P-10, r. 13 - Regulation respecting the preservation, use or destruction of the records, books and registers of a pharmacist who ceases to practise

Table of contents
Full text
chapter P-10, r. 13
Regulation respecting the preservation, use or destruction of the records, books and registers of a pharmacist who ceases to practise
PHARMACISTS — RECORDS, BOOKS AND REGISTERS
Pharmacy Act
(chapter P-10, s. 3).
P-10
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, s. 91).
C-26
September 1 2012
DIVISION I
GENERAL PROVISIONS
1.01. In this Regulation, unless the context indicates otherwise, “records, books and registers” means the records, books and registers that a pharmacist must keep in the practice of his profession, in accordance with the Pharmacy Act (chapter P-10) or the regulations made thereunder or with any other law or regulation of Canada or Québec.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. P-10, r. 9, s. 1.01.
1.02. The Interpretation Act (chapter I-16) applies to this Regulation.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. P-10, r. 9, s. 1.02.
DIVISION II
PERMANENT CESSATION OF PRACTICE
2.01. For the purposes of this Division, “acquirer” means a pharmacist who takes possession of the records, books and registers of a pharmacist who is the owner of a pharmacy and who ceases to practise his profession permanently for any reason other than death.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. P-10, r. 9, s. 2.01.
2.02. A pharmacist who is the owner of a pharmacy and who ceases to practise his profession permanently for any reason other than death must, if he finds an acquirer, at least 15 days before the date fixed for the cessation of his practice:
(a)  notify the secretary of the Ordre des pharmaciens du Québec that he will cease to practise his profession permanently effective on such date;
(b)  give to the secretary of the Order the name, addresses and telephone numbers of the acquirer;
(c)  publish or cause to be published, commencing on the 15th day prior to the date fixed for the cessation of his practice and every 3 days thereafter for a period of 15 days, in at least one French language daily newspaper and, where applicable, in at least one English language daily newspaper circulated in the region where he practises his profession, a public advertisement to the effect that upon and after the date fixed for the cessation of his practice, all his records, books and registers will be in the possession of the acquirer, indicating the latter’s addresses, telephone number and business hours;
(d)  post a copy of such advertisement on the interior frontage of his pharmacy, in full view of the public.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. P-10, r. 9, s. 2.02.
2.03. The acquirer must send to the secretary of the Order a copy of his written commitment to take possession of the records, books and registers of the pharmacist contemplated in section 2.02 at least 15 days before the date fixed for the cessation of the practice.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. P-10, r. 9, s. 2.03.
2.04. If the pharmacist contemplated in section 2.02 has not found an acquirer 15 days prior to the date fixed for the cessation of his practice, he must immediately:
(a)  publish or cause to be published, commencing on the 15th day prior to the date fixed for the cessation of his practice and every 3 days thereafter for a period of 15 days, in at least one French language daily newspaper and, where applicable, in at least one English language daily newspaper circulated in the region where he practises his profession, a public advertisement to the effect that upon and after the date fixed for the cessation of his practice, all his records, books and registers will be in the possession of the secretary of the Order, indicating the latter’s address, telephone number and office hours;
(b)  post a copy of such advertisement on the interior frontage of his pharmacy, in full view of the public; and
(c)  forward a copy of the advertisement to the secretary of the Order.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. P-10, r. 9, s. 2.04.
2.05. (1)  The secretary of the Order must retain, for a period of 2 years, all the records, books and registers that he has received in accordance with section 2.04.
(2)  The secretary must, in accordance with the Code of ethics of pharmacists (chapter P-10, r. 7), permit every patient of the pharmacist contemplated in section 2.02 to take cognizance of the documents regarding him in any record made by that pharmacist about him and to obtain copies of those documents.
(3)  The secretary may only destroy such records, books and registers after the period referred to in subsection 1.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. P-10, r. 9, s. 2.05.
