R-6.1, r. 2 - Rules of procedure of the Régie des alcools, des courses et des jeux

Full text
chapter R-6.1, r. 2
Rules of procedure of the Régie des alcools, des courses et des jeux
RÉGIE DES ALCOOLS, DES COURSES ET DES JEUX — PROCEDURE
Act respecting the Régie des alcools, des courses et des jeux
(chapter R-6.1, s. 31).
R-6.1
September 1 2012
DIVISION I
GENERAL
1. These Rules are intended to enable any interested person to be aware of the conditions governing the exercise of his or her right to make representations before the Régie des alcools, des courses et des jeux and to facilitate the preparation and the simple and quick conduct of cases heard by one or more commissioners.
These Rules add to those provided for, in particular, in the Act respecting racing (chapter C-72.1), the Act respecting administrative justice (chapter J-3), the Act respecting lotteries, publicity contests and amusement machines (chapter L-6), the Act respecting liquor permits (chapter P-9.1), the Act respecting the Régie des alcools, des courses et des jeux (chapter R-6.1) and the Act respecting safety in sports (chapter S-3.1) and those provided for in the statutory instruments made under those Acts.
O.C. 940-2002, s. 1.
2. Unless otherwise provided for in the Act, the board may excuse a person who fails to meet a deadline or to complete a formality if the person demonstrates that he or she had serious reasons not to act sooner or otherwise and if the board is of the opinion that no other interested person suffers material prejudice as a result.
O.C. 940-2002, s. 2.
3. In computing any time period, the day marking the beginning is not counted, but the terminal day is counted. If a deadline expires on a day the offices of the board are closed, the deadline shall be extended to the next working day.
O.C. 940-2002, s. 3; I.N. 2016-01-01 (NCCP).
4. In these Rules, the expression “interested person” also means a “person referred to”, a “person in question” or a “representative of the board”, depending on the context.
O.C. 940-2002, s. 4.
DIVISION II
MEDIATION OF A DISPUTE RELATED TO THE GRANTING OF A PRIZE IN A PUBLICITY CONTEST
5. In an attempt to settle a dispute related to the granting of a prize in a publicity contest, a participant and the person or organization for whose benefit the contest is held shall sign the mediation agreement submitted by the designated mediator.
The agreement shall specify, in particular, that mediation is undertaken freely and voluntarily, the role of the mediator and parties, the confidentiality of the mediation process and that the parties waive their right to summon the mediator before a court or another decision-making authority.
O.C. 940-2002, s. 5.
6. The parties may, at their own discretion, withdraw from the mediation process provided that notice is given immediately to the mediator and the other party. The mediator may at all times suspend or terminate the mediation if he or she considers that it would be ill-advised to pursue it.
O.C. 940-2002, s. 6.
DIVISION III
APPLICATION FOR THE CANCELLATION OR SUSPENSION OF A LIQUOR PERMIT
7. Where an application for the cancellation or suspension of a permit or authorization is submitted by the Minister of Public Security, a local municipality or any other interested person in accordance with the provisions of section 85 of the Act respecting liquor permits (chapter P-9.1), it shall include a written statement of the facts in support of the application.
O.C. 940-2002, s. 7.
8. If the facts stated may give rise to the application of section 86 or 86.0.1 of that Act, the board shall inform the permit holder of the date and place of the hearing on the application.
O.C. 940-2002, s. 8.
DIVISION IV
TRANSMISSION OF DOCUMENTS
9. A document shall be transmitted by any means making it possible to establish the dates of its sending or receipt. If the circumstances so require, the board may authorize another method of communication such as publication in a newspaper or posting in the offices of the board.
O.C. 940-2002, s. 9.
10. The board shall transmit documents to the last known address.
O.C. 940-2002, s. 10.
DIVISION V
REPRESENTATION
11. An advocate representing a person shall so inform the board in writing.
O.C. 940-2002, s. 11.
12. An advocate who ceases to represent a person shall so inform the board and the other interested persons in writing and indicate the date on which his or her mandate ends.
