de la retraite et le soixante-cinquième anniversaire de naissance de la personne;
3°  la valeur du crédit de rente attribué aux sommes correspondant aux années et parties d’année reconnues aux fins d’admissibilité et transférées dans un compte de retraite immobilisé (CRI) qui résulte de la formule suivante:
(solde du CRI à la date de la désignation de l’employeur à l’annexe I de la Loi sur le régime de retraite des employés du gouvernement et des organismes publics x (5))
____________________________________________________
(valeur d’un crédit de rente annuel de 10 $ payable mensuellement à compter de l’âge de 65 ans selon le tableau II de l’annexe IV.3 du Règlement d’application de la Loi sur le régime de retraite des employés du gouvernement et des organismes publics (chapitre R-10, r. 2) et en tenant compte de l’âge de l’employé à la date de la désignation de l’employeur à l’annexe I de cette loi.)
Cette valeur du crédit de rente attribué doit inclure le taux de toute augmentation visée à l’article 89 de la Loi sur le régime de retraite des employés du gouvernement et des organismes publics, entre la date de la désignation de l’employeur à l’annexe I et la date de la prise de la retraite et tenir compte, le cas échéant, d’une réduction actuarielle de 0,5% par mois calculé pour chaque mois compris entre la date de la prise de la retraite et le soixante-cinquième anniversaire de la personne;
F représente 1 moins le pourcentage de réduction actuarielle applicable à la pension de la personne;
MGA représente la moyenne du maximum des gains admissibles au sens de la Loi sur le régime de rentes du Québec (chapitre R-9);
N représente le nombre d’années et parties d’année visées au premier alinéa de l’article 35.9 de la Loi;
NA représente le nombre d’années donnant droit au montant égal à 1,6% du traitement admissible en vertu de l’article 20 de la Loi;
NN représente le nombre d’années nécessaires pour atteindre la limite prévue au premier alinéa de l’article 22 de la Loi;
TM représente le traitement admissible moyen établi conformément à l’article 19 de la Loi.
C.T. 195703, a. 1; C.T. 203094, a. 1; C.T. 208554, a. 2.
0.4. Les limites prévues à la présente section ne peuvent avoir pour effet d’excéder les limites permises en vertu de la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu (L.R.C. 1985, c. 1 (5e suppl.)).
C.T. 200380, a. 1.
SECTION I
PLAFOND APPLICABLE AU TRAITEMENT ADMISSIBLE ET RÈGLES ET MODALITÉS DU CALCUL DE LA PENSION
(a. 59.2)
1. Le traitement admissible, aux fins de l’établissement du coût du rachat d’une année antérieure au 1er janvier 1990 au cours de laquelle l’employé ne participait à aucun régime de retraite au sens de la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu (L.R.C. 1985, c. 1 (5e suppl.)), ne doit pas excéder le montant «M» de la formule suivante:
A + (0,7% x B) = M
———————
2%
«A» représente les 2/3 du montant le plus élevé entre 1 725 $ et le plafond des prestations déterminées applicable en vertu de la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu pour l’année durant laquelle la demande de rachat est reçue à Retraite Québec;
«B» représente la partie du traitement admissible qui n’excède pas le maximum des gains admissibles au sens de la Loi sur le régime de rentes du Québec (chapitre R-9) et applicable pour l’année durant laquelle la demande de rachat est reçue Retraite Québec.
Le traitement admissible, aux fins de l’établissement du coût du rachat d’une partie d’année antérieure au 1er janvier 1990, doit être divisé par le service crédité faisant l’objet du rachat et le montant résultant de cette division ne doit pas excéder le montant «M» du premier alinéa.
D. 708-94, a. 1; C.T. 202419, a. 1.
2. Si l’employé prend sa retraite à la date de son soixante-cinquième anniversaire de naissance ou après cette date, la partie de la pension afférente aux années ou parties d’année antérieures au 1er janvier 1990 au cours desquelles l’employé ne participait à aucun régime de retraite au sens de la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu (L.R.C. 1985, c. 1 (5e suppl.)) et qui ont fait l’objet d’un rachat ne peut excéder le montant obtenu en multipliant les 2/3 du montant le plus élevé entre 1 725 $ et le plafond des prestations déterminées applicable pour l’année de la prise de la retraite en vertu de la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu, par le nombre d’années ou de parties d’année de service créditées en vertu du rachat.
Si l’employé prend sa retraite avant la date de son soixante-cinquième anniversaire de naissance, la partie de la pension afférente à ces années ou parties d’année ne peut excéder le montant obtenu en application du premier alinéa lequel est augmenté du montant obtenu en multipliant le montant calculé en application de l’article 24 de la Loi par la fraction représentant le nombre d’années ou de parties d’année de service créditées faisant l’objet du rachat sur le nombre des années ou des parties d’année de service visées au paragraphe 2 du premier alinéa de cet article.
D. 708-94, a. 2; C.T. 202419, a. 2.
SECTION II
PÉRIODES D’ABSENCE POSTÉRIEURES AU 31 DÉCEMBRE 1991
(a. 59.3)
3. Les périodes d’absence d’un employé postérieures au 31 décembre 1991, à l’exception de celles durant lesquelles il est exonéré de toute cotisation en vertu des articles 21 ou 21.1 de la Loi sur le régime de retraite des employés du gouvernement et des organismes publics (chapitre R-10), auxquels réfère l’article 9 de la Loi et de celles pour lesquelles la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu (L.R.C. 1985, c. 1 (5e suppl.)) prévoit l’émission d’un facteur d’équivalence pour services passés, qui peuvent être créditées au régime de retraite de certains enseignants ne doivent pas excéder un total de 5 années de service. Toutefois, dans le cas de congés relatifs à une maternité, une paternité ou une adoption, ce total peut être augmenté d’au plus 3 années de service.
Pour les fins du premier alinéa, une période d’absence correspond à la différence entre le service crédité au régime de retraite de certains enseignants et le service qui aurait été crédité à ce régime en proportion du traitement reçu par l’employé. Pour les fins de cet alinéa, un congé relatif à une maternité, paternité ou adoption constitue tout ou partie d’une période commençant au moment de la naissance ou de l’adoption d’un enfant et se terminant au plus tard 12 mois après l’un de ces événements.
D. 708-94, a. 3; C.T. 202419, a. 3.
4. (Omis).
D. 708-94, a. 4.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 708-94, 1994 G.O. 2, 2810
C.T. 195703, 2001 G.O. 2, 544
C.T. 197461, 2002 G.O. 2, 263
C.T. 200380, 2003 G.O. 2, 5071
C.T. 202419, 2005 G.O. 2, 2510
C.T. 203094, 2005 G.O. 2, 7323
C.T. 206221, 2008 G.O. 2, 1742
C.T. 208554, 2010 G.O. 2, 182
L.Q. 2015, c. 20, a. 61
C.T. 219770, 2018 G.O. 2, 5511