DIVISION III
DEATH
3.01. Upon the death of a pharmacist who is the owner of a pharmacy, the pharmacist appointed under section 28 of the Pharmacy Act (chapter P-10) shall become the provisional custodian of the records, books and registers of the deceased pharmacist.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. P-10, r. 9, s. 3.01.
3.02. If, before or after a period of 3 years following a death, the heir, legatee, liquidator or trustee of the succession decides to close the pharmacy permanently, he must comply with the provisions of Division II.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. P-10, r. 9, s. 3.02.
DIVISION IV
TEMPORARY CESSATION OF PRACTICE
4.01. If a pharmacist who is the owner of a pharmacy is placed under protective supervision and is in consequence struck off the roll, the pharmacist appointed under section 29 of the Pharmacy Act (chapter P-10) shall become the provisional custodian of the records, books and registers of the aforementioned pharmacist.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. P-10, r. 9, s. 4.01.
4.02. If a pharmacist who is the owner of a pharmacy becomes bankrupt or makes an assignment of his property, the pharmacist appointed under section 30 of the Pharmacy Act (chapter P-10) shall become the provisional custodian of the records, books and registers of the aforementioned pharmacist.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. P-10, r. 9, s. 4.02.
4.03. If a pharmacist is suspended or temporarily struck off the roll of the Order, he shall automatically lose, for the duration of the suspension or striking off, the right to keep up-to-date or to use in any manner whatsoever his records, books and registers or, as applicable, those that are kept and which he uses regularly at the place where he practises his profession.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. P-10, r. 9, s. 4.03.
4.04. (1)  In the case of suspension or striking off of a pharmacist who is the sole owner of a pharmacy, or where the suspension or striking off is imposed simultaneously on all members of a partnership of pharmacists who are the owners of a pharmacy, the secretary of the Order must, after consultation with the member who has been struck off or suspended, ensure that his records, books and registers are entrusted to another member of the Order practising in the same region.
(2)  The secretary of the Order must notify the public of such changes by posting, on the interior frontage of the pharmacy belonging to the pharmacist who has been suspended or struck off, during the entire duration of such suspension or striking off, an advertisement stipulating that the records, books and registers of the pharmacist who has been suspended or struck off are in the possession of the pharmacist appointed in accordance with subsection 1, from such date to such date, indicating the address, telephone number and business hours of the latter.
(3)  The pharmacist appointed in accordance with subsection 1 shall be the provisional custodian of the records, books and registers of the pharmacist who has been suspended or struck off for the entire duration of such suspension or striking off.
The mandate of the said pharmacist shall be restricted to giving every patient of the pharmacist who has been suspended or struck off the roll all the information he considers appropriate to their treatment and to keeping such records, books and registers up-to-date; without limiting the generality of the foregoing, he shall not, under pretext of his mandate and for the purpose of assisting the pharmacist who has been suspended or struck off, practise pharmacy within the meaning of the first paragraph of section 17 of the Pharmacy Act (chapter P-10) to the latter’s profit.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. P-10, r. 9, s. 4.04.
4.05. The pharmacist who has custody of the records, books and registers of a fellow-member who has been struck off or suspended in accordance with section 4.04 must return them to him immediately following termination of the period of suspension or striking off.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. P-10, r. 9, s. 4.05.
REFERENCES
R.R.Q., 1981, c. P-10, r. 9

P-10, r. 13 - Règlement sur la conservation, l’utilisation ou la destruction des dossiers, livres et registres d’un pharmacien cessant d’exercer

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre P-10, r. 13
Règlement sur la conservation, l’utilisation ou la destruction des dossiers, livres et registres d’un pharmacien cessant d’exercer
PHARMACIENS — DOSSIERS, LIVRES ET REGISTRES
Loi sur la pharmacie
(chapitre P-10, a. 3)
P-10
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 91)
C-26
1er septembre 2012
SECTION I
DISPOSITIONS GÉNÉRALES
1.01. Dans le présent règlement, à moins que le contexte n’indique un sens différent, les mots «dossiers, livres et registres» désignent les dossiers, livres et registres qu’un pharmacien doit tenir dans l’exercice de sa profession, conformément à la Loi sur la pharmacie (chapitre P-10), ou à ses règlements ou à toute autre loi ou règlement du Canada ou du Québec.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. P-10, r. 9, a. 1.01.
