Q-2, r. 33 - Regulation respecting environmental standards for heavy vehicles

Table of contents
Full text
chapter Q-2, r. 33
Regulation respecting environmental standards for heavy vehicles
ENVIRONMENT QUALITY — ENVIRONMENTAL STANDARDS
Environment Quality Act
(chapter Q-2, ss. 31, 53, 115.27, 115.34, 118.6 and 124.0.1).
Q-2
September 1 2012
CHAPTER I
SCOPE AND INTERPRETATION
1. The purpose of this Regulation is to set environmental standards for heavy vehicles. The standards apply to the pollution control devices and systems on heavy vehicles and to the testing of heavy vehicle emissions.
For the purposes of this Regulation, roadside testing to assess compliance with the standards is to be conducted on public highways within the meaning of section 4 of the Highway Safety Code (chapter C-24.2).
O.C. 1244-2005, s. 1.
2. This Regulation applies to vehicles referred to in subparagraphs a and b of subparagraph 3 of the first paragraph of section 2 of the Act respecting owners, operators and drivers of heavy vehicles (chapter P-30.3), except
(1)  vehicles referred to in paragraph 1 of section 1 of the Regulation respecting the Act respecting owners, operators and drivers of heavy vehicles (chapter P-30.3, r. 1);
(2)  vehicles totally exempt from the application of that Act under section 2 of the Regulation respecting the Act respecting owners, operators and drivers of heavy vehicles.
O.C. 1244-2005, s. 2; O.C. 158-2011, s. 1.
3. This Regulation does not apply to heavy vehicles when they are participating in an automobile contest, show or race on a track or other location closed to all other automobile traffic.
O.C. 1244-2005, s. 3.
4. Owners of heavy vehicles to which this Regulation applies are persons or municipalities whose name appears on the registration certificate of the vehicle and the persons or municipalities holding, in respect of the vehicle, a right within the meaning of section 2 of the Highway Safety Code (chapter C-24.2).
O.C. 1244-2005, s. 4; O.C. 158-2011, s. 2.
5. A laboratory accredited by the Minister of Sustainable Development, Environment and Parks under section 118.6 of the Environment Quality Act (chapter Q-2) includes an establishment accredited to assess the compliance of heavy vehicles with the environmental standards prescribed by this Regulation.
O.C. 1244-2005, s. 5.
CHAPTER II
POLLUTION CONTROL DEVICES AND SYSTEMS
6. Every heavy vehicle being operated in the part of the territory of Québec situated south of the 55th parallel and every heavy vehicle sold, leased, placed at the disposal of a person for valuable consideration or offered in any way to be sold, leased or placed at the disposal of a person for valuable consideration must be equipped with a pollution control device or system in working order that reduces the emission of hydrocarbons, carbon monoxide, nitrogen oxide or particles into the atmosphere.
This section does not apply to heavy vehicles that, with regard to the contaminants referred to in the first paragraph, comply with the emission standards prescribed by the regulations under the Motor Vehicle Safety Act (S.C. 1993, c. 16) or the Canadian Environmental Protection Act (S.C. 1999, c. 33) without being equipped with a pollution control device or system.
O.C. 1244-2005, s. 6.
7. No owner of a heavy vehicle may allow a heavy vehicle pollution control device or system to be removed or modified and no person may remove or modify such a device or system, except to replace a defective device or system.
O.C. 1244-2005, s. 7.
8. A replacement pollution control device or system installed on a heavy vehicle must conform to the device or system used as a replacement device or system by the vehicle manufacturer. The identification code of the manufacturer of the replacement system or device must be indicated on the device or system.
O.C. 1244-2005, s. 8.
9. Sections 6 to 8 do not apply to heavy vehicles modified to operate solely on propane gas or natural gas.
O.C. 1244-2005, s. 9.
CHAPTER III
HEAVY VEHICLE EMISSIONS
DIVISION I
GENERAL
10. Heavy vehicles being operated in the part of the territory of Québec situated south of the 55th parallel must comply with the emission standards set out in this Chapter that apply to a vehicle powered by diesel, gasoline or gas.
O.C. 1244-2005, s. 10.
10.1. Roadside measurement of air emissions from heavy vehicles is performed by highway controllers of the Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec pursuant to an agreement under sections 519.64 to 519.66 of the Highway Safety Code (chapter C-24.2).
In accordance with the agreement, the Société designates controllers authorized to use the opacimeters and analyzers referred to in sections 13 and 15.
O.C. 158-2011, s. 3.
11. The owner of a non-compliant heavy vehicle is required within 30 days after receiving a repair notice from the Minister to repair the vehicle or have it repaired and to obtain an attestation from an accredited establishment certifying that the heavy vehicle complies with the emission standards.
The owner must keep the attestation for 2 years and, on the Minister’s request, produce it to the Minister.
O.C. 1244-2005, s. 11; O.C. 158-2011, s. 4.
DIVISION II
EMISSIONS FROM DIESEL-POWERED HEAVY VEHICLES
12. No air emission from a diesel-powered heavy vehicle may exceed the opacity percentages listed in the following table, based on the vehicle model year:
________________________________________________________