O.C. 940-2002, s. 12.
DIVISION VI
PRE-HEARING CONFERENCE
13. The board may, upon request by an interested person or on its own initiative, hold a pre-hearing conference so as to find means likely to simplify, shorten or facilitate a hearing or to produce any document or exhibit.
O.C. 940-2002, s. 13.
14. The admission of facts and the production of documents or exhibits during the pre-hearing conference shall be recorded in writing under the signature of a commissioner and shall be filed into the record.
O.C. 940-2002, s. 14.
DIVISION VII
INTERVENTION AND OBJECTION
15. An objection or intervention shall state the reasons on which it is based and be forwarded to the applicant by any means making it possible to establish the shipping date within the same time limit that the applicant has to forward it to the board.
An objection or intervention in matters of bingo shall be sent as soon as possible by the board to the interested persons.
O.C. 940-2002, s. 15.
DIVISION VIII
JOINDER OF SEVERAL CASES AND HEARING BY PREFERENCE
16. Several cases before the board pertaining to the same issues or whose matters could suitably be joined, whether or not the same persons are involved, may be dealt with at the same time and decided on the same information or documents as decided by the board on its own initiative or following a request by an interested person. The board may also decide that a case is to be dealt with first, the others remaining suspended until a decision is made on the first case. The board may also decide that a case is to be heard by preference.
O.C. 940-2002, s. 16.
DIVISION IX
HEARING
17. The board may hold a hearing by means of a teleconference.
O.C. 940-2002, s. 17.
18. In addition to the cases provided for in the Act, the board shall hold a hearing each time that it considers it necessary so as to allow an interested person to make representations.
O.C. 940-2002, s. 18.
19. In the absence of a deadline prescribed by the Act, the board shall inform the interested persons of the date, time and place of the hearing at least 10 days before it is held.
Notwithstanding the foregoing, the board is exempt from that obligation where the interested persons agree thereto or in a context of emergency in order to avoid irreparable prejudice to the persons or their property.
O.C. 940-2002, s. 19.
20. If, on the date of the hearing, an interested person is absent, the board may proceed without further notice or delay or postpone the hearing to a later date.
O.C. 940-2002, s. 20.
21. Any discontinuance of an application shall be forwarded in writing to the board before the hearing or orally communicated at the hearing.
O.C. 940-2002, s. 21.
22. A person who requires the presence of a witness may summon the witness at his or her expense by means of a subpoena issued by the board and served at least 5 days before the hearing date.
A person may, in the same manner, be summoned to produce documents.
O.C. 940-2002, s. 22.
23. An interested person who wishes to produce an expert witness shall so inform the board and any other interested person at least 5 days before the hearing is held.
The report by the expert, or in the absence of such report, the subject of his or her testimony, shall be sent to them in writing within the same time limit.
O.C. 940-2002, s. 23.
24. A witness is declared expert when his or her qualifications or experience are established or are recognized by the interested persons. An expert witness may make representations on matters within the range of his or her expertise.
O.C. 940-2002, s. 24.
25. An application for postponement shall be made to the board and sent by the applicant to any person interested in the hearing. It may be granted for serious reasons only. No postponement shall be granted on the sole basis that the interested persons agree thereto. The board may then postpone the hearing to another date fixed immediately by it or left undetermined. The postponement may be subject to certain conditions.
O.C. 940-2002, s. 25.
DIVISION X
RECORDING OF THE HEARING
26. The board shall record representations made during a hearing.
Subject to the first paragraph, the use of cameras and recording machines is prohibited during a hearing, except in exceptional circumstances.
O.C. 940-2002, s. 26.
27. Minutes shall be drawn up for every hearing; the minutes of the hearing shall contain the names and addresses of all interested persons, advocates and witnesses, as well as a list in alphanumeric order of each exhibit produced and every decision made during the hearing.
O.C. 940-2002, s. 27.