1.02. La Loi d’interprétation (chapitre I-16) s’applique au présent règlement.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. P-10, r. 9, a. 1.02.
SECTION II
CESSATION D’EXERCICE DÉFINITIVE
2.01. Pour les fins de la présente section, le mot «preneur» désigne un pharmacien qui prend possession des dossiers, livres et registres d’un pharmacien propriétaire de pharmacie qui cesse d’exercer définitivement sa profession pour toute cause autre que le décès.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. P-10, r. 9, a. 2.01.
2.02. Un pharmacien, propriétaire de pharmacie, qui cesse d’exercer définitivement sa profession pour toute cause autre que le décès, doit, s’il trouve preneur, au moins 15 jours avant la date fixée pour la cessation d’exercice:
a)  aviser le secrétaire de l’Ordre des pharmaciens du Québec qu’il cesse d’exercer définitivement sa profession à compter de telle date;
b)  indiquer au secrétaire de l’Ordre le nom, les adresses et les numéros de téléphone du preneur;
c)  publier ou faire publier, à partir du 15e jour précédant la date fixée pour la cessation d’exercice et à tous les 3 jours par la suite, pendant une période de 15 jours, dans au moins un journal quotidien de langue française, et, s’il y a lieu, dans au moins un journal quotidien de langue anglaise desservant la région où il exerce sa profession, une annonce avertissant le public qu’à compter de la date fixée pour sa cessation d’exercice, tous ses dossiers, livres et registres seront en la possession du preneur, avec indication des adresses, numéro de téléphone et heures de service de ce dernier;
d)  placer sur la façade intérieure de sa pharmacie, et à la vue du public, une copie de cette annonce.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. P-10, r. 9, a. 2.02.
2.03. Le preneur doit envoyer au secrétaire de l’Ordre, copie de son engagement écrit de prendre possession des dossiers, livres et registres du pharmacien visé à l’article 2.02 au moins 15 jours avant la date fixée pour la cessation d’exercice.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. P-10, r. 9, a. 2.03.
2.04. Lorsque le pharmacien visé à l’article 2.02 n’a pas trouvé un preneur 15 jours avant la date fixée pour la cessation d’exercice, il doit immédiatement:
a)  publier ou faire publier, à partir du 15e jour précédant la date fixée pour la cessation d’exercice et à tous les 3 jours par la suite, pendant une période de 15 jours, dans au moins un journal quotidien de langue française, et, s’il y a lieu, dans au moins un journal de langue anglaise desservant la région où il exerce sa profession, une annonce avertissant le public qu’à compter de la date fixée pour sa cessation d’exercice, tous ses dossiers, livres et registres seront en la possession du secrétaire de l’Ordre avec indication de ses adresse, numéro de téléphone et heures de bureau;
b)  placer sur la façade intérieure de sa pharmacie, et à la vue du public, une copie de cette annonce; et
c)  faire parvenir copie de cette annonce au secrétaire de l’Ordre.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. P-10, r. 9, a. 2.04.
2.05. 1.  Le secrétaire de l’Ordre doit conserver en dépôt, pour une période de 2 ans, tous les dossiers, livres et registres qu’il a reçus conformément à l’article 2.04.
2.  Le secrétaire doit, conformément au Code de déontologie des pharmaciens (chapitre P-10, r. 7), permettre à un patient du pharmacien visé à l’article 2.02 de prendre connaissance des documents qui le concernent dans tout dossier constitué par ce pharmacien à son sujet et d’obtenir des copies de ces documents.
3.  Ce n’est qu’après le délai indiqué au paragraphe 1 que le secrétaire peut détruire ces dossiers, livres et registres.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. P-10, r. 9, a. 2.05.