Model year Opacity (%)
________________________________________________________


Until 30 April 2011

________________________________________________________

1991 and newer 40
________________________________________________________

1990 and older 55
________________________________________________________


As of 1 May 2011

________________________________________________________

1991 and newer 30
________________________________________________________

1990 and older 40
________________________________________________________
O.C. 1244-2005, s. 12; O.C. 158-2011, s. 5.
13. The opacity of emissions from diesel-powered heavy vehicles is measured
(1)  by the roadside, using one of the following opacimeters:
— Red Mountain Engineering’s Smoke Check 1667;
— Thermal-Lube’s EXL Diesel Emission Detector; or
— Thermal-Lube’s EXL Combo Opacimeter 5-Gas Analyzer;
(2)  in an accredited establishment, using an opacimeter, in accordance with the Society of Automotive Engineers recommended practice J1667 Snap-Acceleration Smoke Test Procedure for Heavy-Duty Diesel Powered Vehicles.
O.C. 1244-2005, s. 13; O.C. 158-2011, s. 6.
DIVISION III
EMISSIONS FROM GASOLINE OR GAS-POWERED HEAVY VEHICLES
14. No gasoline, natural gas or propane gas-powered heavy vehicle may emit hydrocarbons (HC) and carbon monoxide (CO) into the atmosphere in excess of the values listed in the following table, based on the vehicle model year:
______________________________________________________

Model HC CO Visible
year (ppm) (%) emissions
(s/min)