DIVISION XI
TAKING UNDER ADVISEMENT AND DECISION
28. The board may, on its own initiative or upon request by an interested person, order the reopening of the inquiry of a case under advisement. The request shall be submitted to the board by means of a written statement of the facts in support of the request and shall be sent to every interested person.
O.C. 940-2002, s. 28.
29. The board’s decision shall be rendered within 3 months of the taking under advisement.
O.C. 940-2002, s. 29.
DIVISION XII
TRANSITIONAL AND FINAL
30. Matters before the board on 19 September 2002 shall be pursued in compliance with these Rules.
O.C. 940-2002, s. 30.
31. These Rules replace
(1)  the Regulation respecting the procedure applicable before the Régie des alcools, des courses et de jeux (R.R.Q., 1981, c. P-9.1, r. 7); and
(2)  the Rules respecting practice and procedure (Decision 84-09-20).
O.C. 940-2002, s. 31.
32. (Omitted).
O.C. 940-2002, s. 32.
REFERENCES
O.C. 940-2002, 2002 G.O. 2, 4630

R-6.1, r. 2 - Règles de procédure de la Régie des alcools, des courses et des jeux

Texte complet
chapitre R-6.1, r. 2
Règles de procédure de la Régie des alcools, des courses et des jeux
RÉGIE DES ALCOOLS, DES COURSES ET DES JEUX — PROCÉDURE
Loi sur la Régie des alcools, des courses et des jeux
(chapitre R-6.1, a. 31).
R-6.1
1er septembre 2012
SECTION I
DISPOSITIONS GÉNÉRALES
1. Les présentes règles visent à permettre à toute personne intéressée de connaître les modalités d’exercice de son droit de présenter ses observations devant la Régie des alcools, des courses et des jeux et à faciliter la préparation et la conduite simple et rapide des affaires qui sont entendues par un ou des régisseurs.
Les présentes règles complètent celles prévues notamment à la Loi sur les courses (chapitre C-72.1), à la Loi sur la justice administrative (chapitre J-3), à la Loi sur les loteries, les concours publicitaires et les appareils d’amusement (chapitre L-6), à la Loi sur les permis d’alcool (chapitre P-9.1), à la Loi sur la Régie des alcools, des courses et des jeux (chapitre R-6.1) et à la Loi sur la sécurité dans les sports (chapitre S-3.1) ainsi que celles prévues dans les textes d’application pris en vertu de ces lois.
D. 940-2002, a. 1.
2. À moins d’une disposition contraire de la Loi, la Régie peut relever une personne du défaut de respecter un délai prescrit ou de remplir une formalité si celle-ci lui démontre qu’elle n’a pu, pour des motifs sérieux, agir plus tôt ou autrement et si, à son avis, aucune autre personne intéressée n’en subit de préjudice important.
D. 940-2002, a. 2.
3. Dans le calcul d’un délai, le jour qui marque le point de départ n’est pas compté mais celui de l’échéance l’est. Si un délai expire un jour où les bureaux de la Régie sont fermés, le délai est prolongé au jour ouvrable suivant.
D. 940-2002, a. 3.
4. Dans les présentes règles, l’expression «personne intéressée» désigne également une «personne visée», une «personne concernée» ou «un représentant de la Régie», selon le contexte.
D. 940-2002, a. 4.
SECTION II
MÉDIATION D’UN DIFFÉREND RELATIF À L’ATTRIBUTION D’UN PRIX D’UN CONCOURS PUBLICITAIRE
5. Aux fins de tenter de régler un différend relatif à l’attribution d’un prix d’un concours publicitaire, un participant et la personne ou l’organisme au bénéfice duquel le concours publicitaire est tenu doivent signer l’entente de médiation que leur soumet le médiateur désigné.
Cette entente doit notamment prévoir le caractère libre et volontaire de la médiation, le rôle du médiateur et des parties, la confidentialité du processus de médiation et la renonciation des parties quant à la citation à comparaître du médiateur devant un tribunal ou une autre instance décisionnelle.