SECTION III
DÉCÈS
3.01. Au cas de décès d’un pharmacien propriétaire d’une pharmacie, le pharmacien nommé en vertu de l’article 28 de la Loi sur la pharmacie (chapitre P-10) devient le gardien provisoire des dossiers, livres et registres du pharmacien décédé.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. P-10, r. 9, a. 3.01.
3.02. Si, avant ou après le délai de 3 années qui suivent le décès, l’héritier, le légataire, le liquidateur ou le fiduciaire de la succession décide de fermer définitivement la pharmacie, il doit suivre les dispositions de la section II.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. P-10, r. 9, a. 3.02.
SECTION IV
CESSATION D’EXERCICE TEMPORAIRE
4.01. Au cas où un pharmacien propriétaire de pharmacie fait l’objet de l’ouverture d’un régime de protection et est en conséquence rayé du tableau, le pharmacien nommé en vertu de l’article 29 de la Loi sur la pharmacie (chapitre P-10) devient le gardien provisoire des dossiers, livres et registres du pharmacien sous le régime de protection.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. P-10, r. 9, a. 4.01.
4.02. Au cas où un pharmacien propriétaire de pharmacie fait faillite ou cession de ses biens, le pharmacien nommé en vertu de l’article 30 de la Loi sur la pharmacie (chapitre P-10) devient le gardien provisoire des dossiers, livres et registres de ce pharmacien.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. P-10, r. 9, a. 4.02.
4.03. Lorsqu’un pharmacien est suspendu ou radié temporairement du tableau de l’Ordre, il perd automatiquement, pour la durée de la suspension ou de la radiation, le droit de tenir à jour ou d’utiliser de quelque manière que ce soit, ses dossiers, livres et registres, ou, s’il y a lieu, ceux qui sont conservés et qu’il utilise régulièrement à l’endroit où il exerce sa profession.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. P-10, r. 9, a. 4.03.
4.04. 1.  Lorsqu’il s’agit de la suspension ou de la radiation d’un pharmacien, unique propriétaire d’une pharmacie, ou lorsque la suspension ou la radiation frappe simultanément tous les membres d’une société de pharmaciens propriétaires d’une pharmacie, le secrétaire de l’Ordre, après consultation du membre radié ou suspendu, doit voir à ce que ses dossiers, livres et registres soient confiés à un autre membre de l’Ordre exerçant dans la même région.
2.  Le secrétaire de l’Ordre doit avertir le public des changements survenus en plaçant, à la façade intérieure de la pharmacie du pharmacien suspendu ou radié, pendant toute la durée de cette suspension ou radiation, une annonce stipulant que les dossiers, livres et registres du pharmacien suspendu ou radié sont en la possession du pharmacien nommé conformément au paragraphe 1, de telle date à telle date, en spécifiant l’adresse, le numéro de téléphone et les heures de service de ce dernier.
3.  Le pharmacien nommé conformément au paragraphe 1 assure la garde provisoire des dossiers, livres et registres du pharmacien suspendu ou radié pendant toute la durée de cette suspension ou radiation.
Le mandat de ce pharmacien se limite à communiquer au patient du pharmacien suspendu ou radié tous les renseignements qu’il juge appropriés pour leur traitement et à tenir à jour ces dossiers, livres et registres; sans restreindre la généralité de ce qui précède, il ne peut, sous prétexte de son mandat et dans le but de rendre service au pharmacien suspendu ou radié, exercer la pharmacie au sens du premier alinéa de l’article 17 de la Loi sur la pharmacie (chapitre P-10) au profit de ce dernier.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. P-10, r. 9, a. 4.04.
4.05. Le pharmacien qui a la garde des dossiers, livres et registres d’un confrère radié ou suspendu conformément à l’article 4.04 doit les remettre à celui-ci immédiatement après la fin de la période de suspension ou de radiation.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. P-10, r. 9, a. 4.05.
RÉFÉRENCES
R.R.Q., 1981, c. P-10, r. 9