______________________________________________________

≥1998 200 1 5
______________________________________________________

1988-97 220 1.2 5
______________________________________________________

1980-87 300 3 5
______________________________________________________

1975-79 400 4 5
______________________________________________________

1970-74 800 6.5 5
______________________________________________________

≤1969 1,000 8 5
______________________________________________________
In addition, the sum of carbon dioxide (CO2) and carbon monoxide (CO) concentrations must not be less than 6%.
O.C. 1244-2005, s. 14.
15. Hydrocarbon, carbon dioxide and carbon monoxide concentration in gasoline or gas-powered vehicle emissions is measured using a 4-gas or 5-gas analyzer in accordance with the Preconditioned Two Speed Idle Test Procedure [USEPA Publication EPA-AA-TSS-I/M-90-3 January 1991 – Recommended I/M Short Test Procedures for the 1990's: Six Alternatives], published by the United States Environmental Protection Agency.
O.C. 1244-2005, s. 15.
CHAPTER IV
ACCREDITED ESTABLISHMENTS
16. The measurement of air emissions from heavy vehicles for which a repair notice has been notified by the Minister under section 11 is performed in an establishment accredited by the Minister under section 118.6 of the Environment Quality Act (chapter Q-2).
If the test results meet the requirements set out in Chapter III, the establishment issues an attestation to the owner of the heavy vehicle certifying that the heavy vehicle is in compliance with environmental standards at the time of the emission measurement.
The attestation must indicate, in addition to its number,
(1)  the licence plate number;
(2)  the name of the driver;
(3)  the name of the person who performed the emission measurement, the person’s number, if any, the address or location of the measurement and the date and time of the measurement;
(4)  the emission measurement result and the signature of the person who performed the measurement;
(5)  the environmental standards that apply to the vehicle; and
(6)  that the vehicle complies with the standards on the date and at the time of the emission measurement.
The establishment must send a copy of the attestation to the Minister using media-based information technology not later than the working day that follows the working day on which the attestation is issued.
O.C. 1244-2005, s. 16; O.C. 158-2011, s. 7.
CHAPTER V
PENAL SANCTIONS
O.C. 1244-2005, c. V; O.C. 678-2013, s. 1.
17. Every person who contravenes section 10 commits an offence and is liable, in the case of a natural person, to a fine of $200 to $2,000 or, in other cases, to a fine of $400 to $4,000.
O.C. 1244-2005, s. 17; O.C. 678-2013, s. 2.
18. Every person who contravenes section 11 commits an offence and is liable, in the case of a natural person, to a fine of $1,000 to $50,000 or, in other cases, to a fine of $2,000 to $100,000.
O.C. 1244-2005, s. 18; O.C. 678-2013, s. 2.
19. Every person who contravenes the first paragraph of section 6 or section 7 or 8 commits an offence and is liable, in the case of a natural person, to a fine of $1,000 to $100,000 or, in other cases, to a fine of $3,000 to $600,000.
O.C. 1244-2005, s. 19; O.C. 678-2013, s. 2.
20. Every person who offers for sale, sells or otherwise places at the disposal of a person a heavy vehicle that does not comply with this Regulation without having obtained and kept the attestation prescribed by section 11, or who, after the 30-day period set by that section and without having obtained and kept the attestation prescribed by that section, uses or allows the use of the vehicle commits an offence and is liable, in the case of a natural person, to a fine of $2,000 to $100,000 or, in other cases, to a fine of $4,000 to $200,000.
O.C. 1244-2005, s. 20; O.C. 678-2013, s. 2.
21. (Revoked).
O.C. 1244-2005, s. 21; O.C. 678-2013, s. 3.
21.1. (Revoked).
O.C. 158-2011, s. 8; O.C. 678-2013, s. 3 (See Information Note of 1 September 2013).
22. (Revoked).
O.C. 1244-2005, s. 22; O.C. 678-2013, s. 3.
23. (Omitted).
O.C. 1244-2005, s. 23.
REFERENCES
O.C. 1244-2005, 2005 G.O. 2, 5524
O.C. 158-2011, 2011 G.O. 2, 811
O.C. 678-2013, 2013 G.O. 2, 1802

Q-2, r. 33 - Règlement sur les normes environnementales applicables aux véhicules lourds