D. 940-2002, a. 5; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
6. Chaque partie peut, à sa discrétion, se retirer du processus de médiation, sur avis donné sans délai au médiateur et à l’autre partie. Le médiateur peut en tout temps suspendre la médiation ou y mettre un terme s’il estime qu’il serait contre-indiqué de la poursuivre.
D. 940-2002, a. 6.
SECTION III
DEMANDE DE RÉVOCATION OU DE SUSPENSION D’UN PERMIS D’ALCOOL
7. Lorsqu’une demande de révocation ou de suspension de permis ou d’une autorisation est présentée par le ministre de la Sécurité publique, une municipalité locale ou par tout autre intéressé conformément aux dispositions de l’article 85 de la Loi sur les permis d’alcool (chapitre P-9.1), elle doit être appuyée d’un écrit énonçant les faits qui justifient cette demande.
D. 940-2002, a. 7.
8. Si les faits mentionnés peuvent donner lieu à l’application des articles 86 ou 86.0.1 de cette loi, la Régie avise le titulaire de la date et du lieu où la demande sera entendue.
D. 940-2002, a. 8.
SECTION IV
TRANSMISSION DE DOCUMENT
9. La transmission d’un document s’effectue par tout moyen permettant d’établir la date de son envoi ou de sa réception. Si les circonstances l’exigent, la Régie peut autoriser un autre mode de communication, dont notamment la publication dans un journal ou l’affichage dans les bureaux de la Régie.
D. 940-2002, a. 9.
10. La transmission d’un document par la Régie s’effectue à la dernière adresse connue.
D. 940-2002, a. 10.
SECTION V
REPRÉSENTATION
11. L’avocat qui représente une personne doit en aviser par écrit la Régie.
D. 940-2002, a. 11.
12. L’avocat qui cesse de représenter une personne doit en aviser par écrit la Régie et les autres personnes intéressées et indiquer la date de la fin de son mandat.
D. 940-2002, a. 12.
SECTION VI
RENCONTRE PRÉPARATOIRE
13. La Régie peut, sur demande d’une personne intéressée ou de sa propre initiative, tenir une rencontre préparatoire afin d’établir les moyens propres à simplifier, abréger ou faciliter une audience ou pour produire quelque document ou objet.
D. 940-2002, a. 13.
14. L’admission de faits et la production de documents ou d’objets lors de la rencontre préparatoire sont consignées par écrit sous la signature d’un régisseur et sont versées au dossier.
D. 940-2002, a. 14.
SECTION VII
INTERVENTION ET OPPOSITION
15. Une opposition ou une intervention doit contenir les motifs sur lesquels elle se fonde et être transmise au demandeur par tout moyen permettant d’établir son expédition dans le même délai que celui durant lequel il doit la transmettre à la Régie.
Une opposition ou une intervention en matière de bingo est transmise par la Régie aux personnes intéressées dans les meilleurs délais.
D. 940-2002, a. 15.
SECTION VIII
RÉUNION DE PLUSIEURS AFFAIRES ET INSTRUCTION PAR PRÉFÉRENCE
16. La Régie peut, de sa propre initiative ou sur demande d’une personne intéressée, traiter en même temps et décider sur les mêmes renseignements ou documents plusieurs affaires présentées devant elle lorsqu’elles portent sur les mêmes questions ou dont les matières pourraient être convenablement réunies, qu’elles soient ou non mues entre les mêmes personnes. Elle peut aussi décider qu’une affaire est traitée la première, les autres demeurant en suspens jusqu’à ce qu’une décision soit rendue quant à la première affaire. Elle peut également décider qu’une affaire est instruite par préférence.
D. 940-2002, a. 16.
SECTION IX
AUDIENCE
17. La Régie peut tenir une audience au moyen d’une téléconférence.
D. 940-2002, a. 17.
18. Outre les cas prévus par la Loi, la Régie peut tenir une audience chaque fois qu’elle la considère nécessaire afin de permettre à une personne intéressée de présenter des observations.