Texte complet
chapitre Q-2, r. 33
Règlement sur les normes environnementales applicables aux véhicules lourds
QUALITÉ DE L’ENVIRONNEMENT — NORMES ENVIRONNEMENTALES
Loi sur la qualité de l’environnement
(chapitre Q-2, a. 31, 53, 115.27, 115.34, 118.6 et 124.0.1).
Q-2
1er septembre 2012
CHAPITRE I
CHAMP D’APPLICATION ET INTERPRÉTATION
1. Le présent règlement a pour objet d’établir des normes environnementales applicables aux véhicules lourds. Ces normes portent sur les appareils et les systèmes visant à prévenir l’émission de contaminants et sur le contrôle des émissions polluantes de ces véhicules.
Pour l’application du présent règlement, le contrôle sur route de ces normes s’effectue sur un chemin public au sens de l’article 4 du Code de la sécurité routière (chapitre C-24.2).
D. 1244-2005, a. 1.
2. Le présent règlement s’applique aux véhicules visés aux sous-paragraphes a et b du paragraphe 3 de l’article 2 de la Loi concernant les propriétaires, les exploitants et les conducteurs de véhicules lourds (chapitre P-30.3) à l’exception:
1°  des véhicules visés par le paragraphe 1 de l’article 1 du Règlement d’application de la Loi concernant les propriétaires, les exploitants et les conducteurs de véhicules lourds (chapitre P-30.3, r. 1);
2°  des véhicules totalement exemptés de l’application de cette Loi par l’article 2 du même règlement.
D. 1244-2005, a. 2; D. 158-2011, a. 1.
3. Le présent règlement ne s’applique pas aux véhicules lourds au moment où ils participent à une compétition, à un spectacle ou à une course sur un parcours ou un terrain fermé à toute autre circulation automobile.
D. 1244-2005, a. 3.
4. Les propriétaires de véhicules lourds visés au présent règlement sont les personnes ou les municipalités dont le nom apparaît au certificat d’immatriculation du véhicule et celles qui détiennent, à l’égard de ce véhicule, un droit au sens de l’article 2 du Code de la sécurité routière (chapitre C-24.2).
D. 1244-2005, a. 4; D. 158-2011, a. 2.
5. Est assimilé à un laboratoire accrédité par le ministre du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et des Parcs en vertu de l’article 118.6 de la Loi sur la qualité de l’environnement (chapitre Q-2), un établissement accrédité en vue de vérifier la conformité des véhicules lourds aux normes environnementales prévues par le présent règlement.
D. 1244-2005, a. 5.
CHAPITRE II
APPAREILS ET SYSTÈMES ANTIPOLLUTION
6. Tout véhicule lourd qui circule sur la partie du territoire du Québec située au sud du 55e parallèle ou tout véhicule lourd qui est vendu, loué ou mis à la disposition de quiconque contre valeur ou, de quelque façon, offert pour être vendu, loué ou mis à la disposition de quiconque contre valeur doit être pourvu d’un appareil ou d’un système antipollution en état de fonctionnement qui réduit l’émission dans l’atmosphère d’hydrocarbures, de monoxyde de carbone, d’oxydes d’azote ou de particules.
Le présent article ne s’applique pas aux véhicules lourds qui, au regard des contaminants mentionnés au premier alinéa, respectent les normes d’émission prescrites, selon le cas, par les dispositions des règlements d’application de la Loi sur la sécurité automobile (L.C. 1993, c. 16) ou par les dispositions réglementaires prises en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (L.C. 1999, c. 33), sans être pourvus d’un appareil ou d’un système antipollution.
D. 1244-2005, a. 6.
7. Le propriétaire d’un véhicule lourd ne peut permettre l’enlèvement ou la modification d’un appareil ou d’un système antipollution d’un véhicule lourd et nul ne peut enlever ou modifier un tel appareil ou système, sauf pour le remplacer lorsqu’il est défectueux.
D. 1244-2005, a. 7.
8. Tout appareil ou système antipollution de remplacement installé sur un véhicule lourd doit être conforme à celui utilisé comme unité de remplacement par le fabricant du véhicule. De plus, l’appareil ou le système antipollution de remplacement doit porter le code d’identification de son fabricant.
D. 1244-2005, a. 8.
9. Les articles 6 à 8 ne s’appliquent pas aux véhicules lourds modifiés pour permettre l’utilisation du gaz propane ou du gaz naturel comme seul carburant.
D. 1244-2005, a. 9.
CHAPITRE III
ÉMISSIONS DES VÉHICULES LOURDS
SECTION I
DISPOSITIONS GÉNÉRALES
10. Tout véhicule lourd qui circule sur la partie du territoire du Québec située au sud du 55e parallèle doit être conforme aux normes d’émissions prévues au présent chapitre et qui sont applicables selon que le véhicule fonctionne au diesel, à l’essence ou au gaz.
D. 1244-2005, a. 10.
10.1. La mesure, sur la route, des émissions dans l’atmosphère des véhicules lourds se fait par les contrôleurs routiers de la Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec conformément à une entente conclue en vertu des articles 519.64 à 519.66 du Code de la sécurité routière (chapitre C-24.2).
Conformément à cette entente, la Société désigne les contrôleurs habilités à utiliser les opacimètres et analyseurs mentionnés aux articles 13 et 15.
D. 158-2011, a. 3.
11. Le propriétaire d’un véhicule lourd non conforme est tenu de le réparer ou de le faire réparer et d’obtenir d’un établissement accrédité une attestation selon laquelle le véhicule lourd est conforme aux normes d’émissions, dans les 30 jours de la notification d’un avis du ministre qui l’enjoint de le faire.
Il doit conserver cette attestation pour une durée de 2 ans et, sur demande du ministre, la lui produire.
D. 1244-2005, a. 11; D. 158-2011, a. 4.
SECTION II
ÉMISSIONS DES VÉHICULES LOURDS FONCTIONNANT AU DIESEL
12. Les émissions dans l’atmosphère de tout véhicule lourd fonctionnant au diesel ne doivent pas dépasser le pourcentage d’opacité prévu au tableau suivant, en fonction de l’année de modèle du véhicule:
_________________________________________________________

Année de modèle Opacité (%)
_________________________________________________________


Jusqu’au 30 avril 2011

_________________________________________________________

1991 et plus récents 40
_________________________________________________________

1990 et moins récents 55
_________________________________________________________


À compter du 1er mai 2011

_________________________________________________________

1991 et plus récents 30
_________________________________________________________

1990 et moins récents 40
_________________________________________________________
D. 1244-2005, a. 12; D. 158-2011, a. 5.
13. L’opacité des émissions d’un véhicule lourd fonctionnant au diesel est mesurée:
1°  sur la route, au moyen de l’un des opacimètres suivants:
— «Smoke Check 1667» de l’entreprise Red Mountain Engineering Inc.;
— «Détecteur d’émission diesel EXL» de l’entreprise Thermal-Lube Inc.;
— «Opacimètre / analyseur 5 gaz EXL combo» de l’entreprise Thermal-Lube Inc.;
2°  dans un établissement accrédité, au moyen d’un opacimètre, selon la méthode intitulée «Snap-Acceleration Smoke Test Procedure for Heavy-Duty Diesel Powered Vehicles», portant le numéro J1667 et publiée par la Society of Automotive Engineers.
D. 1244-2005, a. 13; D. 158-2011, a. 6.
SECTION III
ÉMISSIONS DES VÉHICULES LOURDS FONCTIONNANT À L’ESSENCE OU AU GAZ
14. Les émissions dans l’atmosphère d’hydrocarbures (HC) et de monoxyde de carbone (CO) de tout véhicule lourd fonctionnant à l’essence, au gaz naturel ou au gaz propane ne doivent pas dépasser les valeurs prévues au tableau suivant, en fonction de l’année de modèle du véhicule:
______________________________________________________

Année de HC CO Émissions
modèle (ppm) (%) visibles
(s/min)