D. 940-2002, a. 18.
19. En l’absence de délai prévu par la Loi, la Régie avise les personnes intéressées de la date, de l’heure et de l’endroit où se tient l’audience au moins 10 jours avant sa tenue.
Toutefois, la Régie est dispensée de cette obligation lorsque les personnes intéressées y consentent ou dans un contexte d’urgence en vue d’éviter qu’un préjudice irréparable ne soit causé aux personnes ou à leurs biens.
D. 940-2002, a. 19.
20. Si, à la date fixée pour l’audience, une personne intéressée est absente, la Régie peut procéder sans autre avis ni délai ou ajourner l’audience à une date ultérieure.
D. 940-2002, a. 20.
21. Tout désistement d’une demande doit être transmis par écrit à la Régie avant l’audience ou communiqué verbalement lors de l’audience.
D. 940-2002, a. 21.
22. La personne qui requiert la présence d’un témoin peut l’assigner, à ses frais, au moyen d’une assignation à comparaître délivrée par la Régie et signifiée au moins 5 jours avant la date de l’audience.
Une personne peut, de la même façon, être assignée à produire des documents.
D. 940-2002, a. 22.
23. Une personne intéressée qui désire faire entendre un témoin expert en avise la Régie et toute autre personne intéressée au moins 5 jours avant la tenue de l’audience.
Le rapport de l’expert ou, en l’absence de rapport, l’objet de son témoignage doit être communiqué par écrit dans le même délai.
D. 940-2002, a. 23.
24. Un témoin peut être déclaré expert lorsque sa compétence ou son expérience est établie ou est admise par les personnes intéressées. Le témoin expert présente ses observations sur une question relevant de son expertise.
D. 940-2002, a. 24.
25. La demande de remise est présentée à la Régie et transmise par celui qui la requiert à toute personne intéressée par la tenue de l’audience. Elle ne peut être accordée que pour des raisons sérieuses. Aucune remise n’est accordée du seul fait du consentement des personnes intéressées. La Régie peut alors remettre l’audience à une autre date qu’elle fixe immédiatement ou à une date indéterminée. Elle peut assujettir la remise à certaines conditions.
D. 940-2002, a. 25.
SECTION X
ENREGISTREMENT DE L’AUDIENCE
26. La Régie enregistre les observations présentées lors d’une audience.
Sous réserve du premier alinéa, l’utilisation d’une caméra, d’un appareil photo ou d’un appareil d’enregistrement est interdite durant une audience à moins de circonstances exceptionnelles.
D. 940-2002, a. 26.
27. Il est dressé un procès-verbal de toute audience; ce procès-verbal doit contenir le nom et l’adresse des personnes intéressées, de leur avocat ainsi que des témoins, la liste alphanumérique de chaque pièce déposée et toute décision prise au cours de l’audience.
D. 940-2002, a. 27.
SECTION XI
DÉLIBÉRÉ ET DÉCISION
28. La Régie peut, de sa propre initiative ou sur demande d’une personne intéressée, ordonner la réouverture d’enquête d’une affaire prise en délibéré. La demande doit être présentée à la Régie au moyen d’un écrit énonçant les faits qui la justifient et transmise à toute personne intéressée.
D. 940-2002, a. 28.
29. La décision de la Régie doit être rendue dans les 3 mois de sa prise en délibéré.
D. 940-2002, a. 29.
SECTION XII
DISPOSITIONS TRANSITOIRE ET FINALES
30. Les affaires soumises à la Régie le 19 septembre 2002 sont continuées sous le régime des présentes règles.
D. 940-2002, a. 30.
31. Les présentes règles remplacent:
1°  le Règlement sur la procédure applicable devant la Régie des alcools, des courses et des jeux, (R.R.Q., 1981, c. P-9.1, r. 7);
2°  les Règles de pratique et de procédure (Décision 84-09-20).
D. 940-2002, a. 31.
32. (Omis).
D. 940-2002, a. 32.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 940-2002, 2002 G.O. 2, 6040