______________________________________________________

≥1998 200 1 5
______________________________________________________

1988-97 220 1,2 5
______________________________________________________

1980-87 300 3 5
______________________________________________________

1975-79 400 4 5
______________________________________________________

1970-74 800 6,5 5
______________________________________________________

≤1969 1 000 8 5
______________________________________________________
De plus, la somme des teneurs en dioxyde de carbone (CO2) et en monoxyde de carbone (CO) doit être d’au moins 6%.
D. 1244-2005, a. 14.
15. La teneur en hydrocarbures, en dioxyde de carbone et en monoxyde de carbone des émissions des véhicules fonctionnant à l’essence ou au gaz est mesurée au moyen d’un analyseur de 4 gaz ou de 5 gaz, selon la méthode intitulée Preconditioned Two Speed Idle Test Procedure [USEPA Publication EPA-AA-TSS-I/M-90-3 January 1991 – Recommended I/M Short Test Procedures for the 1990's: Six Alternatives] et publiée par la United States Environnemental Protection Agency.
D. 1244-2005, a. 15.
CHAPITRE IV
ÉTABLISSEMENTS ACCRÉDITÉS
16. La mesure des émissions dans l’atmosphère des véhicules lourds ayant fait l’objet d’un avis de réparation notifié par le ministre en vertu de l’article 11 se fait dans un établissement accrédité par le ministre en vertu de l’article 118.6 de la Loi sur la qualité de l’environnement (chapitre Q-2).
Si les résultats de l’analyse sont conformes aux normes d’émissions prévues au chapitre III, l’établissement délivre à l’intention du propriétaire du véhicule lourd une attestation selon laquelle ce véhicule est conforme à ces normes au moment de la mesure.
L’attestation doit contenir notamment, en outre de son numéro:
1°  le numéro de la plaque d’immatriculation;
2°  le nom du conducteur;
3°  le nom de la personne qui a pris la mesure, son numéro s’il en est, l’adresse ou le lieu de la mesure ainsi que la date et l’heure auxquelles la mesure a été prise;
4°  le résultat de la mesure ainsi que la signature de la personne qui l’a effectuée;
5°  les normes environnementales qui sont applicables au véhicule;
6°  la mention que le véhicule est conforme à ces normes à la date et à l’heure auxquelles la mesure a été prise.
L’établissement doit transmettre au ministre une copie de l’attestation, par un moyen faisant appel aux technologies de l’information, au plus tard le jour ouvrable qui suit celui de la délivrance de l’attestation.
D. 1244-2005, a. 16; D. 158-2011, a. 7.
CHAPITRE V
SANCTIONS PÉNALES
D. 1244-2005, c. V; D. 678-2013, a. 1.
17. Commet une infraction et est passible, dans le cas d’une personne physique, d’une amende de 200 $ à 2 000 $ ou, dans les autres cas, d’une amende de 400 $ à 4 000 $, quiconque contrevient à l’article 10.
D. 1244-2005, a. 17; D. 678-2013, a. 2.
18. Commet une infraction et est passible, dans le cas d’une personne physique, d’une amende de 1 000 $ à 50 000 $ ou, dans les autres cas, d’une amende de 2 000 $ à 100 000 $, quiconque contrevient à l’article 11.
D. 1244-2005, a. 18; D. 678-2013, a. 2.
19. Commet une infraction et est passible, dans le cas d’une personne physique, d’une amende de 1 000 $ à 100 000 $ ou, dans les autres cas, d’une amende de 3 000 $ à 600 000 $, quiconque contrevient au premier alinéa de l’article 6 ou à l’article 7 ou 8.
D. 1244-2005, a. 19; D. 678-2013, a. 2.
20. Commet une infraction et est passible, dans le cas d’une personne physique, d’une amende de 2 000 $ à 100 000 $ ou, dans les autres cas, d’une amende de 4 000 $ à 200 000 $, quiconque met en vente, vend ou met autrement à la disposition d’une autre personne un véhicule lourd non conforme au présent règlement sans avoir obtenu et conservé l’attestation prescrite à l’article 11 ou qui, après le délai de 30 jours fixé par le même article et sans avoir obtenu et conservé l’attestation prescrite par cet article, utilise ou permet l’utilisation de ce véhicule.
D. 1244-2005, a. 20; D. 678-2013, a. 2.
21. (Abrogé).
D. 1244-2005, a. 21; D. 678-2013, a. 3.
21.1. (Abrogé).
D. 158-2011, a. 8; D. 678-2013, a. 3 (voir Note d’information du 1er septembre 2013).
22. (Abrogé).
D. 1244-2005, a. 22; D. 678-2013, a. 3.
23. (Omis).
D. 1244-2005, a. 23.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 1244-2005, 2005 G.O. 2, 7386
D. 158-2011, 2011 G.O. 2, 1207
D. 678-2013, 2013 G.O. 2, 2747